© 2026 Zoe. All rights reserved.
Zoe is a legal information platform. Always consult the Federal Register of Legislation for authoritative text.
[2016] NSWCA 68
Court of Appeal (NSW)
2016-03-08
Beazley P, Leeming JA
Original judgment source is linked above.
; 21 WAR 327 Birdsall v Motor Trades Association of Australia Superannuation Fund Pty Ltd [2015] NSWCA 104; 89 NSWLR 412 Bradley v Matloob [2015] NSWCA 239 Butcher v Port (1985) 3 ANZ Ins Cas 60-638 Butt v M'Donald (1896) 7 QLJ 68 Byrne v Australian Airlines Ltd (1995) 185 CLR 410 CAL No 14 Pty Ltd v Motor Accidents Insurance Board [2009] HCA 47; 239 CLR 390 CGU Insurance Ltd v AMP Financial Planning Pty Ltd [2007] HCA 36; 235 CLR 1 Chahwan v Euphoric Pty Ltd [2009] NSWSC 805; 73 ACSR 252 Comcare v Martinez (No 2) [2013] FCA 439; 212 FCR 272 Cullinane v Mercer Benefit Nominees Ltd [2006] FCAFC 82; 152 FCR 1 Davis v Davis [1943] SASR 203 Edwards v Aberayron Mutual Ship Insurance Society (1876) 1 QBD 563 Edwards v The Hunter Valley Co-op Dairy Co Ltd (1992) 7 ANZ Ins Cas 61-113 Farah Constructions Pty Ltd v Say-Dee Pty Ltd [2007] HCA 22; 230 CLR 89 Finch v Telstra Super Pty Ltd [2010] HCA 36; 242 CLR 254 Galaxy Homes Pty Ltd v National Mutual Life Association of Australasia Ltd [2012] SASC 141 Gjorgovska v AFM Cleaning Services Pty Ltd [2006] VSCA 104 Halloran v Harwood Nominees Pty Ltd [2007] NSWSC 913 Hannover Life Re of Australasia Ltd v Colella [2014] VSCA 205; 18 ANZ Ins Cas 62-036 Hannover Life Re of Australasia Ltd v Dargan [2013] NSWCA 57; 83 NSWLR 246 Hannover Life Re of Australasia Ltd v Sayseng [2005] NSWCA 214; 13 ANZ Ins Cas 90-123 Hayim v Citibank NA [1987] AC 730 HCF Life Insurance Company Pty Ltd v Kelly [2002] WASCA 264 Ivkovic v Australian Casualty & Life Ltd (1994) 10 SR(WA) 325 Keith v Gal [2013] NSWCA 339 Lamru Pty Ltd v Kation Pty Ltd (1998) 44 NSWLR 432 Lidden v Composite Buyers Ltd (1996) 67 FCR 560 Mackay v Dick (1881) 6 App Cas 251 Manglicmot v Commonwealth Bank Officers Superannuation Corporation Pty Ltd [2011] NSWCA 204; 282 ALR 167 Masterton Homes Pty Ltd v Palm Assets Pty Ltd [2009] NSWCA 234; 261 ALR 382 McArthur v Mercantile Mutual Life Insurance Co Ltd [2002] 2 Qd R 197 Multicon Engineering Pty Ltd v Federal Airports Corporation (1997) 47 NSWLR 631 Polurrian Steamship Company Ltd v Young [1915] 1 KB 922 Ramage v Waclaw (1988) 12 NSWLR 84 Rickards v Forestal Land, Timber and Railways Co [1942] AC 50 Sayed v El Hawach [2015] NSWCA 26; 88 NSWLR 214 Sayseng v Kellogg Superannuation Pty Ltd [2003] NSWSC 945 Shuetrim v FSS Trustee Corporation [2015] NSWSC 811 Stainton v The Carron Company (1854) 18 Beav 146; 52 ER 58 Suttor v Gundowda Pty Ltd (1950) 81 CLR 418 Sze Tu v Lowe [2014] NSWCA 462; 89 NSWLR 317 Taupau v HVAC Constructions (Queensland) Pty Ltd [2012] NSWCA 293 Thiess v Collector of Customs [2014] HCA 12; 250 CLR 664 Tillmanns Butcheries Pty Ltd v Australasian Meat Industry Employees' Union (1979) 27 ALR 367 Trident General Insurance Co Ltd v McNiece Bros Pty Ltd (1988) 165 CLR 107 Weber v Tiss Pty Ltd [2005] NSWSC 67 White v The Board of Trustees [1997] 2 Qd R 659 Wiley v The Board of Trustees (Supreme Court (Qld), White J, 3 April 1997, unrep) Ziogos v FSS Trustee Corporation as Trustee of the First State Superannuation Scheme [2015] NSWSC 1385 Zurich Australian Insurance Ltd v Metals & Minerals Insurance Pte Ltd [2009] HCA 50; 240 CLR 391 Texts Cited: D Derrington and R Ashton, The Law of Liability Insurance (3rd ed 2013, LexisNexis) W I B Enright and R M Merkin, Sutton on Insurance Law (4th ed 2015, Thomson Reuters) R McDougall, "Construction of contracts: The High Court's approach" (2016) 41 Aust Bar Rev 103 Category: Principal judgment Parties: 2015/150468: TAL Life Ltd (Appellant) Benjamin Shuetrim (First Respondent) FSS Trustee Corporation (Second Respondent) MetLife Insurance Ltd (Third Respondent)
