[2025] VSCA 294
General information, not legal advice.
Court of Appeal (Vic)
2025-11-28
Niall CJ, Leish JA, Lyons JA
Original judgment source is linked above.
Sayers Property Holdings Pty Ltd v AIG Australia Ltd [2024] VSC 139 (Garde J)
CONTRACT - Contract of insurance covering loss 'resulting from' a 'claim' - Applicant made claim to recover loss arising from settlement of proceeding commenced by applicant against third party - Applicant sought specific performance of contract with third party for sale of land - Applicant spent $5,350,140 to construct gaming venue on land - Counterclaim sought to set aside contract of sale on grounds including breach of fiduciary duties - Counterclaim sought equitable compensation in alternative - Proceeding settled - Applicant agreed to purchase land from third party for increased price - Loss claimed by applicant $1,971,604 reflecting difference between purchase price in settlement agreement and previously agreed price - Definition of 'claim' included proceeding seeking 'compensation or other legal remedy' - Whether 'claim' extended to non-monetary claim - Judge found equitable compensation claim only component of counterclaim within definition of 'claim'.
INSURANCE - Contract of insurance covering 'loss' 'resulting from' a 'claim' - Judge found settlement amount reflected various commercial and legal benefits - Judge found settlement amount not attributable to counterclaim - Whether 'obligation to pay under settlement' constituted 'loss' - Whether 'loss' required establishment of underlying liability independent of settlement - Express reference to settlements in definition of 'loss'.
INSURANCE - Settlement - Reasonableness of settlement - Judge found settlement not reasonable because settlement amount attributable to larger commercial agreement - Legal advice of significant risk counterclaim would succeed - Counsel considered settlement amount within scope of potential liability if counterclaim successful - Settlement amount represented cost of settling counterclaim and avoiding risks posed by counterclaim to applicant's business - Settlement reasonable - Leave to appeal granted - Appeal allowed.
WORDS AND PHRASES - 'claim' - 'loss' - 'resulting from'.
National Australia Bank Ltd v Nautilus Insurance Pte Ltd [No 3] [2019] FCA 2139; AstraZeneca Insurance Company Ltd v XL Insurance (Bermuda) Ltd [2013] EWCA Civ 1660; [2014] 2 All ER (Comm) 55; CIMIC Group Ltd v AIG Group Ltd [2022] NSWSC 999; Delta Pty Ltd v Team Rock Anchors Pty Ltd [2018] 1 Qd R 564, referred to; Weir Services Australia Pty Ltd v AXA Corporate Solutions Assurance (2018) 359 ALR 314, discussed.
(a) on 8 September 2011, Di Dio and Sayers entered into a building contract for the construction of a gaming venue and car park on the land;
(b) on 19 October 2011, Di Dio, Sayers and Mr Salvalaggio entered into a project management agreement, pursuant to which Mr Salvalaggio was appointed project manager;
(c) on 27 March 2014 Di Dio and Sayers executed the lease, which had a commencement date of 10 September 2012;
(d) as mentioned above, by 31 July 2013, construction costs as estimated by Sayers' solicitor had reached $5,350,140;
(e) on 9 September 2015, Sayers notified Di Dio that it exercised the option to purchase the land; and
(f) on 7 October 2015, Di Dio notified Sayers of its intention to exercise the option to acquire the shares.
Di Dio has also provided a Particulars of Loss and Damage. ... Di Dio's claim for loss arises as an alternative to its principal claim that the option agreement be set aside. One possibility is that if the court finds a breach of duty, instead of setting aside the option agreement, the court could compensate Di Dio for any loss if proven. Di Dio's loss, as particularised, is founded on 3 alternatives measured against the contract price:
• against a valuation of $10.35M (being the value at the time the option was exercised)
• against a valuation of $11.9M (being the current value of the land); and
• against the value of an alternative motel development at $10.95M.
The last alternative is unlikely to be relevant ... In providing details of the loss, Di Dio has not taken into account the value of acquiring an interest in Sayers. Di Dio has also failed to provide a calculation of loss based on the value of the land in 2009 when the agreements were executed.
Further conduct of proceeding.
...
We are discussing the matter with counsel who is of the view that instead of procuring expert reports on the value of the business to properly assess any loss Di Dio claims, that a mediation be held to determine what it would take to resolve the matter without providing Di Dio any interest in Sayers. Ultimately, if you succeed in the litigation, Di Dio will have a right to a share in the business, which for obvious reasons is perhaps no longer tenable for the current owners.
