[2024] VSCA 34
General information, not legal advice.
Court of Appeal (Vic)
2024-03-26
Emerton P, Kennedy JA, Niall JA
Original judgment source is linked above.
[2023] VSCA 34
DAMAGES - Causation of loss - Proof of counterfactual - Sale of land transaction - Vendor's solicitor negligently drafted section 32 statement required under Sale of Land Act 1962 - Solicitor failed to attach certificate disclosing growth areas infrastructure contribution liability - Deposit paid by purchaser to vendor - Purchaser sought to rescind contract of sale on grounds of failure to supply information in section 32 statement and claimed repayment of deposit - Purchaser's claim against vendor settled on reasonable terms - Vendor partially repaid deposit to purchaser and retained the remainder as part of settlement - Vendor sought to recover from negligent solicitor deposit repaid to purchaser - Whether error in distinguishing Unity Insurance Brokers Pty Ltd v Rocco Pezzano Pty Ltd (1998) 192 CLR 603 - Whether vendor must prove counterfactual that the purchaser would have entered into the sale of land contract but for solicitor's negligence - Leave to appeal granted - Appeal dismissed.
DAMAGES - Causation of loss - Proof of counterfactual - Whether error in failure to draw inference from established facts and circumstances about causation because of failure of vendor to call evidence from purchaser's director - Where witness is hostile to vendor - Whether incorrect question of causation identified - Leave to appeal granted - Appeal allowed.
Unity Insurance Brokers Pty Ltd v Rocco Pezzano Pty Ltd (1998) 192 CLR 603, discussed and applied.
(a) in the substantive appeal, the application for leave to appeal is granted and the appeal is allowed; and
(b) in the cross-appeal, the application for leave to appeal is refused.
Growth Areas Infrastructure Contribution ('GAIC')
Land that is brought within the urban growth boundary, and which is zoned and developed for urban purposes increases significantly in value. This value increase reflects the fact that the land will be developed in the future and the expectation that it will be serviced with key infrastructure and services necessary to support new, vibrant urban communities.
...
The GAIC model will ensure that the benefits of land being earmarked for urban development are balanced by requiring the people reaping those benefits to make a fair contribution towards the provision of the state infrastructure necessary to support new development in growth areas. This will help ensure Melbourne continues to grow as a well-planned and sustainable city.
The bill will apply the GAIC at a rate of $80 000 per hectare for all land currently within the existing urban growth boundary that has been brought within that boundary since November 2005 and is zoned for urban development, and $95 000 per hectare for land that is brought into the urban growth boundary in the future. Each of these contribution amounts will be indexed over time with an appropriate construction index to be determined by the Treasurer.
The growth areas infrastructure contribution is to be a once-only charge, payable on the first 'GAIC event' to occur in relation to particular land. GAIC events relate to dutiable transactions relating to land, such as a sale or transfer of land, the issuing of a statement of compliance for a plan of subdivision of land, or the making of an application for a building permit for development. There are a range of exclusions to the general circumstances of the GAIC events set out in the bill. For example, an application for a building permit for a single dwelling and for building work less than $1 million are excluded matters.[8]
(a) the issue of a statement of compliance relating to a plan of subdivision of all or any part of the land; or
(b) the making of an application for a building permit to carry out building work on all or any part of the land.[12]
A vendor under a contract for the sale of land must give to a purchaser, before the purchaser signs the contract, a statement signed by the vendor that contains the matters and attaches the documents specified in this Division.
Despite subsection (2) and (3), the purchaser may not rescind a contract for the sale of land if the court is satisfied that -
(a) the vendor has acted honestly and reasonably and ought fairly to be excused for the contravention; and
(b) the purchaser is substantially in as good a position as if all the relevant provisions of this Division had been complied with.
We discussed the Special Conditions in the Contract. He says that they are all in order except that we need to deal with Special Condition 19.
He explained that the Purchaser has an issue with funding and that the purchaser's funder will not advance funds without a fully executed contract. He is seeking to leave the option fee at the same amount of about $100,000 and the payment of $1,655,000 within 7 days of exercise of option when contract will be signed.
Discussed GAIC and GST. Clarified that outgoings from date of contract. GAIC is okay and I need to leave GST as is because of long settlement and occupation of property.
