© 2026 Zoe. All rights reserved.
Zoe is a legal information platform. Always consult the Federal Register of Legislation for authoritative text.
[2019] NSWCA 27
Court of Appeal (NSW)
2018-11-26
Bathurst CJ, Beazley P, Ward JA, Meagher JA, Leeming JA
Original judgment source is linked above.
Background
Parties and Properties
The 2008 Policy
Alleged Damage
Proceedings
Summary of the parties' positions as to the appropriate answers to the separate questions
Relevant Policy Terms
Defendants' submissions
Globe Church's submissions
Defendants' submissions in reply
Construction of the 2008 Policy
Relevant principles relating to indemnity insurance policies
Penrith City Council
CGU v Watson
Intermediate appellate authority
Other first instance authority supporting the defendants' contentions
Carillion
Other authorities on which Globe Church relies
Position in the United Kingdom
Position in other jurisdictions
Conclusion as to relevant principles
Conclusion
Introduction Allianz and Ansvar, in the respective proportions 60% and 40%, indemnified Globe Church under an Industrial Special Risks Policy against property damage occurring during the period 31 March 2007 to 31 March 2008 (the 2008 policy). The property insured included a church, church hall and car park. Globe Church alleges that as a result of rainwater and flooding between 8 and 10 June 2007, that property suffered structural damage at some time between then and 31 March 2008. The insurers accept that if that structural damage occurred during that period, it constituted Damage against which Globe Church was entitled to be indemnified under that policy.
The apparent position under English law
Determination of the separate questions
Relevant principles
Language of the policy
CIC Insurance v Bankstown Football Club
Cigna v Packer and Associated Forest Holdings v Gordian
The English Authorities
Conclusion
Amendments 04 March 2019 - Typographical errors to [54], [55], [60], [139], [154], [159], [165]-[169], [177], [195], [199], [200] 19 March 2019 - Minor typographical amendments to [234], [261], [272], [273] 26 March 2019 - Typographical amendment to [260] (insertion of "and") 20 December 2019 - [292] - in quote, replaced "insurance jurisdiction" with "insurance law jurisdiction" [296] - replaced "Johnson v The Salvage Association (1887) 29 QBD 458" with "Johnston v The Salvage Association (1887) 19 QBD 458"; in quote, before the word "perhaps", replaced "or" with "and" DISCLAIMER - Every effort has been made to comply with suppression orders or statutory provisions prohibiting publication that may apply to this judgment or decision. The onus remains on any person using material in the judgment or decision to ensure that the intended use of that material does not breach any such order or provision. Further enquiries may be directed to the Registry of the Court or Tribunal in which it was generated. Decision last updated: 20 December 2019
Globe Church Incorporated
Allianz Australia Insurance Ltd
