[2025] FCA 562
General information, not legal advice.
Federal Court of Australia
2025-06-02
Hill J
Original judgment source is linked above.
Applicant WAEE v Minister for Immigration and Multicultural and Indigenous Affairs [2003] FCAFC 184; (2003) 236 FCR 593
Collector of Customs v LNC (Wholesale) Pty Ltd (No 2) [1989] FCA 703;
Haritos v Federal Commissioner of Taxation [2015] FCAFC 92; (2015) 233 FCR 315
Maurangi v Bowen [2012] FCA 15; (2012) 200 FCR 191; (2012) 200 FCR 191
McGarrigle v National Disability Insurance Agency [2017] FCA 308; (2017) 252 FCR 121
Minister for Immigration and Border Protection v MZYTS [2013] FCAFC 114; (2013) 230 FCR 431
Minister for Immigration and Citizenship v Dhanoa [2009] FCAFC 153; (2009) 180 FCR 510
Minister for Immigration and Multicultural Affairs v Amani [1999] FCA 1040
Minister for Immigration, Citizenship and Multicultural Affairs v Su [2024] FCAFC 68; (2024) 303 FCR 342
Minister for Immigration, Citizenship and Multicultural Affairs v RGKY [2022] FCAFC 177
National Disability Insurance Agency v Davis [2022] FCA 1002
National Disability Insurance Agency v Foster [2023] FCAFC 11; (2023) 295 FCR 521
National Disability Insurance Agency v KKTB [2022] FCAFC 181; (2022) 295 FCR 379
National Disability Insurance Agency v McGarrigle [2017] FCAFC 132; (2017) 157 ALD 458
National Disability Insurance Agency v WRMF [2020] FCAFC 79; (2020) 276 FCR 415
Plaintiff M1/2021 v Minister for Home Affairs [2022] HCA 17; (2022) 275 CLR 582
Public Trustee of South Australia (as litigation representative for Isherwood) v National Disability Insurance Agency (No 2) [2023] FCA 852; (2023) 182 ALD 259
Re Devine and Commonwealth of Australia (1982) 5 ALN N28
Waraich v Minister for Immigration, Citizenship and Multicultural Affairs [2025] FCA 305
Warwick v National Disability Insurance Agency [2024] FCA 616
Administrative and Constitutional Law and Human Rights
Note: Entry of orders is dealt with in Rule 39.32 of the Federal Court Rules 2011.
· the cost of excessive electricity usage by Mr Deayton resulting from the use or equipment by reason of his disability, calculated as the total monthly amounts charged (after any Victorian-based concessions have been applied and deductions made) to Mr Deayton over the previous 12-month period in respect of electricity usage in excess of 7.34 kWh per day, and minus any lump sum payment made by the Commonwealth to Mr Deayton for an "Essential Medical Equipment Payment" (the Electricity support);
· funding for 56 hours of physiotherapy and 27 hours of remedial massage therapy (the Therapy support); and
· the cost per annum of providing Mr Deayton with access to Foxtel sports channels, calculated as 50% of the total amount that he is currently charged by Foxtel for his current yearly "full package" Foxtel subscription (the Foxtel support).
· Ground 1 contends that the Tribunal misconstrued the National Disability Insurance Scheme Act 2013 (Cth) (NDIS Act) and the National Disability Insurance Scheme (Supports for Participants) Rules 2013 (Cth) (Supports Rules) in finding that the Foxtel support was payable.
· Grounds 2 and 3 contend that the Tribunal failed to consider certain of the Agency's submissions as to why the Foxtel support was not payable, and failed to consider the Agency's submission that there was insufficient evidence to find that the quantum of the Therapy support sought by Mr Deayton was payable, respectively.
· Ground 5 contends that the Tribunal misconstrued the NDIS Act in approving partial funding for the Electricity support, because (it is said) a support can only be fully funded under the NDIS or not at all.
· The first two grounds concern the Foxtel support: the Agency contends that the Tribunal misconstrued s 34(1)(c) of the NDIS Act and rr 3.1(a) and 5.2(a) of the Supports Rules in various ways (Ground 1); and overlooked a submission from the Agency (Ground 2).
