austlii:cth/ARTA/2026/214
General information, not legal advice.
ARTA
2026-02-16
Senior Member J
Original judgment source is linked above.
For the reasons I have provided, and given my findings, I find that Mr Endycott:
a) comingled personal and private monies; > > b) created or oversaw the creation of records which were unreliable; > > c) briefed Mr Howlett with incorrect and unreliable records (including bank account statements and the correct net income figure for EFT); and > > d) incorrectly instructed Mr Howlett as to the character of a large number of transactions comprising his assessable income by asking him to assume they were not income;
with the consequence that Mr Howlett has incorrectly calculated Mr Endycott's correct taxable income.
I have also not been satisfied for either of the two years in dispute that Mr Endycott:
a) has identified all relevant bank accounts and credit cards recording transactions which may contain assessable income; and > > b) has explained all relevant transactions such that the Tribunal can be satisfied as to their purpose and character.
In particular, I am not satisfied that Mr Endycott has adequately explained:
a) the very large number of transactions and amounts deposited to his personal accounts by the E&Y Trust which he contended were reimbursements for the sale of motorbikes by HDM; and > > b) The deposits to his personal accounts and credit cards which he contended were among other things, reimbursement for items and loans which could not be substantiated.
I have also found aspects of Mr Endycott's evidence to be unreliable and uncorroborated by evidence from other relevant witnesses and/or contemporaneous records. 13. In light of these findings, I am not satisfied that Mr Endycott has failed to show the Respondent's assessment for the 2016 year was excessive and in particular, I am not satisfied he has demonstrated what his correct taxable income is for the 2016 year. 14. My findings and conclusions for EFT, are also relevant to my finding that Mr Endycott has not discharged his onus for the 2015 year.
a) HDM directors fees; > > b) Morgan director fees; > > c) directors fees; > > d) training fees; and > > e) management fees from E&Y Trust and ERS.
Mr Endycott also did not discharge his onus of proving that transactions he contended were repayments of loans or gifts had that character, namely:
a) alleged deposit for sale of Guzzi motorbike; > > b) alleged repayment of loan by Mr Cohen;
Mr Endycott also did not discharge his onus in respect of payments to:
a) credit cards x5313/x5917/x0148/x8191; and > > b) credit cards x5583/x8821/x0075/x0780.
For the reasons I have provided, and given my findings, I find that Mr Endycott in the 2016 year:
a) continued to comingle personal and private monies; > > b) continued to create or oversaw the creation of records which were unreliable; > > c) briefed Mr Howlett with incorrect and unreliable records (including bank account statements and the correct net income figure for EFT) to allow him to correctly calculate Mr Endycott's taxable income; and > > d) incorrectly instructed Mr Howlett as to the character of a large number of transactions comprising his assessable income by asking him to assume they were not income;
with the consequence that Mr Howlett has incorrectly calculated Mr Endycott's correct taxable income.
I have also not been satisfied for either of the two years in dispute that Mr Endycott has:
a) identified all relevant bank accounts recording transactions which may contain assessable income; > > b) explained all relevant transactions such that the Tribunal can be satisfied as to their purpose and character.
In particular, I am not satisfied that Mr Endycott has adequately explained:
a) the very large number of transactions and amounts deposited to his personal accounts by the E&Y Trust which he contended were reimbursements for the sale of motorbikes by HDM; and > > b) the deposits to his personal credit cards which he contended were among other things, reimbursement for items and loans which could not be substantiated.
Once again, I have found aspects of Mr Endycott's evidence to be unreliable and uncorroborated by evidence from other relevant witnesses and/or contemporaneous records. 12. In light of these findings, I am not satisfied that Mr Endycott has failed to show the Respondent's assessment for the 2016 year was excessive and in particular, I am not satisfied he has demonstrated what his correct taxable income is for the 2016 year. 13. My findings and conclusions for EFT, are also relevant to my finding that Mr Endycott has not discharged his onus for the 2016 year.
