[2021] TASSC 22
General information, not legal advice.
Supreme Court of Tasmania
2021-06-08
Pearce J
Original judgment source is linked above.
CITATION: Tassal Operations Pty Ltd v Lese [2021] TASSC 22
APPEALED FROM: Tassal Operations Pty Ltd v L [2020] TASWRCT 28
Workers Compensation - Entitlement to compensation - Injury, disease or disability - Disease - Aggravation or acceleration of pre-existing disease or condition - General principles - Causation - Employment major or most significant contributing factor to aggravation, acceleration, exacerbation or deterioration of pre-existing disease.
Long v Kmart Australia Ltd [2016] TASSC 6, 25 Tas R 237, applied.
Workers Compensation - Liability to pay compensation - Liability of employer - Other cases - Reasonably arguable case - Liability to pay compensation - Dependent on the existence of requisite causal relationship between employment and injury.
St Helens Oysters Pty Ltd v Coatsworth [2007] TASSC 90, 17 Tas R 43; Vos Construction & Joinery Pty Ltd v Norton Smith [2016] TASSC 38, 26 Tas R 448; Bradshaw v Tasmania Networks Pty Ltd [2019] TASSC 41; Bradshaw v Tasmania Networks Pty Ltd [2020] TASFC 2, applied.
Workers Compensation - Proceedings to obtain compensation - Preliminary requirements - Interim payments - Reasonably arguable case for employer not established - No error established.
Protective Security Pty Ltd v Bedelph [2004] TASSC 128, 13 Tas R 354; St Helens Oysters Pty Ltd v Coatsworth [2007] TASSC 90, 17 Tas R 43; Burrage v Rural Press Limited [2013] TASSC 43, applied.
Judgment Number: [2021] TASSC 22
"25 Liability of employers to compensate workers for injuries
(a) a worker suffers an injury, not being a disease, arising out of or in the course of his employment; or
(b) a worker suffers an injury, which is a disease and to which his employment contributed to a substantial degree, within the meaning of section 3(2A) -
his employer is, except as is otherwise provided by this Act, liable to pay compensation in accordance with this Act -
"'disease' means any ailment, disorder, defect, or morbid condition, whether of sudden or gradual development;
(b) the recurrence, aggravation, acceleration, exacerbation or deterioration of any pre-existing injury or disease where the employment was the major or most significant contributing factor to that recurrence, aggravation, acceleration, exacerbation or deterioration ...".
"(2A) For the purposes of this Act, employment contributed to a disease to a substantial degree only if it is the major or most significant factor."
"[5] The scheme implemented by s 81A is that an employer who disputes liability in respect of a claim for compensation, must serve a notice of dispute on the worker, which informs the worker of the reasons for the dispute, and must then refer the matter to the Tribunal. The employer must do this within 84 days of receiving the claim. If this is not done within that time, the employer will be taken to have accepted liability in respect of the claim (s 81AB). Upon referral, the Tribunal must order the employer to make the specified payments unless it considers that 'a reasonably arguable case exists concerning the liability of the employer to pay compensation', in which case it shall determine that compensation is not to be paid by the employer. The Act therefore establishes 'a relatively speedy process for assessing whether an employer, who wishes to dispute liability to pay weekly compensation, has a reasonably arguable case in that regard ...' (per Crawford J (as he then was) in Walker v J and A Freeman Building Services [2006] TASSC 90, 16 Tas R 87). This process is consistent with the beneficial nature of the legislation.
[6] It is well established that the employer bears the onus of demonstrating the existence of a reasonably arguable case that compensation is not payable: Skill Group Limited v Anning [2015] TASSC 18, 23 Tas R 463; Lamont v M R V Supermarkets Pty Ltd [2016] TASSC 16, 24 Tas R 234. The section requires the employer to compile and deliver evidentiary material: s 81A(2)(b). The test to be applied by the Tribunal on the referral has been described in the following terms:
'a reasonably arguable case will exist concerning the liability of an employer to pay a worker if it is reasonably arguable on the material available in relation to the claim or identified deficiencies or weaknesses in the claim that, following a contested hearing it may be rejected.'
St Helens Oysters Pty Ltd v Coatsworth [2007] TASSC 90, 17 Tas R 43.
[7] It is not sufficient for the employer to indicate that it simply wishes to put the worker to proof: Vos Construction & Joinery Pty Ltd v Norton-Smith [2016] TASSC 38, per Pearce J at [5]."
"Multilevel degenerative disc osteophyte complex is within the cervical spine. There are broad-based posterior disc osteophyte complex is from C3-4 to C6-7 resulting in severe bilateral C3-4, right C4-5, bilateral C5-6 and bilateral C6-7 neural exit foraminal stenosis with probable impingement of the bilateral C4, right C5, bilateral C6 and bilateral C7 nerve roots respectively."
"...developed right upper limb weakness after a period of heavy lifting at work about three weeks ago. Over a period of several days he noted a marked decrease in power in his shoulder and elbow. He has had some mild associated right neck pain."
"In answer to your more specific questions this man has had an acute injury but also has existing severe osteoarthritic disease. Mr Thani has not made comment on the mechanism of injury except to say it began after a lifting incident at work.
As to the most substantial cause of this man's need for surgery this is most difficult to say. He has extensive underlying osteoarthritic changes as per his MRI scans. Mr Lese has a long background of heavy manual work with Tassal and other employers as well as rugby as a recreational past time. However he has had no neck or shoulder symptoms in the past nor has he had any sick leave to his knowledge in relation to this Osteoarthritis prior to his current injury. Given his excellent health and fitness to date it is my opinion that the work incident is the most significant factor contributing to his surgical need."
