[2023] VCAT 502
General information, not legal advice.
Victorian Civil and Administrative Tribunal
2023-05-03
Original judgment source is linked above.
Professional indemnity insurance: claim by builder against insurers and against agent of insurers under a professional indemnity policy; determination of identity of appropriate respondent to the claim; determination as to whether the claim falls within the terms of the policy; allegation by builder that insurers elected to indemnify; allegation by builder that insurers are estopped from denying that they have agreed to indemnify; consideration of relevant authorities including ; ; and ;
Owners Corporation PS623721 and others in accordance with the Schedule
Shangri- La Construction Pty Ltd (ACN:130 534 244) and others in accordance with the Schedule
Haiying Jiang and others in accordance with the Schedule
7, 8, 9, 15, 16, 21, 22, 23, 24, 28, 29 & 30 June 2021;
3, 4, 8, 9, 10, 11, 15, 16, 17, 18, 22, 23, 24, 29, 30 November 2021;
DATE OF FIRST RESPONDENT'S SUPPLEMENTARY SUBMISSIONS ON ALLIANZ V DELOR VUE
DATE OF FOURTH AND FIFTH RESPONDENTS' SUPPLEMENTARY SUBMISSIONS ON ALLIANZ ABOVE. V DELOR VUE
DATE OF FIRST RESPONDENT'S RESPONSE SUBMISSIONS ON ALLIANZ V DELOR VUE
Owners Corporation PS623721 v Shangri-La Construction Pty Ltd (Building and Property) (Insurance) [2023] VCAT 502
is estopped from not fulfilling those representations.
R & S Knowles Super Admin Pty Ltd (ACN: 124 224 086)
Shangri-La Construction Pty Ltd (ACN 130 534 244) (in liquidation)
SimCo Consulting Pty Ltd (ACN 099 646 750) (deregistered) (Struck out by Order made 24 August 2022)
Total Seal Waterproofing (VIC) Pty Ltd (ACN 138 827 175) (in liquidation) (Struck out by Order made 24 August 2022)
A.C.N 145 482 622 Pty Ltd (deregistered) (Struck out by Order made 24 August 2022)
Mohammad Pacha t/as K & P Rendering Texture Finishing
Hamzaie Hafizullah t/as K & P Rendering Texture Finishing
Insurance Australia limited t/as WFI (ACN: 000 016 722) (Struck out by Order made 10 June 2021)
Arch Underwriting at Lloyd's (Australia) Pty Ltd (ACN 139 250 605)
Certain Underwriters at Lloyd's Subscribing to Policy Number P0003310PI2016AU0
THERE IS AN ISSUE AS TO THE IDENTITY OF THE RELEVANT UNDERWRITER
(a) The first applicant is the registered proprietor of the Common Property at the Development. The other applicants are the registered proprietors of the respective private lots. > > (b) the Builder, Shangri-La, is the first respondent. It went into liquidation on 31 March 2023. > > (c) The Building Surveyors, Nicholson Wright and Mr Tsaganas, are respectively the second and third respondents. > > (d) The Fire Engineers, Simco and Mr Simenko, are respectively the fourth and fifth respondents. Simco has, according to an extract from ASIC's records, been deregistered since 24 February 2022. The proceeding against it was struck out with a right to apply for reinstatement by order made 24 August 2022. > > (e) The sixth respondent is the Draughtsman, The Silver Arc. > > (f) The seventh respondent is Total Seal Waterproofing (Vic) Pty Ltd (in liquidation) (Total Seal). The proceeding against it was struck out with a right of reinstatement by order made 24 August 2022. > > (g) The eighth respondent is Hurricane Metal Roofing Pty Ltd but is now known as A.C.N. 145 482 622. (Hurricane). The company has, according to an extract from ASIC's records, been deregistered since 26 May 2021. The proceeding against it was struck out with a right to apply for reinstatement by order made 24 August 2022. > > (h) The ninth and tenth respondents are Mohammad Pacha and Hamzaie Hafizullah who trade (or traded) as K&P Rendering Texture Finishing (K&P Rendering). > > (i) The first joined party is Haiying Jiang (Ms Jiang), who trades (or traded) as GPS Plaster (GPS Plaster). The second joined party is CMM Group Pty Ltd (ACN: 142 132 358) (CMM). > > (j) The third joined party was Insurance Australia Limited (ACN: 000 016 722) t/as WFI (Hurricane's Insurer). A settlement of the Builder's claim against Hurricane's Insurer was achieved shortly after the opening of the hearing, and that party was struck out as a party by order made 10 June 2021.
THE LIQUIDATION OF THE BUILDER DOES NOT PREVENT THE TRIBUNAL FROM PUBLISHING THIS DETERMINATION
(a) The underwriters standing behind the Policy are the Lloyd's Underwriters. They are the proper respondents to the Builder's claim under the Policy.[11] > > (b) The Builder did make a Claim within the meaning of the Policy.[12] > > (c) The Builder is not entitled to be indemnified under the wording of the Policy because: > > > (i) the professional services it rendered were not supervised in the manner required by the Policy;[13] and > > > > (ii) there is under the Policy an applicable carveout from the definition of Professional Business of performance and supervision of construction related activities where such performance or supervision is undertaken in the capacity solely as a building or engineering contractor.[14] > > (d) However, although the Policy did not by its terms attach to the Claim, Arch (and accordingly the Lloyd's Underwriters) elected to indemnify the Builder under the Policy by exercising against the Builder rights given to them by the Policy;[15] > > (e) Furthermore, the Lloyd's Underwriters are estopped from denying that indemnity has been admitted.[16]
PRINCIPLES OF INTERPRETATION OF AN INSURANCE POLICY
A policy of insurance, even one required by statute, is a commercial contract and should be given a businesslike interpretation. Its interpretation requires attention to the language used by the parties, the commercial circumstances which the document addresses, and the objects which it is intended to secure.
Courts now generally regard the contra proferentem rule (as it is called) as one of last resort because it is widely accepted that it is preferable that judges should struggle with the words actually used as applied to the unique circumstances of the case and reach their own conclusions by reference to the logic of the matter, rather than by using mechanical formulae.[26]
DOES THE CLAIM MADE BY THE BUILDER FALL WITHIN THE POLICY?
(a) the person(s), principal(s), members of the partnership, directors, company or corporation, statutory authority, association or the legal entity specified in the Schedule and Employees thereof being the basis of this Contract, and their predecessors in the Professional Business; > > (b) any person who becomes, during the Period of Insurance, a partner, director, or Employee of the Insured, but in each case solely in respect of work carried out for or on behalf of the Insured and in the conduct of the Professional Business; > > (c) the estate, heirs, legal representatives and assigns of any deceased Insure person. [27]
(a) any Writ, Summons, Application or other originating legal or arbitral process, cross-claim, or counter-claim served upon any Insured alleging a breach of professional duty in the conduct of the Insured's Professional Business; > > (b) any demand alleging any civil liability or breach of professional duty by the Insured in their conduct of the Professional Business communicated to an Insured by whatever means.
All Claims arising from the same act error or omission, or consequent upon or attributable to one source or original cause, shall be deemed to be a single Claim.
DISCUSSION OF WHETHER A 'CLAIM' HAS BEEN NOTIFIED
We would like to lodge a claim on behalf of our client Shangri La Construction.
I have attached a number of reports which outline a number of defective works which are now arising from a Job started back in 2011.
Our client has recently received a VCAT order (attached) hence we need this claim to be lodged urgently.
We are currently assessing the claim ourselves however how ever (sic) could you please assist in advising where you believe the indemnity lies.
Please advise what further information you require.
Overview of the Lloyd's Underwriters' submissions as to why there was no claim
The Lloyd's Underwriters' argument that there can be no claim for breach of section 8 warranty in respect of design work
(a) the erection or construction of a home, including -
(i) any associated work including, but not limited to, landscaping, paving and the erection or construction of any building or fixture associated with the home (such as retaining structures, driveways, fencing, garages, carports, workshops, swimming pools or spas); and
(ii) the provision of lighting, heating, ventilation, air conditioning, water supply, sewerage or drainage to the home or the property on which the home is, or is to be;
(b) the renovation, alteration, extension, improvement or repair of a home;
(c) any work such as landscaping, paving or the erection or construction of retaining structures, driveways, fencing, garages, workshops, swimming pools or spas that is to be carried out in conjunction with the renovation, alteration, extension, improvement or repair of a home;
(d) the demolition or removal of a home;
(e) any work associated with the construction or erection of a building -
(i) on land that is zoned for residential purposes under a planning scheme under the Planning and Environment Act 1987 ; and
(ii) in respect of which a building permit is required under the Building Act 1993 ;
(f) any site work (including work required to gain access, or to remove impediments to access, to a site) related to work referred to in paragraphs (a) to (e);
(g) the preparation of plans or specifications for the carrying out of work referred to in paragraphs (a) to (f); (emphasis added)
(h) any work that the regulations state is building work for the purposes of this Act.
design work carried out by an architect or a building practitioner registered under the Building Act 1993 as a draftsperson or an endorsed building engineer within the meaning of the Professional Engineers Registration Act 2019 [2] ;
(i) Ensure the Contractor's Design Documents are suitable for their intended purpose; > > (ii) Comply with the requirements of the Contract (including without limitation the Principal's Project Requirements and architectural design intent) and accepted industry standards; > > (iii) Prepare and execute or cause the preparation and execution of all Contractors Design Documents in accordance with accepted practice in the Australian engineering and construction industry and relevant Legislative Requirements; > > (iv) ensure the Design Documents will be prepared by experienced design consultants which have appropriate professional qualifications and membership of appropriate professional associations which hold professional indemnity insurance in accordance with clause 20, and are approved by the Principal; > > (v) Co-ordinate the activities of the Consultants in order to complete such drawings, construction programs, specifications, plans and designs as shall be necessary to finalise the Contractor's Design Documents. > > (vi) (Not applicable) > > (vii) (Not applicable) > > (viii) (Not applicable) > > (ix) Ensure that the design documents are accompanied by a certificate from the Contractor's design consultants which confirms that they have been prepared in accordance with, and satisfy, the requirements of the Principal's Project Requirements and if this is not provided for in the Consultant's agreements novated to the Contractor the Contractor shall in any event procure the certificate from each Consultant and any additional expense or cost incurred by the Contractor in any such case shall be valued under clause 40.5.