2015/151747 MetLife Insurance Ltd (Appellant) Benjamin Shuetrim (First Respondent) FSS Trustee Corporation (Second Respondent) TAL Life Ltd (Third Respondent) Representation: Counsel: I M Jackman SC, S Walsh (TAL Life Ltd) J E Sexton SC, J G Duncan (MetLife Insurance Ltd) B W Rayment QC, A Coombes (First Respondent) Submitting appearance (Second Respondent)
Solicitors: HWL Ebsworth Lawyers (TAL Life Ltd) TurksLegal (MetLife Insurance Ltd) Firths (First Respondent) Mills Oakley Lawyers (Second Respondent) File Number(s): 2015/150468; 2015/151747 Publication restriction: Nil Decision under appeal Court or tribunal: Supreme Court of NSW Jurisdiction: Equity Citation: [2015] NSWSC 464 Date of Decision: 24 April 2015 Before: Stevenson J File Number(s): 2013/289552
[Note: The Uniform Civil Procedure Rules 2005 provide (Rule 36.11) that unless the Court otherwise orders, a judgment or order is taken to be entered when it is recorded in the Court's computerised court record system. Setting aside and variation of judgments or orders is dealt with by Rules 36.15, 36.16, 36.17 and 36.18. Parties should in particular note the time limit of fourteen days in Rule 36.16.] HEADNOTE [This headnote is not to be read as part of the judgment] Mr Shuetrim joined the NSW Police Force in 2007, prior to which he trained and worked as a mechanic. While undertaking training with the Police Force in September 2011, he sustained an injury to his left elbow. He ceased active duties in November 2011. He was subsequently diagnosed with an anxiety disorder which was related to his employment with the Police Force. Mr Shuetrim was medically discharged from the Police Force in November 2012. The appellant insurers, MetLife and TAL, issued policies of insurance in respect of Total and Permanent Disablement (TPD) to the Trustee of Mr Shuetrim's superannuation fund. In early 2013, Mr Shuetrim lodged a claim with the Trustee for TPD benefits under these policies. In order to satisfy the definition of TPD in the TAL policy, Mr Shuetrim was required to have "provided proof to the satisfaction of [TAL] that [Mr Shuetrim] has become incapacitated to such an extent as to render [him] unlikely ever to engage in or work for reward in any occupation or work for which [he] is reasonably qualified by reason of education, training or experience." The wording of the MetLife policy was similar. By late 2013, neither insurer had determined Mr Shuetrim's claim. He commenced proceedings against MetLife in September 2013, and joined TAL in December 2013, on the basis that the insurers had constructively denied his claims. TAL declined Mr Shuetrim's claim in December 2014, and MetLife declined his claim in February 2015. Mr Shuetrim amended his pleadings to allege that in declining his claim, each insurer had acted in breach of their duty to him to act in good faith and fair dealing. The primary judge adopted a two-stage approach. First, his Honour determined that both MetLife and TAL had acted in breach of their duties to Mr Shuetrim in determining his claims. His Honour found that MetLife breached its duty by failing to give proper weight to a vocational assessment report, and that TAL breached its duty by failing to refer to particular medical and psychiatric opinion as well as the vocational assessment report. These breaches were held to be so unreasonable as to vitiate the insurers' decisions. Secondly, his Honour determined that Mr Shuetrim did satisfy the definition of TPD in each policy. Judgment was entered in favour