[2025] FCA 1617
General information, not legal advice.
Federal Court of Australia
2025-12-19
Bennett J
Original judgment source is linked above.
The Applicant appeared in person with the assistance of an interpreter
(a) the Respondent pay the costs of the proceeding up to and including 14 July 2025, to be taxed in default of agreement; and
(b) there be no order as to costs incurred from 14 July 2025.
Note: Entry of orders is dealt with in Rule 39.32 of the Federal Court Rules 2011.
The decision of the Social Services and Child Support Division of the Tribunal dated 8 June 2023 is set aside. In substitution therefor, the Tribunal remits the matter to the Respondent with a direction that the compensation preclusion period for the Applicant be recalculated on the basis that the amount of $359,240.41 be disregarded under s 1184K of the Social Security Act 1991 (Cth) as not having been made.
(a) $150,000 lump sum settlement amount which contained a component for economic loss.
(b) $14,736.32 reimbursement of medical expenses.
(c) $238,112.07 to be paid directly to a first law firm that assisted the Applicant (Law Firm A).
(d) $121,128.34 to be paid to the Applicant in respect of costs incurred by a second law firm (Law Firm B).
The Respondent has offered, and the Applicant has accepted a lump sum payment of $150,000.00 subject to a satisfactory Australian Taxation Office ruling structured as a payment on account of redemption of medical and like expenses in the sum of $20,000.00 and redemption of income in the sum of $130,000.00, such amounts to be paid by way of Redemption Agreement made pursuant to Section 42 of the Workers Rehabilitation & Compensation Act 1986.
(1) This Part operates in certain specified circumstances to do one or more of the following:
(a) reduce a person's compensation affected payment;
(b) render a person's compensation affected payment not payable;
(c) require the repayment of some or all of a person's compensation affected payment;
because of the receipt of compensation by the person or the person's partner.
(2) This Part applies whether or not there is any connection between the circumstances that give rise to the person's qualification for the compensation affected payment and the circumstances that give rise to the receipt of compensation by the person or the person's partner.
(1) Subject to subsection (2), if a person receives both periodic compensation payments and a lump sum compensation payment, the lump sum preclusion period is the period that:
(a) begins on the day following the last day of the periodic payments period or, where there is more than one periodic payments period, the day following the last day of the last periodic payments period; and
(b) ends at the end of the number of weeks worked out under subsections (4) and (5).
(2) If a person chooses to receive part of an entitlement to periodic compensation payments in the form of a lump sum, the lump sum preclusion period is the period that:
(a) begins on the first day on which the person's periodic compensation payment is a reduced payment because of that choice; and
(b) ends at the end of the number of weeks worked out under subsections (4) and (5).
(3) If neither of subsections (1) and (2) applies, the lump sum preclusion period is the period that:
(a) begins on the day on which the loss of earnings or loss of capacity to earn began; and
(b) ends at the end of the number of weeks worked out under subsections (4) and (5).
(4) The number of weeks in the lump sum preclusion period in relation to a person is the number worked out using the formula:
(5) If the number worked out under subsection (4) is not a whole number, the number is to be rounded down to the nearest whole number.
Compensation
Subject to subsection (2B), for the purposes of this Act, compensation means:
(a) a payment of damages; or
(b) a payment under a scheme of insurance or compensation under a Commonwealth, State or Territory law, including a payment under a contract entered into under such a scheme; or
(c) a payment (with or without admission of liability) in settlement of a claim for damages or a claim under such an insurance scheme; or
(d) any other compensation or damages payment;
(whether the payment is in the form of a lump sum or in the form of a series of periodic payments and whether it is made within or outside Australia) that is made wholly or partly in respect of lost earnings or lost capacity to earn resulting from personal injury.