· Ground 3 contends that the Tribunal failed to consider the Agency's submission that there was insufficient evidence to be satisfied as to the quantum of Therapy support.
· Ground 5 contends that the Tribunal misconstrued the NDIS Act, by approving partial funding for Mr Deayton's electricity usage.
d. The Tribunal erred by failing to substitute the decision under review.
· to support the "independence and social and economic participation of people with disability" (s 3(1)(c));
· to provide "reasonable and necessary supports, including early intervention supports, for participants in the [NDIS]" (s 3(1)(d)); and
· to enable people with disability to "exercise choice and control in the pursuit of their goals and the planning and delivery of their supports" (s 3(1)(e)).
4 General principles guiding actions under this Act
(1) People with disability have the same right as other members of Australian society to realise their potential for physical, social, emotional and intellectual development.
(2) People with disability should be supported to participate in and contribute to social and economic life.
(5) People with disability should be supported to receive reasonable and necessary supports, including early intervention supports.
...
(11) Reasonable and necessary supports for people with disability should:
(a) support people with disability to pursue their goals and maximise their independence; and
(b) support people with disability to live independently and to be included in the community as fully participating citizens; and
(c) develop and support the capacity of people with disability to undertake activities that enable them to participate in the community and in employment.
...
(17) It is the intention of the Parliament that the Ministerial Council, the Minister, the Board, the CEO, the Commissioner and any other person or body is to perform functions and exercise powers under this Act in accordance with these principles, having regard to the need to ensure the financial sustainability of the National Disability Insurance Scheme.
· A statement of participant supports must specify the matters in s 33(2)(a) to (e). One of those matters is the "reasonable and necessary supports that will be funded under the [NDIS]" (s 33(2)(b)).
· By s 33(5), in deciding whether or not to approve a statement of participant supports, the CEO must (relevantly) be satisfied as mentioned in s 34 in relation to the reasonable and necessary supports that will be funded (s 33(5)(c)), and apply the NDIS rules made for the purposes of s 35 (s 33(5)(d)).
(c) the support represents value for money in that the costs of the support are reasonable, relative to both the benefits achieved and the cost of alternative support;
(d) the support will be, or is likely to be, effective and beneficial for the participant, having regard to current good practice;
And:
(f) the support is most appropriately funded or provided through the [NDIS], and is not more appropriately funded or provided through other general systems of service delivery or support services offered by a person, agency or body, or systems of service delivery or support services offered:
(i) as part of a universal service obligation; or
(ii) in accordance with reasonable adjustments required under a law dealing with discrimination on the basis of disability.
(a) methods or criteria to be applied, or matters to which the CEO is to have regard, in deciding, the reasonable and necessary supports ... that will be funded ... under the [NDIS]; and
(b) reasonable and necessary supports ... that will not be funded ... under the [NDIS]; and
(c) reasonable and necessary supports ... that will or will not be funded ... under the [NDIS] for prescribed participants.
Value for money
3.1 In deciding whether the support represents value for money in that the costs of the support are reasonable, relative to both the benefits achieved and the cost of alternative support, the CEO is to consider the following matters:
(a) whether there are comparable supports which would achieve the same outcome at a substantially lower cost;
...
(e) whether the cost of the support is comparable to the cost of supports of the same kind that are provided in the area in which the participant resides;
General criteria for supports
5.1 A support will not be provided or funded under the NDIS if:
...
(d) it relates to day-to-day living costs (for example, rent, groceries and utility fees) that are not attributable to a participant's disability support needs.
5.2 The day-to-day living costs referred to in paragraph 5.1(d) do not include the following (which may be funded under the NDIS if they relate to reasonable and necessary supports):
(a) additional living costs that are incurred by a participant solely and directly as a result of their disability support needs;
· By s 10(1), a support is an NDIS support for a participant or prospective participant if the support is declared by NDIS rules made for the purposes of s 10(1) to be an NDIS support for (a) participants or prospective participants generally; or (b) a class of participants or prospective participants that includes the person. Those rules must satisfy the requirements in s 10(2) and (3).