(a) Sayers agreed to purchase the property, including all improvements and fixtures, from Di Dio for the price of $11 million plus GST on the same terms and conditions set out in the amended contract of sale including variations sought by Di Dio or as required by the terms of settlement; > > (b) the share option was cancelled; > > (c) the settlement of the sale of the property was agreed to take place within 30 days after registration of the plan of subdivision; > > (d) Di Dio agreed to proceed to register the plan of subdivision expeditiously but by no later than 1 May 2020. If it failed to do so, rental payments would stop on 1 May 2020; > > (e) Di Dio would provide Sayers with documents and information as to its communications with the Wyndham City Council and Land Victoria, and as to any capital gains tax that might be triggered by the surrender of the share option; and > > (f) wide releases were granted by all parties.[4]
1. Corporate Liability
The Insurer shall pay the Loss of any Company arising from Corporate Liability.
...
any liability arising from any actual or alleged act, error or omission of a Company, except with respect to any Employment Practices Liability or Third Party Liability.
(b) a civil, regulatory, mediation, administrative or arbitration proceeding, including a counter-claim, seeking compensation or other legal remedy;
(ii) an Investigation or Critical Regulatory Event;
21. Loss
any amount which the Insured is legally liable to pay resulting from a Claim made against an Insured, including Defence Costs, Investigation Costs and all other costs and expenses payable under this policy, awards of damages (including punitive and exemplary damages), awards of costs or settlements (including claimant's legal costs and expenses), pre- and post- judgment interest on a covered judgment or award, and the multiplied portion of multiple damages. ...
(a) the 2017 proceeding was a claim for specific performance of the land option and some transaction documents by which Sayers had exercised an option to purchase the property from Di Dio for about $8.9 million; > > (b) Di Dio's counterclaim primarily sought that the land option and related transaction documents be set aside, enjoined or avoided;
(e) Sayers mischaracterised the counterclaim against it. The counterclaim was for orders setting aside or avoiding the agreements and, alternatively to that, for unspecified equitable compensation;
(f) the fact that Sayers agreed to pay more than the contracted purchase price does not establish any causal link between the counterclaim and the excess paid; and
(g) Sayers had the burden of proof that the legal liability to pay the claimed amount resulted from the equitable compensation claim in the counterclaim.[6]
It was not disputed that the definition of 'Loss' in the policy extended to awards of damages including equitable compensation but did not apply to claims of a non-monetary character. The only claim made against Sayers to which the definition of 'Loss' could relate was the claim for equitable compensation. The other claims against Sayers were non-monetary and did not give rise to any amount which Sayers was legally liable to pay.[7]
(1) did the obligation to pay the increased purchase price of $11,000,000 agreed in the terms of settlement 'result from' Di Dio's counterclaim against Sayers for equitable compensation; and
(2) if so, was the claimed amount a reasonable settlement of the claim for equitable compensation made by Di Dio in the counterclaim?[8]
Necessarily, a policy of insurance is assumed to be an agreement which the parties intend to produce a commercial result; as such, it ought to be given a businesslike interpretation being the construction which a reasonable business person would give to it. The contract is naturally enough interpreted, in a temporal sense, as at the date on which it was entered into. The Courts frequently have regard to the contextual framework in which a contract is formed, to the extent to which it is known by both parties, to assist in identifying its purpose and commercial objective. It goes without saying that a construction that avoids capricious, unreasonable, inconvenient or unjust consequences, is to be preferred where the words of the agreement permit.[9]
(1) It is trite that the process of construing insurance contracts is governed by ordinary principles of contractual interpretation. A clause in an insurance policy must be considered in the context of the policy as a whole, and the policy must be set in its surrounding circumstances or factual matrix, including, if excess policies are involved, the broad scheme of insurance cover intended to provide layers of insurance against the same risk.
(2) The court seeks to give effect to the intention of the parties based on the meaning of the words used and based on what a reasonable person would have understood the language to convey. Further, where words are unambiguous, they cannot be ignored simply to reach a result that is apparently more commercially convenient. Preference is given to a construction supplying a congruent operation to the various components of the whole and to avoid making commercial nonsense.
(3) Regard may be had to the 'genesis, aim and purpose' of the contract and a commercially sensible construction is to be preferred.