I told him that I would get some instructions to change the option fee and Special Condition 19 but will leave all other special conditions unchanged.
(a) Is [Leakes'] claim for recovery from Mr Brasse of the $815,881 paid to the [purchaser] in compromise of the [purchaser's] claim for damages ('settlement sum') a category of loss and damage recognised by the law?
(b) If [Leakes'] claim for recovery of the settlement sum is a recognised category of loss and damage, in order to establish that the loss was caused by Mr Brasse's negligence, does Leakes have to establish the following counterfactual:
- if Mr Brasse had not been negligent in drafting the s 32 statement and the [purchaser] was on notice of the $1.6 million GAIC liability, the [purchaser] would still have proceeded to enter the contract for purchase of the property, albeit not armed with a prima facie right of rescission under s 32K of the Act ('the counterfactual')?
(c) If [Leakes] does have to establish the counterfactual, does [Leakes'] failure to call direct evidence from the [purchaser] that it would have entered the contract if aware of the $1.6 million GAIC liability mean that [Leakes] has not established the counterfactual?
(d) If it is not necessary for [Leakes] to lead direct evidence from the [purchaser] to establish the counterfactual, does the documentary evidence relied upon by [Leakes] support a finding that the [purchaser] would have entered the contract for purchase of the property, if it had been aware of the GAIC liability?[29]
the trial judge at first instance made an express finding addressing the counterfactual of whether the insured would have been able to obtain insurance but for the broker's non-disclosure. McHugh J referred to the following finding of the trial judge:
- His Honour found that the insured would have obtained insurance of the kind obtained from the insurer even if it had disclosed the history of prior claims. This finding was based on the evidence of an expert in the industry who said that, while he was not sure at what cost or on what terms cover would be given, he thought that cover would have been obtained even after full disclosure of the previous claims. The witness said that the premium payable for the policy in those circumstances 'would be a bit higher' than normal. He conceded in cross-examination that not all insurers would have provided cover. However, he thought that a reasonable insurer would have done so. His Honour entered judgment for the insured in the sum of $1,041,166.[37]
[i]t was unnecessary for them to do so because of the express finding at first instance that, but for the negligence of the broker, the insured would have been able to obtain insurance without the insurer being armed with a non-disclosure defence under s 28 of the Insurance Contracts Act.[40]
does not support the proposition that, in order to establish that its loss was caused by the third party's negligence, it is unnecessary for [Leakes] to establish that the [purchaser] would have entered into the contract if aware of the GAIC liability.[41]
(a) $454,545.54 in commission paid to a real estate agent upon entry into the contract for the sale of the land to the purchaser;
(b) $75,989.52 in rates and taxes incurred between the purchaser's rescission of the contract of sale and the sale of the land on 17 March 2021 to Waatercove Pty Ltd;
(c) $9,752.47 in legal fees paid to Brasse; and
(d) the costs associated with defending the purchaser's claim for the recovery of the $1.755 million deposit.
It was submitted on behalf of the broker that the insured could succeed in a claim for more than nominal damages for breach of the contract of retainer (and could succeed in its claim for negligence) only if it established that it could not have recovered from the insurer any more than it had obtained by way of settlement. Thus, it was submitted, it was necessary for the insured to prove against the broker the case which the insurer had pleaded against its insured. In this case, it was said that the insured had to prove that the insurer would have been entitled, under s 28(3), to reduce its liability to the insured to nil - on the basis that the insurer would not have undertaken the risk if the insured had made full disclosure. Nothing less than that would suffice, it was submitted, because there was evidence at the trial that, if there had been full disclosure, reasonable insurers would nevertheless have given the cover sought by the insured for a premium only marginally higher than the premium that was in fact charged by this insurer. Thus, so the argument went on, if the insured had prosecuted its claim against the insurer to judgment, the only consequence of the insured's non-disclosure would have been a comparatively small reduction in the amount payable under the policy - a reduction much less than the discounting of the claim by about 40 per cent or 50 per cent that the settlement of $900,000 represented.[77]
What ... was the damage which the insured suffered? Was it, as the broker contended, any difference between the amount recovered from the insurer and the amount that would have been recovered if the insurer had been sued, to judgment, on the policy? Or was it, as the trial judge and the Full Court held, the difference between the amount recovered from the insurer (if the settlement was shown to be reasonable) and the amount that would have been recovered if the policy issued by the insurer had been enforceable according to its terms?[78]
No question arises ... about whether the damage suffered by an insured which has compromised its claim against its insurer on a policy that is of doubtful enforceability is too remote. The question is what consequences follow if the insured chooses not to prosecute its claim against the insurer to judgment but chooses, instead, to accept some amount in compromise of its claim that is less than would have been payable if the contract of insurance had been enforceable according to its terms.[79]