· By s 10(4), the NDIS rules may declare that a support is not an NDIS support for (a) participants or prospective participants generally; or (b) a class of participants or prospective participants. Section 10(9) sets out specified supports that are not NDIS supports (such as a support consisting of the provision of alcohol: s 10(9)(b)).
· The content of new framework plans is determined under the new ss 32C to 32L. Those provisions apply in the circumstances set out in new s 32C (such as the participant has been given a notice under new s 32B(2) that the participant is to have a new framework plan).
· Old framework plans are all other participant plans (see new s 32M). New s 33(2A) to (2F) (added by Sch 1 item 39) set out requirements for total funding amounts, funding component amounts, and funding periods for old framework plans.
· By new s 32B, the NDIS rules may specify the classes of participants that are now to have new framework plans, and for each class the period within which the CEO must give notice to participants in that class that they are to have new plans.
(aa) the support is necessary to address needs of the participant arising from an impairment in relation to which the participant meets the disability requirements (see section 24) or the early intervention requirements (see section 25);
And:
(f) the support is an NDIS support for the participant.
· By s 5(1), a support identified in Sch 1 of the Supports Transitional Rules is an NDIS support for the purposes of s 10(1) of the NDIS Act (subject to s 10(4) and (9)) for (relevantly) the participants as identified in Sch 1 who have old framework plans.
· By s 5(2), a support identified in Sch 2 to the Supports Transitional Rules is not an NDIS support for the purposes of s 10(4) of the NDIS Act for any participant (subject to s 10(6) of the NDIS Act) or prospective participant. Relevantly for this case, the list of supports in Sch 2 that are generally not NDIS supports includes "water, gas and electricity bills" (item 1(f)), and "subscriptions for streaming services" (item 4(f)).
· Ground 1 contends that the Tribunal misconstrued s 34(1)(c) of the Act and r 3.1(a) of the Supports Rules (relating to value for money), and also misconstrued r 5.2(a) (relating to day-to-day living costs).
· Ground 2 contends that the Tribunal failed to consider the Agency's submission that the cost of the Foxtel subscription was not attributable to Mr Deayton's disability support needs.
· The Tribunal accepted that if it were not for Mr Deayton's disability he would have attended a lot more football matches and races in person, including those in locations away from his home town: AAT [174].
· In relation to football, one solution to Mr Deayton's thermoregulation issues is for him to attend those matches in an air-conditioned room (such as a corporate box). The cost of doing so would cost substantially more than the cost of a Foxtel sports channel subscription: AAT [175].
· The Tribunal was not satisfied that watching free-to-air television will achieve the same outcome, because only some AFL football matches are streamed (broadcast) free-to-air. Further, interstate horse racing (except for some significant races) are also not streamed on free-to-air television. The Tribunal accepted Mr Deayton's evidence that he has a strong interest in and is a close follower of both interstate and local horse racing: AAT [176]. The Tribunal found that free-to-air television is not a comparable support that Mr Deayton can access at a substantially lower cost, as it will not achieve the same outcome as the Foxtel support: AAT [177].
Overall, the Tribunal is satisfied that in the specific individual circumstances of Mr Deayton's case, the cost of the Foxtel Support represents "value for money" in that the cost of this support is reasonable, relative to both the benefits achieved and the cost of an alternative support, being the cost of purchasing a ticket permitting him to enter an air-conditioned area of the venue. The Foxtel Support will enable Mr Deayton to have access to watching the horse races and football matches of his choosing and to keep abreast of latest developments in horseracing and football so he is well-informed when conversing and socialising with his personal networks about those activities.
· The Tribunal stated (at AAT [182]) that it is reticent to approve a streaming service for an NDIS participant, because it is a "day-to-day living cost" that is excluded by r 5.1(d) of the Supports Rules, subject to the exceptions in r 5.2. However, the Tribunal was satisfied that the exception in r 5.2(a) applied in Mr Deayton's case:
· The Tribunal concluded that all of the criteria under s 34(1) of the NDIS Act were met in relation to the Foxtel support, and funding for this support was not excluded by reason of r 5.1(d) of the Supports Rules: AAT [184].
