austlii:cth/FedCFamC2G/2025/1499
General information, not legal advice.
FedCFamC2G
2025-09-10
Original judgment source is linked above.
Note: The form of the order is subject to the entry in the Court's records.
Note: The Court may vary or set aside a judgment or order to remedy minor typographical or grammatical errors (r 24.04(g) Federal Circuit and Family Court of Australia (Division 2) (General Federal Law) Rules 2025 (Cth)), or to record a variation to the order pursuant to r 24.04 (Cth).
(a) was entitled to take paid personal leave and exercised that entitlement from 11 February 2022 until the date of her dismissal. The possession and exercise of this entitlement was a workplace right within the meaning of s 341(1)(a) of the FW Act.
(b) was entitled to the benefit of, and to participate in, the process of making a workers' compensation claim under the Workplace Injury Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 2013 (Vic) which she did on 15 March 2022. The possession and exercise of this entitlement was a workplace right within the meaning of s 341(1)(b) of the FW Act.
(c) had a disability, being an injured back, anxiety and depression. The disability was a protected attribute for the purposes of s 351(1) of the FW Act.
(d) was temporarily absent from work because of an illness or injury of the kind prescribed by regulation 3.01 of the Fair Work Regulations 2009 (namely, the injured back, anxiety and depression) and for the purpose of s 352 of the FW Act.
(a) Originating Application filed on 29 July 2022.
(b) Statement of Claim filed on 4 October 2022.[1]
(c) Reply to Defence filed on 23 November 2022.
(d) Consolidated affidavit of Ms Ponte affirmed on 22 November 2023 (First Ponte affidavit).
(e) Reply affidavit of Ms Ponte affirmed on 16 January 2024 (Second Ponte affidavit).
(f) Outline of submissions filed on 16 August 2023.
(g) Outline of submissions filed on 25 January 2024.
(a) Response filed on 26 August 2022.
(b) Defence filed on 2 November 2022.
(c) Affidavit of Mr Sinclair affirmed on 3 October 2023 (First Sinclair affidavit).
(d) Affidavit of Mr Sinclair affirmed on 6 December 2023 (Second Sinclair affidavit).
(e) Outline of submissions filed on 22 December 2022.
(a) issuing requests to underwriters for policies;
(b) liaising with clients directly concerning policy details and information;
(c) organising quotes for existing and/or new clients;
(d) organising endorsements and policy alterations as required;
(e) organising renewals of existing policies;
(f) assisting with the processing of any claims submitted against policies by clients;
(g) liaising with underwriters/insurers regarding requirements for policies; and
(h) recording all client policy activities within "Insight" (a cloud-based accounts database used by GNH from about 2019 to record all client and policy information).
(a) a GNL contact (for example, Ms Ponte or Mr Dahlstrom) would receive a request from a client or potential client, by email or phone, to provide one or more quotes for an insurance policy type;
(b) this enquiry, together with the client's details, would be recorded in Insight by the GNL contact. Once on Insight, all GNL contacts could access this information;
(c) the GNL contact managing the particular client would request any applicable documents required from the client;
(d) any documents received from the client would then be uploaded and stored on Insight;
(e) once all relevant documents had been received from the client, the GNL contact would submit relevant forms and documents through the various underwriter platforms, or manually in unique scenarios, to the underwriter, to consider;
(f) the underwriter would respond with a quote setting out the terms and costs of any policy they were willing to offer the client;
(g) all quotes received by underwriters were uploaded to Insight. Ordinarily, a quote was linked automatically through the underwriters' platforms to Insight. However, where a manual quote was obtained, the GNL contact would upload that quote to Insight manually;
(h) the GNL contact would have discretion to circulate what they considered to be the most appropriate quotes for policies to the client for their consideration.
(i) the client would advise the GNL contact which policy (if any) they wished to take out;
(j) when a quote for a policy was accepted and a request to take out a policy was made by a client, the GNL contact would generate an invoice through Insight and circulate the invoice to the client via email. It was at this point, that the quote was essentially converted to a policy. The invoice would show the base premium, government charges and the broker fees applied by GNL. The commission was built into the base premium but not separately identified on the invoice.
(k) By way of example, an invoice total of $1,100 could be made up of $1,000 for the base premium which included 10% commission of $100 and a broker fee of $100. When the client paid the invoice, GNL would retain the commission and broker fee and pay the insurer $900. In the event that a client was not charged a broker fee or commission, GNL would not receive any revenue from the transaction.
