© 2026 Zoe. All rights reserved.
Zoe is a legal information platform. Always consult the Federal Register of Legislation for authoritative text.
[2006] NSWCA 156
Court of Appeal (NSW)
2006-06-01
Giles JA, Hodgson JA, Tobias JA
Original judgment source is linked above.
CITATION: British American Tobacco Australia Ltd v Eagle Star Reinsurance Co Ltd [2006] NSWCA 156
JUDGMENT OF: Giles JA at 1; Hodgson JA at 68; Tobias JA at 78
DECISION: (1) Appeal allowed; (2) Set aside the verdict for the cross-defendant on the third cross-claim and the order that the cross-claimant pay the cross-defendant's costs; (3) Remit the third cross-claim to the District Court for a new trial on the condition that the appellant was to be indemtified as if a separate policy had been issued to it in accordance with General Clause 1; (4) Costs of the third cross-claim to be as ordered by the judge conducting the trial; (5) Respondent to pay the appellant's costs of the appeal.
CATCHWORDS: Insurance - defendant's costs of defending proceedings - whether claimed in statement of claim - whether claim raised in submissions for decision although not in statement of claim - whether failure to give reasons for not deciding claim or why claim failed - whether miscarriage of justice - whether appeal court would decide claim - held raised for decision, inadequate reasons, new trial. D
Beale v Government Insurance Office of New South Wales (1997) 48 NSWLR 430; Edwards v Insurance Office of Australia Ltd (1933) 34 SR 88; GLG Australia Pty Ltd v The Nominal Defendant (No 2) [2004] NSWCA 282; CASES CITED: Hadid v Redpath (2001) 31 MLVR 152; Mifsud v Campbell (1991) 21 NSWLR 725; Penrith City Council v Government Insurance Office of New South Wales (1991) 24 NSWLR 564; Peter Turnbull & Co Pty Ltd v Mundus Trading Co (Australasia) Pty Ltd (1954) 90 CLR 235; Soulemezis v Dudley (Holdings) Ltd (1987) 10 NSWLR 247.
PARTIES: British American Tobacco Ltd - Appellant Eagle Star Reinsurance Co Ltd - Respondent
COUNSEL: G Watson SC & T T Baw - Appellant S Donaldson SC & E Muston - Respondent
SOLICITORS: Colin Biggers & Paisley - Appellant Hunt & Hunt - Respondent
LOWER COURT JURISDICTION: District Court
LOWER COURT MEDIUM NEUTRAL CITATION: (Ashford DCJ, 14 July 2004, unreported)
IN THE SUPREME COURT OF NEW SOUTH WALES COURT OF APPEAL CA 40099/05 DC 849/02
GILES JA HODGSON JA TOBIAS JA
Friday 23 June 2006 BRITISH AMERICAN TOBACCO AUSTRALIA LTD v EAGLE STAR REINSURANCE COMPANY LTD Judgment 1 GILES JA: The appellant was the defendant in proceedings in the District Court. It cross-claimed against the respondent, alleging that it was entitled to indemnity under insurance. The claim against the appellant failed. Its cross-claim against the respondent was dismissed and it was ordered to pay the respondent's costs. 2 In this appeal the appellant contends that the judge erred in failing to consider the cross-claim so far as it claimed indemnity for its costs incurred in defending the claim against it, or if her Honour did consider the cross-claim in failing to give reasons for her decision in that respect. The respondent contends that the cross-claim did not extend to indemnity for the appellant's costs of defending the claim against it, so that neither consideration nor reasons in that respect were required, and that in any event the appellant was not entitled to the indemnity.
