© 2026 Zoe. All rights reserved.
Zoe is a legal information platform. Always consult the Federal Register of Legislation for authoritative text.
[2000] VSC 380
Supreme Court of Victoria
2000-09-27
ASHLEY J
Original judgment source is linked above.
"82. Entitlement to compensation (1) If there is caused to a worker an injury arising out of or in the course of any employment and if the worker's employment was a significant contributing factor the worker shall be entitled to compensation in accordance with this Act."
" 'injury' means any physical or mental injury and without limiting the generality of the foregoing includes
(b) a disease contracted by a worker in the course of the worker's employment whether at or away from the place of employment and to which the employment was a contributing factor; and
(c) the recurrence, aggravation, acceleration, exacerbation or deterioration of any pre-existing injury or disease where the worker's employment was a contributing factor to that recurrence, aggravation, acceleration, exacerbation or deterioration."
"(1B) In determining for the purposes of this Act whether a worker's employment was a "significant contributing factor" to an injury
(a) the duration of the worker's current employment; and
(d) the probable development of the injury occurring if that employment had not taken place; and
(g) the activities of the worker outside the workplace
"(2) A worker may recover damages in respect of an injury arising out of, or in the course of, or due to the nature of, employment -
(a) if employment of that nature was a significant contributing factor, and the injury is a serious injury and arose on or after 1 December 1992;"
"(e) to ensure workers compensation costs are contained so as to minimise the burden on Victorian businesses"; and "(h) to establish and maintain a fully-funded scheme."
"In addition to any other compensation payable under this Act, a worker who in the course of the worker's employment suffers an injury mentioned in the Table in this sub-section is entitled to compensation equal to -".
"A worker who suffers an injury which entitled the worker to compensation is, in respect of an injury mentioned in the Table to this sub-section, entitled to compensation equal to - ".
". . . the Bill alters the definition of injuries which are compensable under workers compensation legislation. To be compensable by WorkCover, a worker's employment must now be a 'significant' contributing factor to an injury or disease. Journey accidents will not be compensable under WorkCover."
Under the heading "Definition of Injury" he went on:
"The definition of injury is tightened so that a worker's employment must now be a significant contributing factor to the disease, or the recurrence, aggravation, acceleration, exacerbation or deterioration of any pre-existing injury or disease. The word 'significant' has been included in the definition of injury and elsewhere in the Act to emphasise the point that workplace injuries will be compensable under WorkCover only if there is a strong connection between work and the injury.
Under WorkCare, a worker only had to show that the workplace contributed in some way to the injury. This is not strong enough. Under WorkCover, a worker will now have to establish that the worker's employment has been more than just one of many contributing factors. It must be a significant contributing factor.
This means that for an injury or disease to be compensable under WorkCover, the actual performance of a work function must be a significant cause of the injury or disease, not just that a worker's condition occurred, developed or worsened while the worker was in the workplace - for example, due to a degenerative condition.
* The amendment of s.82(1) was part of a coherent series of amendments designed to reduce the ambit of compensability of injuries.
* The amendment of s.3 of the Act to include objects (e) and (h) showed that the then-incoming government was determined to reduce the cost of the accident compensation system. Reducing the ambit of compensability of injuries was central to achieving that purpose.
* This was not a case where careless amendment was effected, by contrast with the situation which arose in QBE Workers Compensation (Vic.) Ltd. v Freisleben & Anor. [1999] VSCA 207 - see particularly per Tadgell JA at [19]. Parliament's considered scheme included discrete amendment to, or insertion of, a number of sections: 5(1), 5(1A) 5(1B), 82(1), (2) and (6), 86, 98 and 99.
* Parliament should be taken to have had in mind the then recent decision in McIntosh, and to have aimed amendments at such situations.
* If it had been intended that the 1992 formula only apply to paragraph (b) and (c) injuries it would have been enough to amend the definition of "injury" - as was done. On the appellant's submission the 1992 formula was surplusage. Principles of construction required all the words in the statute to be given meaning.