Mr Holding: So, I take it from your evidence that you were aware of all - of the identities of all the clients Ms Ponte was working with; is that right?
Mr Sinclair: No, often not aware of what clients people were working with, and certainly in Angie's case she would handle a lot of the incoming contact with clients over her personal phone rather than in the office. And that wasn't the case for the rest of the office. And then the deleting the - not copying in the invoices and deleting the emails certainly made it very difficult to know what Angie had been processing.
Mr Holding: Well, I haven't asked you about that, Mr Sinclair, but what I am asking you about is whether you knew all the clients with whom Ms Ponte was doing work?
Mr Sinclair: No.
It has been a long time since the maxim falsus in uno, falsus in omnibus (false in one thing, false in everything) was part of the common law, its broad applicability having been rejected long ago (including by no less a judge than Lord Ellenborough CJ in R v Teal [1809] EngR 179; (1809) 11 East 307; 103 ER 1022). It is trite that the tribunal of fact (be it a judge or jury), having seen and heard the witness, is to decide whether the evidence of the witness is worthy of acceptance and this may involve accepting or rejecting the whole of the evidence, or accepting some of the evidence and rejecting the rest: Cubillo v Commonwealth [2000] FCA 1084; (2000) 103 FCR 1 at 45-47 [118]- [123]; Flint v Lowe (1995) 22 MVR 1; and S v M (1984) 36 SASR 316. It is for this reason a jury is directed that they may accept some parts of a witness's evidence, but not other parts: Dublin, Wicklow & Wexford Railway Co v Slattery (1878) 3 App Cas 1155. This reflects the accumulated wisdom and experience of the common law that witnesses may lie about some things and yet tell the truth about others, and the tribunal hearing the evidence is best place to fix upon the truth...
Hi All
We have booked the below for our GNG Xmas dinner Friday 17th Dec,
6pm Drinks at Bouzy - Bar a Vin (High St Armadale)
8pm Dinner at Sames Said Bistro (down the road)
Rosco - Please let me know if you and Tammy are available to join.
Our last trading day will be Wed 23rd Dec, please advise if you would prefer to return to work either Mon 24th Jan or Mon 31st Jan (note: Australia Day 26th Jan)
Cheers,
Rob Sinclair
Hi Angie & Ross
As per my email on 18th October the office is closed from 23/12/2021 and reopens Mon 24/01/2022 (not the 17th).
Have a Merry Christmas and a well earned break.
See you in the NY.
Cheers R
RD: Hey when is our last day?
AP: TODAY?
RD: ok are you still coming back on the 17/1?
AP: Have not spoken about it. That's my plan otherwise too much work build up and emails and renewals.
RD: yep I'm coming back on the 17/01
AP: Have you told him this
RD: ...I just told him I was coming back when you do
AP: Gee thanks...yet to discuss.
Dear All
Insurance for staff and immediate family - commission and fees
It has come to my attention that some staff have been rebating commission directly to family and/or friends without approval. In effect, there has been no income or earnings on this business written. There is no point in being in business if we do not make any money. None of my family, that I know of, have ever received a rebate on GNG's commission.
All insurance policies (including family) must be processed gross with commission and under no circumstances should the broker fee be negative.
Broker fees may only be reduced or waived within reason. A broker fee may be waived for your personal insurance and your immediate family only. Immediate family is considered as: spouse, de facto partner, child, parent, grandparent, grandchild or sibling.
Any transaction with a net commission or negative or nil broker fee must be approved, in writing by a director of GNG.
If you have any questions regarding this, please let me know.
Regards,
ROB SINCLAIR
Dear Angelina
PRIVATE & CONFIDENTIAL
Re: Alleged Serious Misconduct causing financial loss
It is with great disappointment that I write to you in relation to allegations of serious misconduct by you that we have recently identified.
A review of various transactions initiated and processed by you over the past few years reveal over 100 cases where the evidence suggests that you have not charged clients the appropriate commission and fees on invoices. If substantiated, this alleged misconduct may amount to unlawful conduct including but not limited to obtaining a financial advantage by deception.
The invoices involved appear to have either been processed with nil commission, with a subsequent reduction in the total amount payable by the client and/or a nil fee, or involve a negative broker fee applied to offset some, or all, of the insurer commission we receive.