The definition of Professional Business under the Policy
PROVIDED always that it is performed by or under the direct supervision of:
(i) a properly registered engineer, architect or surveyor;
(ii) a quantity surveyor who is a member of the Australian Institute of Quantity Surveyors; or
(iii) any other person providing a professional service of a skilful character according to an established discipline, appropriate to the professional services being performed or supervised.
Professional Business does not mean performance or supervision (where such supervision would normally be undertaken by a building contractor) of construction-related activities, either on-site or off-site, including temporary works, manufacture, assembly, installation, erection, maintenance or physical alteration of buildings, goods, products or property, programming, time flow management, environment protection, workplace health and safety or industrial relations, by the Insured or its Agent, where such performance or supervision is undertaken in the capacity solely as a building or engineering contractor.
For the purpose of paragraph (e) of this definition, construction and project management means the planning, administration, scheduling, evaluation and supervision of construction and completion of a project including the procurement and allocation of labour, materials and services.
Mr Kelly's role in the construction of the stage two works was to manage the construction works to ensure they were completed in an efficient, timely and cost-effective manner. Mr Kelly's duties included:
coordination of subcontractors and material suppliers;
general supervision of the subcontractors and material suppliers to ensure they were able to deliver their products and services in accordance with the applicable contracts this did not extend to checking the work of the subcontractors);
reporting any issues to the Project Manager (me).[35]
(a) as a reference to construction as a standalone activity, separate from project management; > > (b) construction management and project management as two separate activities; > > (c) construction management and project management as a single activity.
For the purpose of paragraph (e) of this definition, construction and project management means the planning, administration, scheduling, evaluation and supervision of construction and completion of a project including procurement and allocation of labour, materials and services.
You construct buildings?---We don't have machinery, equipment,
nails, hammer guns, we have got a umbrella which is
Shangri-La. We physically do not build with our hands,
we have got project managers, we have got designers, we
manage, you showed me the DVC the other day, we arrange
The Lloyd's Underwriters' submissions in response
(a) there is an express carve-out from the definition of Professional Business in respect of the performance or supervision of construction related activities where the Insured is a building or engineering contractor, and that this exclusion applies; and > > (b) the professional services must be performed by or under the direct supervision of a limited set of appropriately qualified individuals, and they were not.
any Writ, Summons, Application or other originating legal or arbitral process, cross-claim, or counter-claim served upon any Insured alleging a breach of professional duty in the conduct of the Insured's Professional Business;
(a) a properly registered engineer, architect or surveyor; > > (b) a quantity surveyor who is a member of the Australian Institute of Quantity Surveyors; or > > (c) any other person providing a professional service of a skilful character according to an established discipline, appropriate to the professional services being performed or supervised.
Was the design performed or directly supervised by a suitably qualified professional?
(a) The parties acknowledge that the Contractor is responsible, as part of the work under the Contract, for: > > > (i) engagement of the structural engineer for the Works and for the development and finalisation of the detailed Services Design for the Works; and > > > > (ii) all shop drawings required for the W works > > (b) The Contractor shall be responsible for and shall complete the Contractor's Design Obligations in accordance with the Contract.[40]
Were the Builder's inspection and supervision services directly supervised by a suitably qualified professional?
Where the Builder's construction and project management services performed or directly supervised by a suitably qualified professional?
THE CARVEOUT OF PERFORMANCE AND SUPERVISION OF CONSTRUCTION RELATED ACTIVITIES FROM THE DEFINITION OF PROFESSIONAL BUSINESS
Professional Business does not mean performance or supervision (where such supervision would normally be undertaken by a building contractor) of construction related activities, either on-site or off-site, including temporary works, manufacture, assembly, installation, erection, maintenance or physical alteration of buildings, goods, products or property, programming, time flow management, environment protection, workplace health and safety or industrial relations, by the Insured or its Agent, where such performance or supervision is undertaken in the capacity solely as a building or engineering contractor.
It is convenient to refer to the carve out as "the Builder and Contractor Exclusion".
in the ...performance or supervision (where such supervision would normally be undertaken by a building contractor)... of construction related activities...where such ... supervision is undertaken in the capacity solely as a building or engineering contractor.
Consequences of the findings that the Builder's professional services were not performed or directly supervised by relevantly qualified professionals and that the Builder and Contractor Exclusion applies
We are instructed by Arch to protect the position of Shangri-La Construction Pty Ltd (company) in relation to a claim made against it, on a without prejudice basis, pending a decision on indemnity under the Contract of Insurance.
The Contract Insurance was then identified. It is the Policy.
The claim made for indemnity by the company under the Contract of Insurance with Arch arises from a VCAT proceeding issued by Owners Corporation PS623712 and others. Although we have not seen the court documents we understand that it is alleged against the company that it conducted defective building works at a development at Willansby Avenue, Brighton (claim).
Prior to investigating this matter further, we require you to sign an acknowledgement of waiver document in relation to legal professional privilege on behalf of the company. The waiver document enables us to report to Arch any information acquired in conducting this investigation and/or defending the claim against the company. Such information may entitle Arch to exercise any rights which they may have under the Contract of Insurance or at law in relation to the claim. We may continue to advise Arch and act on its behalf in the event of any dispute as to insurance coverage. The waiver otherwise preserves legal professional privilege as against any other party.
We enclose the waiver of privilege document which you should sign and return to us.
Further investigation is required to consider the claim for indemnity under the Contract of Insurance and to understand the claim made against the company. Once you have returned the waiver of privilege document, we will contact you to arrange a time to interview you so that you can provide us with further instructions in relation to the claim. We will need instructions from you about the circumstances which led to the claim and we will need to review all relevant documentation on your file.
Once we have obtained all necessary information and completed our investigations and assessed the claim for indemnity, you will be notified of Arch's decision on indemnity within 10 business days of receipt of all necessary information.
TO: Clyde & Co of Level 26, 140 Williams Street, Melbourne.
I, Obaid Naqebullah of Level 13, 600 St Kilda Road, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, am a director of Shangri-La Construction Pty Ltd (the company) and I sign this acknowledgement on behalf of the company.
3.1 Arch has considered the information provided by you and is satisfied that the allegations made by the claimants against you in the proceeding are in relation to civil liability arising from the conduct of your Professional Business.
3.2 We are instructed that Arch will grant indemnity to you under the Contract of Insurance in respect of the claim made by the claimants in the proceeding subject to a specific reservation of rights.
"The Insured must give to underwriters as soon as practicable, notice in writing of any Claim made against the Insured and must upon request give to underwriters such information as underwriters may reasonably require to investigate the matter so reported,..."
"Underwriters shall not be liable to indemnify the Insured for any claim made under this Contract which arises directly or indirectly from, or in connection with:
(b) known to the insured at the commencement of the Period of Insurance and which the Insured considered or which a reasonable person in the position of the Insured would or might have considered may give rise to a Claim;..."
3.5 We note that on 22 October 2015 Mr Tsaganas sent you an email with a copy of a letter from the solicitors acting for the claimants, Tucker Partners. Mr Tsaganas asked you whether you were aware of the threatened legal action. We also note that attached to the email were a number of expert reports obtained by the claimants. Those reports include a letter from Tucker Partners which states:
"The OC has concerns that the building works carried out by Shangri-La are defective and is considering issuing proceedings against Shangri-La in the Building and Property List of the Victorian Civil and Administrative Tribunal (VCAT)."
3.6 We note that at this time you consulted your insurance broker.
3.7 In early 2016 the claimants were threatening to issue proceedings in VCAT and we note that you had a meeting with BPM Property Developments (BPM) on 10 March 2016.
3.8 On 23 March 2016 BPM sent an email to you and Mr Tsaganas agitating for further defects to be fixed. BPM stated:
"BPM will be voting to proceed to VCAT if an adequate response is not provided".
3.9 It is clear that by this stage you were either aware or should have been aware that circumstances existed which might give rise to a Claim. You should have notified Arch of those circumstances at that time but failed to do so and therefore exclusion 9 applies.
3.10 Clause 7 of the Automatic Coverage section of the policy includes a Continuity clause. That clause states:
(a) in the absence of any fraudulent non-disclosure or misrepresentation and subject to clauses (b) and (c) below, where:
(i) a Claim is first made against the Insured or a circumstance is notified by the Insured in writing to Underwriters, during the Period of Insurance in respect of civil liability in connection with their conduct of the Professional Business which arises from a circumstance or occurrence known by the Insured prior to the commencement of the Period of Insurance; and
(ii) Underwriters were the Insured's professional indemnity insurers from the time when the Insured first became aware of that circumstance or occurrence which subsequently gave rise to the Claim or notification; and
(iii) Underwriters have from that time, to the time when the Claim is made or the notification is given, continued without interruption to be the Insured's professional indemnity insurers;
then, in respect of such Claim or notification, notwithstanding anything to the contrary contained in this Contract, Underwriters agree to indemnify the Insured in respect of the Claim or notification in accordance with all other provisions of this Contract.
(b) Underwriters reserve the right to reduce their liability in respect of any Claim or notification under this coverage to the extent that Underwriters' interests are prejudiced as a result of the late notification of the Claim or circumstance."
3.11 The matters set out in paragraph (a) apply to your claim. In the circumstances the Continuity clause is applicable to your claim and Arch will agree to indemnify you in respect of the claim in accordance with the Contract of Insurance. Exclusion 9 will not apply to the claim. However Arch will reserve its rights under paragraph (b) of the Continuity clause in relation to any prejudice it has suffered as a result of the late notification of circumstances.
3.12 At our conference on 6 June 2017 you instructed us that you were first notified that a claim would be made against you on 6 February 2017 when you received a letter from the claimant's solicitors. We have been instructed by Arch that it was not notified of a claim for indemnity under the Contract of Insurance until 18 May 2017, more than three months later.
3.13 You should have notified Arch of the claim as soon as possible after 6 February 2017 but did not do so. That was a breach of condition 11 of the policy which is set out in paragraph 3.3 above.
3.14 Arch reserves its rights under the Contract of Insurance in relation to any prejudice it has suffered as a result of your late notification of the claim.