The proceedings in the District Court 3 The appellant was the occupier of premises at Granville. The judge described the premises as "a large site comprising various buildings and with open ground". The appellant engaged Group 4 Securitas Pty Ltd ("Group 4") to provide security services with respect to the premises. Ms Joanne Edwards was employed by Group 4 as a security officer, and was assigned to duties at the appellant's premises. 4 By a statement of claim filed on 18 February 2002 Ms Edwards alleged that on 22 February 1999, in the course of carrying out her duties as a security guard at the premises, she twisted her leg as she "stepped on a concealed incline, uneven surface or into a hole" on a grass covered field and suffered injury, and that her injury was caused by the negligence of the appellant. 5 In a cross-claim filed on 11 October 2002 the appellant cross-claimed against Group 4 on three bases. The first was a claim for indemnity or contribution pursuant to the Law Reform (Miscellaneous Provisions) Act 1946. The second was a claim for indemnity under a provision of a contract pursuant to which the security services were provided. The third was a curious claim to entitlement to indemnity under insurance which that contract obliged Group 4 to effect and maintain for the appellant's benefit, alternatively a claim to damages for breach in failing to effect and maintain that insurance. 6 In a second cross-claim Group 4 claimed indemnity under separate insurance from two insurers, Allianz Australia Workers Compensation (NSW) Ltd ("Allianz") and the respondent. Allianz was Group 4's worker's compensation insurer and the respondent was its liability insurer. The second cross-claim was not in the appeal papers, and the extent of indemnity claimed under the respondent's insurance is unclear. It appears from the submissions to which I later go that Group 4's cross-claim against the respondent extended or was treated as extending to its costs of defending the cross-claim against it. 7 In a third cross-claim filed in court on 22 March 2004, the first day of the hearing, the appellant claimed from the respondent indemnity under the same insurance as that on which Group 4 relied in the second cross-claim. We were informed that "it had long been discussed during the preparation for the hearing that this would occur". 8 Important to the appeal was the framing of the third cross-claim, relevantly - "7. Pursuant to the terms of this policy, the Defendant claims indemnity for any damages awarded against the Defendant because of any finding of negligence arising out of the alleged incident which is the subject of the Plaintiff's Ordinary Statement of Claim from the Cross Defendant to the Third Cross Claim.
(b) In the alternative to the proceedings [sic] sub-paragraphs, contribution towards any verdict, interests and costs which may be recovered against the Third Cross Claimant, pursuant to Section 5(1)(c) of the Law Reform (Miscellaneous Provisions) Act 1946 as Amended. (c) Interest pursuant to Section 83A of the District Court Act;
(d) Costs." 9 On the last day of the hearing, at the close of submissions, there was filed in court the respondent's defence to the third cross-claim. It included - "5. As to paragraph 7 of the Notice of Third Cross Claim the First Cross Defendant to the Third Cross Claim admits that the Cross Claimant claims indemnity as pleaded, but denies any entitlement to such indemnity.
The insurance 19 There were in fact two liability insurers, the respondent as to 75 per cent and Lloyds Underwriters as to 25 per cent, with two policy documents combined by a page purporting to be executed on their behalves and to record their several agreements. It was unresolved at the hearing before the judge, but on appeal the appellant acknowledged that the respondent's obligation to indemnify was only as to 75 per cent of the subject-matter of indemnity. The policy documents were the customary assemblage of ill-matched and badly written clauses. 20 The insuring clause in the respondent's insurance recorded the respondent's agreement - "To indemnify the Insured against liability in the manner and to the extent provided in each Insuring Agreement hereto subject always to the Limits of Liability Conditions Exclusions and other terms of this Policy." 21 There were then three Insuring Agreements. Only Insuring Agreement (A), headed "Combined Public and Products Liability", is presently material. The other Insuring Agreements were headed "Directors' and Officers' Liability" and "Errors and Omissions Liability". 22 Insuring Agreement (A) provided as to indemnity - "Indemnity: To indemnify the Insured against such sums as the Insured shall become legally liable to pay (including liability assumed by the Insured under contract or agreement or charter party, but only to the extent the Insured is legally liable under such contract or agreement or charter party) arising out of Personal Injury, Property Damage and/or Advertising Liability (each as defined herein) caused by or arising out of any occurrence during the Period of Insurance and within the Territorial Limits specified in the Schedule in connection with the Insured's Business including the manufacture, sale, supply, handling or distribution by the Insured (or by others on behalf of the Insured) of goods, products or merchandise including containers thereof." 