Income Tax Assessments and Penalties after Objection
GST Amended Assessments and Penalties after Objection
Taxable income for 2016 and finding for the 2015 year
a) for the reasons given, I have found that the EFT records such as its general ledgers and financial statements are not reliable and note in summary that: > > 1. there was evidence of significant co-mingling of expenses between the entities in the Group; > 2. Mr Endycott regularly used personal bank accounts and credit cards for transactions for both EFT and personal transactions; > 3. the evidence revealed that EFT had paid for the expenses both of other entities and Mr Endycott; > 4. income of EFT was not properly recorded/reported (Petrie Point project and the HDM rent); > 5. not all relevant credit cards and bank accounts have been produced to the Tribunal creating the risk that not all income or expenses of EFT has been identified; and > 6. even now not all relevant transactions have been adequately explained. > > > b) Mr Howlett's calculations for EFT were incorrect and unreliable for the following reasons: > > > > 1. he was briefed with unreliable records (the EFT general ledger and financial statements as well as documents derived from these records) which have caused him to make incorrect calculations;346F[349] > > 2. he was not briefed with all of the bank and credit card statements leading to the risk that not all relevant transactions were identified; > > 3. he was briefed with assumptions which have caused him to incorrectly calculate the net taxable position for EFT; > > > > * - he was asked to assume unvouched transactions were income; > > * - he was asked to assume a proportion of expenses were deductible; and > > * - he was asked to assume various payments were not income of EFT (for example, the Petrie Point project invoices).
a) income and expenses for entities in the group were attributed to EFT for each of the two years in dispute; > > b) Mr Endycott extensively claimed personal expenses as business expenses; > > c) EFT's records are incorrect and unreliable for both years but further, the versions briefed to Mr Howlett are unproven; > > d) Mr Howlett excluded the payments from the Petrie point project and incorrectly included the training payments in his calculations; > > e) Mr Howlett was asked to make other assumptions which are incorrect; > > f) EFT's net GST position for each tax period was calculated by Mr Howlett based on those incorrect and unreliable records and incorrect assumptions; > > g) Mr Holwett's reliance on these records and assumptions have led to inaccuracies both in his calculation and reporting on ITCs, and taxable supplies; and further > > h) Mr Howlett was not able to confirm whether some transactions were eligible transactions because he did not/could not examine the primary records (eg invoices).
(1) You are liable to an administrative penalty if:
(a) you348F[351] make a statement to the Commissioner or to an entity that is exercising powers or performing functions under a *taxation law (other than the *Excise Acts); and
(b) the statement is false or misleading in a material particular, whether because of things in it or omitted from it.
(3) You are liable to an administrative penalty if:
(a) you fail to give a return, notice or other document to the Commissioner by the day it is required to be given; and
(b) that document is necessary for the Commissioner to determine a *tax-related liability (other than one arising under the *Excise Acts) of yours accurately; and
(c) the Commissioner determines the tax-related liability without the assistance of that document.
a) whether there are grounds to support remission, including whether remission will avert an unjust, inappropriate or unreasonable outcome; and > > b) whether the exercise of the discretion is in accordance with the purposes for which it was granted under the legislation.354F[357]
a) the discretion to remit only arises once the penalty is imposed; > > b) the remission discretion allows the Commissioner to mitigate the effects of the penalty in appropriate circumstances; > > c) the remission discretion is a leniency discretion but the different circumstances arising mean it there should not be generic principles applied to remission in all cases; > > d) the remission discretion is focussed on the taxpayer's conduct prior to the imposition of penalty; > > e) there are some factors the Commissioner of Taxation may include in his consideration such as consistency, the taxpayer's circumstances and compliance history and encouraging improvements in compliance behaviour; and > > f) the penalty regime punishes taxpayers who avoid their obligations and acts as a deterrent.
Did EFT and/or Mr Endycott make false or misleading statements as to a material particular?
What constitutes intentional disregard of a taxation law?
Within s 290-40 of Schedule 1 to the TAA, Parliament has specified gradations of increasing severity in terms of conduct by a taxpayer or his, her or its agent which has resulted in a tax shortfall. Of these, "intentional disregard" is the most serious in terms of the infliction of a base penalty. It is intended to be qualitatively different to and more severe than "recklessness". That suggests that wilful blindness of a kind which in other contexts has been regarded as sufficient to supply the mental element in adverbial qualifications such as "knowingly" or "wilfully", q.v. Iannella v. French [1968] HCA 14; (1968) 119 CLR 84 at 95-96 per Barwick CJ and Comptroller-General of Customs v Woodlands Enterprises Pty Ltd [1996] 1 Qd R 589 at 602 603 per Pincus JA, McPherson JA agreeing, is insufficient to supply the mental element in "intentional disregard". Rather, conduct of that wilfully blind kind would fall under the rubric of "recklessness" for base penalty purposes.