The clients we have identified in our review include, but are not limited to, your family and friends. Over the 19 plus years that you have been employed by us, you have never requested the authority to nett the premium or to apply a negative broker fee for any of these clients. Likewise, over this time, I have never authorised or even indicated a preparedness to adjust client invoices in the way that you have.
Based on our investigation of these matters it is apparent that you may have taken specific steps and processes to hide such conduct from me. This includes, but is not limited to, omitting to copy me in on emails which is standard office practice for all clients when you send out invoices.
To date, we estimate that this alleged misconduct has resulted in over $25,000 of lost income to the business and we have evidence of your actions and our loss. Based on the above, I believe we are entitled to terminate your employment immediately. I am also considering whether to take action against you to recover our loss. To mitigate further risk for our clients and our business, I have immediately suspended your access to our business' portal and redirected your email to me whilst further investigating your conduct. Please immediately return to me your office key and the key for our post office box.
As you are currently off work on personal leave, I invite you to respond to the matters set out above in writing. In particular, should you believe that the conduct does not constitute Serious Misconduct or a fundamental breach of your obligations as an employee, then I ask you to provide such reasons in writing by 15th of March 2022. If we do not receive a response from you by 15 March 2022, we will make a decision regarding your employment based on the information currently before us.
Yours faithfully
ROB SINCLAIR
Director
Dear Rob
I refer to your letter dated the 8th March 2022.
I do not believe I'm guilty of the misconduct alleged by you.
I also believe that you have accused me of a criminal offence which I deny.
I require you to retract the allegations that I may have acted in a way that is unlawful.
In response to your unfound allegations, you are aware that since I commenced employment in July 2002:
(1) You authorised me on many occasions to not charge clients a broker fee in particular new client.
(2) You authorised me on many occasions to not charge existing clients a brokerage fee.
(3) I renewed policies that were placed by other employees when there was no brokerage fee.
(4) I followed the practice of not charging the brokerage fee and reducing the commission for some close family members as was the case with Ross Dahlstrom who did the same for his close family members.
Please note that I have blocked any emails from your company and any associated companies as well as your personal mobile number and associated directors.
This is necessary because of your repeated bullying and harassment over the last 10 years which has resulted in my anxiety and depression, and inability to return to work.
Regards
Angelina Ponte
Dear Angelina
PRIVATE & CONFIDENTIAL
Re: Termination for Serious Misconduct
I refer to my letter to you of 8 March 2022 and to your response of 15 March 2022.
Your response, which simply contains bald denials and false claims that certain transaction were authorised, has done nothing to change our view that you have engaged in systematic, repeated unlawful conduct that has cost the business more than $50,000 in financial loss (our further investigations since 8 March 2022 reveal greater loss than the $25,000 referred to in our earlier letter).
As set out in our letter to you of 8 March, a review of various transactions initiated and processed by you over the past few years reveal over 100 cases where the evidence suggests that you have not charged clients the appropriate commission and fees on invoices. The clients we have identified in our review include, but are not limited to, your family and friends. None of this conduct was authorised and indeed, you went to great lengths to hide this conduct from us.
Your conduct constitutes serious misconduct and leaves us with no option but to terminate your employment summarily (i.e. without notice). Your employment will end today. You will be paid up to and including today but you have no entitlement to any payment in lieu of notice.
We reserve all our rights in relation to this matter, including our right to take action against you to recover our loss.
We also intend reporting this conduct to the relevant authorities.
Please immediately return to us any outstanding property of the business which is in your possession or control.
Yours faithfully
ROB SINCLAIR
Director
(1) A person must not take adverse action against another person:
(a) because the other person:
(i) has a workplace right; or
(ii) has, or has not, exercised a workplace right; or
(iii) proposes or proposes not to, or has at any time proposed or proposed not to, exercise a workplace right; or
(b) to prevent the exercise of a workplace right by the other person.
Note: This subsection is a civil remedy provision (see Part 4-1).
(1) A person has a workplace right if the person:
(a) is entitled to the benefit of, or has a role or responsibility under, a workplace law, workplace instrument or order made by an industrial body:
(b) is able to initiate, or participate in, a process or proceedings under a workplace law or workplace instrument; or
(c) is able to make a complaint or inquiry:
(i) to a person or body having the capacity under a workplace law to seek compliance with that law or a workplace instrument; or
(ii) if the person is an employee - in relation to his or her employment.
