© 2026 Zoe. All rights reserved.
Zoe is a legal information platform. Always consult the Federal Register of Legislation for authoritative text.
[2017] NSWCA 233
Court of Appeal (NSW)
2017-06-23
Macfarlan JA, Meagher JA, Gleeson JA
Original judgment source is linked above.
McCann v Switzerland Insurance Australia Ltd (2000) 203 CLR 579; [2000] HCA 65 Minister for Immigration and Border Protection v Stretton (2016) 237 FCR 1; [2016] FCAFC 11 Minister of Immigration and Citizenship v Li (2013) 249 CLR 332; [2013] HCA 18 Nile v Club Plus Superannuation Pty Ltd [2005] NSWSC 55 Repatriation Commission v Hill (2005) 142 FCR 88; [2005] FCAFC 7 Riley v National Mutual Life Association of Australasia Ltd (1985) 4 ANZ Ins Cas 74,061 TAL Life Limited v Shuetrim; Metlife Insurance Ltd v Shuetrim (2016) 91 NSWLR 439; [2016] NSWCA 68 Tonkin v Western Mining Ltd (1998) 10 ANZ Ins Cas 61-397; [1998] WASCA 101 Wardley Australia Ltd v The State of Western Australia (1992) 175 CLR 514 Wells v Australian Aviation Underwriting Pool [2004] QCA 43 Wheeler v FSS Trustee Corporation ATF First State Superannuation Scheme [2016] NSWSC 534 Ziogos v FSS Trustee Corporation as trustee of the First State Superannuation Scheme [2015] NSWSC 1385 Texts Cited: Enright & Merkin, Sutton on Insurance Law (4th ed), Vol 2 Category: Principal judgment Parties: Hannover Life Re of Australasia Limited (Appellant) Clinton Keith Robert Jones (First Respondent) United Super Pty Ltd (Second Respondent) Representation: Counsel: Mr J Sexton SC / Ms B Nolan (Appellant) Mr M Rayment QC / Mr M Gollan & Mr A Coombes (First Respondent)
Solicitors: Turks Legal (Appellant) Amond Legal (First Respondent) Greenfields Lawyers (Second Respondent) File Number(s): 2016/353144 Decision under appeal Court or tribunal: Supreme Court of New South Wales Citation: [2016] NSWSC 1551 Date of Decision: 02 November 2016 Before: Brereton J File Number(s): 2014/339415
[Note: The Uniform Civil Procedure Rules 2005 provide (Rule 36.11) that unless the Court otherwise orders, a judgment or order is taken to be entered when it is recorded in the Court's computerised court record system. Setting aside and variation of judgments or orders is dealt with by Rules 36.15, 36.16, 36.17 and 36.18. Parties should in particular note the time limit of fourteen days in Rule 36.16.]
HEADNOTE [This headnote is not to be read as part of the judgment] The first respondent, Clinton Jones, was injured at work as a roof plumber in mid-2011. He was a member of the Construction and Building Unions Superannuation Fund (the Fund), of which the second respondent, United Super Pty Ltd, is the trustee (the Trustee). The Fund provided certain benefits to members in respect of the disablement of a member, including "Insured Benefits" where a member satisfied the definition of "Total and Permanent Disablement" under the Trust Deed. Mr Jones injured his back while lifting heavy asbestos sheeting into a bin, having earlier suffered a lower back injury when working in 2002. In 2012, Mr Jones made a claim for an Insured Benefit available under a group life policy issued by the appellant, Hannover Life Re of Australasia Ltd (the Insurer), to the Trustee in its capacity as trustee of the Fund. Mr Jones claimed that he was totally and permanently disabled within the meaning of the definition in the policy. The definition of Total and Permanent Disablement in the policy required that the Insured Person be "unable to follow their usual occupation by reason of accident or illness for six consecutive months and in [the Insurer's] opinion, after consideration of medical evidence satisfactory to us, is unlikely ever to be able to engage in any Regular Remunerative Work for which the Insured Person is reasonably fitted by education, training or experience". The Insurer and the Trustee both declined Mr Jones' claim. Both accepted that Mr Jones would never return to his pre-injury tradesman work but the Insurer considered that Mr Jones had capacity to engage in work in a number of entry-level positions that required no retraining. Four positions were identified in a vocational assessment - retail sales (hardware), courier/delivery driver, console operator and customer service advisor/telemarketer. The Insurer formed the opinion that Mr Jones did not meet the definition of Total and Permanent Disablement in the policy and the Trustee concluded that he did not met the same definition as it applied under the trust deed. In November 2014, Mr Jones commenced proceedings in the Equity Division against the Insurer and the Trustee seeking declarations that (1) their decisions were void and (2) that he was Totally and Permanently Disabled within the meaning of the trust deed and the policy. Mr Jones sought further orders that the Insurer pay the sum of $100,000 (being the agreed benefit under the policy) plus interest to the Trustee and the Trustee thereupon pay that sum to Mr Jones. The primary judge upheld Mr Jones' claim and made the orders and declarations that he sought. The primary judge proceeded upon the basis that the Court may