"Recklessness in this context means to include in a tax statement material upon which the Act or regulations are to operate, knowing that there is a real, as opposed to a fanciful risk, that the material may be incorrect, or be grossly indifferent as to whether or not the material is true and correct, and that a reasonable person in the position of the statement-maker would see there was a real risk that the Act and regulations may not operate correctly to lead to the assessment of the proper tax payable because of the content of the tax statement. So understood, the proscribed conduct is more than mere negligence and must amount to gross carelessness."
What is the Tribunal's task in reviewing the administrative penalty imposed?
a) the failure to report income from the Petrie Point project and rental from HDM as income of EFT in circumstances where EFT paid expenses associated with the project and so Mr Endycott as the controlling mind of the trustee was on notice of the need to record income correctly.
My observations as to the conduct of Mr Endycott and Mr Cullen (below) are also relevant in terms of the assessment of penalty against EFT.
a) failed to properly advise Mr Endycott and EFT on the taxation treatment of various forms of rent, salaries and wages which have been conceded in this proceeding by the Applicants; > > b) failed to properly record all of the allowable deductions of EFT; > > c) failed to take reasonable care in the preparation of his tax return for the 2015 tax year; > > d) should have advised Mr Endycott that the $800 per week salary he drew from EFT was assessable income and further notes that Mr Cullen acknowledged in the 2023 email that he was aware of and involved in the plan to pay Mr Endycott regular amounts as repayments of loans made by Mr Endycott 'over time', and these were reconciled at the end of each financial year;369F[372] > > e) failed to record all of the income of EFT in his calculations of the s 95 net income in the tax return of EFT for the 2015 year and should have accurately calculated the net income of EFT for the 2015 tax year to determine Mr Endycott's share of net income correctly; and > > f) was professionally negligent in the preparation of Mr Endycott's returns.
Conclusions about penalty - Mr Endycott for the 2015 and 2016 years
a) Mr Endycott is a painter by trade, suffers from dyslexia and is not qualified as an accountant or bookkeeper; > > b) Mr Endycott is also an experienced business-person and is director of EGA Pty Ltd which is the corporate trustee of EFT. The Group enjoyed an annual turnover of more than $6M in the 2015 year and employed at least 35 people. It is not a small business; > > c) Mr Endycott signed his annual tax returns as correct and as director of EGA Pty Ltd signed the returns and annual financial statements for EFT as correct, based on information and instructions he provided to Mr Cullen; > > d) Mr Endycott made a conscious decision to adopt a complex corporate structure for his business ('the business structure'); > > e) Mr Endycott engaged an accountant (Mr Cullen) to advise him about the business structure as well as to manage his financial and tax affairs; > > f) Mr Endycott was warned that the business structure meant he needed to keep assets and expenses separate between these entities and himself for accounting and tax purposes. Despite that advice, Mr Endycott and his employees actively engaged in significant movement of funds between entities, paid invoices from the wrong entities and co-mingled personal and business expenses. In doing so, Mr Endycott has admitted he did not take care where and how he recorded transactions and left matters to Mr Cullen to reconcile at the end of each financial year. He has conceded the accounts were a mess; > > g) Mr Endycott was directly involved in the accounting and financial side of the Group because he personally oversaw and authorised all expenditure above $300 (including giving instructions about prioritising of invoices and where funds should be drawn from to pay invoices). Further, Mr Endycott entrusted the bookkeeping for the entire business to his 19-year-old daughter who he personally instructed in terms of manner and priority of payments. These decisions directly contributed to the state of the business records and the comingling of business and personal monies. On some occasions, Mr Endycott also personally authorised payment of personal expenses as company expenses; > > h) Mr Endycott operated personal lines of credit. He did not establish an overdraft for his business but instead used these personal lines of credit which then required him to move money between personal and business accounts. Despite the previous advice to keep matters separate, Mr Endycott did not keep accurate records of loans which could later be reconciled with repayments; > > 1. Mr Endycott did not admit to drawing any salary from his business. Instead he knowingly participated