[T]he broker's breach of obligation caused the insured to obtain a policy that was open to doubt or challenge. The very fact that the policy is open to doubt or challenge may cause loss to the insured. If the doubts are capable of ready resolution without resort to litigation, as for example, by the insured taking the opinion of counsel and providing it to the insurer, comparatively little cost may be incurred but the broker's breach would nevertheless have caused that loss. At the other extreme, however, if the doubts are obvious and irremediable, and the insured could not recover under the policy, the broker's breach would have caused the insured to lose the whole benefit of that policy. The insured suffers loss in both kinds of case - not just the second. And the loss in both cases is caused by the broker's breach of obligation.[80]
The fact that the dispute between insured and insurer may be resolved by agreement does not lead to any different result. The loss suffered by the insured, if the compromise is reasonable, is caused by the broker's breach of obligation. To the extent that policy is to be considered in answering the question whether the breach caused the loss, policy considerations reinforce the conclusion that the breach caused the loss.[81]
the need to encourage settlement of disputes ... suggest[s] that a settlement of the dispute between insured and insurer should be given more significance as between insured and broker than simply identifying an amount which may limit the amount of damages recoverable by the insured from the broker for the broker's breach of duty.[83]
the damages recoverable by the insured should be fixed as the difference between what the insured recovered under the settlement (if it was reasonable) and what would have been recovered under the policy which the broker ought to have arranged (together, no doubt, in an appropriate case, with any other costs or expenses incurred by the insured as a result of the broker's breach and taking account of any extra premium that would have been payable). Whether such a rule would, or may, work injustice to the broker is much affected by what is meant by a "reasonable" settlement of the dispute between insured and insurer ...[84]
When an agent is under a duty to exercise reasonable skill and care in negotiating a contract between the principal and a third party but fails to perform that duty whereby the third party asserts an entitlement to deny the principal's rights under the contract, the damages which the principal who compromises the claim to enforce those rights against the third party may recover against the agent are the difference between what the principal would have obtained from the third party had the agent exercised reasonable skill and care and what the principal could reasonably obtain by compromise with the third party. It follows that, in proving damages, the principal must show (i) what would have been obtained from the third party absent the defendant's negligence, and (ii) that, having regard to any weakness in the plaintiff's claim against the third party caused by the agent's negligence, the amount accepted in settlement was reasonable in the circumstances. [This rule] simply applies to a particular fact situation the ordinary principles governing the assessment of damages in contract and tort.
whether a plaintiff claiming damages for breach of contract is entitled to damages for loss arising from the plaintiff compromising legal proceedings with a third party where the proceedings arose out of the breach of contract.[98]
Accordingly, upon the finding in this case that the settlement was reasonable, the insured proved a causal connection between the settlement and the breach of the broker's duty of care that the settlement was within the reasonable contemplation of the broker or a reasonable person in its position. If the case is governed by ordinary principles of contract law concerning causation and remoteness, the insured is entitled to recover the loss claimed.[106]
Whether the claim is in tort or contract, the question whether the plaintiff can recover from the defendant moneys paid in settlement of a third party action depends on ordinary principles of causation and remoteness. That proposition also applies in a case such as the present where the settlement is an element in the calculation of damages.[109]
Once the trial judge found that the settlement was reasonable, the basic principles of the law of contract concerning causation and remoteness required the conclusion that the insured was entitled to recover from the broker the sum of $1,041,166.[112]
[T]he learned trial Judge found, in effect, that had the [broker] made a full disclosure of the [insured's] prior claim history, a like policy of insurance would have been issued by some other insurer. Thus, this was not a case such as Gates v The City Mutual Life Assurance Society Ltd [1986] HCA 3; (1986) 4 ANZ Insurance Cases 60-691; (1986) 160 CLR 1 where the plaintiff was unable to prove that he could and would have entered into policies of insurance of the kind that he believed that he was entering into.[114]
(a) McHugh J made express reference to the finding of the trial judge that the insured would have obtained insurance of the kind obtained from the insurer even if he had disclosed the history of prior claims;[117]
(b) Brennan CJ proceeded on the basis that the insured was entitled to a full indemnity: if the action against the insurer had gone to trial and the insurer had succeeded in denying liability, the insured would have been entitled to obtain full indemnity against the broker;[118] and
(c) Hayne J identified the contest as being whether the insured had to prove that the insurer would have been entitled to reduce its liability to nil under the Insurance Contracts Act, as there was evidence at trial that, if there had been full disclosure, reasonable insurers would nonetheless have given the cover sought.[119]
A determination that negligence caused particular harm comprises the following elements -
(a) that the negligence was a necessary condition of the occurrence of the harm (factual causation); and
(b) that it is appropriate for the scope of the negligent person's liability to extend to the harm so caused (scope of liability).