23 The Schedule included - "INSURED: Tempo Services Limited, Zip Cars Pty Limited, Group 4 Securitas Pty Limited, and/or subsidiary companies (now existing or hereinafter acquired, formed, taken over or incorporated) and associated and/or related companies (for whose insurance Tempo Services Limited are or become responsible, joint ventures and all other parties named or described in the records of Tempo Services Limited as being included herein and other entities named or described in the Policy) including all principals, contractors and sub-contractors all for their respective rights and interests. BUSINESS: Principally manpower and facilities management of every description incorporating but not limited to cleaning, security services, cash carrying, general maintenance and repair, food and catering services, fire fighting services, gardening, warehousing and distribution, laundry, portering, orderlies for health care services, mortuary attendants, administrative services, mail room management, facilities management for defence forces incorporating all of the above, couriers, property owners and occupiers and all ancillary associated or incidental activities including the business of principals, contractors and sub-contractors." 24 There were Extensions to Insuring Agreement (A), including - "6. Indemnity to Principals It is understood and agreed that should any claim be made against any person, corporation, statutory authority and/or organisation to whom the Insured has given an indemnity (hereinafter referred to as 'The Principal') for Personal Injury and/or Property Damage caused in the course of the Insured's Business, the Insurers will extend the indemnity provided by this Policy to indemnify 'The Principal' against such claims including costs incurred with the Insurers' consent, provided however that (i) the total liability of Insurers shall not exceed the Limit of Liability stated herein in regard to any one claim or series of claims arising out of one occurrence
(ii) 'The Principal' shall as though he were the Insured observe, fulfil and be subject to the terms, limitations, Exclusions and Conditions of this Policy in so far as they can apply (iii) in the event that 'The Principal' is entitled to indemnity under any other insurance, this Policy shall only apply to the excess, if any, beyond the amount recoverable under such other insurance." 25 There were then Exclusions applicable to Insuring Agreement (A), including - "This Insuring Agreement shall not cover liability 1. for bodily injury, sickness or disease including any resultant death sustained by any employee of the Insured arising out of and in the course of his employment by the Insured under a contract of service or apprenticeship and for which the Insured is liable under any Workers' Compensation Statute or Regulation or at Common Law, … " 26 There were General Clauses to all Insuring Agreements, including - "1. The following shall be indemnified as if a separate policy had been issued to each (a) the personal representatives of the Insured in respect of liability incurred by the Insured (b) (i) any principal for whom the Insured is carrying out work and any other party to whom the Insured has given an indemnity in connection with the Business. (ii) any director, officer or employee of the Insured (c) the officers, committees and members, in their respective capacities as such, of canteen, social, sports, welfare, credit union and pre-school organisations, and medical first aid, fire and ambulance services and facilities, and the like, associated with or sponsored by the Insured.
(d) any director, officer or employee of the Insured in respect of private work undertaken by the Insured's employees for such director, officer or employee
(e) any director, officer or, employee for their personal liability in the course of the Business (including any member of their families or persons normally resident with them) whilst travelling or serving abroad in connection with the Business
(f) all of the parties named in the Schedule as the Insured. All of which, shall, as though the Insured, be subject to the terms of this Policy as far as they can apply. … 3. Insurers also agree to (a) defend any suit against the Insured alleging liability insured under the provisions of this Policy or alleging an infringement of the Trade Practices or Consumer Protection Acts (or amendments thereto) whether insured under the provisions of this Policy or not, and seeking recovery for damages on account thereof, even if such suit is groundless, false or fraudulent (b) indemnify the Insured for all legal costs and charges and such other reasonable expenses incurred at the Insurers' request including actual loss of salaries or wages for attendance of the Insured at hearings, trials or coronial inquiries whether civil, criminal or appellate, and such costs, charges and expenses shall be payable in addition to the Limit of Liability specified in the applicable Insuring Agreement where the liability is not insured under the provisions of this Policy. It is however understood and agreed that the Limit of Liability in respect of Insuring Agreement (B) is inclusive of costs, charges and expenses. In addition, if the Insured is unable to recover any or all such costs awarded against the plaintiff or appellant due to the said plaintiff's or appellant's inability to pay due to insolvency or other causes, Insurers agreed to indemnify the Insured for all such costs up to the Limit of Liability of Insuring Agreement (A)." 27 It is convenient to note at this point the only evidence of the respondent's denial of indemnity, a letter dated 26 May 2003 from the solicitors for the respondent to the solicitors for the appellant reading - "As you are aware, we act on behalf of Eagle Star Reinsurance Co Ltd. We refer to your client's email dated 7 April 2003 and presume it to intend to be claim for indemnity from our client [sic]. On that basis, we are instructed to respond as follows: 1. We refer to Clauses B9.1 and B9.3 of the undated and unsigned Security Services Agreement ("SSA") between Rothmans of Pall Mall Australia Limited and Group 4 Securitas Pty Ltd ("Group 4"). We do not propose to set out these clauses in their entirety and will assume for the purpose of discussion that the SSA provided by your client is the agreement governing the relationship between your client and Group 4.