"Given that Mr Lese reports he felt a 'cold feeling' on the alleged date of injury 20/2/2020, and then worked normally up until the 16/3/2020 which is when he reported an event 20/2/2020, would his injury/condition be expected to normally result in a slow deterioration without need to report issues over a 25 day period?
It is conceivable that Mr Lese developed a 'cold feeling' on 20.02.2020 as a result of injury at that time which then slowly deteriorated to a point where he felt it necessary to report the event some time later.
However, as noted above, the discrepancy between the history I obtained and the known facts is sufficiently great that it casts into doubt my previous conclusion that there was a definite relationship between his employment and his neck condition.
And, if progression of symptoms can occur in a slow manner, can it be stated with any medical certainty that the event at work was the substantial cause of the aggravation on the underlying condition given that 17 days were off shift and 8 days were on shift?
Medical opinion always rests on the assumption that the history that has been obtained is accurate and that the physical findings are valid. Given the information that you have provided, I can now no longer be certain that the history I obtained is sufficiently accurate to draw medical conclusions with certainty. Therefore, at least for the time being, I cannot be certain that the event at work on 20.02.2020 was the substantial cause of the aggravation in Mr Lese' underlying neck condition, noting that he had 17 days off shift between the onset of symptoms and his reporting of those symptoms."
The s 81A application and the Tribunal determination
"In Mr Dohrmann's first report he states that in his opinion the worker suffered 'an aggravation of previously asymptomatic degenerative cervical spondylosis.' This condition comes within the definition of disease and would constitute injury pursuant to s 25(1)(b)."
"26 In this case, the extended definition of injury must be considered. The evidence is that the worker suffered pain in his right shoulder as a result of an incident that occurred at work on 20 February 2020. That pain progressed to the point where he was certified as incapacitated for work from 26 March 2020. That incapacity arose from an aggravation of the worker's underlying disease (cervical spondylosis).
27 The only reasonable conclusion (in my opinion) available on the evidence, including Mr Dohrmann's reports, is that the incapacity the worker suffered on 26 March 2020 resulted from his experience of symptoms at work on 20 February 2020 and those symptoms constituted an aggravation of the worker's underlying cervical spondylosis.
28 lt of the incident that occurred at work on 20 February 2020 (see Long v Kmart Australia Limited [2016] TASSC 6).
29 Having found that the worker's incapacity arose from an aggravation of his underlying disease, he has suffered an injury within s25(1). However, liability on the part of the employer to pay compensation for that injury depends upon the existence of the requisite causal relationship between the employment and the injury."
"[C]onsideration [must] be given to the precise evidence, on a fact by fact basis, concerning the nature and incidents of the physiological change accepted at trial. If this evidence amounts, relevantly, to something that can be described as a sudden and ascertainable or dramatic physiological change or disturbance of the normal physiological state, it may qualify for characterisation as an 'injury' in the primary sense of that word."
"... where there are a variety of potential causes for the condition, an employer may show a reasonably arguable case concerning liability by providing evidence of plausible potential causes that are inconsistent with liability."
"Noting that Mr Lese has significant multilevel cervical spondylosis on imaging, but also noting that this was previously free of any symptoms, I conclude that Mr Lese's current condition has arisen as a result of an aggravation of previously asymptomatic degenerative cervical spondylosis.
It is possible that Mr Lese may have been destined to develop acute right C5 radiculopathy even without an external contribution but this, in my view, is entirely speculative. On the basis of the clinical assessment, and assuming that the facts presented to me are correct I conclude that the external contribution at work in February 2020 was responsible for the development of the current symptomatic condition. In other words, I consider that it is highly unlikely that Mr Lese would find himself in his current predicament had this incident never occurred."
"In an appropriate case, the contribution of the employment to an aggravation will have to be taken into account, to the extent the evidence permits, the contribution of the natural progression of the disease to the worsening of the condition. But the worsening of the condition has to be distinguished from the end result; that is, the aggravated disease."
"In an appropriate case, consideration must include the possible effect of the natural progression of a pre-existing condition and, to the extent the evidence permits, the contribution of the employment will have to take into account the contribution of the natural progression to the worsening of the condition. See also Vos Construction & Joinery Pty Ltd v Norton-Smith [2016] TASSC 38 at [25]-[26]. That appears to be relevant to the appellant's claim.
For the employment to be a contributing factor under par (b), there must be an incident or state of affairs to which the worker was exposed in the performance of their duty, and to which they would not otherwise have been exposed; some event or characteristic of the work or the conditions in which it was performed. In the case of an aggravation of a disease, the aggravation does not have to arise out of or in the course of the employment; there is no requirement for a temporal connection with the employment. Where one of the outcomes or consequences exists, the question is simply whether the employment has the requisite degree of causal connection."
"[67] With respect to a s81A referral, a reasonably arguable case will only exist if it is reasonably arguable on the material or identified deficiencies or weaknesses in the claim that, following a contested hearing the claim may be rejected. In this case the test in St Helens Oysters Pty Ltd v Coatsworth (supra) has not been satisfied and the employer has not shown that a reasonably arguable case exists."
Tassal Operations Pty Ltd
Lese [2021] TASSC 22
(1964) 110 CLR 626