(4) An objective approach is taken to the construction process. Subjective intention of the parties is only relevant to rectification.[10]
In Australia, the foundational case for the construction of the phrase 'resulting from' is Kooragang Cement Pty Ltd v Bates,[12] where the New South Wales Court of Appeal reviewed previous authorities in Australia and the United Kingdom and held that where causation is an issue the case must be determined on its own facts. Kirby P ... rejected the notion that the phrase 'results from' imports an idea of causation limited to the immediate proximate cause.[13] Kirby P accepted that the occurrence of events which gave rise to a predisposition was not, of itself, sufficient to satisfy a 'results from' test. What was required was a common sense evaluation of the causal chain.[14]
Having reviewed the pleadings, it was my view at this stage of the proceedings that there would be complexities associated with a Court unravelling all the conduct of the parties under the agreements ... . An order setting aside the Agreement to Lease (and any other transaction documents) would give rise to a real possibility that Di Dio would be enriched by the grant of such relief without any just allowance for the [construction] work done and improvements made [on the property] by Sayers. However, there remained a real risk in my view that subject to some form of equitable adjustments, the Agreement for Lease could be set aside.[18]
The greatest risk and concern to Sayers was that the land option, [the] contract of sale and other transaction documents might be rescinded, cancelled or set aside. This would leave Sayers with a large investment in fit out and other costs on the property which it could not recover.[19]
(a) made no mention of the claimed amount of $1,971,604; > > (b) made no mention of the claim by Di Dio for equitable compensation; > > (c) made no provision for Mr Salvalaggio to contribute to the settlement; > > (d) achieved separation of Sayers' and Di Dio's property and financial interests so that Di Dio had no continuing interest in, or involvement with, Sayers; > > (e) expedited settlement of the sale of the property to Sayers; > > (f) cancelled the share option which avoided the prospect that Di Dio might become a minority shareholder in Sayers and a lender to Sayers; > > (g) bound the parties to seek orders to dismiss the proceeding, including the counterclaim, with no order as to costs; and > > (h) were made in the context that Best Hooper would contribute $300,000 towards Di Dio's costs.[20]
(a) resolution of Sayers' claim against Di Dio for specific performance; > > (b) resolution of Di Dio's equitable claims against Sayers including its claims for breach of fiduciary duty, unconscionable conduct, and Barnes v Addy claims; > > (c) resolution of Di Dio's statutory claims against Sayers under s 51AC(1) of the Trade Practices Act and s 21(1) of the Australian Consumer Law; > > (d) significant commercial benefits for Sayers including the cancellation of the share option valued by Sayers at $967,100, expedited registration of the plan of subdivision and expedited compliance by Di Dio with the applicable planning permit conditions and Council requirements; > > (e) separation of Sayers and Di Dio's property and financial interests; and > > (f) resolution of respective claims for legal costs.[23]
It would be contrary to common sense to ascribe the whole of the increased purchase price to the claim for equitable compensation thereby disregarding all of the other benefits obtained by Sayers from the terms of settlement.[25]
[the] increased purchase price was part of a global or 'all in' commercial agreement negotiated between the parties which effected a rearrangement of their legal, financial and property interests as well as the resolution of the litigation between them.[26]
The onus of demonstrating that a settlement amount is reasonable rests on the party relying on a settlement as proof of its loss.
The test of reasonableness is an objective test. The subjective reasoning of the party relying on the settlement does not determine whether the settlement amount was reasonable.
The reasonableness of a settlement amount depends on the circumstances existing at the time of settlement. The settlement amount must be assessed based on the material the parties had available to them at that time and cannot be judged on material obtained later.
Demonstrating reasonableness requires proof not only that the result was reasonable but also that the negotiations were conducted with proper care and skill. The settlement amount must reflect the relevant party's true prospects of success if the proceeding had been conducted with care and skill because otherwise it will merely reflect that party's impaired prospects. The risk involved in the litigation and the reasoning which led to the settlement are the factors that will determine whether or not the settlement amount was reasonable. The assessment of reasonableness will often require consideration of whether the party that later seeks to rely on the settlement had made sufficient inquiries and had sufficient information available to it to warrant making a compromise. That party must have acted reasonably in discovering the circumstances material to the settlement at the time of settlement. This may invite consideration of whether the cost of obtaining further information would outweigh the benefit, but knowledge of the opposite party's brief to counsel is not assumed.