Dividing the issue of causation in this way expresses the relevant questions in a way that may differ from what was said by Mason CJ, in March v E and MH Stramare Pty Ltd, to be the common law's approach to causation. The references in March v Stramare to causation being 'ultimately a matter of common sense' were evidently intended to disapprove the proposition 'that value judgment has, or should have, no part to play in resolving causation as an issue of fact'. By contrast, [the equivalent provision to s 51 of the Wrongs Act] treats factual causation and scope of liability as separate and distinct issues.[125]
It is not necessary to examine whether or to what extent the approach to causation described in March v Stramare might lead to a conclusion about factual causation different from the conclusion that should be reached by applying [the equivalent provision to s 51 of the Wrongs Act]. It is sufficient to observe that, in cases where the Civil Liability Act or equivalent statutes are engaged, it is the applicable statutory provision that must be applied.
Next it is necessary to observe that the first of the two elements identified in [the equivalent provision to s 51 of the Wrongs Act] (factual causation) is determined by the 'but for' test: but for the negligent act or omission, would the harm have occurred?[126]
The distinction now drawn by [the equivalent provision to s 51 of the Wrongs Act] between factual causation and scope of liability should not be obscured by judicial glosses. A determination in accordance with [the equivalent provision to s 51 of the Wrongs Act] that negligence was a necessary condition of the occurrence of harm is entirely factual, turning on proof by the plaintiff of relevant facts on the balance of probabilities in accordance with [the equivalent provision to s 52 of the Wrongs Act].[129]
Although causation was once described in this Court as a concept of 'common sense', it has since, and repeatedly, been emphasised that the concept of common sense should be eschewed when applying the principles of causation.[131]
[T]he test for causation of loss asks whether the wrongful act was necessary for the loss. The 'but for' or counterfactual approach 'directs us to change one thing at a time and see if the outcome changes'. The change is the removal of the wrongful act. If the loss would lawfully have occurred but for the wrongful act then the wrongful act was not necessary for the loss. The counterfactual approach thus involves a hypothetical question where no other fact or circumstance is changed other than those which constituted the wrongful act.[133]
Grounds 2, 3 and 4: The counterfactual - evidence and inference
(a) it was a term of the offer made by the purchaser on 20 April 2018 that the purchaser would pay the GAIC;
(b) it was a term of the contract of sale (negotiated and executed by the purchaser) that the purchaser would pay the GAIC and indemnify Leakes against any GAIC liability (Special Condition 20);
(c) during the course of negotiations, the purchaser's obligation to pay the GAIC was expressly discussed. The purchaser is recorded as seeking amendments to Special Condition 19, but as being 'okay' with Special Condition 20, providing for it to pay the GAIC;
(d) between entering into the option agreement in May 2018 and executing the contract of sale in August 2018, the purchaser entered into agreements with prospective purchasers of parcels of the prospectively subdivided land that required them to contribute proportionately to the GAIC payable on the land. The purchaser's business model for the subdivision of the land and the sale of lots took into account its liability to pay the GAIC. This is also reflected in the feasibility study for the subdivisional development lodged with the purchaser's finance broker;
(e) in August 2018, the purchaser received, via its solicitor, draft documents that clearly showed that the GAIC certificate should have been included, but was not. The purchaser raised no issue about its absence for more than a year; and
(f) consistently with these events and its understanding that it was liable to pay the GAIC, on 27 June 2019, the purchaser applied to the SRO to defer its GAIC liability in respect of the land, which it understood would become due upon settlement in July 2019.