in a process whereby he received a significant number of periodic payments from entities in the Group to his personal accounts and which he privately treated as his salary but did not declare for tax purposes. The evidence suggests and I infer that he established at least one of these arrangements ('the Mr Morgan director fees') without first seeking advice from or consulting Mr Cullen but the evidence otherwise suggests Mr Cullen was aware of the process; > > > j) The picture Mr Endycott knowingly presented to the NAB of his income, assets and liabilities stands in stark contrast to his income tax returns and is not explicable by the amounts he reported; > > > > k) Mr Endycott gave MTA access to the ledgers and MYOB for the business. There is no evidence before the Tribunal about whether Mr Cullen was instructed to maintain access to and scrutinise these records other than for the purposes of preparing tax returns and end of financial year statements. Instead, the evidence suggests Mr Endycott met with Mr Cullen at least every quarter to discuss 'significant transactions'; > > 1. by virtue of the amounts Mr Endycott has conceded are income and my findings both Applicants have significantly underreported their income for the years in dispute; > > > m) despite repeated requests and the issuing of statutory notices at audit, Mr Endycott has still not identified all relevant bank accounts for the years in dispute; > > > > n) not all transactions relevant to this dispute have been satisfactorily explained; and > > > > o) there was also substantial income earned from the Petrie Point project of which I infer Mr Endycott was aware and which was not reported to the Respondent by either by ERS or EFT. This potentially had significant implications for Mr Endycott's taxable income in 2016 given he was a beneficiary of EFT.
a) the evidence in this case still discloses that on at least one occasion (the arrangement for the payment of Mr Morgan's directors fees to Mr Endycott), Mr Endycott did not disclose the arrangements he made for a series of periodic payments to Mr Cullen until after the Respondent commenced his audit;370F[373] > > b) there is a complete absence of evidence about how Mr Cullen was otherwise instructed by Mr Endycott which would allow any determination of whether the safe harbour provision should apply. > > c) The safe harbour provision cannot apply if Mr Endycott did not give all relevant taxation information to Mr Cullen;371F[374] and > > d) Mr Cullen was not called to give evidence even though he has engaged with the Applicants in the course of these proceedings.
Summary - shortfall penalty income for the 2015 and 2016 years (EFT and Mr Endycott)
a) EFT for the 2015 year for tax shortfall income is excessive; > > b) EFT for the 2016 year for tax shortfall income is excessive; > > c) Mr Endycott for the 2015 year for tax shortfall income is excessive.
a) EFT for the 2015 year;374F[377] and > > b) Mr Endycott for the 2016 year
based on prior application of the penalty provisions.375F[378]
a) for the reasons I have already given, I am not satisfied Mr Endycott was not aware of his wrongdoing, particularly given his private treatment of the periodic payments and his failure to keep proper records and funds separate; > > b) through Mr Cullen, Mr Endycott gave inconsistent explanations for various transactions to the Respondent at audit and failed to provide evidence to support some of his contentions about the character of transaction; > > c) EFT has demonstrably failed to keep proper records and Mr Endycott has comingled accounts and monies to a significant extent and with deliberateness; > > d) while I accept the Applicants were up to date with their returns and BAS, the circumstances of the case and the scale of the underreporting which has occurred are significant. I am not persuaded this is a case where leniency is appropriate; > > e) I note that the Applicants have sought additional support since the audits and have changed accountants. However, for the reasons I have explained I am not satisfied that the Applicants' former accountants bear the whole of the responsibility for the resulting shortfalls; > > f) I accept the Applicants have been audited but do not accept that this in and of itself is a proper basis to remit the penalty, particularly in the circumstances of this case which concern the deliberate failure to report income; and > > g) I am not satisfied that the Applicants, in failing to properly apprehend their obligation to discharge their onus in respect of all transactions, bore no responsibility for the trajectory of the audit, objection and these proceedings.
15 and 16 July 2024, 9 to 15 July and 13 to 14 October 2025
10 September 2025, 9 October 2025 and 13 October 2025
Originally established on 27 May 2009 with Mr Endycott as the sole trustee.381F[384]
Incorporated on 19 June 2014382F[385] It has been the corporate trustee of the Trust since 16 July 2014.