There is no single answer to the question of what will constitute a reasonable settlement amount. That question requires consideration of the chances of the parties succeeding in their respective claims or defences. Prediction of likely outcomes in litigation is imperfect and imprecise. For this reason, in each case there will be a range within which a settlement amount will be reasonable.[27]
It is not open to conclude, as Sayers must establish, that the increased purchase price was a fair and reasonable settlement of the monetary claim made by Di Dio for equitable compensation by Sayers. It was not directly linked with the claim for equitable compensation. There was little, if any, nexus between the claim by Di Dio against Sayers for equitable compensation and the increased purchase price paid by Sayers to ensure that it obtained all of the benefits that it received under the terms of settlement. It is not possible for the Court to allocate or apportion the purchase price of the property amongst all of the different legal and commercial benefits that Sayers obtained.[30]
(1) The judge erred in finding that the only Claim (as defined in the policy) relevant to the question of Loss (as also defined) was the equitable compensation claim in the counterclaim.
(2) The judge erred in failing to conclude that the Loss for which Sayers was legally liable under the settlement agreement 'resulted from' all of the claims in the counterclaim.
(3) The judge erred in concluding that the settlement was not reasonable in all the circumstances.
(4) The judge failed to assess and apply the legal principles, and to assess the relevant factors, by which reasonableness is determined.
(5) The judge failed to accept that the Loss was reasonable or to determine what amount was reasonable.
If the above grounds are not made out, the following grounds are proposed in the alternative:
(6) The judge erred by failing to conclude that the Loss for which Sayers was legally liable under the settlement agreement 'resulted from' the equitable compensation claim.
(7) The judge failed to find that the settlement agreement was reasonable as a settlement of the equitable compensation claim.
Ground 1: did the judge err in finding that the equitable compensation claim was the only relevant 'Claim'?
was not disputed that the definition of 'Loss' in the policy extended to awards of damages including equitable compensation but did not apply to claims of a non-monetary character.[34]
Ground 2: causation - did the settlement amount 'result from' the counterclaim?
The notion that an agreement between the parties may be the source of a liability of the insured for the purposes of a liability policy was recognised by the House of Lords in Post Office v Norwich Union Fire Insurance Society Ltd.[45] Lord Denning MR was there of the opinion that, under a policy specifying that the insured only acquired rights against the insurer when his or her liability to the injured person had been established, it was necessary that that liability be 'ascertained and determined to exist, either by judgment of the court or by an award in arbitration or by agreement'.[46] Lord Salmon said that 'whether or not there is any legal liability ... can, in my view, only be finally ascertained either by agreement ... or by an action or arbitration'.[47]
In Orica Ltd v CGU Insurance Ltd, Spigelman CJ referred to these observations of Lord Denning and Lord Salmon when saying:[48]
- There is a line of authority with respect to policies of liability insurance that the liability of the insurer arises only as and when the liability of the insured is established in the sense of being crystallised by settlement, arbitration or verdict.[49]
Under English law a liability policy is, generally speaking and in the absence of wording to the contrary, a policy which indemnifies the insured in respect of actual liability. That means that, in order to recover from his insurer the insured must show that he was liable to the person who claimed against him. Liability cannot be determined in a legal vacuum. Hence the need to assume, for this purpose, a correct application of the law governing the claim in question to the facts properly found.
In the event of dispute the existence of liability has to be established to the satisfaction of the insurer, or, failing that, by the judge or arbitrator who has jurisdiction to decide such a dispute. It is not, therefore, necessarily sufficient for the insured to show that he has been held liable to a claimant by some court or tribunal or that he has agreed to settle with him. In practice the fact that this has occurred may cause or persuade the insurer to pay, but, if it does not, the insured must prove that he was actually liable.[50]
In order to recover under a conventional liability policy, the assured must show that it was under a legal liability to the third-party claimant; that the liability is covered by the insurance, and (in the case of a settlement) that any amount paid by way of settlement was reasonable.[59]
To establish a liability, a settlement 'must not only be reasonable but also bona fide'.[60] The question of reasonableness is to be determined, 'based on a reasonable assessment of the risk faced by [the insured] if the [third party] claims were to proceed to trial and judgment'.[61] The settlement 'must reflect the plaintiff's true prospects of success if the proceedings had been conducted with care and skill'.[62] The insured is 'required to have regard to the proper interests of the insurer and [can] not claim indemnity under the policy in respect of amounts payable under a settlement which [does] not reflect, by its terms, a reasonable evaluation of the prospects of a successful defence to a third party's claim'.[63] Monies paid for an ulterior purpose, that is a purpose 'extraneous to the risks insured against', will mean that there is not such a bona fide settlement of a liability.[64] In the Distillers Bio-Chemicals case, [Stephen J] gave examples of extraneous reasons which might motivate an insured to settle: monies paid to avoid adverse publicity or to relieve a parent company of its part in liability for a dangerous product.[65] It is not that such matters make the settlement unreasonable generally: they may provide sensible commercial reasons to settle. But in terms of the rule currently under discussion, these extraneous motives mean that the settlement is not reasonable because it is not a bona fide or accurate measure of liability in the action.[66]
Grounds 6 and 7: the equitable compensation claim
[2] Sayers Property Holdings Pty Ltd v AIG Australia Ltd [2024] VSC 139, [43]-[48] (Garde J) ('Reasons').