Ground 5: Offsetting damages against retained deposit
PART C: CROSS APPEAL
It is almost invariably the case that the judge at first instance is better placed to deal with the costs after a long trial and counsel seeking leave ordinarily has a difficult task. The test is not whether we should have exercised the discretion in the same way as his Honour did but whether there was or were a ground or grounds on which he could reasonably do so.
(a) As against the purchaser, Leakes was a defendant in an action to recover the payment of a deposit paid by the purchaser pursuant to a contract of sale that the purchaser purportedly rescinded;
(b) Leakes made a claim against Brasse by way of a third party claim.
(a) It was an action brought in contract and, alternatively, in negligence.[153]
(b) Leakes asserted that the purchaser alleged that it was entitled to rescind the contract of sale under s 32K of the Sale of Land Act 1962 and made a claim for the return of monies paid to Leakes (effectively the return of the deposit).[154]
(c) Leakes contended that, if the purchaser was found to be entitled to rescind the contract and to be repaid the deposit, then Leakes had suffered loss, particularised as being the difference between the purchase price under the contract and the market value of the property as at the date of rescission.[155]
(d) Leakes also sought an indemnity from Brasse in respect of so much of the purchase price as it was required to repay to the purchaser.[156]
(a) the value of any lost opportunity to pursue an alternative sale of the property in or around August 2018; and
(b) the transaction costs associated with the proposed sale to the purchaser.[159]
(a) an indemnity from Brasse in relation to any deposit monies that it was required to return to the purchaser;
(b) alternatively, wasted expenses that it had incurred in relation to the sale; and
(c) damages representing the lost sale.
[2] (1998) 192 CLR 603 ('Unity Insurance').
[3] Leakes Rise Pty Ltd v Leakes Road Property Development Pty Ltd [2022] VSC 440, [18] (McDonald J) ('Reasons').
[6] Pursuant to order 3 of the orders made by McDonald J on 30 August 2022.
[7] Victoria, Parliamentary Debates, Legislative Assembly, 11 November 2009, 3929 (Tim Pallas) ('Parliamentary Debates'). Section 9 of the Planning and Environment Amendment (Growth Areas Infrastructure Contribution) Act 2010 inserted Part 9B, which relates to GAIC, into the Planning and Environment Act 1987 ('PE Act').
[10] See ibid s 201R; Duties Act 2000, ss 7(1)-(2), 10(1)(a).
[16] Ibid s 201R (definition of 'GAIC recording').
[24] Ibid s 32G(2)(b).
[25] Ibid s 32K(1)(b).
[26] Ibid s 32K(1)(c).
[27] Amended defence filed on 22 December 2021.
[28] 5, 7, 11 and 12 April 2022, and 19 May 2022.
[62] Ibid [76], citing Gray v Sirtex Medical Ltd (2011) 193 FCR 1; Supreme Court (General Civil Procedure) Rules 2015, r 11.04(1).
[70] [1959] HCA 8; (1959) 101 CLR 298 ('Jones').
[71] (1722) 1 Str 505; [1722] EWHC KB J94; 93 ER 664 ('Armory').
[72] Together with interest on that sum at the rate prescribed by the Penalty Interest Rates Act 1983, calculated from 7 April 2022.
[73] Together with interest on that sum at the rate prescribed by the Penalty Interest Rates Act 1983, calculated from 20 April 2020. This figure appears to be in error as the sum of the wasted agent's commission ($454,545.54) and legal fees ($6,816.39) is in fact $461,361.93.
[77] Ibid 649 [117] (citations omitted).
[81] Ibid 651 [122] (citations omitted).
[83] Ibid 652-3 [128] (citations omitted).
[101] 'This finding was based on the evidence of an expert in the industry who said that, while he was not sure at what cost or on what terms cover would be given, he thought that cover would have been obtained even after full disclosure of the previous claims. The witness said that the premium payable for the policy in those circumstances "would be a bit higher" than normal. He conceded in cross-examination that not all insurers would have provided cover. However, he thought that a reasonable insurer would have done so.': ibid 611 [16] (citations omitted).
[103] Ibid 613 [24] (citations omitted).
