© 2026 Zoe. All rights reserved.
Zoe is a legal information platform. Always consult the Federal Register of Legislation for authoritative text.
[2015] TASSC 18
Supreme Court of Tasmania
2015-05-14
Estcourt J
Original judgment source is linked above.
CITATION: Skilled Group Limited v Anning [2015] TASSC 18
APPEALED FROM: Skilled Group Limited v A [2014] TASWRCT 47
Workers Compensation - Proceedings to obtain compensation - Onus of proof - Disputes as to liability for weekly payments and other benefits - Referral by employer pursuant to the Act disputing liability to continue to pay - Employer bears the onus of proof.
Skilled Group Limited v Anning [2014] TASSC 40; Fishpool v Incat Tasmania Pty Ltd [2013] TASFC 6; GIO Australia Limited v Lovell [2000] TASSC 75; State of Tasmania v Parsons [2002] TASSC 59, considered.
Judgment Number: [2015] TASSC 18
"40 This is a difficult case in which some endeavour has been made to establish a strict timeline in order to show that the worker could not possibly have suffered his injury or abrasion to the skin to allow a portal for the bacterial infection because based on an estimation of the timeline he was not at work during that period. As noted previously this is not a matter of mathematical precision but rather involves a reasoned assessment of all the evidence and, noting the particular matters highlighted herein, considering whether it was more probable than not that the worker did not suffer the skin abrasion or injury in the course of his employment that allowed the bacteria to enter his system. Of significance is the nature of the worker's employment duties as compared to the circumstances of his home life which favours a much higher probability of this nature of injury occurring in the course of his employment.
41 Having considered all of the evidence as analysed herein, the Tribunal finds itself unable to be satisfied one way or the other. I am unable to conclude with any degree of confidence that it was more probable than not that the skin portal was not created in the course of the workers employment. The reference is therefore dismissed."
"By virtue of s 81AB, an employer is taken to have accepted liability unless it disputes liability in accordance with either ss 81AA or 81A. I think it must follow that, in s 81A proceedings, the employer bears an onus of proof. That onus was not discharged in this case in relation to the first question in such proceedings, namely whether the employer in fact disputed liability at the relevant time."
"3.1 The worker carries the onus of proof on a s81A(5) reference because:
(b) A plain English interpretation of the relevant provisions is to that effect;
(c) It accords with the purpose of the provision for the worker to carry the onus;
(d) An interpretation that the worker has the onus is not so absurd as to warrant the alternate interpretation;
(e) To so determine is to otherwise be consistent with the principles of statutory interpretation; and
(f) The general rule that the Act is to be interpreted beneficially to workers does not assist in these circumstances because there is no ambiguity or two possible constructions leading to different results."
"3.2 A s81A(5) reference requires a determination of the worker's 'initial entitlement' within the meaning of section 49(2)(a) of the Act when that is put in issue by the reference because:
(a) Section 49(2) was inserted by s37 of No 16 of 1995. It says:
(a) the onus of proving an initial entitlement to a payment of compensation to a worker or the dependants of a worker lies on the worker or those dependants; and
(b) the onus of proving that a worker is no longer entitled to the payment of compensation lies on the employer.'
(b) The clause notes for the No 16 of 1995 Act said regarding section 49(2)
'paragraph (c) states the onus of proof requirements in proceedings before the Tribunal. A worker will be required to prove the initial entitlement to a claim; the employer will have to prove that a worker is no longer entitled to compensation. This provision makes no change to the current arrangements; they aim simply to clarify the law.'
(c) The law was that a worker must prove an entitlement pursuant to section 25(1) of the Act or its predecessors and the employer must prove the circumstances justifying any termination or reduction in entitlements.
(d) Section 49(2) must be interpreted consistent with the purpose that its aim was simply to clarify the position which existed before its enactment.
(e) The ordinary literal interpretation accords with that purpose.
(i) Initial means: 'of or relating to the beginning'.
(ii) Entitlement means: 'the condition of having a right to have, do, or get something.'
(iii) 'right' can be used to mean different things. In these circumstances it means 'a right to something which the law will provide an appropriate remedy.'
(iv) 'initial entitlement' means the first establishment of an entitlement to compensation in accordance with sections 25(1), 67, 69, 71 but apparently not section 75.
(v) Section 81A(5) was inserted by Act 50 of 1992 in response to Precise Timbers Pty Ltd & FAI General Insurance Co Ltd v Darrel Ian Burgess. That decision determined that an employer was unable to dispute 'liability' if it did not take action pursuant to what was the then section 81A(1).
(vi) Section 81A(5) is the only sub-section in the Act which enables an employer to dispute 'initial' liability or foundational liability under section 25(1) to pay compensation. That is, if the time limit to use section 81A(1) of the Act has lapsed.
(vii) Section 81A(5) relevantly says a referral may be made for '... an injury referred to in 81(1).'
(viii) Section 81(1) requires an employer, on receipt of a claim for compensation to pay weekly payments to a worker, without being construed as an admission of liability.
(ix) 'initial entitlement' cannot mean weekly payments paid pursuant to section 81(1) because that would mean in almost all cases the worker's 'initial entitlement' to weekly payments would be established without the worker needing to do anything.