(1) An employer must not take adverse action against a person who is an employee, or prospective employee, of the employer because of the person's race, colour, sex, sexual orientation, age, physical or mental disability, marital status, family or carer's responsibilities, pregnancy, religion, political opinion, national extraction or social origin.
Note: This subsection is a civil remedy provision (see Part 4-1).
An employer must not dismiss an employee because the employee is temporarily absent from work because of illness or injury of a kind prescribed by the regulations.
Note: This section is a civil remedy provision (see Part 4-1).
(1) For section 352 of the Act, this regulation prescribes kinds of illness or injury.
Note: Under section 352 of the Act, an employer must not dismiss an employee because the employee is temporarily absent from work because of illness or injury of a kind prescribed by the regulations.
(2) A prescribed kind of illness or injury exists if the employee provides a medical certificate for the illness or injury, or a statutory declaration about the illness or injury, within:
(a) 24 hours after the commencement of the absence; or
(b) such longer period as is reasonable in the circumstances.
Note: The Act defines medical certificate in section 12.
(3) A prescribed kind of illness or injury exists if the employee:
(a) is required by the terms of a workplace instrument:
(i) to notify the employer of an absence from work; and
(ii) to substantiate the reason for the absence; and
(b) complies with those terms.
(1) If:
(a) in an application in relation to a contravention of this Part, it is alleged that a person took, or is taking, action for a particular reason or with a particular intent; and
(b) taking that action for that reason or with that intent would constitute a contravention of this Part;
it is presumed that the action was, or is being, taken for that reason or with that intent unless the person proves otherwise.
GENERAL PROTECTIONS CLAIMS - MATTERS OF PRINCIPLE
[T]he requirement that the complaint be one that the employee is "able to make" in relation to his or her employments suggests that there are complaints which the employee is not able to make in relation to his or her employment. The ability to make a complaint does not arise simply because the complainant is an employee of the employer. Rather, it is underpinned by an entitlement or right. The source of such entitlement would include, even if it is not limited to, an instrument, such as a contract of employment, award or legislation.
In Messenger v Commonwealth of Australia (Represented by the Department of Finance) [2022] FCA 677, Snaden J said the following in relation to the statutory meaning of being "able to make" in s 341(1)(c) at [150]:
I am bound in any event by what successive full courts have now made clear; in order that a complaint or inquiry made in relation to employment might qualify as the exercise of a workplace right, an employee must first demonstrate that it was made in the exercise of, or otherwise to protect or vindicate, some right or entitlement conferred upon them, whether instrumentally or otherwise. It is not sufficient that a complaint or inquiry is made simply because the employee feels (with good justification or otherwise) that he or she has something about which to complain or inquire.
- A complaint is "in relation to...employment" if the subject matter about which a complaint is made concerns an aspect of employment: Serpanos at [89]. There must be a relationship between the subject matter of the complaint and the complainant's employment: Alam at [74]; Whelan v Cigarette & Gift Warehouse Pty Ltd [2017] FCA 1534 at [33]- [34] (Collier J). A complaint can be directly or indirectly related to its maker's employment: Construction, Forestry, Mining and Energy Union v Pilbara Iron Company (Services) Pty Ltd (No 3) [2012] FCA 697 at [64] (Katzmann J); Shea at [631]. A connection between a complaint and employment will likely exist in circumstances "where the subject matter of the complaint raises an issue with potential implications for the complainant's employment": Walsh v Greater Metropolitan Cemeteries Trust (No 2) (2014) 243 IR 468; [2014] FCA 456 at [42] (Bromberg J).
The application of section 361 - the reverse onus
(a) in order to attract the application of s 361, an applicant should allege with sufficient particularity both the action said to constitute "adverse action" and the particular reason or particular intent with which it is said the action was taken: Short v Ambulance Victoria [2015] FCAFC 55; (2015) 249 IR 217 (Dowsett, Bromberg and Murphy JJ) at [55];
(b) the party making the allegation that adverse action was taken "because" of a particular circumstance must establish the existence of that circumstance as an objective fact: Tattsbet Ltd v Morrow [2015] FCAFC 63; (2015) 233 FCR 46 at [119]. That is, it is for the applicant to establish all the elements of the alleged contravention other than the reasons of the respondent for taking the adverse action: Australian Building and Construction Commissioner v Hall [2018] FCAFC 83; (2018) 261 FCR 347 (ABCC v Hall) at [100];
(c) an employer takes adverse action in contravention of s 340 if a proscribed reason is a "substantial and operative" reason for the action or if the reasons for the action include the proscribed reason: Bendigo v Barclay at [104] (Gummow and Hayne JJ).