[113] Expressly by Gummow J and impliedly by the judges comprising the majority.
[114] Unity Insurance Brokers Pty Ltd v Rocco Pezzano Pty Ltd (1996) 9 ANZ Ins Cas 61-343, 76,758.
[115] Gates v City Mutual Life Assurance Society Ltd [1986] HCA 3; (1986) 160 CLR 1, 7 (Gibbs CJ), 13 (Mason, Wilson and Dawson JJ).
[116] Marks v GIO Australia Holdings Ltd (198) [1998] HCA 69; 196 CLR 494, 504 [18]-[22] (Gaudron J), 514-15 [50]-[51] (McHugh, Hayne and Callinan JJ), 530 [104] (Gummow J).
[120] [2012] HCA 5; (2012) 246 CLR 182 ('Strong').
[121] Section 5D(1)(a) of the Civil Liability Act 2002 (NSW), which is identically worded to s 51(1)(a) of the Wrongs Act.
[123] [2009] HCA 48; (2009) 239 CLR 420, 443 [55] ('Adeels').
[125] Ibid 440 [43] (citations omitted).
[129] The Court went on to state that '[a] determination in accordance with [the equivalent provision to s 51 of the Wrongs Act] that it is appropriate for the scope of the negligent person's liability to extend to the harm so caused is entirely normative, turning ... on consideration by a court of (amongst other relevant things) whether or not, and if so why, responsibility for the harm should be imposed on the negligent party': ibid 383 [14].
[131] Ibid 852 [60], citing March v E & MH Stramare Pty Ltd [1991] HCA 12; (1991) 171 CLR 506, 515 and other authorities.
[134] We observe that, insofar as Leakes' loss may be conceptualised as the loss of the chance to have an enforceable contract with the purchaser, and Brasse's case is that there was no chance, Brasse may bear an evidential burden to show that Leakes lost nothing by his negligence: Mount v Barker (A Firm) [1998] EWCA Civ 277; [1998] PNLR 493, 507 (Moore-Bick J) and 510 (Simon Brown LJ).
[138] [2003] HCA 61; (2003) 201 ALR 470, 482 [54].
[139] Allianz Australia Insurance Ltd v Delor Vue Apartments CTS 39788 [2022] HCA 38; (2022) 97 ALJR 1, 13 [38] (Kiefel CJ, Edelman, Steward and Gleeson JJ) ('Allianz').
[143] The costs orders and costs ruling were made on 30 August 2022: Leakes Rise Pty Ltd v Leakes Road Property Development Pty Ltd (Costs Ruling) [2022] VSC 505 ('Costs Ruling').
[147] This figure is calculated by deducting the agent's commission ($454,545.54) and legal fees ($6,816.39) from the $939,119 retained deposit.
[148] See, eg, Viterra Malt Pty Ltd v Youil [2023] VSCA 304, [42] (Sifris, Walker and Whelan JJA) ('Viterra Malt'); United Petroleum Australia Pty Ltd v Herbert Smith Freehills [2020] VSCA 15, [124] (Whelan, McLeish and Niall JJA); AJH Lawyers v Mathieson Nominees Pty Ltd [2015] VSCA 227, [89] (Hansen and McLeish JJA, Robson AJA agreeing at [92]).
[150] (1997) 15 ACLC 1626, 1632.
[151] McCauley v McCauley [1910] HCA 16; (1910) 10 CLR 434, 455 (Isaacs J).
[152] Statement of Claim on Third Party Notice filed on 20 April 2020.
[157] Amended defence to third party notice filed on 23 December 2021.
[162] Amended statement of claim dated 7 April 2022.
[165] Third party notice particulars of loss filed on 7 April 2022. This amount excludes GST given that it was common ground at trial that the GST component of the commission should be excluded: Reasons, [62(i)].
[166] Hunt & Hunt Lawyers (a firm) v Mitchell Morgan Nominees Pty Ltd [2013] HCA 10; (2013) 247 CLR 613, 629 [24] (French CJ, Hayne and Kiefel JJ) ('Hunt').