of Mr Shuetrim against both insurers. On appeal, MetLife and TAL both challenged the primary judge's conclusions that they had breached their duties of good faith and fair dealing to Mr Shuetrim, and that Mr Shuetrim satisfied the respective definitions of TPD. TAL also challenged the two-stage approach taken by the primary judge, despite having acceded to that approach at trial, and submitted that the decision should have been remitted to it in the event of breach. Held by Leeming JA, Beazley P and Emmett AJA agreeing, allowing the appeals: Construction of the TPD clauses 1. The statement in the headnote of White v The Board of Trustees [1997] 2 Qd R 659 that "'unlikely' meant 'improbable' in the sense of a less than 50 per cent chance" is erroneous: at [81], [86], [189]-[190]. White v The Board of Trustees [1997] 2 Qd R 659, considered; Beverley v Tyndall Life Insurance Co Ltd [1999] WASCA 198; 21 WAR 327, followed 1. The phrase "unlikely ever" in the TPD clauses does not mean "less than 50 per cent". A real chance that a person will return to relevant work, even if it is less than a 50% chance, will preclude an insurer being satisfied that the Insured Person is unlikely ever to return to relevant work. Conversely, the insurer will be satisfied if there is merely a remote or speculative possibility that an Insured Person will return to such work: at [88]-[91], [190]. 2. Consideration of the utility of dictionary definitions: at [80]. Thiess v Collector of Customs [2014] HCA 12; 250 CLR 664, 2 Elizabeth Bay Road Pty Ltd v The Owners - Strata Plan No 73943 [2014] NSWCA 409; 88 NSWLR 488, Comcare v Martinez (No 2) [2013] FCA 439; 212 FCR 272, R McDougall, "Construction of contracts: The High Court's approach" (2016) 41 Aust Bar Rev 103, referred to Breach of duty 1. MetLife did not breach its duty to Mr Shuetrim by failing to give the vocational assessment report, which was highly equivocal, "any, or any proper, weight": at [100]-[102]. 2. TAL did breach its duty to Mr Shuetrim by failing to have regard to medical and psychiatric opinions expressed after the "relevant time". These opinions were relevant to TAL's determination of Mr Shuetrim's claim: at [147]-[154]. The two-stage approach 1. TAL should not be permitted to reverse its forensic decision made at trial, in circumstances where that decision significantly affected the course of the trial: at [164]-[167]. Sze Tu v Lowe [2014] NSWCA 462; 89 NSWLR 317, Multicon Engineering Pty Ltd v Federal Airports Corporation (1997) 47 NSWLR 631, referred to 1. Despite being the subject of some judicial criticism, the two-stage approach in Edwards v The Hunter Valley Co-op Dairy Co Ltd has been applied in considered appellate decisions in New South Wales, Queensland and arguably Western Australia, which have consistently been applied in first instance decisions across Australia, and shall not be departed from: at [168]-[188]. Edwards v Aberayron Mutual Ship Insurance Society (1876) 1 QBD 563, Edwards v The Hunter Valley Co-op Dairy Co Ltd (1992) 7 ANZ Ins Cas 61-113, HCF Life Insurance Company Pty Ltd v Kelly [2002] WASCA 264, McArthur v Mercantile Mutual Life Insurance Co Ltd [2002] 2 Qd R 197, Hannover Life Re of Australasia Ltd v Sayseng [2005] NSWCA 214; 13 ANZ Ins Cas 90-123, Birdsall v Motor Trades Association of Australia Superannuation Fund Pty Ltd [2015] NSWCA 104; 89 NSWLR 412, considered Did Mr Shuetrim satisfy the definition of TPD? 1. The evidence supplied by Mr Shuetrim did not satisfy the Court that he was unlikely ever to engage in or work for reward in any occupation or work for which he is reasonably qualified by reason of education, training or experience: at [191]-[209].
