© 2026 Zoe. All rights reserved.
Zoe is a legal information platform. Always consult the Federal Register of Legislation for authoritative text.
[2000] VSCA 68
Court of Appeal (Vic)
2000-05-05
PHILLIPS, BATT and BUCHANAN, JJ.A.
Original judgment source is linked above.
Accident compensation - Workers compensation -Worker's claim for compensation for incapacity after incident at home - Whether incapacity contributed to by earlier injury at work - Application by insurer to refer "medical question" to medical panel - Magistrate's refusal because proposed question "irrelevant" - Magistrate's determination of issue for himself - Whether refusal constitutes error - Accident Compensation Act 1985 ss.5 (definition of "medical question"), 45, 67, 68, 82, 93.
"(1) Where the [Magistrates'] Court exercises jurisdiction under this Part, the [Magistrates'] Court - (a) may refer a medical question; or (b) if a party to the proceedings [sic] requests that a medical question or medical questions be so referred, must refer that medical question or those medical questions - to a Medical Panel for an opinion under this Division."
"whether the worker's employment was in fact, or could possibly have been, a significant contributing factor to an injury or alleged injury, or to a similar injury."
After hearing argument, the magistrate did not make the reference to a medical panel, saying (according to the affidavit filed in support of the insurer's appeal) that he would defer a decision until after hearing evidence - or (according to the affidavit in answer) that the medical question then proposed was irrelevant. The magistrate then took evidence from the plaintiff and his doctors on 12 and 13 February in Warrnambool and on 19 March in Melbourne.
"whether the worker's employment was a significant contributing factor to the injury for which he claimed compensation by way of claim form dated 23rd May 1997."
Again according to the affidavit in answer, in the course of the submissions that were made on 19 March -
"His Worship indicated that if he was entitled to find as a question of fact that Mr. Guest's opinion was wrong then there was no question or issue to be referred to a panel. He also said `if I find the worker was incapacitated from March, 1997 because of the June, 1996 injury then there is no question to go to the panel'."
At the conclusion of submissions, the magistrate said that he wanted to think about the arguments, intimating that if he did decide to refer a medical question under s.45(1) he was not yet satisfied that the question presently proposed was the most appropriate one. To my mind this comment was very significant.
"Throughout the presentation of the plaintiff's case these two propositions of Mr. Guest, namely that a congenital spinal stenosis was the underlying cause of the plaintiff's continuing symptoms and that the incident at home on 16 March, 1997 would need to be considered a new incident, were put vigorously to each medical practitioner called on behalf of the plaintiff. Each of these witnesses, Dr. Gault, Mr. Maling and Mr. Schofield each vigorously denied the propositions and positively averred that as the plaintiff had never had any previous back trouble canal stenosis had nothing to do with his condition and that his present condition was a result of the incident at work which had occurred on 10 June, 1996 when the plaintiff was lifting a trailer up to a tow bar. I rejected the twin propositions contained in Mr. Guest's report. I did so because of his apparent wilful and persistent refusal to come to Court to justify himself, because of the plaintiff's evidence which I have accepted, because of the weight of the medical evidence given by the practitioners called on behalf of the plaintiff and because they do not accord with common experience and common sense. In rejection of Mr. Guest's propositions, in the light of the thrust of the totality of all of the acceptable medical evidence, in the acceptance of the plaintiff's own evidence of continuing pain and disability from the first incident without resolution and in the defendant's acceptance of liability for the first incident, the proposed medical question must be irrelevant and I so found. This irrelevant question was not, then, referred to the Medical Panels."
"(b) if a party to the proceedings so requests, the Court must refer a medical question to a Medical Panel for an opinion;"
The change in 1997 from an obligation to refer "a medical question" to an obligation to refer "that question" is marked and cannot be ignored. (I simply note in passing that in the magistrate's written reasons, s.45(1) is found set out only in its earlier form, apparently because his attention had not been drawn to the 1997 amendment.) None the less, and despite the change in the language of paragraph (b), it was common ground before us (if not before the judge) that the court still had some say in the framing of the question, a view apparently shared by the magistrate from the comments he made during argument and in the reasons he later gave in which he referred in some detail to comments on s.45(1) (in its previous form) in Green v. VWA (unreported, County Court 5 February 1995, Judge Williams), in Metcalf v. FAI Workers Compensation (Vic.) Ltd (unreported, County Court 2 June 1997, Judge Strong) and in Austin v. Amcor Ltd. (unreported, Supreme Court 3 April 1999, Byrne, J.).
even more tightly cast since 1997, s.45(1) must leave the court with some control over the referral; for obviously it would be absurd for the section to be construed as requiring the court to refer a question which was altogether irrelevant to the determination of the issues before it. The power to refer which is conferred on the court by paragraph (a) and the obligation which is apparently cast upon the court by paragraph (b) are alike to be exercised for the purpose for which they exist, which is the determination of the proceeding of which the court is seised, and none other. That consideration alone would require that the court not refer a question the answer to which could not assist it in resolving the issues before it and on that the parties were not in dispute. The plaintiff submits (as he did before the magistrate and before the judge) that, as framed, the so-called medical question always was irrelevant in the sense that the answer - whatever it was - could not have assisted the magistrate in the determination of the issues before him, and on that account the magistrate had acted properly in declining to refer the question to a medical panel. On the other hand if, as the insurer contended, the question was relevant and the magistrate ruled otherwise only because he had first improperly decided the issue for himself (which the plaintiff denied), that would plainly have been contrary to the mandatory terms of s.45(1).
or other of the paragraphs of the definition of "medical question" in s.5, to refer that issue - or to use the language of s,45(1) "that question" - to a medical panel. It may well be that the wording of the question upon which the medical panel will be required to express its opinion by virtue of s.67 needs attention, if the opinion is to be secured which the court would wish to have, but it would be unjustifiably literal to say that the court's obligation to refer "that question" is in respect only of the question as worded by or on behalf of the applicant. And that is consistent with the approach taken by the parties here: that despite the mandatory terms of s.45(1)(b) the question as framed by the applicant did not have to be referred to a medical panel if the question as so framed was irrelevant to the determination of the issues between the parties, the court retaining some residual power to "refine" the question, in order to adapt it to suit better the issues which fell for determination by the court.
[1] See and compare on the jurisdiction of a medical panel to express its opinion: Walker v. Cadzow Coal Co. Ltd. [1925] S.C. 395 (Court of Session), Murray v. Austral Stevedoring & Lighterage Co. Ltd. (1934) 51 W.N. (N.S.W.) 43 (Full Court), Mann v. Darlington Forge Ltd. (1946) 175 L.T. 42 (Court of Appeal), Williams v. Tredegar Iron & Steel Co. Ltd. [1948] 1 All E.R. 236; (1948) 41 B.W.C.C. 10 (Court of Appeal) and Commonwealth v. Mifsud [1965] HCA 56; (1965) 114 C.L.R. 505.
Greeves
HIH Winterthur Workers' Compensation