© 2026 Zoe. All rights reserved.
Zoe is a legal information platform. Always consult the Federal Register of Legislation for authoritative text.
[2019] TASSC 41
Supreme Court of Tasmania
2019-09-25
Brett J
Original judgment source is linked above.
CITATION: Bradshaw v Tasmania Networks Pty Ltd [2019] TASSC 41
Workers Compensation - Liability to pay compensation - Liability of employer - Other cases - Reasonably arguable case - Liability to pay compensation - Dependent on the existence of requisite causal relationship between employment and injury.
State of Tasmania v Parson [2002] TASSC 59, 11 Tas R 56; St Helens Oysters Pty Ltd v Coatsworth [2007] TASSC 90, 17 Tas R 43; Vos Construction & Joinery Pty Ltd v Norton Smith [2016] TASSC 38, applied.
Workers Compensation - Entitlement to compensation - Injury, disease or disability - Disease - Aggravation or acceleration of pre-existing disease or condition - General principles - Causation - Employment major or most significant contributing factor to aggravation, acceleration, exacerbation or deterioration of pre-existing disease.
Long v Kmart Australia Ltd [2016] TASSC 6, 25 Tas R 237, applied.
Workers Compensation - Proceedings to obtain compensation - Preliminary requirements - Interim payments - Reasonably arguable case for employer established - Tribunal erred.
Judgment Number: [2019] TASSC 41
The s 81A referral
"a reasonably arguable case will exist concerning the liability of an employer to pay a worker if it is reasonably arguable on the material available in relation to the claim or identified deficiencies or weaknesses in the claim that, following a contested hearing it may be rejected."
St Helens Oysters Pty Ltd v Coatsworth [2007] TASSC 90, 17 Tas R 43.
"Whilst driving battery reach fork to complete a job. I finished and felt severe pain lower right of my back & pain out through my right hip when I walked away from battery reach fork."
It described the injury as "severe pain" and the body part most affected as "lower right back".
(a) A certificate dated 7 May 2018 from a general practitioner, Dr Yong. This certificate was not in the form approved by the WorkCover Tasmania Board, as is required by s 34(1)(b) of the Act. It asserted that the appellant would "be unfit to continue his usual occupation", but did not contain any reference to the claimed injury. It was, therefore, incapable of supporting the payment of compensation by way of weekly benefits pursuant to s 69 of the Act.
(b) A document described as an "Initial Workers Compensation Medical Certificate" in the form approved by the Board, was signed by Dr Michael Jackson. It is dated 17 May 2018 and asserted incapacity for work between 17 May and 17 June 2018. I will return to the contents of this certificate later in these reasons.
"He said that on 04.05.2018 he had been using a reach fork from which he alighted after parking the vehicle. He said that he took two steps and then developed severe right-sided low back pain which caused him to double up on the floor. He said the pain was by far the worst low back pain that he had experienced and that he had to go home early and has been unable to work since that date."
"4 What is your diagnosis of the current condition?
Mr Bradshaw is currently suffering from an aggravation of lumbar spondylosis.
I consider that Mr Bradshaw has suffered an injury taking the form of an aggravation of pre-existing lumbar spondylosis which occurred in the course of his employment on 04.05.2018.
Noting the definition in the Tasmanian legislation, I consider that Mr Bradshaw has suffered an injury in this context. I think that the injury needs to be seen in the context of his employment over 35 years and noting the inherent requirements of the role, I further note that Mr Bradshaw has used a reach fork for the past eight years and has described daily activities which include regular twisting motions of the trunk. It is in this respect that I believe that a reasonable argument can be made that his employment has been a major contributing factor to the aggravation of lumbar spondylosis from which he now suffers.
While it is realised that Mr Bradshaw did not suffer any specific incident on 04.05.2018, in that he was simply walking a couple of steps when he experienced back pain, I think that the work-related causation of his current lower back condition needs to be seen in a much longer context."
"• In respect to point 3, I would accept that Mr Bradshaw did not suffer a traumatic incident on 04.05.2018. However, I consider that the acute symptoms he experienced on that day, while spontaneous in onset, were due to pre-existing lumbar spondylosis to which employment over a long period of time has made some contribution.
"I am satisfied that there is a reasonably arguable case to dispute this claim based on Mr Sweeney's submissions. Whilst it does appear to be incontrovertible from Dr Dohrmann's opinion that there may well have been an underlying condition to which Mr Bradshaw's work may have contributed over many, many years, the claim itself is for an incident or injury, rather, occurring on the 4th of May 2018 and similarly the initial workers compensation medical certificate supporting that claim refers to an incident on the same date and I accept Mr Sweeney's submissions that a fair reading of Mr Dohrmann's opinion as contained in the totality of his two reports is enough for there to be an arguable case that nothing satisfying the definition of injury within the Workers Rehabilitation and Compensation Act happened on that date."