* the requirement that employment be a significant contributing factor is repeated in the case of paragraph (b) and (c) injuries - those injuries having already passed that test; and
* if the requirement is to apply to injuries in the primary sense then a causal nexus with the employment is made obligatory not by amendment of the definition of injury - a definition which was amended in 1992 - but by amendment of the main operative provision of the Act; whilst, if the requirement is to apply to paragraph (a) injuries, then it is imposed not by amendment either of the definition of injury or the definition of industrial deafness, but by amendment of that operative provision - a new and additional causal requirement thus becoming obligatory.
"The language of the relevant Minister in the second reading speech (supra) clearly indicated that Parliament intended that all injuries of whatever kind were only to be compensable where the employment had been a significant factor in the injury. The additional words inserted by the 1992 Act must be taken into account, they do not happily sit with matters which are merely incidental to an employment unless at the time of injury some employment duty is being carried out. In these circumstances the 1992 amendments changed the generality of the meaning of incidental matters which occurred in the course of or arose out of employment, and added something further which must be established before an injured worker qualifies for compensation, namely a causative requirement of the employment being a significant contributing factor, that is to say the employment significantly contributed to the occurrence of the injury. The plaintiff's mere presence at the workplace is in my opinion insufficient to attract the operation of s.82(1), there must also be a causal connection between a work function and the injury sustained in order to find that his employment was a significant contributing factor. The plaintiff had brought into the workplace the Swiss army knife, it was not an implement provided by the employer, nor was it necessary in order to assist him in carrying out a work function. The manner in which he was cutting the apple was on the evidence inherently dangerous, the plaintiff had created a situation in which he could injure himself."
1. Direct that, pursuant to R. 58.13 of Chapter 1 the following questions be considered and determined on the hearing of the appeal:
1. There having been caused to the appellant a 'physical injury' within the meaning of the definition of 'injury' found in s. 5(1) of the Accident Compensation Act 1985 (Reprint No.8), whether in the circumstances the learned Magistrate -
(a) misdirected himself in requiring an affirmative answer to the question 'whether his employment was a significant contributing factor' before the appellant could became entitled to compensation by reference to the provisions of s.82(1) of the Act?
(b) misdirected himself in accepting that 'Parliament intended that all injuries of whatever kind were only to be compensable where the employment had been a significant contributing factor in the injury', in that by reference to s. 82(1) of the Act Parliament showed no such intention in relation to the appellant's injury;
(c) erred in his construction of s. 82(1) of the Act, in that the Magistrate took account of an irrelevant consideration, namely, whether the employment was or was not a significant contributing factor;
(d) having found that the appellant's injury 'arose in the course of his employment', the learned Magistrate was bound to find that s. 82(1) conferred an entitlement to compensation upon the appellant.
2. Whether the learned Magistrate was bound to find that 'the employment was a significant contributing factor' in that Magistrate's findings led only to the result that employment was the sole contributing factor, alternatively a significant contributing factor.
3. Whether in the circumstances the learned Magistrate misdirected himself in determining that the appellant's 'mere presence at the workplace is in my opinion insufficient to attract the operation of s. 82(1), there must also be causal connection between a work function and the injury sustained in order to find that his employment was a significant contributing factor', in that if the Magistrate had not misdirected himself it is likely that the appellant's claim would not have been dismissed.
4. Whether the learned Magistrate misdirected himself in referring to and/or relying upon the language of the Minister in the Second Reading Speech -
(b) in interpreting and applying the provisions of the Accident Compensation Act 1985 as amended,
in that as a result the learned Magistrate misconstrued the provisions of s. 82(1) and misapplied those provisions in the circumstances of this case.
3. The final order of the Magistrates' Court made on 12 October 1999 be set aside. In lieu thereof order that defendants pay:
1. the reasonable costs of the medical and like services received by the plaintiff because of the injury;
4. Respondents pay appellant's costs of the appeal, including reserved costs.
Hegedis
Carlton & United Breweries [2000] VSC 380
(1960) 103 CLR 547
(1967) 117 CLR 19
(1996) 188 CLR 310
(1992) 173 CLR 473
(1976) 133 CLR 580
(1960) 104 CLR 328
(1988) 165 CLR 1
(1995) 12 NSWCCR 84