[9] [2018] FCAFC 119; (2018) 360 ALR 92, 100-1 [33] (Allsop CJ, Lee and Derrington JJ) (citations omitted); [2018] FCAFC 119, cited at Reasons [30].
[10] [2022] NSWSC 999 [122] (citations omitted), cited at Reasons [31].
[12] (1994) 35 NSWLR 452, 463-4 (Kirby P, Sheller JA agreeing at 465, Powell JA agreeing at 465) ('Kooragang').
[14] Reasons [35]. Among other cases, the judge also referred to The Star Entertainment Group Ltd v Chubb Insurance Australia Ltd [2021] FCA 907; (2021) 396 ALR 590, 609 [95] (Allsop CJ) ('Star Entertainment'); [2021] FCA 907 and Certain Underwriters at Lloyd's of London v Allianz Australia Insurance Ltd [2018] VSC 735 [48] (Riordan J).
[16] King v Lintrose Nominees Pty Ltd (1993) V ConvR 54-483, 65,621 (Hayne J); Maguire v Makaronis [1997] HCA 23; (1997) 188 CLR 449, 467 (Brennan CJ, Gaudron, McHugh and Gummow JJ).
[27] [2014] VSCA 338 [744]-[749] (Tate, Santamaria and Kyrou JJA) (citations omitted) ('Protec').
[31] Water Board v Moustakas (1988) 180 CLR 491, 497 (Mason CJ, Wilson, Brennan and Dawson JJ).
[33] AIG did not suggest that it was prejudiced in any way by Sayers advancing the argument in ground 1, even if it was not run at trial.
[35] Encyclopaedic Australian Legal Dictionary (online at 5 November 2025) 'compensation'.
[36] [2019] FCA 2139 [31]-[32] (Lee J).
[37] [2022] NSWSC 999 [414].
[38] Kooragang (1994) 35 NSWLR 452, 463-4 (Kirby P, Sheller JA agreeing at 465, Powell JA agreeing at 465); Smart v AAI Ltd [2015] NSWSC 392 [200] (Beech-Jones J); Star Entertainment [2021] FCA 907; (2021) 396 ALR 590, 609 [95] (Allsop CJ). See also March v E & MH Stramare Pty Ltd [1991] HCA 12; (1991) 171 CLR 506, 515 (Mason CJ, Toohey J agreeing at 524, Gaudron J agreeing at 525).
[39] Young v Chief Executive Officer (Housing) [2023] HCA 31; (2023) 278 CLR 208, 231-2 [60] (Gordon and Edelman JJ); Tapp v Australian Bushmen's Campdraft & Rodeo Association Ltd [2022] HCA 11; (2022) 273 CLR 454, 487-8 [101] (Gordon, Edelman and Gleeson JJ); Fisher v Nonconformist Pty Ltd [2024] NSWCA 32; (2024) 114 NSWLR 1, 26-9 [103]-[115] (Kirk JA, Meagher JA agreeing at 4 [1], Simpson AJA agreeing at 35 [149]).
[40] (2018) 359 ALR 314; [2018] NSWCA 100, [3]-[4] (Meagher JA), [74]-[76] (Barrett AJA).
[42] CIMIC [2022] NSWSC 999 [408].
[44] (2018) 359 ALR 314, 315 [2] (Meagher JA).
[48] [2003] NSWCA 331; (2003) 59 NSWLR 14, 20 [15].
[49] (2018) 359 ALR 314, 328 [63]-[64]; see also White JA at 317-8 [17]-[18].
[50] [2013] EWCA Civ 1660; [2014] 2 All ER (Comm) 55, 61-2 [16]-[17] (Christopher Clarke LJ, Briggs LJ agreeing at 74 [84], Moore-Bick LJ agreeing at 74 [85]).
[51] [1974] HCA 3; (1974) 130 CLR 1 ('Distillers').
[52] Nautilus [2019] FCA 2139 [13].
