austlii:cth/ARTA/2026/220
General information, not legal advice.
ARTA
2026-02-19
General Member J
Original judgment source is linked above.
Outcome of your internal review request - plan management decision > > ... > > I am writing in response to your request we received on 22 January 2025.You asked us to review the earlier decision we made on 5 November 2024. Our earlier decision was that the statement of supports in your plan would be agency-managed. > > Outcome of review > > I have considered all the evidence available to me when making my decision about how the supports in your plan should be managed. I have included your request/s below: > > • All funding to be plan managed > > I have not approved your request to change how your supports are managed in your plan.[3]
The current agency-managed plan does not meet my son's needs and restricts access to the necessary and previously utilised services. > > The following are the primary issues: > > Inability to Use Unregistered Support Workers > > Many of the support workers who have built trust and rapport with my son are unregistered, and this restriction impacts the continuity and quality of care. > > Inability to Use Unregistered Therapists > > Some of the therapists who have provided consistent and specialised care are also unregistered, and my son cannot continue with them under agency-managed arrangements. > > Inability to Use Services Overseas During Grace Periods > > My son has previously benefited from access to support services while temporarily overseas. This flexibility has now been removed.
... to determine whether the Tribunal application should continue or be dismissed, having regard to the issue of the Tribunal's jurisdiction in this matter, and the general basis of the Applicant's application. > > This request is made having regard to the current Tribunal application fundamentally arising from the Tribunal's decision dated 1 October 2024, which the Respondent implemented on 5 November 2024.
(a) When the Agency implemented the AAT decision, the Agency changed the Applicant's plan management type from plan-managed to Agency-managed. This was intended to give effect to the Tribunal's recommendation that the Applicant's family members not be paid to provide support to the Applicant. > > (b) In requesting an internal review on 22 January 2025, the Applicant refers to the AAT decision as being the basis on which the Respondent should change his plan management type. > > (c) The Agency's implementation of the AAT decision is not a new reviewable decision as it did involve the Agency's own consideration of the supports to be funded. As, such this was not a decision that was capable of internal review. The decision described as an internal review decision on 11 March 2025 was a 'purported internal review decision'. > > (d) Implementation of a Tribunal decision is not a reviewable decision under section 99 of the NDIS Act as the decision-makers listed in this section only include the Agency's CEO and the Commissioner of the NDIS Quality and Safeguards Commission. As no reviewable decision has been made, the Tribunal's jurisdiction in not enlivened. > > (e) The primary issue raised by the Applicant is that his family members be permitted to be paid for the support the following including that invoices submitted to the Agency in relation to family members providing him with support be paid. The Tribunal does not have any jurisdiction in relation to approval by the Agency of invoices lodged with it by a participant. > > (f) The AAT decision finalised the Applicant's previous appeal. The Tribunal does not have the power to review its own decisions. The two mechanisms for review of decisions by the Tribunal are to make an application to the Tribunal's Guidance and Appeals Panel or the Federal Court. > > (g) Applying Deayton, the date of the approval of the Applicant's SPS should be regarded as 1 October 2024, being the date of the AAT decision. It would be inconsistent with Deayton for the Agency's implementation of the AAT decision to itself be regarded as a decision, where the date of the approval of a SPS is taken to be the date of the Tribunal's decision, and not the implementation of that decision.
(a) The Agency, after the AAT decision, has made new administrative decisions to: > > > (i) impose Agency-management; > > > > (ii) refuse to pay invoices from family members; and > > > > (iii) refuse to pay invoices for supports provided overseas. > > (b) These are reviewable decisions under the NDIS Act and the Agency is circumventing the AAT decision by re-imposing barriers aimed at preventing family participation. > > (c) The AAT set aside the Agency's previous decision meaning that this decision ceased to exist and cannot lawfully be revived or re-applied. > > (d) The Agency has misread paragraph 35 of the AAT decision as prohibiting paid family support. The Agency's implementation of the AAT decision is contrary to the order made. > > (e) The AAT did not order Agency-management, and the Agency adopted this model unilaterally. Agency-management is unsuitable because: > > > (i) the Applicant requires culturally and linguistically matched workers; > > > > (ii) most appropriate providers are unregistered; > > > > (iii) the Applicant cannot tolerate unfamiliar staff due to psychosis; > > > > (iv) overseas supports cannot be funded. > > (f) The decision in Deayton does not apply as it involved a narrow question about the timing of legislative amendments and did not consider: > > > (i) post-decision refusals of supports; > > > > (ii) re-imposition of previous restrictions; > > > > (iii) selective or individualised administrative conduct; or > > > > (iv) any attempt to diminish the effect of a Tribunal order.