· by finding that free-to-air television was not a comparable support to Foxtel;
· by requiring the comparable support to produce the same physical outcome, rather than the same outcome in terms of benefits to Mr Deayton; and
· by not considering if Foxtel was value for money relative to the benefits achieved and cost of alternative support that would produce the same or similar benefits.
· by finding that the Foxtel subscription was incurred "solely and directly" as a result of Mr Deayton's disability support needs; and
· having identified the Foxtel subscription as a day-to-day living cost, by failing to identify any additional cost Mr Deayton incurred above the ordinary cost of the subscription.
[14] Following the decision of the High Court in Comptroller-General of Customs v Pharm-A-Care Laboratories Pty Ltd [2020] HCA 2; (2020) 270 CLR 494 (Pharm-A-Care) (esp at [41]-[45]), the following principles are relevant:
(1) Whether the words used in a statute bear their ordinary meaning is a question of law ....
(2) The question of whether the facts fully found fall within the provision of a statute properly construed will very frequently be exclusively a question of law ....
(3) Special considerations apply where a statute, on examination, is found to use words according to their common understanding and the question is whether the facts as found fall within those words. In such cases, the question raised is whether the conclusion drawn by the tribunal/decision-maker was unreasonable .... If different conclusions are reasonably open, the determination of which is correct is a question of fact ....
(4) A question exclusively of law arises if on the facts only one conclusion is open ....
[15] These principles were encapsulated by the High Court in Pharm-A-Care in a single sentence (at [41]):
Within the bounds of reasonableness, the application or non-application of the common understanding of an expression used in a statute to facts that have been found is itself a question of fact.
[16] A finding of fact can be erroneous in law if the finding is reached through the application of a wrong legal test ... This may occur if the decision-maker has not applied the well understood ordinary meaning of a term but has given to it a meaning or qualification of his or her own ....
· First, the right of appeal under s 44 of the AAT Act does not extend to mixed questions of fact and law where, in order to decide the question of law, the Court must positively determine a question of fact itself, rather than judicially review the Tribunal's fact-finding: Haritos at [192].
· Second, where the facts found are capable of falling within or without the description used in the statute, the decision which side of the line they fall on will generally be a decision of fact and not law: Haritos at [195]. However, a finding of fact may be vitiated by an error of law, such as when the Tribunal has applied the wrong legal test, or there is no evidence to support a particular finding of fact: Haritos at [197], read with [157].
... will in our opinion generally be a question of fact, on the evidence before the decision-maker. Subject to matters such as rationality and legal unreasonableness, there may be an area of decisional freedom in the conclusion reached by a decision-maker about whether a support is properly characterised as a "reasonable and necessary support". The phrase has a qualitative aspect.
This exercise is fact-intensive, and highly individualised to take account of the circumstances of a particular individual: WRMF at [152].
· the decision-maker must be satisfied as mentioned in s 34 in relation to the reasonable and necessary supports that will be funded (and the general supports that will be provided): s 33(5)(c); and
· the decision-maker must apply the NDIS rules made for the purposes of s 35 (s 33(5)(d)). Those rules include rr 5.1 and 5.2 of the Supports Rules: see [30] above.
· selected the wrong comparator to Foxtel (an air-conditioned corporate box, not free-to-air television, with the Agency's oral submissions referring additionally to radio and internet);
· wrongly rejected free-to-air television as a comparable support because the Tribunal required comparable supports to produce the same physical outcome (rather than the same outcome in terms of benefits of Mr Deayton); and
· erred by not considering whether Foxtel was value for money relative to the benefits achieved and the cost of an alternative support that would produce the same or similar benefits.
... the Foxtel support will ensure that Mr Deayton will be able to watch the horse races and the football matches of his choosing. The Tribunal is satisfied that this will assist Mr Deayton to participate socially and economically into the future as a member of the community.