3.15 Arch will grant indemnity to you in relation to the claim made in the proceeding subject to:
(a) The terms and conditions of the Contract of Insurance;
(b) The facts and circumstances currently known to Arch;
(c) A reservation of rights to the extent to which Arch has been prejudiced by your failure to notify circumstances and your late notification of a claim;
(d) Payment by you of the costs inclusive excess of $10,000 (net of input tax credits). We will bill you for our legal fees as they are incurred until the excess is eroded. Arch will approve each bill before we issue it to you; and
(e) The manner in which the claim against you is presently being pursued by the claimants.
3.16 If there is any change in circumstances; further relevant facts come to light; or the claimants change the nature of the claim currently being made, then Arch can review your entitlement to indemnity.
(a) first, even if established, the material facts pleaded by Shangri-La would not yield an election, as that term is understood by the common law doctrine; > > (b) second, in any event, the letter of 18 July 2017 does not, and does not purport to, elect as alleged. While there was an election, it was related to Shangri-La's failures to notify, not to the claims against the Builder of which Arch and the Lloyd's Underwriters then knew very little; and > > (c) third, Shangri-La has not, as it must, demonstrated that any requisite inconsistency had arisen by 18 July 2017. Nor were Arch and the Lloyd's Underwriters possessed of the relevant facts upon which to make an election concerning indemnity (and, therefore, the doctrine of election is not engaged)[55]
is one in which the insurer agrees to indemnify the insured against defined liabilities the insured incurs in respect of a claim, first made against an insured during the policy period, arising from the performance of defined professional services.[58]
The concept of the policy covering a "civil liability incurred" refers to the eventuality of the actual liability, as distinct from the alleged liability, of the insured.[59]
The general position is that under a policy of this kind, an insured can recover against its insurer only if it is actually liable to the claimant on a proper analysis of the law and facts.[62] In this way, until an insured is in fact found liable, the question of liability is a live question.
The essence of the main indemnity clause, as indeed of any indemnity clause, is that the assured must prove loss. The assured cannot recover anything under the main indemnity clause or make any claim against the underwriters until they have been found liable and so sustained a loss. If judgment were given against them for the sum claimed, they would undoubtedly have sustained a loss and the question would then arise what was the cause of the loss. If the proximate cause (this seems to be the test; Goddard and Smith v Frew [1939] 4 All ER 358) of the loss was the dishonesty of their servant, they could not recover under the policy; if on the other hand it was their own neglect, they could recover.[65]
A person is said to have a right of election when events occur which enable him to exercise alternative and inconsistent rights, ie when he has the right to determine an estate or terminate a contract for breach of covenant or contract and the alternative right to insist on the continuation of the estate or the performance of the contract. It matters not whether the right to terminate the contract is conferred by the contract or arises at common law for fundamental breach - in each instance the alternative right to insist on performance creates a right of election.[68] [Emphasis added.]
The doctrine only applies if the rights are inconsistent the one with the other and it is this concurrent existence of inconsistent sets of rights which explains the doctrine; because they are inconsistent neither one may be enjoyed without the extinction of the other and that extinction confers upon the elector the benefit of enjoying the other, a benefit denied to him so long as both remained in existence.[69]
A person confronted by two truly alternative rights or sets of rights, such as the right to avoid or terminate a contract and the right to affirm it and insist on performance, may lose one of them by acting "in a manner which is consistent only with his having chosen to rely on (the other) of them.... Where an insurer is confronted with such alternative rights and elects to affirm the contract of insurance, he is commonly said to have "waived" the right to avoid or terminate it.... (Citations omitted).
Under section 1 of the policy the defendant as the insurer had the right to elect between repairing a vehicle and paying the amount of the loss or damage to it. The defendant elected to repair. Had the policy been applicable according to its terms, the election to repair might well have precluded the defendant from later asserting its alternative right under section 1 of simply paying the amount of the loss or damage.
But that is not this case. The defendant was not confronted with the option of choosing between two alternative and inconsistent rights, nor did it elect to pursue one of those rights to the exclusion of the other. There was no choice between a right to accept liability under the policy, and a right to reject liability. That is so because there never was any liability under the policy, and consequently no right or even power under the policy to reject that liability.
The doctrine, in its application to contracts of insurance, prevents an insurer from adopting inconsistent positions under the same policy. An insurer receiving a claim who is entitled to avoid the policy or reject the claim for breach of condition must make an election. In the first case the insurer must either affirm or avoid the policy and in the second it must waive the breach and accept the claim or rely on the breach and reject it. If, having the requisite knowledge of the facts, it asserts rights which would only exist if the policy was in force and covered the claim it will be taken to have elected to treat the policy as valid and applicable to the claim.[73]
In my opinion, the acceptance by the insurer of a claim by an insured to which the policy does not extend cover cannot amount to an election. This is to be contrasted with the circumstance identified by Handley JA in Nigel Watts where the policy would respond to the claim but for an entitlement in the insurer "to avoid the policy or reject the claim for breach of condition.[75]
(1) This section applies where the person who became the insured under a contract of general insurance upon the contract being entered into:
(a) failed to comply with the duty of disclosure; or
(b) made a misrepresentation to the insurer before the contract was entered into;
but does not apply where the insurer would have entered into the contract, for the same premium and on the same terms and conditions, even if the insured had not failed to comply with the duty of disclosure or had not made the misrepresentation before the contract was entered into.
(2) If the failure was fraudulent or the misrepresentation was made fraudulently, the insurer may avoid the contract.
(3) If the insurer is not entitled to avoid the contract or, being entitled to avoid the contract (whether under subsection (2) or otherwise) has not done so, the liability of the insurer in respect of a claim is reduced to the amount that would place the insurer in a position in which the insurer would have been if the failure had not occurred or the misrepresentation had not been made.
This reasoning rests upon the absence of any inconsistency between a right to accept liability under the policy and a right to reject liability. As will emerge, that is not the present case. The statutory right upon which Allianz places reliance is said to lead to the consequence that there is no liability under the policy. In addition, the reasoning appears to confine the doctrine of election to those cases where there were inconsistent rights as to future performance that were available to one party. It rests upon a view that the doctrine of election is limited in its application to those instances where a party has a right to choose. It is a view that fails to properly frame the question in terms of whether the circumstances are such that the law requires a choice to be made. In that respect, it is contrary to the decision in Craine which has been consistently approved by the High Court and therefore cannot be correct.[82]
Summary of relevant parts of the majority judgment in the Allianz v Delor Vue.
... the legal principle is that although a waiver does have legal effect and that "the waiver is binding on the waiving party, unless the waiver is effectively retracted", the waiver can generally be revoked at any time with reasonable notice.[90]
Outside the context of litigation, and in the law of contract, the circumstances in which a waiver cannot be revoked have always been exceptional. If such circumstances were not both exceptional and justified they would undermine other contractual rules, including those generally requiring that variation of a contract be in the form of a deed or supported by consideration. Hence, aside from circumstances where a legal right can no longer be enforced due to entry into a deed, a fresh agreement for consideration, or expiry of a limitation period, the general rule is that, despite a "mere naked promise ... not founded upon any consideration" not to enforce a legal right, the legal right may continue to be enforced until it is fully satisfied. (Citations omitted.)
would nevertheless undermine the integrity of established contractual rules by expanding the principles of election by affirmation, or extinguishment of rights, in such a way as to make irrevocable a unilateral waiver of a defence to liability by a party to a contract, outside the context of litigation.[92]
Although many of the older cases of election by affirmation (including in this Court) described the principle as one of "waiver", and although it might be possible to express modern cases involving affirmation of a contract in terms of irrevocable waiver of a power to terminate the contract, the language of "waiver" can distract in this area. As three members of this Court observed in Agricultural and Rural Finance Pty Ltd v Gardiner, the "[c]ircumstances in which there is an election between inconsistent rights are radically different from some others in which there is said to be a waiver of rights". In the law of contract, the better description of this doctrine is election by affirmation. (Citations omitted.)
to require an insurer "not to adopt inconsistent positions under the same policy of insurance in circumstances where one of those positions was consistent only with accepting liability under the policy and the other position was consistent only with denying liability". In short, an insurer can never revoke a waiver of a statutory defence that would permit the insurer to reduce its liability under a contract of insurance. (Citations omitted.)
If a contractual term is today properly interpreted as a condition precedent to counter‑performance, it is strongly arguable that upon the failure of such a condition precedent a party's decision to affirm its obligation of counter‑performance will generally only be irrevocable after detrimental reliance by the other party[99]. (Citations omitted.)
With the modern approach to termination of contract, the doctrine of election by affirmation came to be applied consistently to instances in which the innocent party elected not to exercise a power to forfeit a lease or to terminate a contract.
the doctrine of election only applies where the nature of the sets of rights is such that "neither one may be enjoyed without the extinction of the other".[102]
an election to affirm will only be an irrevocable waiver of the power to terminate where the election was made with knowledge of the circumstances giving rise to the alternative, inconsistent set of rights**.** (Citations omitted.)
This doctrine of election by affirmation of a contract has been recognised by decisions, including in this Court, for almost a century. The dominant rationale is that the "the mere fact of intimating [a] choice" in relation to these alternative rights makes it "inevitable, or necessary in the interests of justice, that the choice, when once made, should be irrevocable". In other words, the choice between maintaining one right or set of rights and extinguishing an alternative, immediately inconsistent right or set of rights is one that must be irrevocable "because [the sets of rights] are inconsistent [so that] neither one may be enjoyed without the extinction of the other and that extinction confers upon the elector the benefit of enjoying the other". The very nature of the states of legal existence and non‑existence of a contract is that both states cannot subsist, like Schrödinger's cat, at the same time.[103] (Citations omitted.)
[Section] 28(3) does not give the insurer any power to elect to affirm the contract rather than to avoid or terminate its contractual obligations. There is no sense in which a decision by an insurer to waive the defence under s 28(3) involves an election between alternative and inconsistent sets of rights (or even an immediate inconsistency between continuing legal positions). With or without waiver, the insurance contract remains on foot and reliance on the defence under s 28(3) is not immediately inconsistent with any of the contractual rights.[106]
A plaintiff can take numerous steps consistent only with the choice of one remedy and not the other, but the election will generally only be irrevocable after one remedy is fully satisfied by the entry of judgment. In all these instances, as Jordan CJ explained in O'Connor:
"one of the alternative rights must have been satisfied. Merely to take some step towards obtaining the benefit of one of them is not necessarily irrevocable if the step stops short of obtaining satisfaction. One may be permitted to change one's mind". (Citations omitted.)