(d) the discharge of the s 361 onus requires proof on the balance of probabilities and usually requires decision-makers to give direct evidence of their reasons for taking the adverse action: Bendigo v Barclay at [43]-[44];
(e) the determination of why an employer took adverse action against an employee requires an inquiry into the actual reason or reasons of the employer and is to be made in the light of all the circumstances established in the proceeding: Bendigo v Barclay at [41], [45] (French CJ and Crennan J); at [101] (Gummow and Hayne JJ); Construction, Forestry, Mining and Energy Union v BHP Coal Pty Ltd [2014] HCA 41, (2014) 253 CLR 243 (CFMEU v BHP Coal) at [7] (French CJ and Kiefel J); Construction, Forestry, Mining and Energy Union v Anglo Coal (Dawson Services) Pty Ltd [2015] FCAFC 157, (2015) 238 FCR 273 (CFMEU v Anglo Coal**)** at [27]; ABCC v Hall at [19];
(f) while the evidence of the decision-maker as to the reasons for the taking of the adverse action may, if accepted by the Court, satisfy the s 361 onus, such evidence is not a necessary pre-condition: CFMEU v BHP Coal at [192]; Australian Red Cross Society v Queensland Nurses' Union of Employees [2019] FCAFC 215, 273 FCR 332 at [72];
(g) the Court's rejection of the evidence of the decision-maker as to the reasons for the adverse action will ordinarily be "a weighty consideration and often a determinative consideration" in the determination of whether the reason alleged by the applicant was a substantial and operative reason for the action (Cummins South Pacific Pty Ltd v Keenan [2020] FCAFC 204; (2020) 302 IR 400 at [116]), but such a rejection does not relieve the Court from considering all the evidence probative of whether the reason asserted by the applicant has been negated: ibid, CFMEU v Anglo Gold at [27]; Australian Licensed Aircraft Engineers Association v International Aviation Service Assistance Pty Ltd [2011] FCA 333, (2011) 193 FCR 526 at [272]. When there is evidence of a broad range of facts and circumstances, which are not dependent on acceptance of the decision-maker's evidence about his or her asserted reason for the dismissal, such evidence must be taken into account in accessing whether the reasons asserted by an applicant were a substantial and operative reason for the action: ibid at [113]; TechnologyOne Ltd v Roohizadegan [2021] FCAFC 137 at [105]- [106].
(h) even if the reasons advanced by a respondent as the actual reasons for the decision are accepted, the absence of evidence that there were no additional reasons or that the actual reasons did not include the alleged proscribed reasons, may result in a failure to rebut the presumption: National Tertiary Education Union v Royal Melbourne Institute of Technology [2013] FCA 451, (2013) 234 IR 139 at [20]; PIA Mortgage Services Pty Ltd v King [2020] FCAFC 15, (2020) 274 FCR 225 at [154] (Snaden J);
(i) the decision-maker's knowledge of the circumstances asserted by an applicant to be the reason for the adverse action, and even its consideration, does not require a finding that the action was taken because of that circumstance: Bendigo v Barclay at [62]; Construction, Forestry, Mining and Energy Union v BHP Coal Pty Ltd (No 3) [2012] FCA 1218 at [80] (Jessup J); Shea v TRUenergy Services Pty Ltd (No 6) [2014] FCA 271, (2014) 242 IR 1 at [777]. Nor does the fact that the adverse action has some association with a matter supporting a proscribed reason: CFMEU v BHP Coal at [20], [87]-[88]; Construction, Forestry, Mining and Energy Union v Endeavour Coal Pty Ltd [2015] FCAFC 76. (2015) 231 FCR 150 at [32], [47]-[48] (Jessup J); and
(j) adverse action taken against a person because of conduct resulting from the exercise of workplace rights may not offend the s 340(1) prohibition: CFMEU v BHP Coal; Endeavour Coal at [52] (Perram J).