The same point appears in AAT [161], discussing s 34(1)(a) (goals, objectives and aspirations). Similarly, the Tribunal stated (at AAT [183]) that "[i]t is important to customise Mr Deayton's NDIS plan to provide him with supports which respond to the specific ways in which he prefers to socialise with his family and friends".
... additional living costs that are incurred by a participant solely and directly as a result of their disability support needs. (emphasis added)
The point of paragraph 5.2(a) is to permit recovery of everyday costs where those costs relate solely to disability support needs. Thus the telephone bill is out, but transport costs for a person unable to drive or to utilise public transport because of a disability are in. Expenses which are disability-related but which would be incurred anyway even if the person did not have a disability are not recoverable. Thus the fact that a telephone is used for purposes which relate to disability does not make it recoverable if it is used for other non-disability-related purposes too.
· The Tribunal identified that Mr Deayton was seeking a two-hour session of physiotherapy per fortnight (that is, 52 hours per year) and a one-hour session of massage therapy on the alternate week (that is, 26 hours per year), compared to the current funding of 12 hours of physiotherapy and 28 hours for "other professionals": AAT [110]-[111]. The Tribunal added four extra hours for physiotherapy and one extra hour for massage therapy per year, to allow the health practitioners to prepare and issue comprehensive progress supports: AAT [142].
· In considering s 34(1)(b) (social and economic participation), the Tribunal dealt with a submission from the Agency as follows (emphasis added):
· In considering s 34(1)(c) (value for money), the Tribunal again identified that Mr Deayton was requesting one two-hour session of physiotherapy per fortnight and, on the alternate weeks, a one-hour session of massage therapy: AAT [130]. The Tribunal was satisfied (AAT [130]) that this was value for money for the likely benefits that Mr Deayton will receive from having those therapeutic interventions, based on evidence summarised in AAT [110] to [116], [125] and [126]. Those paragraphs include oral evidence of Mr Deayton that he had two-hour sessions with the physiotherapist as she would work on his whole body, and not just part: AAT [115].
· In considering s 34(1)(f) (whether the support could be funded through other general systems), the Tribunal found that the Therapy support was not more appropriately funded under the Medicare Benefits Scheme (MBS). The Tribunal found that the MBS is limited in the level of support it will provide to a person receiving physiotherapy, and "does not provide access to a sufficient intensity of this type of intervention that Mr Deayton seems to require to provide a benefit to him": AAT [138], [140].
· In considering s 34(1)(f) and whether a support is most appropriately funded through the NDIS, rather than another general service system, the Tribunal takes into account factors such as (a) the type of support available under the other general system compared to the NDIS; (b) whether the general system will fund or provide the support to the participant in full, or will partially subsidise it; (c) the availability of the support under the other general system to the participant in question, including whether Mr Deayton is eligible to receive it; and (d) other relevant distinguishing features (if any) between the general system and the NDIS: AAT [83].
· The Tribunal accepted that, as a general proposition, if a person is already receiving a particular disability-related support, it would not be effective or beneficial for them to be funded for that same support under the NDIS: AAT [97]. The Tribunal also accepted that there is no scope for a support to be partially funded under the NDIS: once the CEO has formed the state of satisfaction that the support is reasonable and necessary, and not more appropriately funded or provided through other general systems of service delivery or support services, the support must be fully funded: AAT [98], quoting National Disability Insurance Agency v Foster [2023] FCAFC 11; (2023) 295 FCR 521 at [98] (the Court).
· The Tribunal found that Mr Deayton is eligible and does receive the State annual electricity concession of 17.5%, and also the medical cooling concession in the warmer months. The Tribunal found that Mr Deayton is also eligible to receive the Commonwealth essential medical equipment payment, which is an annual lump sum of $191: AAT [103]. There was no finding that Mr Deayton does in fact receive this lump sum, which explains why the Tribunal's orders state "minus any lump sum payment" from the Commonwealth under its scheme: AAT order [2](a).