Delor Vue's submission, and the approach of the majority of the Full Court - that taking a course of action that is inconsistent with a right can extinguish the right - is in direct conflict with long‑standing authority that requires the completed exercise of a power to extinguish rights or full satisfaction of alternative rights before a right or set of rights is extinguished.
Now, so long as the [insurer] distinctly and unequivocally retained the attitude of total non‑liability on its part, because such a breach of clause 11 by the plaintiff as occurred put an end to all obligation by the [insurer] to pay a penny - in other words, that the contract according to its own terms had, by reason of the breach of clause 11, terminated the contractual obligations of the parties - it was safe. If, maintaining that attitude consistently, it further intimated that it was prepared to consider an ad misericordiam appeal by the plaintiff, supported by whatever proofs and testimony he might voluntarily submit, whether as suggested by the [insurer] or not, we should think the position of the [insurer] would still be unassailable. But insurers are not at liberty to mislead. They are not at liberty, at least apart from special provision in their contract, to do what is forcibly termed in Scotch law 'approbate and reprobate.' They are not at liberty to deny to the insured rights given to him under the contract and at the same time insist on and exercise as against him in adversum correlative rights given to them by the contract, as a qualification or a safeguard, on the basis that the rights of the insured are in full operation.[115]
the detriment with which estoppel is concerned is not limited to loss that can be measured in monetary terms. It is concerned with "the consequences that would enure to the disadvantage of a person who has been induced to change his or her position if the state of affairs so brought about were to be altered by the reversal of the assumption on which the change of position occurred." (Citation omitted.)
(a) an opportunity to challenge Allianz for indemnity in May 2017 and potentially resolve the conflict within that challenge"; and > > (b) an opportunity "to take steps to carry out repair works itself rather than being left with a damaged property for over a year, and all of the distress and inconvenience attending that situation".
The Builder's additional submissions having regard to the High Court appeal in Allianz v Delor Vue.
In the case of an insurance contract [ the doctrine of election] applies at least where the insurer has a right to disclaim liability but proceeds to exercise rights conferred by the contract of insurance. In such a case, the insurer cannot reserve its position. It can disclaim liability and request the insured to take steps of the kind that would be taken if there was liability under the policy as part of a process of considering whether the insured may reverse its decision to disclaim. But the insurer, knowing the relevant facts, cannot seek to exercise rights under the contract of insurance whilst at the same time denying liability under the policy. In such a case, having regard to the nature of an insurance contract, as a matter of fairness, the law requires the insurer to elect between disclaiming any liability and seeking to rely upon the rights conferred by the policy.[123]
In its Supplementary Submissions dated 31 January 2023 (Supplementary Submissions), Shangri-La refers to paragraph 354 of Shangri-La's Reply Submissions. By that paragraph, Shangri-La sought to change its case on election from one based on an allegation that, by the letter dated 18 July 2017, Arch had represented to Shangri-La that it would be indemnified for all claims in the proceeding, to a new case based on an un-pleaded allegation that, knowing the relevant facts, Arch exercised certain rights consistent only with it accepting liability. Putting aside the fact that Shangri-La neither pleaded nor opened a case based on Arch's alleged exercise of inconsistent rights (or Arch's knowledge of the "relevant facts"), those submissions are nevertheless misconceived.[126]
The context for the Lloyd's Underwriters' new submissions concerning the impact of Allianz v Delor Vue
did not identify any other circumstance that required it to elect between two inconsistent positions or rights. Here there is a contract on foot governing the rights and obligations of the parties. The case is not one where the insurer was seeking to terminate the contract. Other than to identify what the insurer proposed to do about Shangri-La's failure to notify, it was not a situation in which the insurer was purporting to alter the legal relationship [in a] fundamental way at all.[129]
In this case, Arch and Underwriters were faced with a claim for indemnity in relation to a number of potential liabilities. There were not, at that stage, any proven liabilities. In such cases, it is always possible that there will be no liability found against the insured or that any liability might be confined to a defect that falls outside the cover afforded by the policy of insurance.
In other words, by the letter of 18 July 2017, Arch and Underwriters were not purporting to elect between two inconsistent rights or positions.... Rather they were purporting to comply [with] the terms of the Policy.
Rather, here, the question was whether the evidence in its totality would establish that Shangri-La incurred a civil liability or liabilities and that any such liability arises in the conduct of professional business within the meaning of the Policy. As the Tribunal will recognise, the question of precisely what Shangri-La did in the construction of the development was no straight-forward question and certainly not [clear] as at July 2017. Any decision on indemnity required a full and complete understanding of all the facts and circumstances before any firm conclusions could be drawn.
The Lloyd's Underwriters' additional submissions having regard to the High Court judgment in Allianz v Delor Vue.
The Builder's pleading on election revisited.
In contrast to Delor Vue, Shangri-La has not pleaded its case on the basis that Arch or Underwriters sought to exercise inconsistent rights or took inconsistent positions. Therefore, the case as pleaded falls within the second use of the word "election" identified by the Full Court in [the Delor Vue FC appeal]. That is, where it is used to refer to the situation where a party, made a choice, will be bound to adhere to that choice. This is not the domain of the common law doctrine of election. Rather, as explained by the Full Court, it is the territory where principles of estoppel assume significance.[139]
Such a step may be too large for the common law now to take, requiring a party to prove detriment to establish irrevocable election by affirmation of the other party.[142]
not in the exercise of a preexisting contractual right given by the policy, but in the exercise of a right for which the underwriters stipulated, and which they were granted by the insured, shortly after the writ was filed.
Underwriters have taken the view that until such time as the basis upon which it is alleged your firm has been negligent is clearly spelt out, they are unable to form a view as to whether the claim falls within the terms of the policy.
-that arrangement had already been clearly made and governed what followed. It is clear that the underwriters assumed the conduct, through [their solicitors], of the defence of the claim, not in the supposed exercise of a right to do so under the policy, but by virtue of an express arrangement made between the underwriters and the insured.
I see nothing in the material to suggest that this arrangement was ever brought to an end or that at any stage the underwriters' further conduct of the defence is to be attributed to the exercise of the right in that behalf under the policy. I find nothing in the dealings between the insured and [the underwriters' solicitors] after the action was fixed for hearing to suggest any change in the arrangement. Accordingly, the foundation on which the allegation of election is based - the exercise of a right under the policy to defend the proceedings - is not made out.
Clauses empowering underwriters to conduct proceedings taken against the insured are common. Sometimes.... the conditions make it clear by express provision that they apply only where the claim the subject of the proceedings is covered by the policy.
The Lloyd's Underwriters' power under the Policy to take over the defence of the claim against the Builder
The Insured shall not admit liability for, or settle, any Claim or incur any costs or expenses in connection therewith without the written consent of Underwriters (such consent not to be withheld), and subject to (iii)[144] below, Underwriters shall be entitled to take over the conduct in the name of the Insured the defence or settlement of any such Claim. (Emphasis added)
Nevertheless I entertain no doubt that the right given to the underwriters by the present policy to take over and conduct the defence or settlement of any claim is limited to claims in respect of which the insured is entitled to be indemnified under the policy or claims which the underwriters choose to treat as claims in respect of which the insured is entitled to be indemnified notwithstanding that the underwriters may be entitled to deny liability. In what follows I shall not distinguish between the case where the insured is entitled to be indemnified and that in which, although some ground for denying liability exists, the underwriters choose to treat the insured as entitled to be indemnified. [Emphasis added]
Conditions attaching to the grant of indemnity in the letter of 18 July 2017
The manner in which the claim is currently being pursued by the Owners
The facts and circumstances currently known to the Lloyd's Underwriters
In the case of an insurance contract [the doctrine of election] applies at least where the insurer has a right to disclaim liability but proceeds to exercise rights conferred by the contract of insurance. In such a case, the insurer cannot reserve its position..... , as a matter of fairness, the law requires the insurer to elect between disclaiming any liability and seeking to rely upon the rights conferred by the policy [148]
Of course, the position is different in those instances where the insurer is investigating the claim and is yet to uncover the relevant facts or is seeking clarity as to position. It is well established that there is no obligation to elect unless and until the relevant party is aware of the relevant facts...[149]
[T]his correspondence must be read and understood in the context in which it was sent. Notably, it was dealing with the question whether a liability by Shangri-La to a third party, to which the Policy may respond, would arise at some time in the future in litigation involving several parties, and complex and contested factual and legal issues. It was sent at a very early stage in the proceeding and was expressly reliant on the very limited information provided by Shangri-La at that time.[150]
Although we have not seen the court documents we understand that it is alleged against the company that it conducted defective building works at a development at Willansby Avenue, Brighton ... (Emphasis added)
We are instructed that Arch will grant indemnity to you under the Contract of Insurance in respect of the claim made by the claimant's in the proceeding subject to a specific reservation of rights.
Arch's case is and always has been that the letter of July 2017 was only ever preliminary and conditioned in a number of ways that were explained in that correspondence, that there has been or had been a process of identifying relevant allegations, relevant expert evidence, relevant material in response, and then finding out what actually happened...[153]
Consideration of the Lloyd's Underwriters' submission regarding the reservation of rights
satisfied the allegations made by the claimants .... in the proceeding are in relation to civil liability arising from the conduct of [its] Professional Business.
Another basis for finding that an election has been made
The landlord's right is a right to elect whether to treat the lease as forfeit or as remaining in force. Any election one way or the other, once made, is irretractable: Scarf v Jardine per Lord Blackburn. If the landlord by word or deed manifests to the tenant by an unequivocal act a concluded decision to elect in a particular manner, he will be bound by such an election. If he chooses to do something such as demanding or receiving rent which can only be done consistently with the existence of a certain state of affairs, namely, the continuance of the lease or tenancy in operation, he cannot thereafter be heard to say that that state of affairs did not then exist. If at the time of the act he had a right to elect whether to forfeit the lease or tenancy or to affirm it, his act will unequivocally demonstrate that he has decided to affirm it. He cannot contradict this by saying that his act was without prejudice to his right of election continuing or anything to that effect. In this respect his act speaks louder than his words, because the act is unequivocal; it can only be explained on the basis that he has exercised his right to elect. The motive or intention of the landlord, on the one hand, and the understanding of the tenant, on the other, are equally irrelevant to the quality of the act.
are not at liberty to deny to the insured rights given to him under the contract and at the same time insist on and exercise as against him in adversum correlative rights given to them by the contract.[160]
are estopped from denying that the Arch PI Policy obliges them to indemnify Shangri-La against the claims made against them in this proceeding and are bound by the grant of indemnity conferred on Shangri-La by the letter from its solicitors dated 18 July 2017 ...[161]
It was clear from any objective reading of the 6 February 2019 letter that...Arch had not reached a final position on indemnity, which remained in question and subject to review by Arch. Arch was communicating its preliminary views and seeking further information from Shangri-La to allow it to consider the position further.[168]
The Insured subcontracted the entirety of the design and construction to its consultants and subcontractors, with some minor exceptions.