review and avoid an insurer's decision where the insurer has (1) asked the wrong question; (2) taken into account an irrelevant consideration or failed to take into account a relevant consideration; or (3) otherwise not acted fairly, in good faith and reasonably in forming an opinion as to the plaintiff's disability. The primary judge concluded that the Insurer's decision to decline an Insured Benefit to Mr Jones had miscarried, that is, the Insurer had breached its contractual obligation to act reasonably in considering and determining the claim. That was because, in making its decision, the Insurer had failed to take into account Mr Jones' psychological make-up, which was a significant component of his incapacity to perform the suggested occupations. The primary judge also found that the Insurer's decision had miscarried on the basis that it had erred in its application of the phrase "reasonably fitted by education, training or experience" (the ETE clause) in the policy by treating jobs for which Mr Jones had some discrete transferrable skills but no vocational history as being jobs for which he was fitted by education, training or experience. Rather, his Honour found that there must be a link (represented by the word "by" in the ETE clause) between the proposed future occupations and insured person's vocational history. Having concluded that the Insurer's decision was "erroneous", the primary judge proceeded to determine that Mr Jones did satisfy the definition of Total and Permanent Disablement, relevantly, because Mr Jones was reasonably fitted by education, training or experience only for work as a manual labourer and it was accepted that Mr Jones would never again do such work. The primary judge further found that the suggested occupations in the vocational assessment involved customer service, and Mr Jones had no relevant experience or aptitude for such duties, and that work as a courier/delivery driver would contravene Mr Jones' medical restrictions and place him in potentially dangerous situations, as well as aggravating the psychological obstacles to Mr Jones' pursuit of such work. The Insurer appealed against that decision. The following issues arise on the appeal: (1) whether the primary judge erred in his approach to the task of the Court in reviewing the Insurer's opinion that Mr Jones was not Totally and Permanently Disabled; (2) whether the primary judge erred in construing the ETE clause in the policy; (3) contingent on the other grounds of appeal failing, whether the primary judge erred determining that Mr Jones satisfied the definition of Total and Permanent Disablement in the policy. In respect of issue (1), the Court (Gleeson JA, Macfarlan JA and Meagher JA agreeing) concluded:
Judgment
The trust deed and the policy
Factual background
Mr Jones' work history and injuries
The claim by Mr Jones
Functional capacity assessment
Vocational assessment
The first refusal
The second refusal
Subsequent developments
Primary judge's reasons
Grounds of appeal
Legal principles - Insurer's duties of good faith and fair dealing, and to act reasonably
Grounds 1 and 2: Breach of the policy
Parties' submissions
Analysis
(1) Did the primary judge mis-state the applicable principles?
(2) The task of the court and the criterion of unreasonableness
Rejection of merits review of unreasonableness
The concept of Wednesbury unreasonableness
Contract cases applying Wednesbury unreasonableness
Rejection of Wednesbury unreasonableness
(3) Did the primary judge undertake a review of the merits of the Insurer's decisions?
Did the Insurer fail to consider Mr Jones' psychological makeup?
Grounds 4 and 5: The proper construction of the ETE clause of the policy
Parties' submissions
Interpretation of ETE clause
Did the primary judge err in finding that Mr Jones' aptitude was only for manual labour?
Analysis
Ground 6: Geographical limitation on employment
B. Whether the policy responded to Mr Jones' claim
Ground 4: The ETE clause
Grounds 3, 7 and 8: Whether no real chance that Mr Jones would ever work again
Parties' submissions
Analysis
Conclusion and Orders
Amendments 15 September 2017 - Amendments made to [102], [107], [110] and [113] DISCLAIMER - Every effort has been made to comply with suppression orders or statutory provisions prohibiting publication that may apply to this judgment or decision. The onus remains on any person using material in the judgment or decision to ensure that the intended use of that material does not breach any such order or provision. Further enquiries may be directed to the Registry of the Court or Tribunal in which it was generated. Decision last updated: 07 December 2018
Hannover Life Re of Australasia Ltd
Jones
[2014] VSCA 179
[2014] VSCA 205
[1998] WASCA 101
[2004] QCA 43
(2016) 92 NSWLR 639
(1999) 21 WAR 327
(1977) 180 CLR 266
(1976) 135 CLR 110
(1995) 185 CLR 410
(2014) 288 FLR 374
(2013) 83 NSWLR 246
(2014) 47 VR 1
(1985) 1 NSWLR 314
(2000) 203 CLR 579
(2016) 237 FCR 1
(2013) 249 CLR 332
(2005) 142 FCR 88
(2016) 91 NSWLR 439
(1992) 175 CLR 514
(1997) 217 ALR 324
(2013) 249 CLR 323
(1905) 2 IR 1