(b) indemnity for any liability arising from a finding that your client's relationship with the Plaintiff was analogous to that of a employer/employee giving rise to a non-delegable duty of care upon your client;
(c) a contractual indemnity." 28 The e-mail dated 7 April 2003 was not in evidence. It is apparent that the respondent did not wholly deny indemnity, and that the denial of "any entitlement to such indemnity" in para 5 of the respondent's defence had to be read subject to the letter of 26 May 2003. The denial of indemnity appears to have been on the basis that any entitlement to indemnity arose under Extension 6 providing for "Indemnity to Principals"; that the Insured for the purposes of the Extension was Group 4; that the indemnity given by Group 4 to the appellant was relevantly limited to negligent actions of Group 4; and that the respondent's indemnity to the appellant was therefore limited to where the appellant was liable for Group 4's negligent actions and did not extend to where the appellant was liable for its own negligent actions. On the facts of Ms Edwards' claim, however, that amounted to a denial of indemnity under Extension 6. It is a possible but not compelling inference that in the e-mail dated 7 April 2003 the appellant had relied only on Extension 6. 29 It should also be said at this point that in submissions before the judge counsel for the appellant said that he could not "maintain any contractual breaches". On appeal, different counsel for the appellant explained that the contract on which the appellant relied in the first cross-claim had expired and "that meant that an indemnity a specific indemnity provided by Group 4 to BAT did not apply"; he said that the appellant did not have a contractual indemnity, and did not rely on Extension 6 for indemnity under the insurance.
Did the appellant claim indemnity for its costs incurred in defending the claim against it? 30 With the failure of Ms Edwards' claim against the appellant, indemnity for damages and costs payable to her fell away. The appellant accepted that the respondent's insurance did not entitle it to indemnity for the costs payable to Group 4 on the first cross-claim. The appellate dispute was over its own costs incurred in the proceedings. The affidavit filed pursuant to Pt 51 r 8 of the Rules spoke of billed costs to 31 May 2006 in excess of $182,000. No doubt some of the costs should be attributed to the appellant's cross-claims and some of the costs were incurred in relation to the appeal. It still seems an astonishing amount. 31 The respondent submitted that the appellant had not claimed indemnity for its own costs, and therefore the judge was not in error in dismissing the third cross-claim as she did; it said that dismissal was inevitable because there was no question of indemnity for damages and costs payable to Ms Edwards, and that it was not necessary for the judge to explain what was obvious. 32 If attention be confined to the third cross-claim as framed, the appellant did not claim indemnity for its own costs. It alleged a claim to "indemnity for any damages awarded against the Defendant" (para 7), and claimed in terms indemnity for damages and costs "which may be recovered against the Defendant" (para 9). 33 The claim even in this respect was not well framed. It was not a claim to specific performance, and the District Court had no jurisdiction to order specific performance. It was a claim to damages, an insured's cause of action where the insurer denies indemnity being for unliquidated damages for breach of contract (see Penrith City Council v Government Insurance Office of New South Wales (1991) 24 NSWLR 564 at 568 and cases there cited). The claim to indemnity for damages and costs could be understood as a claim for damages in the amount of any damages and costs recovered against the appellant; how orders would be made when the amount of the costs was yet to be ascertained need not presently be considered. But even on this understanding, the costs were any costs recovered against the appellant. They were not the appellant's own costs. 34 However, attention can not be confined to the third cross-claim as framed. If an extended claim to the appellant's own costs was asserted and raised for decision at the trial, it was open to the judge to permit amendment of the statement of claim to take up the extended claim. Depending on the respondent's response, the judge might have declined to permit amendment and so declined to decide whether the appellant was entitled to indemnity for its own costs, or she might have permitted amendment and decided that matter. This could have occurred without formal regard to amendment: the realities of litigation must be recognised. Assertion and raising for decision of the extended claim would call for consideration by the judge, even if her conclusion was that, because it was not within the third cross-claim as framed or for other reasons, she should not decide the matter. 