Cover is therefore available under the policy to the Insured in respect of the Insured's liability:
(a) for breach of its design obligations under the D&C contract; and
(b) that arises from the Insured's construction and project management services, such as the preparation of scopes of work, supervision of subcontractors and checking the subcontractors' work for compliance with the subcontracts. Construction‐related defects need to arise from the Insured's conduct of its professional business as a project manager in order to be covered under the policy.
Ms Hattwich then went on to make some comments about the liability of the Builder's sub- contractors.
Further to the discussion over the phone ... the position for Monday will be Shangri-La and Clyde and Co at the direction of Arch (Insurance) will be negotiating in conjunction with all the contractors and subcontractors named with the Owners Corporation to determine who is at fault for which items being claimed.
We write to provide you with Arch's updated assessment of Shangri-La's entitlement to cover under the insurance policy in respect of the claims made by the applicants against Shangri-La in the proceeding.
Due to the contradictory lay and expert evidence that has been exchanged by the parties in the proceeding, Arch is not able to determine the abovementioned issues at this relatively early stage of the proceeding. Arch therefore reserves its rights to review Shangri-La's entitlement to cover under the policy as further information is obtained in the proceeding.
On 23 and 24 September 2019, Noble Lawyers informed me that Shangri-La had rejected:
(a) the insurance policy application proposed by Arch in its letter dated 13
(b) the contributions that Arch proposed in its letter dated 13 September
2019 should be made by Arch and Shangri-La to a settlement of the
applicants' claim at the compulsory conference on 25 September 2019.
Between 23 and 24 September 2019, I exchanged emails with Mr Naqebullah [TB: tab 562, page 8644-8647]. CCM Insurance and Noble Lawyers were copied into the email exchange.
On 24 September 2019, I received emails from Ms Shaya and Mr Noble [TB:
On 24 September 2019, I had a telephone call with Mr Naqebullah. My
handwritten notes taken during the call, together with a typed version that
was recently prepared, is [TB: tab 564, page 8649-8653].
A second compulsory conference occurred on 25 September 2019.
My client does not accept your proposal, which is based on your client's construction of the policy, which is very uncertain and not accepted by my client.
Mr Naqebullah will attend the compulsory conference but expects that your client will make good on its indemnity, about which my client reserves all of its rights.
49. In light of the contents of this letter we invite you to unequivocally confirm within 14 days that Shangri-La is entitled to be indemnified for its liability for the claims in the proceeding and defence costs moving forward. Should you fail to do so we would expect to be instructed to investigate whether Shangri-La should avail itself of Arch's Internal Dispute Resolution Procedure and then complain to the Australian Financial Complaints Authority, as you suggest it should do in your letter dated 10 October 2019. Alternatively, given the timing of resolution of the issue, it may go through those steps or pass over those steps entirely and seek to join Arch as a party to the proceeding in VCAT to seek a declaration as to Shangri-La's entitlement to be indemnified for the claims in the proceeding.
At this stage, and subject to Arch's instructions, I propose to limit counsel's brief to the defence/apportionment/contribution issues in dispute in the proceeding (i.e. exclude coverage advice).
If the coverage issues between Arch and Shangri-La cannot be resolved, then again subject again to Arch's instructions, I propose the following arrangements:
2. Mr Twigg and Mr Waters can continue their brief for Shangri-La;
3. you can file third party proceedings against Arch claiming insurance coverage;
4. Mr Twigg's and Mr Waters' brief can be expanded to include prosecuting the insurance claim against Arch;
5. we will act for Arch in the third party proceeding;
6. we will brief different counsel to defend the insurance claim.
I am also going to recommend to Arch that a private mediation be arranged in late March, after lay and expert evidence has been finalised and after all parties have briefed counsel for trial. Arch would be looking to settle the proceeding at the mediation with appropriate contributions from Shangri-La and all other co-respondents and joined parties.
[...] your client should be aware that, given my client's position as conveyed to you on 8 November 2019, it does not agree to make any contribution to any settlement other than by way of indemnity from your client together with any applicable excess.[182]
Our client would object to this course of action, given that you would have a most obvious conflict of interest, and our client would take all action available to it to restrain you from doing so, including, if necessary, obtaining injunctive relief;
Under the law of [Australia] - as, I venture to think, under the present law of England - proprietary rights fall to be governed by principles of law and not by some mix of judicial discretion, subjective views about which party 'ought to win' and 'the formless void of individual moral opinion'.
If leave to amend has not been granted, the consequence for a party failing to plead particulars facts supporting an estoppel is that it will not be allowed to rely on those matters.[188]
The function of pleadings is to state with sufficient clarity the case that must be met: Gould and Birbeck and Bacon v. Mount Oxide Mines Ltd. (In liq.). In this way, pleadings serve to ensure the basic requirement of procedural fairness that a party should have the opportunity of meeting the case against him or her and, incidentally, to define the issues for decision. The rule that, in general, relief is confined to that available on the pleadings secures a party's right to this basic requirement of procedural fairness.
(b) They have considered the information provided by Shangri-La and were satisfied that the allegations made by the applicant against Shangri-La in the proceeding are in relation to civil liability arising from the conduct of your Professional Business (emphasis added); > > (c) They had been instructed "that Arch will grant indemnity to you under the Contract of Insurance in respect of the claim made by the claimants in the proceeding subject to a specific reservation of rights.";
It is customary to recognize three general classes of estoppel, namely, of record, of writing and in pais (see, e.g., Coke's Littleton, 352a). Estoppel in pais includes both the common law estoppel which precludes a person from denying an assumption which formed the conventional basis of a relationship between himself and another or which he has adopted against another by the assertion of a right based on it and estoppel by representation which was of later development with origins in Chancery. It is commonly regarded as also including the overlapping equitable doctrines of proprietary estoppel and estoppel by acquiescence or encouragement.
The object of estoppel in pais is to prevent an unjust departure by one person from an assumption adopted by another as the basis of some act or omission which, unless the assumption be adhered to, would operate to that other's detriment. Whether a departure by a party from the assumption should be considered unjust and inadmissible depends on the part taken by him in occasioning its adoption by the other party.
Waterman v Gerling Australia Insurance Company Pty Ltd (Waterman)[195]
In my opinion, to establish an equitable estoppel, it is necessary for a plaintiff to prove that (1) the plaintiff assumed that a particular legal relationship then existed between the plaintiff and the defendant or expected that a particular legal relationship would exist between them and, in the latter case, that the defendant would not be free to withdraw from the expected legal relationship; (2) the defendant has induced the plaintiff to adopt that assumption or expectation; (3) the plaintiff acts or abstains from acting in reliance on the assumption or expectation; (4) the defendant knew or intended him to do so; (5) the plaintiff's action or inaction will occasion detriment if the assumption or expectation is not fulfilled; and (6) the defendant has failed to act to avoid that detriment whether by fulfilling the assumption or expectation or otherwise. [197]
it is necessary for a plaintiff to establish (1) that it has adopted an assumption as to the terms of its legal relationship with the defendant; (2) that the defendant has adopted the same assumption; (3) that both parties have conducted their relationship on the basis of that mutual assumption. It is inherent in the idea of a mutually agreed or assumed convention that each party knew or intended that the other act on that basis. And it seems that a conventional estoppel will not arise unless departure from the assumption will occasion detriment to the plaintiff. (Citations omitted).
The similarities between the two doctrines should not be allowed to mask their differences, which reflect the disparate origins of promissory estoppel and conventional estoppel. Promissory estoppel, a creature of equity, is, typically, focussed on the conscience of the defendant: it operates when the defendant has induced or acquiesced in the adoption by the plaintiff of an assumption that the defendant will not assert its strict legal rights, so to prevent unconscionable (or unconscientious) insistence by the defendant on its strict legal rights. On the other hand, conventional estoppel, a creature of the common law, is focussed on the consensual basis of the parties' relationship: it operates when both parties have adopted the same assumption as the basis of their relationship, often without appreciating that any departure from the strict legal position is involved, so as to hold both parties to their common understanding.
The importance of establishing the type of estoppel relied on
Delor Vue's case, both before the learned primary judge and this Court, was vividly opaque. The precise manner in which any estoppel arose was vague and ill defined. On some occasions, it appeared that a promissory estoppel was being relied upon and, on others, an estoppel by convention. With respect, it is problematic to suggest that the same set of facts gives rise to both a promissory estoppel and an estoppel by convention. If the matter on which reliance is placed is the existence of a promise that something will occur in the future - in this case that Allianz will pay the claim when it is quantified - the state of affairs adopted can only be that the insurer has made a voluntary promise to do an act in the future, which promise was unsupported by consideration and therefore revocable but for the estoppel. It cannot create an existing state of affairs (of either fact or law or mixed law and fact) on which Delor Vue could rely for an estoppel by convention.[200]
Arch (and accordingly the Lloyd's Underwriters) is estopped from acting contrary to the indemnification letter of 18 July 2017, in that:
(a) the Builder adopted the indemnification letter and the grant of indemnity;
(b) both parties, following the indemnification Letter and until the 10 October 2019 letter, conducted themselves in the matter consistent with the indemnification letter;
(c) the Lloyd's Underwriters induced or acquiesced in the Builder's adoption of the indemnification letter;
(d) the Builder acted in a manner consistent with and in reliance of (sic) the indemnification letter;
(e) the Lloyd's Underwriters knew or intended that the Builder would act or abstain from acting in reliance with the indemnification letter; and
(f) the Builder will suffer detriment if the indemnification letter is not fulfilled.
