© 2026 Zoe. All rights reserved.
Zoe is a legal information platform. Always consult the Federal Register of Legislation for authoritative text.
[2004] VSCA 161
Court of Appeal (Vic)
2004-09-10
WINNEKE, P., CALLAWAY and NETTLE, JJ.A.
Original judgment source is linked above.
[ 2004] VSCA 161
Accident compensation - Independent medical examination "to obtain ... a determination" for purposes of s.98E - Whether determination binding on Authority - Condition precedent to referral of medical questions to medical panel - Whether words should be read in to effect Parliament's intention - Accident Compensation Act 1985, ss.39, 52, 98C, 98E, 104B.
"pay little regard to the contexual setting into which they were introduced, and have added to the difficulties which have been faced by the Courts of this State generally in interpreting this constantly changing legislative scheme ..."[3]
The same remarks are apposite to the amendments made to s.104B of the Act by Act No.26 of 2000, which were calculated to amend the scheme of that section which had been introduced into the legislation by Act No. 107 of 1997.
the Authority to know whether the injury was a "total loss" within the meaning of s.98E. The fact that knowledge of each of these three matters was of significance to the Authority in the overall scheme of the legislation makes it unlikely, in my view, that the word "assessments" where used in sub-ss.(7) and (9) are intended to comprehend the word "determination".
"I can confirm that your specific question is in regard to `total loss' under section 98E of the Accident Compensation Act. I would reply by stating that I consider the patient may be able to undergo `retraining' as indicated on page 5 of my report (item 6) however I cannot believe that the patient would ever be able to return to his former occupation as a stevedore which has been his predominant employment during his working life. I have described the patient's continuing symptoms of lumbar radiculopathy. Specifically, from the section 98E - Compensation Table, in my opinion the patient would rate under `total impairment of the spine' insomuch that he has a total inability to perform his normal duties. Further to this comment, I believe it has been established following a recent decision by Judge Lewis that this patient's condition should be appropriately considered as a `total impairment of the spine'."
"1. In concluding that the Authority was bound to apply the opinion of Mr Carter, contained in his written report dated 19 September 2002, in advising the worker of the assessments and the entitlement to compensation for the purposes of s.104B(6) of the Act, the learned trial judge erred in law. 2. The learned trial judge should have concluded that the Authority was not mandatorily required to apply the opinion of Mr Carter in undertaking its statutory function under s.104B(6) of the Act. 3. Alternatively to ground 2, the learned trial judge should have concluded that, because the opinion of Mr Carter was, on its face, erroneous, for that reason the Authority was not mandatorily required to apply the opinion of Mr Carter in undertaking that statutory function. 4. The learned trial judge should have concluded that the independent medical examiner applied the wrong legal test when considering whether the respondent had total impairment of his spine in that he considered that a total inability to perform his normal duties (as a wharf labourer/stevedore) constituted such impairment."
"(5) The purpose of the independent examination is to obtain - (a) assessments in accordance with section 91 as to the degree of permanent impairment, if any, of the worker resulting from the injury to the worker - (i) for the purposes of determining the entitlement of the worker, if any, to compensation under section 98C; and (ii) for the purposes of sections 134AB(3) and 134AB(15); and (b) a determination as to whether the worker has an injury which is a total loss mentioned in the Table to section 98E(1)."
"(6) The Authority ... must within 14 days of obtaining the assessments and determination advise the worker of the assessments and the entitlement to compensation, if any, under section 98C or 98E and of the consequences as specified in sub-section (11A) of confirming in writing that he or she wishes to receive any compensation to which he or she is entitled."
"(9) The Authority ... must within 14 days of being advised by the worker that the worker disputes either of the assessments refer the medical questions as to the degree of permanent impairment resulting from the injury to the worker for both the purposes specified in sub-section (5)(a) and whether the worker has an injury which is a total loss mentioned in the Table to section 98E(1) to a Medical Panel for its opinion under section 67. (10) The Authority ... must within 14 days of obtaining the opinion of the Medical Panel under section 67 advise the worker of the opinion and the entitlement of the worker, if any, under section 98C or section 98E and of the consequences as specified in sub-section (11A) of confirming in writing that he or she wishes to receive any compensation to which he or she is entitled.
...
(12) No appeal lies to any court or Tribunal from an assessment or opinion - (a) as to the degree of permanent impairment of a worker resulting from an injury; or (b) as to whether a worker has an injury which is a total loss mentioned in the Table to section 98E(1)."
order below and, in lieu thereof, order that there be judgment for the defendants.
"(5) The purpose of the independent examination is to obtain- (a) assessments in accordance with section 91 as to the degree of permanent impairment, if any, of the worker resulting from the injury to the worker- (i) for the purposes of determining the entitlement of the worker, if any, to compensation under section 98C; and (ii) for the purposes of sections 134AB(3) and 134AB(15); and (b) a determination as to whether the worker has an injury which is a total loss mentioned in the Table to section 98E(1)."
Evidently, the "assessments" which are referred to in s.104B(5)(a) are conceived of as being different to the "determination" which is referred to in s.104B(5)(b).
"(6) The Authority or self-insurer must within 14 days of obtaining the assessments and determination advise the worker of the assessments and the entitlement to compensation, if any, under section 98C or 98E and of the consequences as specified in sub-section (11A) of confirming in writing that he or she wishes to receive any compensation to which he or she is entitled." (Emphasis added).
