© 2026 Zoe. All rights reserved.
Zoe is a legal information platform. Always consult the Federal Register of Legislation for authoritative text.
[2021] NSWCA 185
Court of Appeal (NSW)
2020-11-20
Macfarlan JA, Meagher JA, McCallum JA
Original judgment source is linked above.
R 626 Moss v Sun Alliance Australia Ltd (1990) 55 SASR 145 Oakland Investments (Aus) Ltd v Certain Underwriters at Lloyd's [2012] QSC 6; (2012) 17 ANZ Ins Cas 61-932 Palmer v Dolman [2005] NSWCA 361 President of India v Lips Maritime Corp [1988] AC 395 Russell Young Abalone Pty Ltd v Traders Prudent Insurance Co Ltd (1993) 7 ANZ Ins Cas 61-182 Sharma v Insurance Australia Ltd [2017] NSWCA 307 Sprung v Real Insurance (UK) Ltd [1999] 1 Lloyd's IR 111 Tropicus Orchids Flowers and Foliage Pty Ltd v Territory Insurance Office (1998) 148 FLR 441 Versloot Dredging BV v HDI Gerling Industrie Versicherung AG [2017] AC 1; [2016] UKSC 45 Vines v Australian Securities and Investments Commission (2007) 73 NSWLR 451; [2007] NSWCA 75 Zoneff v R (2000) 200 CLR 234; [2000] HCA 28 Category: Principal judgment Parties: Kim Michelle Worth (Appellant) HDI Global Specialty SE (formerly International Insurance Company of Hannover SE) (Respondent) Representation: Counsel: T Castle SC and P Mann (Appellant) S Donaldson SC and N Olsen (Respondent)
Solicitors: LMI Legal (Appellant) McInnes Wilson (Respondent) File Number(s): 2020/112258 Publication restriction: Nil Decision under appeal Court or tribunal: Supreme Court of New South Wales Jurisdiction: Equity Citation: [2020] NSWSC 249 Date of Decision: 19 March 2020 Before: Parker J File Number(s): 2016/326625
[Note: The Uniform Civil Procedure Rules 2005 provide (Rule 36.11) that unless the Court otherwise orders, a judgment or order is taken to be entered when it is recorded in the Court's computerised court record system. Setting aside and variation of judgments or orders is dealt with by Rules 36.15, 36.16, 36.17 and 36.18. Parties should in particular note the time limit of fourteen days in Rule 36.16.]
HEADNOTE [This headnote is not to be read as part of the judgment] On 1 September 2015, the appellant's home was substantially destroyed by fire. She also operated a childcare business from the ground floor of the two-level property. The appellant spent the evening of 31 August 2015 caring for her elderly parents at their home. On that evening when she left her home she switched on an electric screen displaying pictures of Tahiti. She returned to the house at 9am and remained until 9:28am, during which time she did not switch off the Tahiti screen but did turn on a cooktop element on the kitchen stove to boil an egg. At 9:36am a passing driver telephoned the police and reported that smoke and flames could be seen coming from the windows on the first floor balcony of the house. The forensic evidence established that there were two independent sources of ignition of the fire. The first was in or around the eastern end of the living room on the first floor and was responsible for all of the damage to the house. The second was on the cooktop in the kitchen, as a result of the element being left on and burning a 200-page 'game guide' book, part of which was found on the cooktop surface. The house and business were insured under the respondent's Home Based Business Property Insurance policy. The policy was for 12 months from 20 August 2015. The building was insured for $500,000, the contents for $80,000 and the business for 12 months of business interruption losses up to a limit of $132,000. By a Deed of Release dated 16 December 2015, and whilst the cause of the fire remained under investigation, the respondent granted a "conditional indemnity", under which it agreed to pay the appellant in accordance with the policy. In turn, she agreed to repay those moneys in the event that a "police force" found that she had deliberately caused the fire. The respondent made preliminary payments totalling $98,000. On 23 September 2016, the respondent advised the appellant that it denied her claim, relying in part on a police forensic report concluding that the fire had been deliberately lit. The appellant commenced proceedings in November 2016. She sought the following: the costs of reinstating her home; 12 months of business interruption losses; damages for consequential