DETERMINATION OF MS PONTE'S GENERAL PROTECTION CLAIMS
(a) Whether Ms Ponte exercised workplace rights within the meaning of s 341(1)(c) of the FW Act;
(b) Identification of the decision maker with respect to Ms Ponte's dismissal;
(c) The reasons for the decision to dismiss, having regard to s 360 and s 361 of the FW Act.
Did Ms Ponte exercise workplace rights within the meaning of s 341(1)(c) of the Act?
(a) was able to make a workers compensation claim and was entitled to workers compensation benefits if any such claim was successful;
(b) had made a workers compensation claim;
(c) was on personal leave;
(d) was temporarily absent from work;
(e) suffered from a back injury and/or anxiety and/or depression.
(a) his belief that Ms Ponte had potentially committed criminal offences by reason of the unauthorised transactions, the rolling policies, the cancelled policies and the backdated policy;
(b) he had lost trust that Ms Ponte was working honestly;
(c) he had lost confidence that Ms Ponte was working in the best interest of the company and its shareholders;
(d) he believed that Ms Ponte's conduct referred to in (a) was in breach of the Broking Policy (cl. 23) - which I note is concerned with "Fees and Commissions"; and
(e) he believed that Ms Ponte's conduct referred to in (a) was in breach of the Staff Policy (cl. 29.6) which is concerned with "Business Ethics & Conflicts of Interest".
In some circumstances, it might be possible to infer from evidence tending to show that a respondent's opinions were formed wrongly or unfairly - that is to say, inconsistently with fact or in a way otherwise susceptible to some other legitimate criticism - that those opinions either were not, in fact, formed, or did not relevantly actuate the respondent's conduct (or both). Such circumstances might warrant the rejection of the respondent's evidence as to why it did what it did and a finding that the respondent failed to rebut the presumption established by s 361 of the FW Act. But, regardless, the inquiry remains: did the respondent form the views that it said that it formed; and if it did, was it actuated to conduct itself in the way that it did on account of them (and not on account of any proscribed reason)?
- Similarly, where the reasons for which a respondent claims to have conducted itself were formed in consequence of a process that was tainted by obvious or significant shortcomings, that too might, in the right circumstances, ground a finding that they did not, in fact, form in the mind or minds of those who effected - or substantially or indispensably or significantly or materially contributed to - the conduct, and/or did not, in fact, actuate or partially actuate it.
RD: Rob called me this morning wanting to renew your family renewals as he doesn't want us to net out the commission for family members but will allow us to still net out for our own policies. He will be sending us a email confirming this.��
AP: Thanks for letting me know.
RD: ��no doubt you will be seeing a email about this very soon.
AP: I don't check anything to do with work, maybe will send to personal
RD: Oh it will be sitting there in your inbox when you return. He sent the email through but he has her dirty fingers all over it.
AP: Of course it does
RD: We are being treated like children again.��
AP: It's a joke
RD: Plus now he wants a list from us of all the policies that we have invoiced in the past where we have altered the commission and fees to our family and friends. He won't be getting it from me.
AP: Are you serious? Me neither and to think we bring business to him too
RD: nope it's in his email. He he bangs on about it I will just leave and he can pay me out. I'm only really doing this job to keep me occupied
AP: You do what suits you...it's like you said. Treated like children
Ms Pase: Okay. And yet, you intended to refuse to comply with any direction that Mr Sinclair would give you about providing a list, didn't you? That's what you mean by "me neither"?
Ms Ponte: It would be a hard thing to do. You would have to go through a lot of invoices. Big job, kind of
Ms Pase: Okay?
Ms Ponte: looking through them all.
Mr Holding: You never said to Ms Ponte, did you, that she was permitted to discount brokerage fees but not commissions?
Mr Sinclair: I never said she was permitted to discount the commissions at all. I agree - I never said she was permitted to discount the broker fees and not the commissions. I never said that she was not - she was allowed to discount the commissions. It was just not...
Mr Holding: So your answer is?
Mr Sinclair: Considered.
Mr Holding: Your answer is yes?
Mr Sinclair: That's right.
Mr Holding: You never said to her?
Mr Sinclair: I never combined the two things together. That's right.
Mr Holding: And you said that this was general office practice?
Mr Sinclair: Yes.