Mr Endycott and Simon Yates were each 50% shareholders
EGA purchased property at 2365 Ipswich Road Oxley on 30 November 2015.383F[386]
Entire Paint and Property Solutions/Entire Coating Solutions
Originally EFT traded as Entire Paint and Property Solutions (EPPS). In around 2014 the business name was changed to Entire Coating Solutions (ECS). For a time there was an overlap between the two business names and bank accounts during the 2015 year.384F[387]
ERS' focus is providing concrete repurposing and underpinning.385F[388]
Incorporated on 24 August 2004.386F[389]
HDM is in the business of selling, servicing, building and repairing motorcycles.387F[390]
EGA and Mr Yates are directors and joint shareholders.
In July 2014 Mr Endycott transferred 25 shares to Mr Dundas for $113,5000 plus GST which had been paid to him in April 2014. He said Mr Dundas subsequently transferred the shares to EGA for $100,000 on 20 October 2016. 388F[391]
On 24 January 2017, Mr Endycott transferred his remaining 25 shares to EGA.389F[392]
EGA and HDM operate from the same business premises.390F[393]
Employed by Mr Endycott, initially as a receptionist (part time) in March 2009 at age 19 and then as a book-keeper for the Trust from September 2013.392F[395]
Accountant - employed by More Than Accountants (MTA) and former accountant and tax agent for Mr Endycott and his associated entities from 2009 to 14 January 2019.393F[396]
Shares in HDM were sold to Mr Dundas in 2014 for $113,000 and subsequently bought back by EGA as trustee of the Trust following the years in dispute for $100,000 (ex GST).395F[398]
In-house accountant to the Group. She was let go on the recommendation of Ms Parasyn on 20 May 2020.396F[399]
Mr Morgan entered bankruptcy in 2017.398F[401]
Hired as accountants to the Group in or around November 2019. Ms Parasyn prepared notices of objection and requests for extension of time to object for the years in dispute.
Employee of MTA. From 2016, Ms Pearce provided additional bookkeeping and reconciliation assistance to Ms Endycott.399F[402]
Employee of the Group who was originally employed as a business development manager and then was promoted to the position of General Manager EGA in 2013.
A business partner of Mr Endycott and a director and shareholder of HDM.400F[403]
Engaged by the Group and prepared independent financial statements for the Group in 2022. In evidence were ledgers and financial statements they had prepared for the Group.
The primary office of the Group. It was purchased by EGA ATF EFT prior to the 2015 and 2016 years.401F[404] It was subject to a mortgage with the NAB (x5534).
2365 Ipswich Road Oxley402F**[405]**
Commercial property purchased by EGA ATF EFT on 30 November 2015. From 14 March 2016 it was subject to an NAB mortgage x3121.403F[406]
Commercial property acquired by EFT on 30 June 2014 and sold on 5 June 2016. It was subject to a mortgage with the NAB (x5534). The capital gain from the sale was $120,197 which has been conceded. The business of E&YF Trust and ERS and ECS were conducted from this site. HDM, ERS and E&YF Trust were charged rent for the use of property.
Property acquired by Mrs Endycott prior to her marriage to Mr Endycott. It was unencumbered. It was sold to Ms Endycott and her partner in 2016.404F[407]
16 Stonewood Street, Algester405F**[408]**
Property purchased by Mr and Mrs Endycott on 27 October 2014 and sold in December 2014.
3 Osprey Court, Rangeville406F**[409]**
Property purchased by Mr and Mrs Endycott in late December 2014. Mr and Mrs Endycott's primary residence.
1701 - a personal account in Mr Endycott's name. Mr Endycott told the Tribunal he also used this account for business expenses of the Group.407F[410]
2922 - a transaction account in the name of Mr Endycott. Mr Endycott told the Tribunal he also used this account for business expenses of the Group.408F[411]
0761409F[412] - an account in the name of Mr Endycott.
8191410F[413] - a credit card which Mr Endycott told the Tribunal he used to pay for business expenses
5313 - a transaction account in the name of Mr Endycott. Mr Endycott told the Tribunal he also used this account for business expenses of the Group.411F[414] It was not listed in Annexure B.