· The Tribunal found that there would not be any duplication of supports, because the effect of the State concessions is that Mr Deayton is not charged for a certain component of his excess electricity usage fees: AAT [98]. Mr Deayton was asking for the NDIS to pay 100% of the excess electricity usage charges rendered to him by Origin Energy (that is, after any State-based concessions have been applied). The Tribunal found that Mr Deayton's circumstances were distinguishable from McGarrigle, where the Agency had decided to fund only a portion of the total requested support. The situation also was not inconsistent with Foster, and did not involve any duplication of supports: AAT [104].
· The purpose of the "Victorian-based concessions" (said to include the essential medical equipment payment, although that may merely be a misplaced bracket) was to provide "help" (that is, a subsidy), whereas the NDIS provides full funding. This was a significant distinguishing feature relevant to the determination as to which is more appropriate to fund this support for Mr Deayton: AAT [107].
· Once a decision is made that the support, as identified and described, is reasonable and necessary, then subject to the other requirements in s 33(5) and s 34, the scheme requires and contemplates that support "will" be funded. That can only mean wholly or fully funded: McGarrigle at [94].
· The subject matter of the CEO's approval in s 33(2)(b) is the reasonable and necessary supports that "will" be funded. The language is imperative, and establishes that the relevant gateway established by the legislative scheme is whether the support is "reasonable and necessary", and once through that gateway, the scheme intends the support will be fully funded. There are no references in these provisions to "contributions" from the participant, the participants' family or carers. Parliament did not intend the decision-maker to ask, in forming a state of satisfaction, whether the community could or should make a financial contribution to the funding of a support found by the decision-maker to be reasonable and necessary in order for the participant to work towards the goals, objectives and aspirations set out in the participant's plan: McGarrigle at [95].
· The NDIS Act does not require a decision-maker to either accept "all" of the support proposed or "nothing" of the support proposed. However, the scheme does contemplate that whatever support the decision-maker determines is reasonable and necessary is the support which will be fully funded. In McGarrigle, the Tribunal accepted that five days' transport for Mr McGarrigle was a reasonable and necessary support: having done that, it could not determine that support should only be funded to 75% of its cost. Its function under ss 33 and 34 is not to determine funding proportions. Its function, relevantly, was to determine what supports were necessary and reasonable: McGarrigle at [98].
· The passage was premised on the erroneous conflation of the specific tasks or actions described in guidelines with the activities prescribed by s 24(1)(c), and wrongly identified Mr Foster's requirement for catheters as being for the purpose of improving functioning relating to his self-care: Foster at [97].
· Relevantly to this case, the Full Court held (at [98]) that the Tribunal's statement that Mr Foster should not be confined to obtaining support from the CAPS only was also in error:
The passage also contemplates that Mr Foster should not "be confined" to obtaining support from the CAPS scheme only, implying that he could be funded under both schemes. To the extent that the Tribunal made such a finding, it was in error. There is no scope for support to be partially funded under the NDIS. Once the CEO has formed a state of satisfaction about whether a support is "reasonable and necessary", and "not more appropriately funded or provided through other general systems of service delivery or support services offered by a person, agency or body" (s 34(1)(f)), it must be fully funded: McGarrigle ... at [94] per Mortimer J. (emphasis added)
NEW GROUND 6: EFFECT OF THE 2024 AMENDMENTS AND SUPPORTS TRANSITIONAL RULES
The following supports in the Tribunal's Direction are not NDIS supports for the Respondent pursuant to s 6 of the National Disability Insurance Scheme (Getting the NDIS Back on Track No. 1) (NDIS Supports) Transitional Rules 2024 being:
- the cost of the Respondent's annual subscription to RACV Roadside Assist for a Wheelchair being $25.50 per annum [the RACV support]; and
- the costs associated with the registration and attendance by the Respondent of a training course in respect of the self-management of a NDIS plan so that he may better understand a participant's obligations under s 46 of the NDIS Act when doing so [the Training Course support].
· by s 34(1)(f) as amended, a support cannot be approved under s 34 unless the support is an "NDIS support" as defined in s 10;
· s 10 defines an NDIS support as a support that is declared by the NDIS rules to be an NDIS support, and the NDIS rules can declare that a support is not an NDIS support;
· the Supports Transitional Rules s 5(2) and Sch 2 declare that certain supports are not NDIS supports, including (relevantly) "water, gas and electricity bills" and "subscriptions for streaming services".