[53] See, eg, Vero Insurance Ltd v Baycorp Advantage Ltd [2004] NSWCA 390 [48]-[49] (Tobias JA, Giles JA agreeing at [1], McColl JA agreeing at [89]) ('Vero Insurance'); Delta Pty Ltd v Mechanical and Construction Insurance Pty Ltd [2019] 3 Qd R 438, 449 [13] n 5 (Fraser JA, McMurdo JA agreeing at 495 [159], Flanagan J agreeing at 495 [163]); Royal and Sun Alliance Insurance PLC v DMS Maritime Pty Ltd [2019] QCA 264 [34]-[35] (McMurdo JA, Fraser JA agreeing at [12]), and see generally, Kirsty Sutherland, 'An Uneasy compromise: An Analysis of the Effect of a Settlement Reached by an Insured with a Third Party Claimant vis-à-vis his or her Insurer' (1998) 9 Insurance Law Journal 1; JE Marshall and JAC Potts, 'Indemnity for settlements: Proof of underling liability' (2008) 19 Insurance Law Journal 97; Roger N Traves, '"In what circumstances is an insurer bound by a judgment or settlement against its insured?" (an Australian perspective)' (2015) 26 Insurance Law Journal 209.
[54] [2022] NSWSC 999 [408].
[55] Unity Insurance Brokers Pty Ltd v Rocco Pezzano Pty Ltd (1998) 192 CLR 603, 616 [35] (McHugh J), 653 [129] (Hayne J) ('Unity Insurance'); Protec [2014] VSCA 338 [745], [751]-[753] (Tate, Santamaria and Kyrou JJA).
[56] Protec [2014] VSCA 338 [756] (Tate, Santamaria and Kyrou JJA).
[57] Citing Distillers [1974] HCA 3; (1974) 130 CLR 1, 32-3 (Stephen J) and Broadlands Properties Ltd and Broadlands Estates Ltd v Guardian Assurance Co Ltd (1984) 3 ANZ Ins Cas 60-552, 78,324-78,325 (Chilwell J) (High Court of New Zealand).
[59] Delta Pty Ltd v Team Rock Anchors Pty Ltd [2018] 1 Qd R 564, 598 [137] citing John Birds, Ben Lynch and Simon Milnes, MacGillivray on Insurance Law (Sweet & Maxwell, 12th ed, 2012) 971 [29-006]. See also Unity Insurance (1998) 192 CLR 603, 612-3 [23] (McHugh J), 651 [123] (Hayne J, Brennan CJ agreeing at 607 [1], 608 [6]).
[60] Vero Insurance [2004] NSWCA 390 [68] (Tobias JA, Giles JA agreeing at [1], McColl JA agreeing at [89]).
[61] CGU Insurance Ltd v AMP Financial Planning Pty Ltd (2007) 235 CLR 1, 14 [24] (Gleeson CJ and Crennan J).
[62] BNP Paribas v Pacific Carriers Ltd [2005] NSWCA 72 [17] (Handley JA).
[63] Distillers [1974] HCA 3; (1974) 130 CLR 1, 32 (Stephen J).
[66] [2018] 1 Qd R 564, 599-600 [142]; Delta Pty Ltd v Mechanical and Construction Insurance Pty Ltd [2019] 3 Qd R 438, 456-7 [36] (Fraser JA, McMurdo JA agreeing at 495 [159], Flanagan J agreeing at 495 [163]). See also CIMIC [2022] NSWSC 999 [419]-[420] (Peden J).
[67] Unity Insurance (1998) 192 CLR 603, 616 [35] (McHugh J), 653 [129] (Hayne J); Protec [2014] VSCA 338 [745], [751]-[753] (Tate, Santamaria and Kyrou JJA).
[68] The subjective views of the insured are, of course, not determinative of the objective question of reasonableness: Unity Insurance (1998) 192 CLR 603, 656 [140] (Hayne J).
[70] Citing CIMIC [2022] NSWSC 999 [414] (Peden J).
Sayers Property Holdings Pty Ltd
AIG Australia Ltd [2025] VSCA 294
(2018) 359 ALR 314
(1997) 188 CLR 449
(2022) 273 CLR 454
(2023) 278 CLR 208
(2024) 114 NSWLR 1
(2003) 59 NSWLR 14
(2018) 360 ALR 92
(1974) 130 CLR 1
(1998) 192 CLR 603
(1994) 35 NSWLR 452
(1988) 180 CLR 491
(2021) 396 ALR 590
(1991) 171 CLR 506
(2007) 235 CLR 1