0418 - an account in the name of Mr Endycott. Mr Endycott told the Tribunal he also used this account for business expenses of the Group.412F[415]
8191 - a credit card in the name of Mr Endycott. Mr Endycott told the Tribunal that given cash flow difficulties he also used this account for business expenses of the Group and would reimburse from the company account.413F[416] Also attached were cards numbered x5850, x5868, x3911 and x3583.
Other accounts in the names of Shane/Caroline Endycott
4200 - a line of credit in the name of Mr and Mrs Endycott. Mr Endycott told the Tribunal that it was used for both personal and business expenses.414F[417] The account had a draw down limit of $500,000.415F[418] Mr Endycott contends that he used this line of credit to fund the operations of the Group.416F[419]
6925 - a line of credit/loan account in the names of Mr and Mrs Endycott secured over their place of residence (3 Osprey Court).
Entire Remedial Solutions (ERS) Trust's bank accounts
5443 - a units account in the name of Mr Endycott. The Applicants described this as the main trading account for the ERS Trust.417F[420]
8035428F[431] - a loan account in the name of EGA atf for the Trust which was opened in November 2014 and closed April 2015. The balance of the account was transferred to x4200.
5438 - an account in the name of the Trustee to EFT to which interest was charged by NAB for various loans the Applicants say were made by the business.429F[432]
1022430F[433] - a loan account for EFT which Mr Endycott told the Tribunal was opened in September 2014 to replace x 7096 and was replaced by x 3121.
3121431F[434] - a loan account for EFT which Mr Endycott told the Tribunal was opened on 28 January 2016 and was taken out over the property at 2365 Ipswich Road.
7096436F[439] - a loan account which was closed on 12 September 2014 relating to EFT Trust.
4496 - account in the name of HDMC as Trustee for the E&Y Trust.
4034 - referred to in Annexure B as an HDM account.
Other undisclosed credit cards - not listed on Annexure B
7138 - a credit card (HDM or EGA or both).437F[440] Statements were not produced.
4260 - a credit card ECS credit card Mr Endycott.438F[441]
2935 - a cheque account referred to in E&Y Trust's trial balance.
0927 - a loan account a cheque account referred to in E&Y Trust's trial balance.
6439 - a bike sales account identified by the Respondent as not included in Annexure B.
[1] Throughout these reasons references to EGA ATF EFT will be expressed as 'EFT'. Collective references to Mr Endycott and EFT will be expressed as 'the Applicants'.
[2] Throughout these reasons references to the years in dispute will be expressed as the 2015 and/or 2016 years. Referred to collectively, 'the years in dispute'.
[5] Dated 27 May 2022, Hearing Book A1 T2, T35.
Advanced Holdings Pty Limited as Trustee for The Demian Trust v Commissioner of Taxation [2021] FCAFC 135
Arthur Murray (NSW) Pty Ltd v Federal Commissioner of Taxation [1965] HCA 58; (1965) 114 CLR 314
Australian Securities and Investments Commission v Rich [2005] NSWCA 152; (2005) 218 ALR 764 Barth Family Trust (Trustee) v Commissioner of Taxation [2025] FCA 1693
Brown v Commissioner of Taxation [1999] FCA 563
BSKF and Commissioner of Taxation (Taxation) [2024] AATA 3377
Bohemians Club v Acting Commissioner of Taxation [1918] HCA 16; (1918) 24 CLR 334
Bosanac v Commissioner of Taxation [2019] HCA 41; (2019) 374 ALR 425