Judgment Beazley P: concurring judgment [1] Leeming JA: judgment [2] Factual background [4] The TAL and MetLife policies [6] Assessment by TAL and MetLife of the claims [13] TAL's determination of the claim [18] MetLife's determination of the claim [22] Reasons of the primary judge [29] Finding of breach by TAL [31] Finding of breach by MetLife [36] The appeals [40] The duty owed by the insurers to Mr Shuetrim [47] The proper construction of the TPD clauses [59] Uncontroversial propositions [60] "Unlikely ever to engage" [68] White v The Board of Trustees [77] The use made of White v The Board of Trustees [83] The meaning of "unlikely ever" [88] Was there a "fatal flaw" in MetLife's letter? [92] Mr Shuetrim's notice of contention in MetLife's appeal [103] Did MetLife fail to accord procedural fairness? [104] Did MetLife fail to have regard to Mr Shuetrim's affidavit? [107] Did MetLife refer to opinions dealing with remote possibilities? [110] Did MetLife fail to make a determination? [114] Was TAL in breach? [117] The parties' submissions [120] Medical opinions [124] Psychiatric opinions [142] Conclusions on medical and psychiatric evidence [147] Should Edwards be overturned? [156] TAL's submissions [157] TAL should not be permitted to reverse its forensic decision made at trial [164] Edwards should not be overturned [168] Did the primary judge err in finding that Mr Shuetrim satisfied the definition of TPD in the TAL policy? [189] The finding which should be made [191] Orders [210] Emmett AJA: concurring judgment [214]
Factual background
The TAL and MetLife policies
Assessment by TAL and MetLife of the claims
TAL's determination of the claim
MetLife's determination of the claim
Reasons of the primary judge
Finding of breach by TAL
Finding of breach by MetLife
Finding that Mr Shuetrim was TPD
The appeals
The duty owed by the insurers to Mr Shuetrim
The proper construction of the TPD clauses
Uncontroversial propositions
"Unlikely ever to engage"
White v The Board of Trustees
The use made of White v The Board of Trustees
The meaning of "unlikely ever"
Was there a "fatal flaw" in MetLife's letter?
Mr Shuetrim's notice of contention in MetLife's appeal
Did MetLife fail to accord procedural fairness?
Did MetLife fail to have regard to Mr Shuetrim's affidavit?
Did MetLife refer to opinions dealing with remote possibilities?
Did MetLife fail to make a determination?
Was TAL in breach?
The parties' submissions
Medical opinions
Psychiatric opinions
Conclusions on medical and psychiatric evidence
Should Edwards be overturned?
TAL's submissions
TAL should not be permitted to reverse its forensic decision made at trial
Edwards should not be overturned
Did the primary judge err in finding that Mr Shuetrim satisfied the definition of TPD in the TAL policy?
The finding which should be made
Orders
Amendments 07 April 2016 - [84] - "to the reject" replaced with "to reject" 20 April 2016 - Headnote - paragraph numbering amended 07 October 2016 - [39] - "will allow to me to " replaced with "will allow … me to" [54] - "(1995) 67 FCR 560" replaced with "(1996) 67 FCR 560" [78] - "672-673" replaced with "673-674" [87] - "must be considered doubtful" replaced with "must be doubtful" [187] - "331" replaced with "[6]"; "assessment of the claim" replaced with "assessment of a claim"; "insurer is [in] a very" replaced with "insurer is in a very" [202] - "medical practitioner not to tailor" replaced with "medical practitioner to tailoring" 14 November 2016 - Cases cited - "Lidden v Composite Buyers Ltd (1995) 67 FCR 560" replaced with "Lidden v Composite Buyers Ltd (1996) 67 FCR 560" DISCLAIMER - Every effort has been made to comply with suppression orders or statutory provisions prohibiting publication that may apply to this judgment or decision. The onus remains on any person using material in the judgment or decision to ensure that the intended use of that material does not breach any such order or provision. Further enquiries may be directed to the Registry of the Court or Tribunal in which it was generated. Decision last updated: 14 November 2016
[1999] WASCA 198
[2012] SASC 141
[2006] VSCA 104
[2014] VSCA 205
[2002] WASCA 264
[2014] HCA 12
(1995) 185 CLR 410
(1998) 44 NSWLR 432
(1996) 67 FCR 560
(1997) 47 NSWLR 631
(1988) 12 NSWLR 84
(1950) 81 CLR 418
(1979) 27 ALR 367
(1988) 165 CLR 107
(1995) 67 FCR 560