ications Plc (The Piper Alpha) [2002] 1 Lloyd's Rep 553 Callaghan v Dominion Insurance Co Ltd [1997] 2 Lloyd's Rep 541 Canning v Temby (1905) 3 CLR 419; [1905] HCA 45 Canty v PaperlinX Australia Pty Ltd [2014] NSWCA 309 Carillion Construction Ltd v AIG Australia Ltd [2016] NSWSC 495; (2016) 19 ANZ Ins Cases 62-115 Carrick Furniture House Ltd v General Accident Fire and Life Assurance Corp Ltd (1978) SLT 65 Castellain v Preston (1883) 11 QBD 380 Castle Insurance Co Ltd v Hong Kong Islands Shipping Co Ltd [1984] 1 AC 226 CGU Insurance Ltd v Watson [2007] NSWCA 301 Chandris v Argo Insurance Co Ltd [1963] 2 Lloyd's Rep 65 Charter Reinsurance Co Ltd v Fagan [1997] AC 313 CIC Insurance Ltd v Bankstown Football Club Ltd (1995) 8 Anz Ins Cas 61-232 CIC Insurance Ltd v Bankstown Football Club Ltd (1997) 187 CLR 384; [1997] HCA 2 CIC Insurance Ltd v Bankstown Football Club Ltd [No 2] [1995] NSWCA 76 Cigna Insurance Asia Pacific Ltd v Packer (2000) 23 WAR 159; [2000] WASCA 415 Cole's Case (1588) Cro Eliz 97; 78 ER 356 Collinge v Heywood (1839) 9 Ad & E 634; 112 ER 1352 Collins v Wallis (1826) 11 Moore CP 248 Commonwealth v Vero Insurance Ltd (2013) 306 ALR 182; [2013] FCAFC 152 Cutler v Southern (1667) 1 Wms Saund 113; 85 ER 123 Dawson v Wrench (1849) 3 Ex 359; 154 ER 883 Do Carmo v Ford Excavations Pty Ltd 154 CLR 234; [1984] HCA 17 Dueck Chevrolet Cadillac Hummer Ltd v Insurance Corp of British Columbia [2012] BCCA 493 Duffield v Scott (1789) 3 TR 374; 100 ER 628 Edwards v Kumarasamy [2016] AC 1334 F & K Jabbour v Custodian of Israeli Absentee Property [1954] 1 WLR 139 Farah Constructions Pty Ltd v Say-Dee Pty Ltd (2007) 230 CLR 89; [2007] HCA 22 Firma C-Trade SA v Newcastle Protection and Indemnity Association (The Fanti) [1991] 2 AC 1 Foran v Wight (1989) 168 CLR 385; [1989] HCA 51 Fraunce's Case (1609) 8 Co Rep 89b; 77 ER 609 Gable v Moss (1792) 1 Bulst 44; 80 ER 747 Gaelic Assignments Limited v Sharp (2001) SLT 914 Globe Church Incorporated v Allianz Australia Insurance Ltd [2018] NSWSC 1367 Government Insurance Office of New South Wales v Atkinson-Leighton Joint Venture (1981) 146 CLR 206; [1981] HCA 9 Harrison v Shepherd Homes [2010] EWHC 1398 Howell v Young (1826) 5 B & C 259 Hunter v Stronghold Insurance (Aust) Ltd (Supreme Court of Victoria, 18 January 1991, unreported) Hyde v United States 225 US 347 (1912) Irving v Manning (1847) 1 HLC 287 Jervis v Harris [1996] Ch 195 Johnson v The Salvage Association (1887) 29 QBD 458 King v Atkins (1714) 1 Sid 442; 82 ER 1206 Kone Elevators Pty Ltd v Popa [2006] VSCA 26 Larking v Great Western (Nepean) Gravel Ltd (in liq) (1940) 64 CLR 221; [1940] HCA 37 Larratt v Bankers & Traders Insurance Co Ltd (1941) 41 SR (NSW) 215 Law v London Indisputable Life Policy Co (1855) 1 K&J 223; 69 ER 439 Lazarus v ICAC (2017) 94 NSWLR 36; [2017] NSWCA 37 Letang v Cooper [1965] 1 QB 232 Luckie v Bushby (1853) 13 CB Rep 864; 138 ER 1443 MacIntosh v Dalwood (No 3) (1930) 30 SR (NSW) 332 MacIntosh v Dalwood (No 4) (1930) 30 SR (NSW) 415 Marcus Arnold Lehmann v Insurance Company of North America [2000] HKCFI 348 Mandrake Holdings Ltd v Countrywide Assured Group Ltd [2005] EWCA Civ 638 Maxwell v Highway Hauliers Pty Ltd (2013) 45 WAR 297; [2013] WASCA 115 McCann v Switzerland Insurance Australia Limited (2000) 203 CLR 579; [2000] HCA 65 Medical Defence Union Ltd v Department of Trade [1979] 2 WLR 686 Mount Bruce Mining Pty Ltd v Wright Prospecting Pty Ltd (2015) 256 CLR 104; [2015] HCA 37 Newen v McNichol (1938) 38 SR (NSW) 609 Packer v Cigna Insurance Asia Pacific Ltd (2000) 23 SR (WA) 191; [2000] WADC 3 Parkin v Thorold (1851) 2 Sim NS 1; 61 ER 239 Paterson v Pongrass Group Operations Pty Ltd [2011] NSWSC 1588 Pellas v Neptune Marine Insurance Co (1879) 5 CPD 34 Penrith City Council v Government Insurance Office of New South Wales (1991) 24 NSWLR 564 Peter Turnbull & Co Pty Ltd v Mundus Trading Co (Australasia) Pty Ltd (1954) 90 CLR 235; [1954] HCA 25 Photo Production Ltd v Securicor Transport Ltd [1980] AC 827 President