Bosanac v Commissioner of Taxation [2019] FCAFC 116; (2019) 267 FCR 169
Bosanac v Commissioner of Taxation [2018] FCA 946
BP v Federal Commissioner of Taxation [1966] AC 224 page 261
BRK (Bris) Pty Ltd v Commissioner of Taxation [2003] FCAFC 105; (2003) 131 FCR 203
Buzadzic v Commissioner of Taxation [2024] FCAFC 50
Buzadzic and Commissioner of Taxation (Taxation) [2021] AATA 4820
Citrus Queensland Pty Ltd v Sunstate Orchards Pty Ltd (No 7) [2008] FCA 1364
CMYT JDRJ and Commissioner of Taxation [2025] ARTA 551
Commissioner of Taxation v Bazzo [2024] FCA 560
Commissioner of Taxation v Cassaniti [2018] FCAFC 212; (2018) 266 FCR 385; 109 ATR 119
Commissioner of Taxation v Huang [2025] FCA 1314
Commissioner of Taxation v Liang [2025] FCAFC 4
Commissioner of Taxation v Ross [2021] FCA 766 at [66]; [2021] FCA 766; 174 ALD 77
Condon v Commissioner of Taxation [2023] FCA 561
Day v Perisher Blue Pty Ltd [2005] NSWCA 110; (2003) 62 NSWLR 731
Dixon v Federal Commissioner of Taxation [2008] FCAFC 54; (2008) 167 FCR 287
Elliot v Ivey [1998] NSWSC 116
Federal Commissioner of Taxation v Anstis [2010] HCA 40; (2010) 241 CLR 443
Federal Commissioner of Taxation v. Munro [1926] HCA 58; (1926) 38 CLR 153
Federal Commissioner of Taxation v Myer Emporium Ltd [1987] HCA 18; (1987) 163 CLR 199; (1987) 71 ALR 28
Federal Commissioner of Taxation v Normandy Finance Pty Ltd [2016] FCAFC 180; (2016) 104 ATR 491
Federal Commissioner of Taxation v Rawson Finances Pty Ltd [2012] FCA 753; (2012) 89 ATR 357
Ferozkohei and Commissioner of Taxation [2017] AATA 2405
Gashi v Commissioner of Taxation [2013] FCAFC 30; (2013) 209 FCR 301
Haritos v Commissioner of Taxation [2015] FCAFC 92; (2015) 233 FCR 315
Ma v Commissioner of Taxation [1992] FCA 530
McAndrew v Federal Commissioner of Taxation [1956] HCA 62; (1956) 98 CLR 263
McCormack v Federal Commissioner of Taxation [1979] HCA 18; (1979) 143 CLR 284
McPartland v Commissioner of Taxation [2025] FCAFC 23
Price Street Professional Centre Pty Ltd v Commissioner of Taxation [2007] FCAFC 154; (2007) 243 ALR 728
Richard Walter v Federal Commissioner of Taxation (1995) 95 ATC 4440; [1995] FCA 1370; (1995) 31 ATR 95
Rio Tinto v Commissioner of Taxation [2004] FCA 335
Rowe v Commissioner of Taxation [1997] HCA 16; (1997) 187 CLR 266
Russell v Commissioner of Taxation of the Commonwealth of Australia [2009] FCA 1224
Sanctuary Lakes Pty Ltd v Commissioner of Taxation (2013) 213 FCR 483; [2013] FCAFC 50
Trautwein v Federal Commissioner of Taxation [1936] HCA 77; (1936) 56 CLR 63; [1936] ALR 425
The Commissioner of Taxes (South Australia) v The Executor Trustee and Agency Company of South Australia Limited [1938] HCA 69; (1938) 63 CLR 108
Victoria Power Networks Pty Ltd v Commissioner of Taxation [2020] FCAFC 169
VTBL and Commissioner of Taxation [2023] AATA 168
Wang v Commissioner of Taxation [2024] FCA 585
Weyers v Commissioner of Taxation [2006] FCA 81
WYVW and Commissioner of Taxation [2023] AATA 4242
(1918) 24 CLR 334
(2019) 267 FCR 169
(2003) 131 FCR 203
(2018) 266 FCR 385
(2003) 62 NSWLR 731
(1987) 163 CLR 199
(2013) 209 FCR 301
(1990) 170 CLR 124
(1956) 98 CLR 263
(2007) 243 ALR 728
(1997) 187 CLR 266
(2013) 213 FCR 483
(1936) 56 CLR 63
(1938) 63 CLR 108
(1965) 114 CLR 314
(2005) 218 ALR 764
(2019) 374 ALR 425
(1977) 34 FLR 375
(2008) 167 FCR 287
(2010) 241 CLR 443
(1990) 168 CLR 614
(1926) 38 CLR 153
(1987) 71 ALR 28
(2015) 233 FCR 315
(1979) 143 CLR 284
(1968) 119 CLR 84