Mr Holding: I suggest that you had never said that employees were permitted to discount fees but were not permitted to discount commissions?
Mr Sinclair: They were certainly never permitted to discount commission. The commissions were not.
Mr Holding: Well, you never said that, did you?
Mr Sinclair: It says it in the brokerage policies and procedures very clearly.
Mr Holding: Well, as I asked you before, it doesn't say in that brokerage policy and procedure?
Mr Sinclair: It doesn't say
Mr Holding: anything about discounting anything?
Mr Sinclair: Broker fee.
Mr Holding: for family members, does it?
Mr Sinclair: That's true. Yes. I agree.
Mr Holding: So you accept that you have never said that staff may discount fees but not commissions?
Mr Sinclair: I've said staff can discount fees for immediate family. That's all.
Mr Holding: But you've never said that to Angelina, have you?
Mr Sinclair: I've said that they can discount fees for family, yes.
Mr Holding: Well, you've never?
Mr Sinclair: It was common practice.
Mr Holding: You've never said that to Angelina, have you?
Mr Sinclair: Yes. I've - she has processed numerous policies for my family and that's what - the way they were processed.
Mr Holdng: Nowhere in your witness statement is there a conversation between you and Angelina about anything where you told her what she could and couldn't do; that's true isn't it?
Mr Sinclair: Nowhere in the affidavit or ---
Mr Holding: Yes. Excuse me?
Mr Sinclair: that we've never had that conversation? I would ---
Mr Holding: Yes. There's nothing in your affidavit?
Mr Sinclair: Yes.
Mr Holding: you haven't given any evidence about a conversation in which you told Angelina that she couldn't discount commissions?
Mr Sinclair: It was, as I've said, common practice within the business to discount the broker fee for the immediate family. Apart from that I needed to be asked. Angie did ask me on one occasion for my daughter and it was an insignificant amount and I readily agreed. That was the only occasion.
How did GNH come to discover the unauthorised transactions?
While she was on leave Llou started looking at her personal transactions and found that she had been processing insurance policies for her family and friends and processing the sale with no fee and or minus the commissions so we were making nothing or minimal amount for the sale.
There were a few things that occurred that made us look into her activities. Angie never took phone calls from her family and/or friends at work and would only communicate with them via email or text. One of the staff members received a phone call from a friend of Angie's at the office and when Angie spoke to that person she said she had told them never to call the office. One of the staff members asked the name of the person that sends flowers to Angie every year and when their name was recalled we looked them up on the system and found they had received the same discount we later realised Angie was processing on a regular basis.
Mr Holding: You haven't given any evidence about that, have you, in this proceedings?
Mr Sinclair: Well, Lou looked into the transaction. We were - we were all involved in looking into the transactions in different ways.
Mr Holding: Well, paragraph 8 says that - I suggest to you the effect of paragraph - your evidence in paragraph 8 or your statement in paragraph 8 is that you and Lou started looking into her activities because she never took phone calls from her family or friends at work and would only communicate with them via email or text?
Mr Sinclair: Well, it doesn't say because she - no. Lou - Lou advised me of - asked me to look at one of the transactions and that was - after looking at that transaction, I asked Lou to look into more transactions. Then we discovered it was very difficult to find much of a record because her computer had been so thoroughly wiped of most information. However, we found a trail in the archives where I could see the transactions were not - where Ross and I hadn't BCC'd into some archived transactions and then Lou looked into those transactions.
...
Mr Holding: What you've said here, in paragraph 8, is that those are the things that made you and Lou Shepherd look into her activities, isn't it?
Mr Sinclair: The - instigated by Lou finding this transaction and asking me if it was correct.
Mr Holding: But that's not what it says, is it
Mr Sinclair: No. But it doesn't change it. That's the way it happened. It doesn't change - this is correct.
Relationship between the investigation, the dismissal and the workplace rights, temporary absence and protected attributes
A response from Angie was received at 4.57 pm yesterday is attached.
I have never authorised Angie or anyone else, to discount fees or rebate commission in the way she has. She has systematically hidden copies of all these transactions from us. The total loss of income, we have discovered so far (and still counting) is over many years and in excess of $60,000. There are well over 150 transactions.
We completely deny any bullying or harassment, on the contrary, we have evidence of her bullying other staff members and have text messages describing her unprofessional behaviour.