of India v Lips Maritime Corp [1988] AC 395 Raiffeisen Zentralbank Österreich AG v Five Star Trading LLC [2001] QB 825 Read v Brown (1888) 22 QBD 128 Scott Lithgow Ltd v Secretary of State for Defence (1989) SC (HL) 9 Seele Australia GmbH & Co KG v Tokio Marine Europe Ins Ltd (No 3) [2010] Lloyd's Rep IR 490 Sheldon v Beath [1993] Aust Torts Reports 81-209 Southern Cross Assurance Co Ltd v Australian Provincial Assurance Association Ltd (1935) 53 CLR 618; [1935] HCA 56 Sprung v Royal Ins Co (UK) Ltd [1999] Lloyd's Rep IR 111 Stomp Pork Farm Ltd v Lombard General Insurance Company of Canada [2008] SKQB 405 The Commonwealth v Vero Insurance Ltd (2012) 291 ALR 563; [2012] FCA 826 The Sadlers Company v Badcock (1743) 2 Atk 554; 26 ER 733 Tillotson v ANZ Life Assurance Co Ltd (1997) 9 ANZ Ins Cas 61,378 Total Oil Products (Australia) Pty Ltd v Robinson [1970] 1 NSWR 701 Towry Law plc v Chubb Insurance Co of Europe SA [2008] NSWSC 1352 Transthene Packaging Co Ltd v Royal Insurance (UK) Ltd [1996] LRLR 32 Tucker v Unknown Person [2015] NLCA 212 Versloot Dredging BV v HDI Gerling Industrie Versicherung AG (The DC Merewestone) [2017] AC 1 Victorian WorkCover v Esso Australia Ltd (2001) 207 CLR 520; [2001] HCA 53 Virk v Gan Life Holdings Plc [2000] Lloyd's Rep IR 159 Vyse v Wakefield (1840) 6 M & W 442; 151 ER 485 Waters v Earl of Thanet (1842) 2 QB 757 Wilkie v Gordian Runoff Limited (2005) 221 CLR 522; [2005] HCA 17 Williams Pickersgill & Sons Ltd v London and Provincial Marine and General Insurance Co Ltd [1912] 3 KB 614 Yeoman Credit Ltd v Latter [1961] 1 WLR 828 York Air Conditioning and Refrigeration (A/sia) Pty Ltd v The Commonwealth (1949) 80 CLR 11; [1949] HCA 23 Zaccardi v Caunt [2008] NSWCA 202 Texts Cited: ALRC Report No. 20 on Insurance Contracts J Birds et al, MacGillivray on Insurance Law (13th edn, 2015; 14th edn, 2018, Sweet & Maxwell) Brown, Menzies, Cassels, Brock and Blackwell, Insurance Law in Canada (3rd edn) Bullen and Leake, Precedents of Pleadings in Personal Actions in the Superior Courts of Common Law (3rd ed, 1868, Stevens and Sons) N Campbell, "Monetary remedies for wrongful declinatures of insurance claims" (2004) 15 Insurance Law Journal 185 Chitty on Contracts (33rd ed, 2018, Thomson Reuters) M Clarke, "Nature of Insurer's Liability" [1992] LMCLQ 287 M Clarke, The Law of Insurance Contracts (2nd, 4th and 6th edns, Informa) Couch on Insurance (2d) (1983, Vol 15) Courtney, Contractual Indemnities (2014, Hart Publishing) Edelman, McGregor on Damages (20th ed, 2018 Thomson Reuters) Enright and Jess, Professional Indemnity Insurance Law (2nd edn, 2007) Levine and Haar, Construction Insurance and UK Construction Contracts (2nd edn, 2013) H McGregor, McGregor on Damages (Third Supplement to Eighteenth Edition, 2012, Sweet & Maxwell) R Merkin, Colinvaux's Law of Insurance (11th edn, 2016, Sweet & Maxwell) Park, A System of the Law of Marine Insurances (1842, Saunders and Bennings) Law Commission and Scottish Law Commission, Insurance Contract Law: Business Disclosure; Warranties; Insurers' Remedies for Fraudulent Claims; and Late Payment (Law Com No 353/Scot Law Com No 238, July 2014) Reed, Construction All Risks Insurance (2014) F D Rose, Marine Insurance Law and Practice (2004, Informa) Tidd, The Practice of the Courts of King's Bench and Common Pleas (9th ed, 1828, Butterworth & Son) Welford and Otter-Barry, The Law Relating to Fire Insurance (3rd ed, 1932, Butterworths) William R Vance and Buist M Anderson, Handbook on the Law of Insurance (3rd ed, 1951, West Publishing Co) Category: Principal judgment Parties: Globe Church Incorporated (Plaintiff) Allianz Australia Insurance Ltd (First Defendant) Ansvar Insurance Ltd (Second Defendant) Representation: Counsel: S Docker with A Gandar (Plaintiff) P Herzfeld (First Defendant) GA Sirtes SC with JL Clark (Second Defendant)