35 From the transcript of submissions at the hearing, an extended claim to the appellant's own costs was asserted, and the respondent responded to it without taking any point that it was outside the framing of the third cross-claim. The appellant's submissions understandably focussed on indemnity for damages and costs recovered against the appellant, and in consequence the respondent's submissions did the same. But both parties went further, and Group 4's submissions on its claim against the respondent provided the context of a claim in relation to its own costs with which the appellant's claim was linked. 36 Counsel for the appellant addressed first. When he had concluded his submissions on the appellant's liability to Ms Edwards, he made his submissions on the cross-claim against Group 4. His submissions went only to indemnity or contribution: as earlier noted, the contractual claims were not maintained. 37 Counsel then turned to "the position in relation to Mr Fordham's client", Mr Fordham being counsel for the respondent. He said that it was the appellant's position "that it is in fact covered by the insurance policy issued by Mr Fordham's client". Counsel submitted to the effect that the appellant was a principal for which Group 4 was carrying out work, that by the letter of 26 May 2003 the respondent had agreed to indemnify the appellant although subject to a limitation because Ms Edwards was Group 4's employee, and that the limitation was incorrect because the appellant was entitled to be indemnified as a principal as if a separate policy had been issued to it. These submissions rested upon the Schedule in the policy and/or General Clause 1, with the emphasis on the latter. 38 Counsel for the appellant concluded his submissions, Rothmans being a reference to the appellant by a former name - "We say this only probably comes into it because we still maintain, your Honour, there should be a verdict for the defendant in this case. But at the end of the day, the insurer would be required to pay Rothmans' costs of these proceedings as part and parcel of the indemnity . It may well be the question of recovery of costs from the plaintiff at the end of the line but we have the protection, we say, of this insurance policy and it would cover our costs . Unless there is anything further, your Honour. I have tried to anticipate what the arguments will be. If there is anything further that comes out." (emphasis added) 39 Counsel for Group 4 addressed next. His submissions included that under the respondent's insurance Group 4 was entitled to its "costs and expenses". Counsel submitted to the effect that, by the letter of 26 May 2003, the respondent had refused to provide indemnity, that it had "repudiated [the contract of insurance] because it refused to defend the proceedings", and that it therefore could not rely on the absence of the request to incur legal costs and charges and other reasonable expenses referred to in General Clause 3(b) of the policy. The indemnity claimed by Group 4 thus extended to Group 4's legal costs and expenses incurred in defending the appellant's cross-claim against it; this is material to an understanding of the submissions in due course made by counsel for the appellant. 40 The solicitor for Ms Edwards addressed next. In concluding, he said that he "won't go into the issue about costs, your Honour". The transcript at this point becomes opaque; it is difficult to understand when, in the subsequent discussion involving the judge and all legal representatives, they were referring to costs orders to be made for and against parties to the proceedings, or to insurance indemnity against costs. It may be that the participants had differing things in their minds. 41 However, when at one point the judge asked what counsel for the appellant and Group 4 wanted "to do about it", counsel for the appellant said that it "depends on what happens on the insurance policies" and the judge responded, "It's a bit all tied up". Counsel for the appellant agreed and said, "We will be seeking indemnity for our costs if your Honour was in favour of the defendant we would be seeking an indemnity … ", and at a later point counsel for Group 4 said that his submissions "go to orders of indemnity which really stand entirely apart from costs orders". It seems to me that when the judge proposed that "everybody may need to come back to address the costs issue further", and later said "if I leave out any costs orders from that verdict, it will be necessary to set aside some further time", her Honour had in mind receiving submissions both as to orders for costs and as to insurance indemnity against costs for the later occasion. 