CONSIDERATION OF THE ELEMENTS OF PROMISSORY ESTOPPEL
Waiver by estoppel or promissory estoppel, as it is more commonly described, involves a clear and unequivocal representation that the reinsurer (or insurer) will not stand on its right to treat the cover as having been discharged on which the [reinsured] (or insured) has relied in circumstances in which it would be inequitable to allow the reinsurer (or insurer) to resile from its representation. In my judgment it is of the essence of this plea that the representation must go to the willingness of the representor to forego its rights. .... It is of the essence of the doctrine of promissory estoppel that one side is reasonably seen by the other to be foregoing its rights.
Thus from an early stage, a representation in estoppel was to be assessed by how it would reasonably be understood by the addressee in the context of the surrounding circumstances.[210]
We are instructed that Arch will grant indemnity to you under the Contract of Insurance in respect of the claim made by the claimants in the proceeding subject to a specific reservation of rights.
Q This is the letter that you call the letter of indemnity?---
Q And this is the letter that you say is a letter where the insurer once and for all agreed to indemnify Shangri-La in relation to the claims made against it? -
A This was the letter that I understood that we have been granted indemnity after that initial investigation.
Q And the indemnity that you were being given in this letter was once and for all and not subject to any conditions or terms?---
A I believe there was two conditions, one we had to, not finding - within a certain time period of receiving the VCAT or the legal notification.
Q You understood that that was one of the conditions of this letter, do you?--A-I believe it was one of the conditions, which we had meant, yes.
Q I'll perhaps come to that on Monday, but my question of you is this: do you say to this Tribunal that when you read this letter and read it carefully you believed that the insurer was telling you that it had agreed to indemnify you in relation to the claim that had been made against Shangri-La and that was the end of the matter, the issue of indemnity, or the question of indemnity was now closed?---
Need your assistance here please. We have been invoiced $10,000 from the insurance lawyers to date for the Willansby matter.
1/ $10,000 is our excess and is capped? And Arch will cover all cost following this invoice?
2/ please clarify what we are covered for? Is there anything that we need to be aware of?
Please advise as soon as possible, as we are meeting with them tomorrow.
The query of Clyde & Co and then CCM Insurance in relation to the excess demonstrates that Mr Naqebullah had either not read, or not read carefully, the 18 July 2017 letter. More significant, however, is the question about what Shangri-La was covered for under the Policy. It is entirely inconsistent with Mr Naqebullah's later assertion that by 18 July 2017, he believed Shangri-La to have been granted complete indemnity.[216]
his responses were vague and unresponsive. He was unable to offer any explanation other than to repeat the mantras "indemnity was clear in my mind" and "we had been granted indemnity".[218]
Elsewhere, Mr Naqebullah struggled to reconcile his assertions that complete indemnity had been granted once and for all on 18 July 2017, with Clyde & Co's advice on several occasions that there would be no cover for construction defects and his failure to make any complaint about it at the time.[221]
(a) Mr Donley and Mr Naqebullah had a conversation on 19 December 2018, which was the subject of the file note by Mr Donley previously referred to. The accuracy of this file note was not effectively challenged. In the conversation, Mr Donley made it clear that the position on what cover was available to the Builder needed to be considered by Arch; that construction defects were not covered; and the plan was to go to the scheduled compulsory conference with an agreement about how much the Builder and Arch would contribute. There is no evidence, however, that at any stage during or after that meeting Mr Naqebullah disputed the position taken by Clyde & Co as explained by Mr Donley. The Lloyd's Underwriters submit that if Mr Naqebullah had truly believed that he had been granted complete indemnity, one would expect that at this point, Mr Naqebullah would have said so.[222] > > (b) On 6 February 2019, Clyde & Co communicated Arch's updated provisional coverage position. As well as setting out several developments, the 6 February 2019 letter also set out a summary of the Builder's instructions regarding its role and also the roles and responsibilities of others in the execution of the Works that it had given Clyde & Co since the 18 July 2017 letter. The letter noted that the Builder's subsequent instructions had identified the basis upon which the Builder now sought cover - namely, as a project manager. Mr Naqebullah conceded in cross-examination that he understood at the time from reading the 6 February 2019 letter that Arch's view was that there may be elements or items of the claim being made against the Builder that would not be covered under the Policy and that Arch wanted Mr Naqebullah to contribute to a settlement at the compulsory conference.[223] Again, the Lloyd's Underwriters submit that if Mr Naqebullah had truly believed that Shangri-La had been granted complete indemnity, one would expect that at this point, Mr Naqebullah would have said so. He did not.[224] > > (c) In discussions leading up to the compulsory conference on 29 May 2019, the Builder and Clyde & Co continued to discuss the coverage position based on the further information obtained in 2018 and 2019. During that time, it was explained to the Builder by Clyde & Co (and by the Builder's own brokers) that indemnity had not yet been decided and that there was likely to be a large component of the claim for which no indemnity was available. The communications from the Builder's broker to the Builder expressly stated that there had been no final decision and foreshadowed the need to negotiate with the insurer the merits of the policy coverage with a view to getting the insurer to contribute more. And yet again, there is no evidence that Mr Naqebullah raised any concern or asked why this was the case if Arch had already agreed to completely indemnify the Builder once and for all.[225]
THE CONDITIONS ATTACHING TO THE ADMISSION OF INDEMNITY
The terms and conditions of the Policy are to apply
Did the Lloyd's Underwriters induce Shangri-La to adopt the representations?
Did Shangri-La act or abstain from acting in reliance on the representations?
The justice of holding a party to an estoppel by representation or a conventional estoppel depends on his or her responsibility for the change of position by the party alleging the estoppel.
It is necessary, therefore, for Shangri-La to show that, in reliance on the alleged representation or common assumption, it changed its position in a way it would not have done otherwise. It is a question of causation.[232]
Did the Builder rely on the letter of 18 July 2017?
Appointing Clyde & Co to act for it in the proceeding
Would the Builder have appointed its own lawyers but for the letter of 18 July 2017?
Conduct of the defence and ability to negotiate settlement
Loss of ability to attempt to negotiate a settlement when the proceeding was relatively uncomplicated
(a) Clyde & Co were pursuing a strategy of investigating the Owners' claims, and in particular seeking to determine who was responsible for the various aspects of the Works, who was responsible for which defects and the basis for that responsibility and obtaining evidence regarding these matters to place the Builder in the best position to resolve the proceeding at the compulsory conference; > > (b) the Builder had been unable to provide clear and complete instructions about who completed which aspects of the Works and this left Clyde & Co to seek those answers elsewhere; > > (c) the Builder had obtained expert evidence from Peter Quigley (architect) and Phillip Naughton (building consultant); > > (d) the Owners had filed further expert evidence from Jeff Beck (building consultant), Stephen Kip (building surveyor), Peter Wenning (plumber) and Michael Pavey (quantity surveyor); > > (e) those reports and the resulting iterations of the Scott Schedule identified many new defects, not previously the subject of the claim and which had not been identified as at 18 July 2017. The number of defects in the Scott Schedule increased from 26 defects on 3 March 2017, to 27 defects by 28 September 2017, to 88 defects by 5 September 2018 and 91 defects by 2 December 2018. By 1 April 2021, the Scott Schedule identified a total of 135 individual defects; > > (f) the Owners filed amended points of claim on 19 September 2018; > > (g) the Building Surveyors filed points of defence and expert evidence from Mr du Chateau (building surveyor); > > (h) the Building Surveyors joined the Fire Engineer to the proceeding; > > (i) the Fire Engineer and other parties, including the Builder, filed further pleadings; > > (j) the Builder joined the Draughtsman and many of the Builder's subcontractors to the proceeding; > > (k) those parties filed points of defence; and > > (l) some of those parties filed expert evidence.
Did the Lloyd's Underwriters know that the Builder would rely on the representations or intend the Builder to do so?
It can also be accepted that Delor Vue could have established detriment by showing that it had lost an opportunity that was of real and substantial value, even if it could not prove that the opportunity would have realised a benefit. But Delor Vue had to prove that the opportunity was lost and that it was something of value. (Citations omitted)
Did actual detriment to Shangri-La arise by reason of the letter of 18 July 2017?
... no case based on this type of detriment was ever run at trial. No such detriment was set out in Delor Vue's Amended Concise Statement, the case to which the primary judge properly held Delor Vue, despite attempts late in the trial to expand its case.
If there is detriment, is it sufficient to found an estoppel?
Even if there was a detriment sufficient to found an estoppel - and there is not - the detriment is so minor that it is minuscule in comparison with the relief sought (namely, to hold Arch or Underwriters liable to indemnify it for liabilities in the millions under a policy of insurance that does not otherwise respond). Such relief exceeds what could be justified by the requirements of conscientious conduct, and would be manifestly unjust.[255]
The equitable estoppel and relief arising from equitable principles are not limited to removing or reversing, by the minimum equity necessary, the precisely-weighted prejudice or detriment suffered: ... The correct way to approach the matter does not involve measuring out equitable relief by the teaspoonful to reach some asserted equality with the measured detriment: (citations omitted).
Equity will look at all the relevant circumstances that touch upon the conscionability (or not) of resiling from the encouragement or representation previously made, including the nature and character of the detriment, how it can be cured, its proportionality to the terms and character of the encouragement or representation and the conformity with good conscience of keeping a party to any relevant representation or promise made, even if not contractual in character. Equity has also had a place in keeping parties to representations or promises: ...