[167] Hunt [2013] HCA 10; (2013) 247 CLR 613, 629 [25] (French CJ, Hayne and Kiefel JJ), citing Hawkins v Clayton (1988) 164 CLR 539, 601 (Gaudron J); Wardley Australia Ltd v Western Australia [1992] HCA 55; (1992) 175 CLR 514, 527 (Mason CJ, Dawson, Gaudron and McHugh JJ) ('Wardley') and The Commonwealth v Cornwell [2007] HCA 16; (2007) 229 CLR 519, 525 [16] (Gleeson CJ, Gummow, Kirby, Hayne, Heydon and Crennan JJ).
[168] Wardley [1992] HCA 55; (1992) 175 CLR 514, 527 (Mason CJ, Dawson, Gaudron and McHugh JJ); Kenny & Good Pty Ltd v MGICA [1999] HCA 25; (1999) 199 CLR 413, 424 [14] (Gaudron J) ('Kenny & Good').
[169] Putting aside the issue of costs in litigating the issues, including the s 32K(4) point.
[170] Heenan v Di Sisto [2008] NSWCA 25, [30] (Giles JA, Mason P and Mathews AJA agreeing); Williams v Pagliuca [2009] NSWCA 250, [58] (Sackville JA).
[171] Commonwealth v Amann Aviation Pty Ltd [1991] HCA 54; (1991) 174 CLR 64, 81-2 (Mason CJ and Dawson J).
[172] Kenny & Good [1999] HCA 25; (1999) 199 CLR 413, 425 [16] (Gaudron J).
[173] Taxation v Reliance Carpet Co Pty Ltd [2008] HCA 22; (2008) 236 CLR 342, 351 [23]-[25] (Gleeson CJ, Gummow, Heydon, Crennan and Kiefel JJ); 68 Bridge Road Land Pty Ltd v GLP Batesford Holdings Pty Ltd [2023] VSCA 325, [53]; Howe v Smith [1884] UKLawRpCh 142; (1994) 27 Ch D 89, 95 (Cotton LJ), 98 (Bowen LJ), 101 (Fry LJ).
[174] Workers Trust and Merchant Bank Ltd v Dojap Investments Ltd [1993] UKPC 7; [1993] AC 573, 578-79, cited by Riordan J in Simcevski v Dixon (No 2) [2017] VSC 531, [15].
[175] Simcevski v Dixon (No 2) [2017] VSC 531, [30].
[176] Unity Insurance Brokers Pty Ltd v Rocco Pezzano Pty Ltd (1998) 192 CLR 603, 608 [4] (Brennan CJ), 618-9 [41] (McHugh J), 626-7 [67] (Gummow J), 652 [128] (Hayne J) ('Unity Insurance'); Protec Pacific Pty Ltd v Steuler Services GmbH & Co KG [2014] VSCA 338, [741]-[742].
[177] Unity Insurance (1998) 192 CLR 603, 608 [6] (Brennan CJ), 618-9 [41] (McHugh J), 626-7 [67] (Gummow J), 652 [128] (Hayne J).
[178] Tabet v Gett [2010] HCA 12; (2010) 240 CLR 537, 578 [112] (Kiefel J, with whom Hayne and Bell JJ agreed at 564 [65]); cf Wodonga Regional Health Service v Hopgood [2012] VSCA 326; (2012) 37 VR 284, 292 [31] (Maxwell P, Buchanan JA agreeing at 300 [70], Harper JA agreeing at 300 [71]); [2012] VSCA 326.
[179] See Lewis v Australian Capital Territory [2020] HCA 26; (2020) 271 CLR 192, 261 [178] (Edelman J).
[180] Ibid 208 [31] (Gageler J), 217 [65] (Gordon J).
Leakes Road Property Development Pty Ltd
Brasse [2024] VSCA 34
(1959) 101 CLR 298
(2009) 239 CLR 420
(2013) 250 CLR 375
(2023) 97 ALJR 840
(2020) 271 CLR 192
(1961) 105 CLR 569
(1988) 164 CLR 539
(2007) 229 CLR 519
(2010) 240 CLR 537
(2012) 37 VR 284
(1998) 192 CLR 603
(1986) 160 CLR 1
(2011) 193 FCR 1
(2012) 246 CLR 182
(1991) 171 CLR 506
(2003) 201 ALR 470
(2022) 97 ALJR 1
(1910) 10 CLR 434
(2013) 247 CLR 613
(1992) 175 CLR 514
(1999) 199 CLR 413
(1991) 174 CLR 64
(2008) 236 CLR 342