Management of funding for supports is within jurisdiction
Reimbursement for expenses prior to the AAT decision are beyond jurisdiction
The Respondent misreads [paragraph 35 of the AAT decision] as prohibiting paid family support. This is incorrect. > > Paragraph [35] states only that all 12 hours of daily support should not be delivered exclusively by paid family members. It does not prohibit family involvement. > > The Tribunal expressly stated: > > "There will not be a direction that the Applicant ... cannot engage members of his family as providers of core supports" > > Read in full, the Tribunal's reasoning establishes that: > > (a) up to 12 hours per day of support is reasonable and necessary; > > (b) exclusive provision of all 12 hours by family is not appropriate; > > (c) family involvement remains permitted; > > (d) the earlier NDIA refusal was expressly extinguished.[6]
As referred to above, there is a recommendation that there be total core support up to 12 hours per day, during the Applicant's waking hours, as funded support. Regard has been had to the intensity and type of support that is required and whether it is appropriate for the Applicant's family to be providing that support. It was not submitted that any member of the Applicant's family is formally trained in the provision of support. The funding or provision of the total core support up to 12 hours per day to the Applicant "takes account of what is reasonable to expect the Applicant's family, carers, informal networks and the community to provide". It is not effective and beneficial for the Applicant, having regard to current good practice for the Applicant's family to be the Applicant's support worker/s, having regard to the evidence, as referred to above. There has been consideration of the extent of any risks to the long-term well-being of the Applicant's family, if the Applicant's family members were to solely provide support for the Applicant. The Applicant's family providing paid support is not most appropriately funded or provided through the National Disability Insurance Scheme. The recommendation made above as to total core supports including up to 12 hours per day of support worker funding, is not reasonable and necessary if that paid support work is to be performed wholly by the Applicant's family members. There will not be a direction that the "Applicant's statement of participant supports should not specify that the Applicant cannot engage members of his family as providers of core supports", as submitted by the Applicant.[7]
(1) For the purposes of specifying, in a statement of participant supports, the general supports that will be provided, and the reasonable and necessary supports that will be funded, the CEO must be satisfied of all of the following in relation to the funding or provision of each such support: > > (a) the support will assist the participant to pursue the goals, objectives and aspirations included in the participant's statement of goals and aspirations; > > (b) the support will assist the participant to undertake activities, so as to facilitate the participant's social and economic participation; > > (c) the support represents value for money in that the costs of the support are reasonable, relative to both the benefits achieved and the cost of alternative support; > > (d) the support will be, or is likely to be, effective and beneficial for the participant, having regard to current good practice; > > (e) the funding or provision of the support takes account of what it is reasonable to expect families, carers, informal networks and the community to provide; > > (f) the support is most appropriately funded or provided through the National Disability Insurance Scheme, and is not more appropriately funded or provided through other general systems of service delivery or support services offered by a person, agency or body, or systems of service delivery or support services offered: > > > (i) as part of a universal service obligation; or > > > > (ii) in accordance with reasonable adjustments required under a law dealing with discrimination on the basis of disability.
Final scope to be determined by the member hearing the matter
[1] Respondent's Statement of Issues, 22 August 2025.
[2] Al-Dabbagh and National Disability Insurance Agency [2024] AATA 3494.
[3] Tribunal Documents, (T-Documents), T1C, page 50. Headings in original.
[4] National Disability Insurance Agency v Deayton [2025] FCA 562.
[6] Applicant's Submissions in Reply, 12 December 2025, paragraph's 10 to 13. Emphasis in original. Footnotes omitted.
[7] Al-Dabbagh and National Disability Insurance Agency [2024] AATA 3494, [35]. Emphasis in original. Footnotes omitted.
[8] National Disability Insurance Scheme (Supports for Participants) Rules 2013.
(b) The Tribunal does not have jurisdiction to consider reimbursement for any supports provided prior to the decision in Al-Dabbagh and National Disability Insurance Agency [2024] AATA 3494 made on 1 October 2024.
Darmanin and National Disability Insurance Agency [2024] AATA 1202
FFVQ and National Disability Insurance Agency [2018] AATA 196
FJKH and National Disability Insurance Agency [2018] AATA 1294
Hill and National Disability Insurance Agency [2023] AATA 3626
PBZB and National Disability Insurance Agency [2023] AATA 3385
RTRH and National Disability Insurance Agency [2022] AATA 205
VXVL and National Disability Insurance Agency [2024] AATA 29
Williamson and National Disability insurance Agency [2019] AATA 2944
YHCQ and National Disability Insurance Agency (NDIS) [2025] ARTA 267
National Disability Insurance Agency v Deayton [2025] FCA 562