HEADNOTE [This Headnote is not to be read as part of the judgment] This matter was removed to the Court of Appeal by order of Davies J in the Common Law Division (Globe Church Incorporated v Allianz Australia Insurance Ltd [2018] NSWSC 1367) pursuant to rr 1.21 and 28.2 of the Uniform Civil Procedure Rules 2005 (NSW), for the determination of certain questions (as outlined below) prior to any other questions in the proceedings. The underlying dispute relates to a claim by the plaintiff (Globe Church Incorporated) against its insurers (the first defendant, Allianz Australia Insurance Ltd, and the second defendant, Ansvar Insurance Ltd) under an Industrial Special Risks Insurance Policy (the 2008 Policy) arising out of alleged property damage occurring to a church building and its contents, in Gateshead, New South Wales. Under the 2008 Policy, the first defendant insured the plaintiff as to 60% of the risk and the second defendant as to 40% of the risk. The relevant property damage (the undermining of pier footings to the church hall and the church car park from rainwater and flooding) was alleged to have occurred between 8 June 2007 and 31 March 2008. The plaintiff first made a claim under the 2008 Policy in respect of the alleged damage in 2009. Liability was denied by both defendants in 2011 and the plaintiff commenced proceedings in late 2016. The plaintiff alleged that the defendants' denials of indemnity (or failure to indemnify) were in breach of the 2008 Policy and that it had suffered loss and damage by reason of those breaches. The Court of Appeal was asked to determine the following separate questions: 1. In respect of any of the alleged property damage that occurred between 8 June 2007 and 31 March 2008, which (if any) of the plaintiff's claims in these proceedings in respect of the 2008 Policy accrued at the time of alleged damage, for the purposes of s 14(1) of the Limitation Act 1969 (NSW)? 2. In light of the answer to (a), which (if any) of the plaintiff's claims in these proceedings in respect of the 2008 Policy for that damage are maintainable? The plaintiff argued that a distinction should be made between the promise of an insurer to indemnify and the breach of that promise; and that only when the insurer failed to do what was required of it could a cause of action for damages for breach of contract accrue. As a result, the plaintiff argued that its claims were not statute barred because the time in which to bring the claims did not begin to run until the insurer breached its promise to indemnify by denying the claims (in 2011). The defendants accepted that whether there was a breach of contract on the happening of the alleged damage depended on whether their promise to "indemnify" under the 2008 Policy was to do so the instant that damage occurred. The defendants argued that, absent any contrary terms in the 2008 Policy, a cause of action for breach of contract accrued immediately upon the happening of that property damage, at which time the insurer's obligation to indemnify arose and was breached, and hence the claims made under the 2008 Policy were statute-barred. Held: Bathurst CJ, Beazley P and Ward JA (Meagher JA and Leeming JA dissenting) that the 2008 Policy claims were statute-barred and the questions for separate determination should be answered accordingly. 