In addition to the above, since our last conversation, we have discovered she has created policies for her children that have never been paid. These policies were then cancelled after 3 months and another new policy with a different insurer was issued. This pattern of starting policies and then cancelling them around 90 days (before payment was due) was repeated for up to 15 months or 5 cycles, resulting in her children effectively having free insurance for this period. We have evidence of this being done on several occasions on different types of policies.
We also have found, what looks like a back dated policy for her son-in-law, where a claim appears to have been made on the same day as she processed the transaction. I need to further investigate this instance and will be looking to see if there are other similar claims for her family.
Let me know if you need further details or have any questions.
Consideration - has GNH discharged its onus under s 361(1) of the FW Act?
I certify that the preceding one hundred and ninety-one (191) numbered paragraphs are a true copy of the Reasons for Judgment of Judge Symons.
[1] Paragraphs 10(a), 10(e) and 11, and the words "requesting a flexible work arrangement during the Victorian Government stay at home directions" in paragraph 19 were no longer pressed.
[2] For example, Ms Ponte referred to Mr Sinclair making "snide remarks" to her suggesting that she was not interested in making the business more profitable or actively placing the business at risk. Mr Sinclair criticised Ms Ponte reacting unprofessionally and aggressively on occasion in the workplace.
[3] CB 372-431; Annexure RWS-2 to the First Sinclair affidavit.
[4] CB 61-120; Annexure AP-1 to the First Ponte affidavit.
[6] CB 433; Annexure RWS-3 to the First Sinclair affidavit.
[7] CB 435; Annexure RWS-4 to the First Sinclair affidavit.
[8] CB 436; Annexure RWS-5 to the First Sinclair affidavit.
[9] CB 464; Annexure RWS-12 to the First Sinclair affidavit.
[10] CB 466; Annexure RWS-13 to the First Sinclair affidavit.
[11] CB 468; Annexure RWS-12 to the First Sinclair affidavit.
[12] CB 474-483; Annexure RWS-16 to the First Sinclair affidavit.
[13] CB 484-485; Annexure RWS-17 to the First Sinclair affidavit.
[14] CB 213-218; Annexure AP-15 to the Second Ponte affidavit.
[17] CB 475-482; Annexure RWS-16 to the First Sinclair affidavit.
[18] T 88 lines 17 to 31 and T 89 lines 7-12.
[20] Annexure RWS-15; CB 469-470 to the First Sinclair affidavit.
[21] Board of Bendigo Regional Institute of Technical and Further Education v Barclay (2012) 248 CLR 500; [2012] HCA 32 at [104].
Ponte
Greater National Holdings Pty Ltd
Alam v National Australia Bank Limited (2021) 288 FCR 301; [2021] FCAFC 178
Board of Bendigo Regional Institute of Technical and Further Education v Barclay (2012) 248 CLR 500; [2012] HCA 32
CCL Secure Pty Ltd v Berry [2019] FCAFC 81
Construction, Forestry, Mining and Energy Union v Anglo Coal (Dawson Services) Pty Ltd (2015) 238 FCR 273; [2015] FCAFC 157
Flageul v WeDrive Pty Ltd (2020) 285 FCR 255; [2020] FCA 1666
Heal v Sydney Flames Basketball Pty Ltd [2024] FCA 401
Jones v Dunkel (1959) 101 CLR 298; [1959] HCA 8
PIA Mortgage Services Pty Ltd v King (2020) 274 FCR 225; [2020] FCAFC 15
Serpanos v Commonwealth of Australia [2022] FCA 1226
Wong v National Australia Bank Limited [2021] FCA 671
Wong v National Australia Bank Limited (2022) 318 IR 148; [2022] FCAFC 155;
(2012) 248 CLR 500
(2015) 238 FCR 273
(1959) 101 CLR 298
(1984) 36 SASR 316
(2020) 281 FCR 421
(2015) 249 IR 217
(2011) 193 FCR 526
(2013) 234 IR 139
(2014) 242 IR 1
(2015) 231 FCR 150
(2021) 288 FCR 301
(2020) 285 FCR 255
(2020) 274 FCR 225
(2022) 318 IR 148
(2000) 103 FCR 1
(1995) 22 MVR 1
(2014) 243 IR 468
(2015) 233 FCR 46
(2018) 261 FCR 347
(2014) 253 CLR 243
(2020) 302 IR 400