42 That appears to be what happened, see the judge's reference to "submissions in respect of the cross-claims and costs" in her reasons of 22 June 2005. But there was some further reference to costs in the submissions at the hearing, albeit with a late protest that costs were to be dealt with on a separate occasion. 43 Counsel for Allianz addressed next. His submissions included that Group 4 "should not have the costs of defending the cross-claim brought by [the appellant] on the grounds of no written consent to incurring such expenses was obtained from the insurer", a point which had been anticipated in the submissions of counsel for Group 4. 44 Counsel for the respondent then addressed. His submissions included as to the cross-claim brought by Group 4 - "Mr Seton [counsel for Group 4] then took your Honour to the general conditions at page 22 and in particular item 3 which is the agreement to defend. Mr Parker [counsel for Allianz] took your Honour to the authorities on liability for costs. Costs in this policy are dealt with on the following page, A(b) at the top of 23, which again refers to costs incurred in this case at the insurer's request. There is certainly no evidence of that. That then leaves the potential remedy for Group 4 as against my client, if there be one, for the breach of 3(a) and a claim for damages. But, of course, causally nothing flows from it because the claim was abandoned, so there is no damage. If your Honour were against me on that, despite what is said in the authorities that Mr Parker took your Honour to, and in (b), the only liability that's insured under the provisions is the potential contractual claim and the indemnity for costs that Mr Seton seeks would have to be limited to the defence of that claim. I say that doesn't arise because of the issues in the authorities and under 3(b) but, if I am wrong about that, a plain reading of the policy suggests that whatever costs under the policy that Mr Seton is entitled to would have to be limited to defending the claim covered by the policy which is that pleaded, the assumed liability on contract. In respect of that, I raise - which I will come back to - the issue of whether or not, regardless of any indemnities provided to either of the cross-claimants who sue against my client, those costs ought to [sic] segregated and brought home against BAT given the fact that it was abandoned." 45 Counsel was responding to Group 4's claim for indemnity for its own costs, and the response is not entirely clear. Group 4 appears to have claimed that indemnity in the second cross-claim, and as has been seen it claimed it in submissions. When counsel for the respondent turned to the third cross-claim he appeared to accept that the appellant was in the same position, see below. 46 When counsel turned to the cross claim by the appellant he first put submissions against the availability of indemnity generally. Again the submissions are not entirely clear, but they appear to have been that General Clause 1 was answered by Exclusion 1. 47 Counsel's submissions concluded - "Finally, your Honour, under the rules in relation to costs, and by analogy on costs on the indemnity sought under the policy, costs usually follow the event. But in circumstances where a claim has taken up significant parts of this trial in various ways and which led to a necessity for two insurers to be present in a case such as this, regardless of whatever other orders you might make, it is open to your Honour to vary that under the rules and discreetly section [sic] that part away so that those costs are payable by BAT. Unless there is any other matter. PARKER: Your Honour, I thought we were going to deal with costs on a separate occasion. FORDHAM: I have to deal with that in terms of, firstly, costs will be dealt with on a separate occasion, I appreciate that. However, dealing with the fact that two people are claiming indemnities for their costs if they can do so under the policy [sic] . HER HONOUR: It can be revisited if needs be." (emphasis added) 48 There may be recording or transcription difficulties in this transcript. But two things may be said. First, in the last emphasised passage counsel for the appellant appeared to accept that the appellant was in the same position as Group 4 in claiming indemnity for its own costs. Secondly, counsel did not submit that the assertion by counsel for the appellant that the respondent "would be required to pay Rothman's costs of these proceedings as part and parcel of the indemnity", and later that the appellant would "be seeking indemnity for our costs if your Honour was in favour of the defendant", were not open under the third cross-claim. 