loss of business revenue for the period after the expiry of that 12 months and continuing; and damages for personal inconvenience arising from the respondent's failure to meet her claim and alleged breaches of its obligation to act with utmost good faith under Insurance Contracts Act 1984 (Cth), s 14(1). Those claims as formulated were made under the Deed of Release as distinct from the insurance policy. The respondent by cross-claim sought to recover the payments made to the appellant and damages for her breach of the duty of utmost good faith in making an allegedly false claim. The primary judge dismissed the appellant's claims, finding that she deliberately lit the fires in the kitchen and the living room. On 17 April 2020, judgment was entered for the respondent on its cross-claim for $194,505 plus interest. The principal issues in the appeal were: (i) whether the primary judge erred in finding that the appellant had deliberately lit the kitchen fire; (ii) whether, having made that finding, the primary judge erred in finding that the appellant had deliberately lit the living room fire; (iii) in the event that those questions are answered in the affirmative, the relief to which the appellant was entitled. The Court held (per Macfarlan and McCallum JJA, Meagher JA dissenting), allowing the appeal, that the primary judge erred in concluding that the fire had been deliberately lit. In relation to issue (i):
Judgment
The circumstances of the fire
Grounds of appeal
General principles
Overview of finding that the appellant deliberately lit the fire
The living room fire (grounds 3(a)-(c) and 4(a)-(d))
The potential sources of ignition
The findings of the primary judge
The point of origin of the fire
The Tahiti screen
The timing of flashover
The findings as to the cause of the cooktop fire
The "protected area" under the game guide
Theories as to how the game guide came to be on the cooktop
The position of the game guide on the cooktop and whether it had been moved
Whether a finding that the appellant tore the game guide was open
Motive, financial circumstances and "psychological" considerations (grounds 3(d)-(e), 5 and 9(c))
Income
Assets and liabilities
Business interruption insurance
Whether the appellant had a financial motive
Whether error in not having regard to "psychological" considerations in treatment of motive
Ms Worth's conduct after leaving her home (ground 7)
Whether error in finding that false explanations for failure to answer calls suggested "a consciousness of guilt"
The finding that the living room fire was deliberately lit by Ms Worth (grounds 1, 2 and 8)
Conclusion on liability
The three issues as to relief
The indemnity for property damage
The claims for business interruption loss
Availability of damages for loss consequential on a wrongful failure to indemnify
The claim to damages for breach of the deed
Quantification of the indemnity for business interruption loss
Damages for inconvenience and distress
The siren call of scientific evidence
The arson fraud allegation
The fire in the kitchen
The "human intervention" hypothesis
The innocent hypothesis
The course of the investigation
The weight to be given to psychological factors
Conclusion as to the fire in the kitchen
The fire in the living room
Financial motive
Lies as consciousness of guilt
Conclusion and orders
Amendments 06 September 2021 - Order (3) varied to correct judgment sum and include interest calculations. DISCLAIMER - Every effort has been made to comply with suppression orders or statutory provisions prohibiting publication that may apply to this judgment or decision. The onus remains on any person using material in the judgment or decision to ensure that the intended use of that material does not breach any such order or provision. Further enquiries may be directed to the Registry of the Court or Tribunal in which it was generated. Decision last updated: 06 September 2021
Worth
HDI Global Specialty SE
[2017] VSCA 259
[2013] WASCA 115
[2012] QSC 6
(2017) 53 VR 645
(1993) 176 CLR 344
(1951) 217 ALR 1
(1938) 60 CLR 336
(1984) 153 CLR 521
(1997) 187 CLR 384
(2019) 99 NSWLR 470
(1989) 171 CLR 125
(2011) 243 CLR 361
(2013) 45 WAR 296
(2020) 268 CLR 326
(1949) 80 CLR 626
(1990) 55 SASR 145
(1998) 148 FLR 441
(2007) 73 NSWLR 451
(2000) 200 CLR 234
(2020) 377 CLR 209
[2011] HCA 11