"25 Liability of employers to compensate workers for injuries
(a) a worker suffers an injury, not being a disease, arising out of or in the course of his employment; or
(b) a worker suffers an injury, which is a disease and to which his employment contributed to a substantial degree, within the meaning of section 3(2A) -
his employer is, except as is otherwise provided by this Act, liable to pay compensation in accordance with this Act -
"disease means any ailment, disorder, defect, or morbid condition, whether of sudden or gradual development;
(b) the recurrence, aggravation, acceleration, exacerbation or deterioration of any pre-existing injury or disease where the employment was the major or most significant contributing factor to that recurrence, aggravation, acceleration, exacerbation or deterioration -
"(2A) For the purposes of this Act, employment contributed to a disease to a substantial degree only if it is the major or most significant factor."
"[23] There is no dichotomy between an injury which is a disease and an injury which is not a disease. A worker is entitled to recover if he or she falls within either head of recovery: Zickar v MGH Plastic Industries Pty Ltd (1996) 187 CLR 310 per Kirby J at 351, applied by McHugh, Gummow and Hayne JJ in Kennedy Cleaning v Petkoska at 310 [73]."
(a) The worker suffers an injury in the primary sense, that is an injury which is not a disease, but is "something that can be described as a sudden and ascertainable or dramatic physiological change or disturbance of the normal physiological state". See Military Rehabilitation and Compensation Commission v May [2016] HCA 19, 257 CLR 468, as discussed by Pearce J in Vos Construction v Norton-Smith. Such an injury will be compensable if it arises out of or in the course of the worker's employment.
(b) The worker suffers a disease to which his employment contributed to a substantial degree within the meaning of s 3(2A), that is, only if it is the major or most significant factor.
(c) By virtue of the extended definition of injury and its interaction with s 25(1)(b), an aggravation etc of a pre-existing injury or disease is an injury, but only where the employment was the major or most significant contributing factor to that aggravation. In the case of the aggravation of a pre-existing disease, it is the aggravation, not the underlying disease, which must be causally connected to the employment in the required sense: Long v Kmart Australia Ltd [2016] TASSC 6, 25 Tas R 237, per Porter J at [52].
(b) be accompanied by a certificate in a form approved by the Board signed by a medical practitioner or an accredited person.
"[32] The statute does not require either the notice of injury or the claim for compensation to describe in precise terms the injury suffered. In this respect, the guidance of this Court in Wilkins v St Giles Society A80/1995 is of assistance. In that case, Wright J said with respect to the requirement to give notice of injury that it:
'... need not be stated with the precision of a medical diagnosis but, on the other hand, the essential kind, quality or characteristic of the injury must be disclosed. It will suffice to describe the injury in terms of manifest symptoms so long as the precipitating event is also identified.'
See also Sullivan v The Hobart City Council & Anor [1999] TASSC 101."
"[78] However, I respectfully agree with his Honour that s 69(1) did not require a medical certificate to deal with any question of causation. The certificate was required to support only the existence of a total or partial incapacity for work. I agree that the words 'the existence of such total or partial incapacity' in the subsection should not be interpreted as meaning the existence of a total or partial incapacity for work that results from any injury suffered by a worker. The ordinary, natural and grammatical meaning of the words does not suggest such an interpretation. Further, the legislature could hardly have expected a medical practitioner, in the usual case, to be able to certify that a particular incapacity was caused by a particular injury that almost certainly, the practitioner did not witness. At best, all the practitioner could certify would be that the incapacity was consistent with having resulted from a particular injury claimed to have occurred by the worker. The subsection certainly did not provide for that."
(a) on the day on which the worker became totally or partially incapacitated by reason of that injury; or
(b) if a day cannot be ascertained under par (a), on the day on which a medical practitioner has certified that the worker was first incapacitated by reason of that injury.
"If known, the injury or disease is ... a new condition".
However, in considering the effect of the opinion conveyed by this statement, the other available alternative descriptors are instructive. They are:
"The test does not require an 'aggravation' to occur, commence or conclude in the course of the employment. The question is simply whether there has been an 'aggravation' of a pre-existing disease, and whether the employment has the requisite degree of causal connection."
"I ask you to concentrate on what had occurred on 4 May 2018 and whether what had occurred on that day can be regarded as substantially caused by work related activity or events."
"The very notion of a 'reasonably arguable case' like the very notion of a 'prima facie case', precludes a final determination of a disputed question of fact. See North Ganalanja (supra) at 639. On the face of s81A, a reasonably arguable case will exist concerning the liability of an employer to pay a worker if it is reasonably arguable on the material available in relation to the claim or identified deficiencies or weaknesses in the claim that, following a contested hearing it may be rejected."
"As already explained in relation to the first ground for disputing liability, on the limited information before the learned Commissioner, it was not possible to determine what role the worker's employment played in his disease. Of necessity this means that it was not possible to determine whether such role as his employment played arose substantially from its termination. In these circumstances, on the limited material before the learned Commissioner, there was a reasonably arguable case that the employer could rely on s25(1A)(c) to avoid liability to the worker."
Bradshaw
Tasmania Networks Pty Ltd [2019] TASSC 41
(1996) 187 CLR 310
(1964) 110 CLR 626
(1994) 4 Tas R 156
(1994) 35 NSWLR 452