49 The transcript does not include separate attention, by either counsel for the appellant or counsel for the respondent, to the policy so far as it dealt specifically with costs, see the incurring of costs with the Insurer's consent in Extension 6 or at the Insurer's request in General Clause 3(b). The question of incurring costs with the insurer's consent was at least touched upon as between Group 4 and the respondent. As between the appellant and the respondent indemnity for the appellant's own costs was not highlighted. In my view, however, it was raised before the judge, and was to be the subject of the submissions on the later occasion, without objection from the respondent. 50 It is unfortunate that there was no transcript or other evidence before us of the submissions leading to the reasons of 22 June 2005. By the later occasion it was known that Ms Edwards' claim had failed. The appellant is likely to have focussed on recovery of its own costs from the respondent, rather than take the chance of recovery of assessed costs from Ms Edwards, and to have made submissions accordingly. The judge referred to submissions "in respect of the cross-claims and costs". Her Honour's reference to the respondent's failure to consent to incurring costs, see above, probably reflects submissions on the terms of the policy in that respect. It is also unfortunate that the reasons do not allow an understanding of the submissions made, but they do not note any debate over the scope of the third cross-claim, which one would think would have been to the fore if the respondent had taken the point that an extended claim to the appellant's own costs was outside the third cross-claim. 51 In my opinion, the extended claim to the appellant's own costs was asserted and raised for decision at the trial. It appears to have been accepted by the respondent as before the judge. Consideration of the extended claim was called for, with explanation of why the judge declined to decide it or of the decision of the matter.
Were the judge's reasons adequate? 52 The judge's reasons of 22 June did not meet the principles discussed in cases such as Soulemezis v Dudley (Holdings) Ltd (1987) 10 NSWLR 247, Mifsud v Campbell (1991) 21 NSWLR 725 and Beale v Government Insurance Office of New South Wales (1997) 48 NSWLR 430. The deficiency is such that a further discussion of the principles is not necessary. 53 I have indicated initial doubt on the judge's reasons. The only clue as to her reasoning is her statement that neither of the insurers "gave written consent to incur the costs and no reasons were advanced for doing so". Only the respondent insurer was relevant at that point in the reasons. The judge otherwise said that "on the facts and circumstances of the claim" there should be a verdict for the respondent. This was manifestly inadequate. If the judge had in mind General Clause 3(b) referring to incurring "at the Insurers' request", she did not address its construction: did those words qualify legal costs and charges, or only other reasonable expenses? She spoke of consent, not request: what clause did she have in mind? Whatever the clause was, she did not address whether there had been refusal of indemnity whereby the respondent could not rely on absence of consent, see cases such as Edwards v Insurance Office of Australia Ltd (1933) 34 SR 88. She did not identify the relevant "facts and circumstances of the claim", in these respects or at all. 54 It can not have been, as the appellant suggested, that the judge held that the third cross-claim was dismissed because Ms Edwards' claim failed and there were no damages and costs payable by the appellant. The reference to consent to incurring costs was irrelevant to that reasoning, and in any event if that were the reasoning the judge failed to explain why she declined to decide the extended claim. It can not be seen from the reasons whether the claim to indemnity for the appellant's own costs failed because it was not within the third cross-claim as framed or on its merits, and in either case why.
What to do? 55 In its notice of appeal the appellant sought the substantive orders - "2. Set aside the order of Judge Ashford entering a verdict for the Respondent against the Appellant on the Third Cross Claim and in lieu thereof verdict for the Appellant against the Respondent on the Third Cross Claim.
DISCLAIMER - Every effort has been made to comply with suppression orders or statutory provisions prohibiting publication that may apply to this judgment or decision. The onus remains on any person using material in the judgment or decision to ensure that the intended use of that material does not breach any such order or provision. Further enquiries may be directed to the Registry of the Court or Tribunal in which it was generated.
British American Tobacco Australia Ltd
Eagle Star Reinsurance Co Ltd
(1997) 48 NSWLR 430
(1991) 21 NSWLR 725
(1991) 24 NSWLR 564
(1954) 90 CLR 235
(1987) 10 NSWLR 247
(2001) 31 MVR 152