© 2026 Zoe. All rights reserved.
Zoe is a legal information platform. Always consult the Federal Register of Legislation for authoritative text.
[2000] VSCA 63
Court of Appeal (Vic)
2000-05-11
BROOKING, PHILLIPS and CHERNOV, JJ.A.
Original judgment source is linked above.
For the reasons I have given in relation to question 3, it was not fatal to question 1 that the injury, about which it inquired, was injury sustained before 1 December 1992. Question 1 depended upon paragraph (a) of the definition of "medical question", which read:-
"(a) a question as to the nature of a worker's medical condition relevant to an injury or alleged injury"
The wording of question 1 follows that of paragraph (a) pretty faithfully and there is nothing in paragraph (a) of the definition which is special to injury before or after 1 December 1992. (In this respect paragraph (a) is nothing like paragraph (b), or for that matter paragraph (ba).) It follows in my opinion that his Honour erred in refusing to refer question 1 to a medical panel for the reason he gave.
"HIS HONOUR: Yes. Anyway, question 2 is wrong because it asks `Is such injury permanent', whereas (d) [of the definition of `medical question'] says whether or not that impairment is permanent. Is that what you mean? Is such impairment -- MR BATTEN: It's loosely drawn, Your Honour, and I had anticipated that it would be amended to read whatever Your Honour were to find in respect of this man's condition, whether it is an anxiety depressive condition. HIS HONOUR: It could only ask whether the impairment is permanent because that's what the question permits and then I've got to - the process is this: I've got to decide whether that is a relevant issue in this case."
It was immediately after this that his Honour described an issue as being relevant if it was "a necessary step along the way to deciding the case", a description with which I would not disagree.
"What is the level of impairment, expressed in percentage terms, suffered by the plaintiff as a result of the injury?"
The framing of this question draws quite clearly upon paragraph (d) of the definition of "medical question". By the time of the hearing of this matter below, paragraph (d) of that definition was as follows:-
"(d) A question as to the level of impairment of a worker including a question of the degree of impairment of a worker assessed in accordance with section 91 and a question as to whether or not that impairment is permanent". [Italics added]
In this I have italicised the qualifying expression which commences "including"; for if that is omitted by the reader, if only to aid in understanding in the first instance, there can be no doubt but that question 4 falls fairly within paragraph (d) of the definition. It should be noted that paragraph (d) of the definition of "medical question" makes no specific reference to "injury" or "incapacity" (the re-definition of which were so important to the reasoning of Judge Just in Casse). What, then, did the judge say in refusing to refer question 4?
"As to question 4 I say it is not relevant to determine the level of impairment expressed in percentage terms for reasons I explained yesterday."
On 25 August , his Honour drew a distinction between the percentage loss of mental powers and the percentage loss of ability to work. This exchange is recorded in the transcript[21]:-
"HIS HONOUR: The compensation is awarded for the extent of inability to work, not the extent of the loss of mental powers. MR BATTEN: It is awarded, with respect, Your Honour, to an injury which is defined as a loss of mental powers, a component of that being the worker has an inability to perform some work. HIS HONOUR: That's what the compensation is awarded for; the inability to work arising from the loss of mental powers. You can have a 20 per cent loss of mental powers involving a complete inability to work or you can have a 90 per cent loss of mental powers involving a small inability to work. You don't get the compensation for the loss of mental powers. You get it for the loss of ability to work resulting from the loss of mental powers, as I understand Hawkins' case."
This last is a reference to Accident Compensation Commission v. Hawkins[22].
"(12) A party to any proceedings relating to a claim for compensation under section 98 or 98A cannot in evidence submit any medical evidence or tender a medical report or adduce evidence dependent on a medical report unless that evidence is disclosed by a medical report a copy of which has been provided to the other party in accordance with sub-section (1) or (2) or a copy of which has been provided in accordance with sub-section (8)."
Pointing out that a copy of the medical report had not been provided "in accordance with sub-s.(1) or (2)", the defendants objected that the medical report could not be tendered in the face of sub-s.(12). The objection having been overruled, the defendants now appeal alleging error in that respect.
". . . must be given, served or lodged with a copy of all the medical reports -
(a) which the claimant intends to tender in any proceedings relating to the claim; or
(b) the substance of which the claimant intends to adduce in evidence in support of the entitlement of the claimant to compensation or as evidence of the extent of any relevant loss, impairment, disfigurement or pain and suffering in any proceedings relating to the claim."
By s.104(2) the Authority, authorised insurer or self-insurer is obliged "within 90 days of receiving the claim", not only to accept or reject the claim and advise the claimant of that decision, but to give the claimant a copy of all the medical reports which the Authority, authorised insurer or self-insurer "intends to tender in any proceedings relating to the claim" or "the substance of which the Authority, authorised insurer or self-insurer intends to adduce in evidence in any proceedings relating to the claim".
with sub-ss.(1) and (2). To my mind, s.104(12) is imposing a penalty for non-compliance with sub-ss.(1) and (2) and, if that be so, compliance must have been possible. Compliance is simply not possible where the medical report does not even exist at the time mentioned in sub-ss.(1) and (2). That was the case here and so, in my view, s.104(12) does not run.
[2] [1999] V.S.C. 32 (22 February 1999, Ashley, J.)
[3] [1992] V.A.C.R. 72-231 (Accident Compensation Tribunal, Judge Gorton)
[5] [1998] VSC 61 at paras.[51] ff. An appeal against this decision was recently allowed, but on a different point: see Ericsson (Australia) Pty. Ltd. v. Popovski [2000] VSCA 52.
[6] Singh-Jhikka v. MMI Workers Compensation (Vic) Ltd. (unreported, County Court 9 April 1999, Judge Rendit)
[7] [1998] VSC 97 (2 October 1998)
[8] Greeves v. H.I.H. Winterthur Workers Compensation (Vic.) Ltd. [2000] VSCA 68 (5 May 2000)
[9] see Hansard, Legislative Assembly, 30 October 1992, vol.409, p.310
[10] amended from 21 days, by Act No.107 of 1997 s.21(3)
[11] [1994] V.A.C.R. 73-334 (County Court 29 March 1993, Judge Just)
[12] unreported, County Court 24 August 1995, Judge Williams
[13] unreported, County Court 17 July 1998, Judge Strong
[14] unreported, County Court 9 April 1999
[15] unreported, Supreme Court of Victoria 3 April 1998
[16] These conclusions were adopted and applied by Balmford, J. in NZI Workers' Compensation (Vic.) Ltd. v. Unalan [1999] VSC 234 (28 June 1999).
[24] unreported, Supreme Court of Victoria 3 April 1998
[25] [1999] VCS 32 (22 February 1999)
Isuzu General Motors Australia Ltd & Anor
Jordon [2000] VSCA 63