"(7) The worker must within 14 days of being advised under sub-section (6) advise the Authority or self-insurer as to whether the worker accepts or disputes each of the assessments and, if the worker accepts both of the assessments, whether or not the worker accepts or disputes the entitlement to compensation, if any, under section 98C or 98E and if the worker accepts the entitlement to compensation, whether or not he or she wishes to receive the compensation to which he or she is entitled."
"(9) The Authority or self-insurer must within 14 days of being advised by the worker that the worker disputes either of the assessments refer the medical questions as to the degree of permanent impairment resulting from the injury to the worker for the relevant purposes specified in sub-section (5)(a) and whether the worker has an injury which is a total loss mentioned in the Table to section 98E(1) to a Medical Panel for its opinion under section 67."
"(10) The Authority or self-insurer must within 14 days of obtaining the opinion of the Medical Panel under section 67 advise the worker of the opinion and the entitlement of the worker, if any, under section 98C or section 98E and of the consequences as specified in sub-section (11A) of confirming in writing that he or she wishes to receive any compensation to which he or she is entitled."
"(12) No appeal lies to any court or Tribunal from an assessment or opinion- (a) as to the degree of permanent impairment of a worker resulting from an injury; or (b) as to whether a worker has an injury which is a total loss mentioned in the Table to section 98E(1)."
"...permanent impairment assessments will be conducted using the fourth edition of the American Medical Association Guides to the Evaluation of Permanent Impairment developed in 1993..."[19] and that: "...a number of changes will be made to improve the efficiency of the dispute resolution process. Opinions of the medical panels will be made final and conclusive irrespective of who referred the medical question and must be adopted by the courts as the answer to the medical question...[20]" and that: "The government considers that doctors, not lawyers, are the best qualified people to offer medical opinions. Currently, the opinion of a medical panel on a medical question is binding only when a court has referred a medical question to the panel. This gives rise to `duelling experts' which becomes an obstacle to the resolution of disputes, leads to their escalation and drives up costs unnecessarily. Therefore, and in line with practice in other jurisdictions, the act will require that the opinion of a medical panel on a medical question be final and conclusive irrespective of who referred the medical question and the opinion must be adopted by the courts as the answer to that question."[21]
[1] Act No. 107 of 1997 and Act No. 26 of 2000.
[2] [2004] VSCA 108 at [2].
[3] See also the comments made in the same case by Ormiston, J.A. at [5].
[4] Sub-sections (5)(a) and (b); and (6).
[6] The respondent claimed to be entitled to bring the proceeding pursuant to s.39. That was contested below but was not the subject of submissions before us.
[7] The authenticated order is practically unintelligible, but his Honour's intention emerges from the transcript of his reasons.
[8] In particular, there was compliance with s.52(2), in contrast with the position in Keon-Cohen v. Victorian Workcover Authority (2002) 4 V.R. 367. Section 52 is in urgent need of amendment: see Linfox Transport (Australia) Pty. Ltd. v. Toohey [2004] VSCA 122.
[10] As originally enacted by Act No. 107 of 1997, s.104B(5)(a) referred to only one assessment and subsequent sub-sections referred simply to "the assessment". The present form of sub-s.(5)(a), referring to two assessments, was substituted by Act No. 26 of 2000 and sub-ss.(6), (7), (8) and (9) were amended to refer to "the assessments", "each of the assessments", "both of the assessments" and "either of the assessments". Section 104B was amended again by Act No. 82 of 2001. Since then sub-s.(5)(a) has contained three sub-paragraphs and the periods of 14 days referred to in these reasons have become periods of 60 days.
[11] (1987) 11 N.S.W.L.R. 404 at 422-423.
[12] [1980] A.C. 74 at 105-106. The case is reported as Wentworth Securities Ltd. v. Jones, in addition to its title below. I am told that it is, in fact, more correct to cite such a case in the House of Lords by its title below, so that McHugh, J.A. did not err, as James, J. appears to have thought in R. v. Young [1999] NSWCCA 166; (1999) 46 N.S.W.L.R. 681 at 734 [291]. See also Practice Direction (House of Lords: Case Title) [1974] 1 W.L.R. 305.
[13] See R. v. Young at 685 [3]-[37] and 730 [269]-[318].
[14] Compare Cooper Brookes (Wollongong) Pty. Ltd. v. Federal Commissioner of Taxation [1981] HCA 26; (1981) 147 C.L.R. 297.
[15] As originally enacted, sub-s.(9) did refer to "the assessment and the entitlement to compensation". Unfortunately, even in that version, it appeared to be a condition precedent that the worker dispute both the assessment and the entitlement. For similar reasons to those given above, it would have been necessary to read "and" as "or". The words "either of the assessments" were substituted for "the assessment and the entitlement to compensation" by s.16(4)(d)(i) of Act No. 26 of 2000.
[16] A medical panel, unlike an individual medical practitioner, is better able to answer such a question. See Victorian WorkCover Authority v. Del Borgo [2004] VSCA 108 at [82].
[17] See ground 4 and the terms of Mr Carter's letter set out in [10] above.
[18] Willmott v. Friway One Pty. Ltd., 21st November 2001.
[19] Victorian Parliamentary Hansard, Legislative Assembly, 12 November 1997, at p. 1075.
Victorian WorkCover Authority & Anor
Wilson [2004] VSCA 161