(1) This item applies until the commencement of the first National Disability Insurance Scheme rules made for the purposes of subsection 10(1) of the National Disability Insurance Scheme Act 2013, as inserted by this Schedule.
(2) Section 10 of that Act has effect as if a reference in that section to the National Disability Insurance Scheme rules were a reference to rules made under item 138 of this Schedule.
129 Old framework plans - content and approval of statement of participant supports
(1) Subject to subitem (3), sections 33, 34 and 35 of the National Disability Insurance Scheme Act 2013, as in force on and after the commencement of this Schedule, apply in relation to a statement of participant supports included in an old framework plan for a participant if the statement is approved or varied on or after that commencement.
(2) Subitem (1) applies:
(a) whether the participant becomes a participant; and
(b) in the case of a variation - whether the plan comes into effect;
(3) Subsection 33(2A) of the National Disability Insurance Scheme Act 2013, as in force on and after the commencement of this Schedule, applies in relation to a statement of participant supports included in an old framework plan for a participant if:
(a) the statement is approved on or after the commencement (the determination commencement) of the first determination made under subsection 33(2E) of that Act (as inserted by this Schedule); and
(b) the decision to approve the statement is not covered by subitem (4).
(4) This subitem covers the following decisions made on or after the determination commencement:
(a) a decision made by a reviewer under subsection 100(6) of the National Disability Insurance Scheme Act 2013 on review of a decision made by a decision-maker before the determination commencement;
(b) a decision, made by the Administrative Appeals Tribunal, on review of a decision made by a reviewer under that subsection:
(i) before the determination commencement; or
(ii) on or after the determination commencement, if the decision reviewed by the reviewer was made by a decision-maker before the determination commencement.
(5) Subitem (3) applies whether the participant becomes a participant before, on or after the determination commencement.
6 Transitional rule for certain pre-commencement plans
(1) This section applies in relation to a participant if the plan that is in effect for the participant includes a statement of participant supports approved by the CEO before the commencement of Schedule 1 to the amending Act.
(2) A support specified in the statement as a reasonable and necessary support for the participant for the purposes of paragraph 33(2)(b) of the NDIS Act is taken to be an NDIS support for the participant if:
(a) the support is expressed in the statement to be a stated support; or
(b) the Administrative Appeals Tribunal, in making any of the following decisions before the commencement of Schedule 1 to the amending Act:
(i) a decision to vary the statement;
(ii) a decision to approve the statement, having set aside the approval of a different statement of participant supports for the participant;
(iii) a decision to remit the approval of a statement of participant supports for the participant for reconsideration by the CEO;
made a decision to the effect that that particular support should be specified in, or funded under, the plan as a reasonable and necessary support.
(3) For the purposes of subparagraph (2)(b)(iii), it does not matter:
(a) whether the Tribunal remitted the approval of the statement in accordance with any directions or recommendations of the Tribunal; or
(b) whether the Tribunal also set aside the approval of the statement.
(4) Subsection (2) applies:
(a) despite subsection 10(4) of the NDIS Act and subsection 5(2) of this instrument; but
(b) subject to subsection 10(9) of the NDIS Act.
Note 1: Subsection 10(4) of the NDIS Act allows supports to be declared to not be NDIS supports for participants or prospective participants. Those supports are declared under subsection 5(2) of this instrument.
Note 2: Subsection 10(9) of the NDIS Act provides that a support is not an NDIS support for a participant if the support consists of the provision of:
(a) sexual services; or
(b) alcohol; or
(c) drugs, the possession of which is a contravention of a law of the Commonwealth, a State or a Territory.
· Mr Deayton had a plan that included a statement of participant supports that was approved before the commencement of Sch 1 to the 2024 Amending Act on 3 October 2024 (albeit that at this time the supports were those approved by the internal reviewer): cf s 6(1).