There is no reason to confine this reasoning to a particular type of estoppel case. The insights that inform the approach are of general application.[270]
(a) the Builder took out a professional indemnity policy with the Lloyd's Underwriters through Arch for which it paid a significant premium; > > (b) this proceeding was instituted in the Tribunal by the Owners against the Builder and the Builder made a claim against Arch (and accordingly Lloyd's Underwriters) in respect of the Owners claims; > > (c) Arch did not immediately admit indemnity but undertook investigations and admitted indemnity in accordance with its own timeframe when it was satisfied that it had obtained all relevant information; > > (d) after Arch admitted indemnity by the letter of 18 July 2017 Arch took over the conduct of the defence as it was entitled to do under the terms of the Policy; > > (e) Arch made with the consent of the Builder, a number of significant strategic decisions concerning the defence of the proceeding; > > (f) despite having admitted indemnity in July 2017 and later confirming that admission of indemnity, Arch on 19 December 2018 through Clyde & Co flagged for the first time an issue with indemnity, advising that design and project management errors were covered by the Policy, but construction errors were not; > > (g) the partial withdrawal of indemnity in the short term must have affected the ability of the Builder in conjunction with the Lloyd's Underwriters to negotiate a settlement of the proceeding in the period after December 2018; > > (h) the partial withdrawal of indemnity stipulated in December 2018 evolved into a complete withdrawal of indemnity in June 2020 and ultimately put the Builder into conflict with the Lloyd's Underwriters; > > (i) by the time the hearing began in June 2021, the proceeding was extremely complex, with ten respondents and five joined parties. > > (j) The number of defects in issue had risen dramatically;[272] > > (k) even at the start of the hearing, legal costs globally incurred by the parties must have been very substantial and would have been a factor in inhibiting the ability of the parties to settle; > > (l) had Arch not extended indemnity in the letter of 18 July 2017, the course of the litigation may well have been different but is not critical that the Builder cannot demonstrate what might have happened; > > (m) indeed, it would be unfair to insist that the Builder demonstrate the counterfactual because its ability to do so was removed by Arch's admission of indemnity in July 2017; > > (n) if the Lloyd's Underwriters are not held to their representation that they will indemnify the Builder, the Builder will be left to meet alone the orders for damages made by the Tribunal which will be, as a result of the findings expressed in the Defects Determination published on 30 December 2022, in the order of $9 million; > > (o) the only way the detriment to the Builder can be avoided is for the Lloyd's Underwriters to be held to their representation that they would indemnify the Builder; > > (p) holding the Lloyd's Underwriters to their representation is consistent with the important principle of holding a party in a legal relationship to its promise; > > (q) that the detriment caused to the Builder by the fact that the Lloyd's Underwriters extended a complete indemnity in July 2017 and took over the conduct of the proceeding and thereby deprived the Builder of the opportunity of settling it at an early stage, can be described in my assessment as a loss of chance that is not fanciful nor unrealistic; > > (r) to allow the Lloyd's Underwriters to resile from their promise would be unconscionable because the detriment caused to the Builder would be palpable and irremediable although mathematically unquantifiable. > > (s) to argue that the remedy of holding the Lloyd's Underwriters to their representation that they will indemnify the Builder-which will leave them facing a payout of approximately $9 million in respect of defects and potentially another very large sum in respect of legal costs- is somehow disproportionate to the detriment to be suffered by the Builder is misconceived because there is a direct connection between the remedy required and the detriment to be avoided. > > (t) It would be an error to look at the issue of proportionality from the point of view of the Lloyd's Underwriters alone.
Have the Lloyd's Underwriters failed to act to avoid the detriment?
(a) they (through their agent Arch) have considered the information provided by the Builder and are satisfied that the allegations made by the Owners against the Builder in the proceeding are in relation to civil liability arising from the conduct of the Builder's Professional Business.
(b) they will grant indemnity to the Builder under the Contract of Insurance in respect of the claim made by the Owners in the proceeding subject to a specific reservation of rights.
THE LLOYD'S UNDERWRITERS OBLIGATION TO PAY COSTS UNDER THE POLICY
In addition, pay Defence Costs incurred with the prior written consent of Underwriters in the defence or settlement of any such Claim, provided that, if a payment in excess of the amount of indemnity available under this Contract is to be made to dispose of a Claim, Underwriters' liability for such Defence Costs shall be such proportion thereof as the amount of indemnity available under this Contract in respect of that Claim bears to the amount paid or payable to dispose of that Claim.
is estopped from not fulfilling those representations.
ORDERS FOR DAMAGES MADE AGAINST THE FIRST RESPONDENT IN RESPECT OF THE APPLICANTS IN THE FINAL ORDERS (DEFECTS) MADE 3 MAY 2023.
Awards for damages (other than awards in the nature of interest)
(a) ACP means aluminium composite panels;
(b) Apartment or Unit means an apartment at 26-30 Willansby Avenue, Brighton, Victoria 3186;
(c) Apportionable Warranty means a warranty set out in s 8(a) and s 8(d) of the DBC Act;
(d) Arch means the fourth joined party Arch Underwriting at Lloyd's (Australia) Pty Ltd;
(e) BAB means the Building Appeals Board;
(f) Building Act means the Building Act 1993 (Vic);
(g) Builder means the first respondent; Shangri La Construction Pty Ltd (ACN 130 534 244);
(h) BCA or Code means the Building Code of Australia, being volumes 1 and 2 of the National Construction Code;
(i) CMM means the second joined party CMM Group Pty Ltd (ACN: 142 132 358);
(j) Common Property or CP means the land identified as common property in Plan of Subdivision PS 623721N;
(k) Consultants means the second and third, fourth and fifth, sixth Respondents inclusive;
(l) Consultants' Settlement means the fact of the settlement of the applicants' claims against the Consultants;
(m) D&C Contract means the Design and Construct Contract dated 17 September 2009 between the Developer and the Builder;
(n) DBC Act means the Domestic Building Contracts Act 1995 (Vic);
(o) DtS or DTS means Deemed-to-Satisfy provisions which are deemed-to-satisfy the BCA performance requirements;
(p) Developer means 30 Willansby Street Pty Ltd (ACN 126 967 388);
(q) EPS means extruded polystyrene;
(r) FEB means Fire Engineering Brief;
(s) FER means Fire Engineering Report;
(t) FRV means Fire Rescue Victoria;
(u) GST has the meaning given to it in the A New Tax System {Goods and Services Tax) Act 1999 (Cth) and associated taxation legislation;
(v) GPS means the first joined party Haiying Jiang (Ms Jiang), who trades (or traded) as GPS Plaster
(w) Item means the items listed in the Scott Schedule;
(x) K&P Rendering means the ninth respondent Mohammad Pacha t/as K & P Rendering Texture Finishing and the tenth respondents Hamzaie Hafizullah t/as K & P Rendering Texture Finishing;
(y) Lloyd's Underwriters means the fifth joined party Certain Underwriters at Lloyd's Subscribing to Policy Number P0003310PI2016AU0;
(z) Non-Apportionable Warranties means the warranties set out in sections 8(b), 8(c), 8(e) and 8(f) of the DBC Act;
(aa) OC means Owners Corporation PS 623721;
(bb) Owners means the applicants;
(cc) Regulations means Building Regulations 2006;
(dd) Rectification Works means the works required to be undertaken to fix the defects at the Willansby Apartments;
(ee) RBS means "relevant building surveyor'' as defined in the Building Act, and who is the Third Respondent Mr Jim Tsaganas;
(ff) Scott Schedule means the document settled a conclave of experts conducted by Senior Member Levine on 29 March 2021 and completed on 1 April 2021 and updated by solicitors for the Owners, the Builder and Arch on 25 October 2021, which located at TB792:9870;
(gg) Settled Claims means the claims settled between the Owners and the Consultants;
(hh) Shangri La means the First Respondent, Shangri La Construction Pty Ltd (ACN 130 534 244);
(ii) SOU means Single Occupied Unit:
(jj) The Silver Arc means the sixth named respondent:
(kk) Tribunal Book or TB means the Tribunal Book filed in the proceeding as updated from time to time by the Owners' solicitors:
(ll) Willansby Apartments means the Apartments and Common Property located at 26-30 Willansby Avenue, Brighton, Victoria 3186; and
(mm) Wrongs Act 1958 means the Wrongs Act 1958.
[1] Owners Corporation PS623721 & Ors v Shangri- La Construction Pty Ltd & Ors (Building and Property) [2022] VCAT 1499.
[4] Nicholson Wright Pty Ltd is now called CODEHQ Pty Ltd.
[5] Owners Corporation PS623721 v Shangri- La Construction Pty Ltd (Building and Property) [2022] VCAT 1499 at [9].
[8] Builder's submissions on Allianz v Delor Vue, [50]-[57].
[9] Lloyd's Underwriters' submissions on Allianz v Delor Vue,[40].
[10] Builder's response submissions on Allianz v Delor Vue, [23]-[24].
[19] Defence of the Lloyd's Underwriters, at [4A].
[20] [2021] FCA 19, [29(1)].
[21] [2021] FCA 19, [29(5), (6) and (7)].
[22] [2000] HCA 65; (2000) 203 CLR 579,[22].
[23] Tokyo Marine & Nichido Fire Insurance Code Ltd v Hans Bo Kristian Holgersson Trading as Holgersson's Complete Home Service [2019] WASCA 114, [67].
[25] (1982) 149 CLR 337 at 352,[22].
[26] (2000) 213 CLR 5579, [74(4)].
[28] Lloyd's Underwriters Points of Defence, at [17(c)].
[29] Builder's Further Amended Point of Claim against Arch and the Lloyd's UnderwritersTB839:10859 at 10867, [18].
[31] Owners Further Amended Claim dated 21 May 2021 at [27]-[33] inclusive.
[33] TB433:7399,[28] and 7400, [30]&[32].
[34] Mr. Naqebullah's witness statements of 20 December 2019, TB263:5384, [37].
[36] [2022] VCAT 1499, [257]-[263].
[39] The Lloyd's Underwriters' closing submissions, Section C, [176-178].
[41] Further Witness statements of Mr Naqebullah dated 24 May 2021. B345:6143, [3].
[47] Further Amended Point of Claim against the fourth and fifth joined parties dated 3 November 2021, at [30].
[48] [1984] HCA 55; (1984) 165 CLR 622 at 633.
[49] [1992] VicRp 25; [1992] 1 VR 386 at 394.
[51] The Lloyd's Underwriters' final submissions at [20].
[52] [1992] VicRp 25; [1992] 1 VR 386 at 394.
[54] The Builder's Points of Claim at [30].
[55] Lloyd's Underwriters' final submissions at [356].
[60] [2000] 2 All ER 489, 500-501.
[61] The Lloyd's Underwriters' submissions at [219].
[62] D K Derrington and R S Ashton, The Law of Liability Insurance (LexisNexis Butterworths, 3rd Ed, 2013), 1193 citing QBE Insurance (Aust) Ltd v CGU Workers Comp (NSW) Ltd (2012) 17 ANZIC 61-931.
[63] The Lloyd's Underwriters' submissions at [217].
[65] [1956] 3 All ER 821, at 825.
[66] The Lloyd's Underwriters final submissions at [221].
[68] [1974] HCA 40; (1974) 131 CLR 634 at 655.