(x) Further weekly payments paid without admission to liability are not an 'entitlement'.
(xi) Section 81AB says an employer is taken to be liable for the relevant claim where it does not dispute liability to pay compensation '... in accordance with section 81A ...'
(xii) Section 81AB is a deeming provision. Section 81AB as a deeming provision must be interpreted strictly.
(xiii) It deems a fictitious state of mind on an employer that it '... has accepted liability in respect of that claim'. The fictitious state of mind does not apply unless the factual basis for the deeming to occur is established.
(xv) Section 81AB does not say s81A(1) and there is no sufficient basis for '(1)' to be read into that section.
(xvi) Accordingly, the filing of a section 81A(5) reference meant section 81AB did not apply, which meant Mr Anning had to establish his 'initial entitlement' to compensation.
(xvii) That interpretation is consistent with sections 86 and 77AA(7). Those provisions place the onus on an employer to establish the worker is 'no longer entitled to a payment of compensation' where there has been an accepted, determined or deemed 'injury' pursuant to section 25(1) of the Act." (Footnotes omitted.)
Where an employer has received a claim for compensation in relation to an injury to a worker employed by the employer and the employer does not, in accordance with section 81A, dispute liability to pay compensation, the employer is taken to have accepted liability in respect of that claim."
"81A Disputes of liability for weekly payments and other benefits
(1) An employer who disputes liability to pay compensation by way of weekly payments for an injury referred to in section 81(1) or benefits under Division 2 of Part VI must, within 84 days of receiving the claim for compensation in respect of the injury to the worker -
(a) serve the worker with written notice that the employer disputes liability -
(i) to pay compensation by way of weekly payments; or
(ii) to pay any benefits payable under Division 2 of Part VI in respect of the injury; and
(b) inform the worker of the reasons for disputing liability; and
(2) The referral of a matter to the Tribunal is to be accompanied by -
(b) all evidentiary material on which the employer intends to rely at the hearing of the matter.
(2AA) If an employer fails to lodge evidentiary material under subsection (2)(b), the employer may not rely on that material unless the Tribunal otherwise allows.
(2A) Where a matter is referred to the Tribunal under subsection (1), the Tribunal may authorise the Registrar to determine whether a reasonably arguable case exists concerning the liability of the employer to pay-
(b) the cost of any benefits payable under Division 2 of Part VI in respect of the injury to the worker.
(2B) The Registrar is to advise the Tribunal of the Registrar's determination.
(2C) The Tribunal may make an order giving effect to the Registrar's determination.
(a) if the Tribunal considers that weekly payments should be made, order the employer to make weekly payments from such date as the Tribunal determines; or
(b) if the Tribunal considers that the cost of any benefits payable under Division 2 of Part VI in respect of the injury to the worker should be paid, order the employer to pay the cost of the benefits from such date as the Tribunal determines; or
(c) if the Tribunal considers that a reasonably arguable case exists concerning the liability of the employer to pay compensation by way of weekly payments, determine that compensation is not to be paid by the employer; or
(d) if the Tribunal considers that a reasonably arguable case exists concerning the liability of the employer to pay the cost of any benefits payable under Division 2 of Part VI in respect of the injury to the worker, determine that the cost of the benefits is not to be paid by the employer.
(4) The fact that the Tribunal has determined under subsection (3) that weekly payments should be made, or that the cost of any benefits payable under Division 2 of Part VI in respect of the injury to the worker should be paid, is not to be taken into account by the Tribunal in any other proceedings under this Act.
(5) Notwithstanding that liability has not been disputed in accordance with subsection (1), an employer who wishes to dispute liability to continue to pay compensation by way of weekly payments for an injury referred to in section 81(1) or to pay the cost of any benefits payable under Division 2 of Part VI in respect of the injury may, at any time after the expiration of the period referred to in subsection (1), refer the matter to the Tribunal.
(6) For the purposes of this section, the Tribunal or the Registrar may conduct any hearing the Tribunal or the Registrar considers necessary by any appropriate means including, but not limited to, a telephone conference."
(a) Section 49(2)(a) of the Act says: 'the onus of proving an initial entitlement to a payment of compensation...'. Section 49(2)(b) uses the same phrase: 'payment of compensation.'
(b) Section 25(1) of the Act uses the phrase 'liable to pay compensation' rather than 'payment of compensation'. That is because there is no compensation payable under section 25(1) of the Act. A worker's entitlement to compensation is governed by the auxiliary sections of the Act.
(c) There is no dispute to a 'payment of compensation' within the meaning of section 49(2) of the Act when liability pursuant to section 25(1) is disputed, which is what Skilled did in this case.
(d) Section 81AB of the Act doesn't apply, for the reasons given above.
(e) If despite these submissions it does apply, then it deems liability to pay compensation pursuant to sections 69 and 75 of the Act subject to the conditions contained in those sections or to take steps to dispute or terminate its liability.
(f) That is rather than liability in the sense of section 25(1) of the Act, which remains open for dispute.
(g) Accordingly the common law position applies with the result that the worker has the onus of proof." (Footnotes omitted.)
Skilled Group Limited
Anning [2015] TASSC 18