· The Tribunal made a decision before 3 October 2024 to remit the approval of a statement of participant supports for the participant for reconsideration by the CEO. That decision was to the effect that specified supports should be specified in, and funded under, the plan as reasonable and necessary supports: cf s 6.2(b).
[Section 6] will ensure a participant who has a support stated in their plan can continue to access that support after commencement if it is not an NDIS support. It will also ensure participants who have received a decision from the Tribunal that identifies a particular support as reasonable and necessary for them can continue to access that support if it is not an NDIS support. This will apply for as long as the relevant plan is in effect.
...
This provision is important to ensure that participants can continue to access supports that are not NDIS supports if they have been specifically identified as reasonable and necessary for the participant prior to the Amending Act commencing. This will provide continuity of supports for a period of time while the participant becomes familiar with the list of supports that are NDIS supports and is able to select alternatives, if applicable.
Paragraph 6(2)(b) is included as a safeguard for participants who have received a Tribunal decision, because their plan will not always state each individual support as reasonable and necessary. This provision will ensure any support assessed as reasonable and necessary by the Tribunal will continue to be available until the participant receives their next plan. It will also capture supports that are included in a participant's plan as a result of a remittal under section 42D of the Administrative Appeals Tribunal Act 1975, whether those supports are specifically stated in the participant's plan or not.
· As noted, item 129(1) of Sch 1 to the 2024 Amendment Act provides that ss 33 to 35 of the NDIS Act, in their amended form, apply in relation to a statement of participant supports included in an old framework plan for a participant "if the statement is approved or varied on or after that commencement [that is, 3 October 2024]". The reference to "variation" would mean variation in accordance with s 47A of the NDIS Act. Here, the Tribunal's decision required the Agency to re-exercise the power of approval on remittal. The issue then becomes what step amounted to the "approval" of Mr Deayton's plan for these purposes: is it the directions given by the Tribunal, or the Agency's implementation of those directions?
· There is much to be said for the view that the relevant "approval" of Mr Deayton's plan was constituted by the Tribunal's directions that the Agency approve funding for the specified supports, not the later step of the Agency implementing those directions. Once the Tribunal issued its directions, the better view is that the Agency was bound to take account of and give effect to those directions: see, for example, Re Devine and Commonwealth of Australia (1982) 5 ALN N28 at N30; see also Maurangi v Bowen [2012] FCA 15; (2012) 200 FCR 191 at [20] (Lander J); Collector of Customs v LNC (Wholesale) Pty Ltd (No 2) [1989] FCA 703; (1989) 19 ALD 341 at 346 (Davies J) (the primary decision-maker has both a power and a duty to give effect to a Tribunal decision promptly and in good faith). The date of the Tribunal's directions is fixed and certain, and focusing on this date gives item 129(1) an operation consistent with item 129(3) to (4) (which apply the new s 33(2A)), especially item 129(4)(b). As with the Agency's construction of s 6(2), the alternative construction would give item 129(1) an arbitrary operation, which would depend on the happenstance of when the Agency had gotten around to implementing the Tribunal's directions.
· Here, the Tribunal's directions were given on 16 September 2024. Those directions were consistent with the NDIS Act and NDIS rules at the time they were made. The effect of those directions is preserved by s 6 of the Supports Transitional Rules, as set out above. If the date of the Tribunal's directions is the date on which Mr Deayton's plan was approved (as suggested above), then his plan was approved before the commencement of the 2024 Amendment Act, and therefore item 129(1) does not apply the amended ss 33 to 35 of the NDIS Act in relation to the statement of participant supports included in his plan.
I certify that the preceding one hundred and thirty-eight (138) numbered paragraphs are a true copy of the Reasons for Judgment of the Honourable Justice Hill.
National Disability Insurance Agency
Deayton [2025] FCA 562
(2015) 233 FCR 315
(2012) 200 FCR 191
(2013) 230 FCR 431
(2024) 303 FCR 342
(2020) 276 FCR 415
(2022) 275 CLR 582
(2003) 236 FCR 593
(2017) 252 FCR 121
(2009) 180 FCR 510
(2023) 295 FCR 521
(2022) 295 FCR 379
(2020) 270 CLR 494