1. Bathurst CJ, Beazley P and Ward JA at [122], [127] and [210]: the cause of action for damages for failure to hold the plaintiff harmless against loss accrued on the happening of the insured event. The fact that the amount payable could not be calculated at the time the obligation to indemnify arose did not mean that the cause of action had not accrued. 2. Bathurst CJ, Beazley P and Ward JA at [134] and [209]: the Court of Appeal in CGU v Watson did not endorse the relevant dicta of Giles J in Penrith City Council as to the timing of the accrual of the cause of action for breach of a contract of indemnity insurance. Intermediate appellate authority (Cigna Insurance Asia Pacific Ltd v Packer (2000) 23 WAR 159; [2000] WASCA 415; Associated Forest Holdings Pty Ltd v Gordian Runoff Ltd [2015] TASFC 6) is not plainly wrong and should be followed. It is important that there be consistency in the construction of indemnity policies of insurance in Australia. 3. Bathurst CJ, Beazley P and Ward JA (obiter) at [203]: the position as to contracts of indemnity insurance in Australia is consistent with the approach adopted in the United Kingdom. 4. Meagher JA (dissenting) (Leeming JA agreeing, with further remarks): on the happening of any insured damage the insurers were not in breach of their obligation to indemnify: 1. The insurers' promise was to indemnify the insured by paying an amount of money ascertained in accordance with the Basis of Settlement provisions in the policy; in other words to make good the insured's loss after it had occurred and by payment. In the absence of express provision, that obligation was to be discharged within a reasonable time. The construction contended for by the insurers is not supported by the language of the policy considered in light of its commercial context and purpose: at [236]-[258]. 2. The construction contended for by the insurers is contrary to the meaning given to substantially the same language of the insuring clause in CIC Insurance Ltd v Bankstown Football Club Ltd (1997) 187 CLR 384; [1997] HCA 2, the content and time for performance of the insurer's indemnity obligation being directly in issue in that case: at [236], [266]-[272]. 3. Neither of the intermediate appellate court decisions relied on by the insurers addresses the construction of a promise to indemnify in a policy of property insurance, or an insuring clause in the same or similar language to that in the 2008 policy. Cigna v Packer concerned a personal accident policy and accordingly not one providing for an indemnity. Associated Forest Holdings Pty Ltd v Gordian Runoff Ltd concerned the meaning of the insuring clause in a policy of excess of loss reinsurance: at [236], [273]-[275].
[2015] TASFC 6
[1986] HCA 32
[2000] WASCA 415
[1984] HCA 17
[2006] VSCA 26
[2013] WASCA 115
[2015] HCA 37
[2000] WADC 3
(2014) 87 NSWLR 332
(1986) 160 CLR 513
(1964) 111 CLR 86
(1905) 3 CLR 419
(1997) 187 CLR 384
(2000) 23 WAR 159
(2013) 306 ALR 182
(2007) 230 CLR 89
(1989) 168 CLR 385
(1981) 146 CLR 206
(1940) 64 CLR 221
(2017) 94 NSWLR 36
(2013) 45 WAR 297
(2000) 203 CLR 579
(2015) 256 CLR 104
(1991) 24 NSWLR 564
(1954) 90 CLR 235
(1935) 53 CLR 618
(2012) 291 ALR 563
(2001) 207 CLR 520
(2005) 221 CLR 522
(1949) 80 CLR 11
(1996) 187 CLR 384
(1984) 154 CLR 234