[69] [1974] HCA 40; (1974) 131 CLR 634 at 641.
[70] [1984] HCA 55; (1984) 165 CLR 622 at 633.
[73] Nigel Watts Fashion Agencies Pty Ltd v GIO General Limited (1995) 8 ANZ Ins Cas 61-235, 75,649-75,650.
[76] The Lloyd's Underwriters submissions at 349.
[78] Allianz Australia Insurance Limited v Delor Vue Apartments CTS 39788 [2021] FCAFC 121.
[79] Allianz Australia Insurance Limited v Delor Vue Apartments CTS 39788 [2022] HCA 38.
[80] Delor Vue Apartments CTS 39788 v Allianz Australia Insurance Ltd (No 2) [2020] FCA 588, [317].
[81] Allianz Australia Insurance Limited v Delor Vue Apartments CTS 39788 [2021] FCAFC 121.
[82] Allianz Australia Insurance Limited v Delor Vue Apartments CTS 39788 [2021] FCAFC 121, [104].
[83] Allianz Australia Insurance Limited v Delor Vue Apartments CTS 39788 [2022] HCA 38.
[85] Allianz Australia Insurance Limited v Delor Vue Apartments CTS 39788 [2021] FCAFC 121, [56].
[87] [2022] HCA 38, [124-125].
[88] Builder's Points of Claim against Arch dated 14 April 2021, [27]-[34].
[89] [2022] HCA 38, [28].
[102] [1974] HCA 40; (1974) 131 CLR 634 at 641.
[109] Motor Oil Hellas (Corinth) Refineries SA v Shipping Corporation of India (The "Kanchenjunga") [1990] 1 Lloyd's Rep 391 at 397‑398.
[110] [2022] HCA 38, [62].
[111] [1936] NSWStRp 14; (1936) 36 SR (NSW) 248 at 265.
[112] [2008] HCA 57; (2008) 238 CLR 570 at 588 [56].
[113] United Australia Ltd v Barclays Bank Ltd [1941] AC 1 at 18, 30, 34.
[114] [2022] HCA 38, [64].
[115] [1920] HCA 64; (1920) 28 CLR 305 at 319‑320.
[117] [2022] HCA 3038, [74], and [75].
[118] [1922] 2 AC 541 AT 549 550, 552 553; [1922] UKPCHCA 1; (1922) 31 CLR 27.
[122] [2022] HCA 38, [79].
[123] [2021] FCAFC 121, [118].
[124] Builder's submissions on Allianz v Delor Vue dated 31 January 2023, [36].
[126] Lloyd's Underwriters' Delor Vue submissions, [22].
[127] Lloyd's Underwriters final submissions, [359].
[129] Lloyd's Underwriters final submissions, [364].
[130] [2022] HCA 38, [62].
[132] Arch's opening submissions, [40 (a)].
[133] Lloyd's Underwriters final submissions, [330]-[360].
[134] [2021] FCAFC 121, [104].
[135] The judgment in the Delor Vue Federal Court appeal was dated 9 July 2021.
[136] [2022] HCA 38, [78].
[138] Nigel Watts Fashion Agencies Pty Ltd v GIO General Limited (1995) 8 ANZ Ins Cas 61-235, 75,649-75,650.
[141] Liu, "Rethinking Election: A General Theory" [2013] SydLawRw 24; (2013) 35 Sydney Law Review 599 at 618‑619.
[142] [2022] HCA 38, at [53].
[144] Sub- clause 7(a)(i) contained a reference to what commonly used to be called a Queen's Counsel clause but is now of course a King's Counsel clause. Under such a clause, neither the Lloyd's Underwriters nor the insured would be required to contest any legal proceedings unless a Senior Counsel advised such proceeding should be contested.
[145] [2022] HCA 38, at [76].
[146] [1922] 2 AC 541 at 549-550, 552-553.
[147] The Lloyd's Underwriters say in their final submissions at [374(e)(i)] that the number of defects increased from 26 defects on 3 March 2017 to 135 defects at the time of trial.
[148] Ibid [2021] FCAFC 121, [118].
[149] Ibid [2021] FCAFC 121, [119].
[150] The Lloyd's Underwriters' final submissions at [32].
[155] Nigel Watts Fashion Agencies Pty Ltd v GIO General Limited (1995) 8 ANZ Ins Cas 61-235, 75,649-75,650.
[160] [1920] HCA 64; (1920) 28 CLR 305 at 319‑320.
[161] The Builder's points of claim [32].
[162] [2013] ACTSC 171,[112], in which the Supreme Court of the Australian Capital Territory followed the Full Court of the Supreme Court of New South Wales in National Insurance Co of New Zealand Limited v Hill [1964] NSWR 597 at 599 where Herron CJ, Ferguson and Nagle JJ upheld the trial judge's reasoning and stated "Even though the appellant's submissions that the policy was void or did not cover the risk were in fact true, that would not exist its case: The estoppel would still prevail.".
[163] Mr Naughton was the Builder's expert building consultant.
[168] The Lloyd's Underwriters' submissions, [90(a)].
[170] Mr Donley's witness statement of 16 July 2021, TB 592: 8961, at [86(a)].
[171] The relevant file note is at TB 559:8634.
[174] The relevant file note is at TB 560:8641.
[177] TB: 9095 at 9097, [24]. Mr O'Brien explains that he did not include the correspondence in evidence as "it would disclose offers contemplated by the parties at the compulsory conference".
[183] The Builders points of claim against Arch dated 14 April 2021.
[184] The Builder's Opening Submissions, [121].
[187] [1985] HCA 78; (1985) 160 CLR 583, 615-616.
[188] The Lloyd's Underwriters' final submissions, [397].
[191] Shangri-La's opening at [122] and [123].
[194] [1933] HCA 61; 49 CLR 507, 547.
[195] [2005] NSWSC 1066; 65 NSWLR 300.
[196] [1988] HCA 7; (1988) 164 CLR 387.
[197] (1988) 164 CLR 387, 428.
[198] [2005] NSWSC 1066;65 NSWLR 300.
[200] [2021] FCAFC 121, [441]. Derrington J was in the minority in the Full Court of the Federal Court but was upheld by the High Court in Allianz v Delor Vue.
[201] The Lloyd's Underwriters Submissions at [217].
[202] (1988) 164 CLR 387, 428.
[203] (1988) 164 CLR 387, 428.
[205] Shangri-La's opening submissions, [187].
[206] [2014] HCA 19; (2014) 251 CLR 505, at 522 - 523 [58].
[207] The Lloyd's Underwriters' closing submissions, [462].
[208] [2001] EWHC 464; [2002] Lloyd's Rep IR 325, affirmed [2002] EWCA Civ 1253; [2002] 2 All ER (Comm) 1053; [2003] Lloyd's Rep IR 1.
[209] The Lloyd's Underwriters' submissions, [464].
[210] [2008] VSCA 86; (2008) 66 ACSR 325, [134]: [2008] VSCA 86, [134].
[211] The Lloyd's Underwriters' submissions, [468].
[212] The Lloyd's Underwriters' submissions, [471].
[213] See [Election doc at [14] ] above.
[215] The Lloyd's Underwriters' final submissions, [395].
[216] The Lloyd's Underwriters' final submissions, [494].
[217] The Lloyd's Underwriters' final submissions, [495].
[219] O'Brien Witness Statement, [16] (TB.597.9097).
[220] The Lloyd's Underwriters' final submissions, [478].
[221] See for example, T3002:24-3004:31 and T3005:8-11 (Naqebullah).
[222] The Lloyd's Underwriters' final submissions, [479(a)].
[223] T3048:20-27; T3049:4-16 (Naqebullah).
[224] The Lloyd's Underwriters' final submissions, [479(b)].
[226] The Lloyd's Underwriters' final submissions, [92] and [480].
[228] The Lloyd's Underwriters' submissions, [472 (a)].
[230] (1988) 164 CLR 387, 428.
[231] KR Handley, Estoppel by Conduct and Election (Sweet & Maxwell 2006), [1-007].
[232] The Lloyd's Underwriters' submissions, [484].
[233] The Lloyd's Underwriters' submissions, [485(a)&(b)].
[236] The engagement of Mr Peter Quigley was discussed by Mr Donley with Mr Naqebullah on 19 December 2017. The engagement of Mr Philip Naughton was discussed on a telephone conference on 17 October 2018 between Mr Naqebullah and Mr Donley.
[237] On 5 October 2017, Clyde & Co emailed the Builder a draft defence based on the Builder's instructions, which the Builder approved.
[238] On 23 April 2018, Clyde & Co wrote to the Builder recommending the joinder of a number of parties. This recommendation was updated on 3 July 2018. On 5 December 2018 Clyde & Co sought the Builder's instructions to join GPS Plaster.
[239] Letter from Clyde & Co to the Builder dated 3 July 2018.
[240] Email from Clyde & Co to the Builder dated 3 July 2018.
[241] The Lloyd's Underwriters' final submissions, [76].
[242] The Builders supplementary submissions concerning Allianz v Delor Vue, at [46].
[245] Order of DP Aird made 8 April 2021.
[248] [2013] ACTSC 171,[114].
[251] [2022] HCA 38, at [82].
[255] Lloyd's Underwriters' closing submissions, at [531].
[256] Lloyd's Underwriters' closing submissions, [532].
[257] (1988) 164 CLR 387 at 413.
[258] The Lloyd's Underwriters' closing submissions, [533].
[266] Delor Vue Apartments CTS 39788 v Allianz Australia Insurance Ltd (No 2) [2020] FCA 588, [335].
[267] [2010] NSWCA 84, [3]; [2010] NSWCA 84; 78 NSWLR 483 [3].
[268] [2010] NSWCA 84, [3]; [2010] NSWCA 84; 78 NSWLR 483 [3].
[271] [2022] HCA 38, [88] footnote 111.
Owners Corporation PS623721
Shangri-La Construction Pty Ltd
(1982) 149 CLR 337
(1974) 131 CLR 634
(1922) 31 CLR 27
(2009) 239 CLR 361
(1985) 160 CLR 583
(1988) 164 CLR 387
(1984) 165 CLR 622
(2000) 213 CLR 5579
(1920) 28 CLR 305
(2000) 203 CLR 579
(2008) 238 CLR 570
(2014) 251 CLR 505
(1990) 170 CLR 394