(3) Subject to subsection (4), for the purposes of this Act, the compensation part of a lump sum compensation payment is:
(a) 50% of the payment if the following circumstances apply:
(i) the payment is made (either with or without admission of liability) in settlement of a claim that is, in whole or in part, related to a disease, injury or condition; and
(ii) the claim was settled, either by consent judgment being entered in respect of the settlement or otherwise; or
(ab) 50% of the payment if the following circumstances apply:
(i) the payment represents that part of a person's entitlement to periodic compensation payments that the person has chosen to receive in the form of a lump sum; and
(ii) the entitlement to periodic compensation payments arose from the settlement (either with or without admission of liability) of a claim that is, in whole or in part, related to a disease, injury or condition; and
(iii) the claim was settled, either by consent judgment being entered in respect of the settlement or otherwise; or
(b) if those circumstances do not apply - so much of the payment as is, in the Secretary's opinion, in respect of lost earnings or lost capacity to earn, or both.
(5) A person receives compensation whether he or she receives it directly or whether another person receives it, on behalf of, or at the direction of the first person.
compensation affected payment means:
(aa) an age pension; or
(a) a disability support pension; or
(b) a parenting payment; or
(c) a social security benefit; or
(f) a carer payment; or
(g) a special needs disability support pension; or
(h) a special needs disability support wife pension; or
(k) a former payment type; or
(l) any of the following:
(i) an advance pharmaceutical allowance;
(ii) a telephone allowance;
(iv) an education entry payment;
(v) a pensioner education supplement;
where, in order to be qualified for the allowance, payment or supplement, a person must be receiving, or receiving at a particular time, another kind of payment and that other kind of payment (the underlying compensation affected payment) is a compensation affected payment to which any of paragraphs (aa) to (k) applies; or
(m) a fares allowance, where:
(i) if subparagraph 1061ZAAA(1)(b)(i), (ii) or (iii) applies - the allowance or payment (the underlying compensation affected payment) mentioned in that subparagraph is a compensation affected payment to which any of paragraphs (aa) to (k) of this definition applies; or
(ii) if subparagraph 1061ZAAA(1)(b)(iv) applies - in order to be qualified for the supplement mentioned in that subparagraph, a person must be receiving another kind of payment and that other kind of payment (the underlying compensation affected payment) is a compensation affected payment to which any of paragraphs (aa) to (k) of this definition applies.
1184K Secretary may disregard some payments
(1) For the purposes of this Part, the Secretary may treat the whole or part of a compensation payment as:
(a) not having been made; or
(b) not liable to be made;
if the Secretary thinks it is appropriate to do so in the special circumstances of the case.
...
(1A) The Secretary may decide to write off a debt under subsection (1) if, and only if:
(a) the debt is irrecoverable at law; or
(b) the debtor has no capacity to repay the debt; or
(c) the debtor's whereabouts are unknown after all reasonable efforts have been made to locate the debtor; or
(d) it is not cost effective for the Commonwealth to take action to recover the debt.
1237A Waiver of debt arising from error
Administrative error
(1) Subject to subsection (1A), the Secretary must waive the right to recover the proportion of a debt that is attributable solely to an administrative error made by the Commonwealth if the debtor received in good faith the payment or payments that gave rise to that proportion of the debt.
Note: Subsection (1) does not allow waiver of a part of a debt that was caused partly by administrative error and partly by one or more other factors (such as error by the debtor).
(1A) Subsection (1) only applies if:
(a) the debt is not raised within a period of 6 weeks from the first payment that caused the debt; or
(b) if the debt arose because a person has complied with a notification obligation, the debt is not raised within a period of 6 weeks from the end of the notification period;
whichever is the later.
Underestimating value of property
(2) If:
(a) a debt arose because the debtor or the debtor's partner underestimated the value of particular property of the debtor or partner; and
(b) the estimate was made in good faith; and
(c) the value of the property was not able to be easily determined when the estimate was made;
the Secretary must waive the right to recover the proportion of the debt attributable to the underestimate.
Proportion of a debt
(3) For the purposes of this section, a proportion of a debt may be 100% of the debt.
...
1237AAD Waiver in special circumstances
The Secretary may waive the right to recover all or part of a debt if the Secretary is satisfied that:
(a) the debt did not result wholly or partly from the debtor or another person knowingly:
(i) making a false statement or a false representation; or
(ii) failing or omitting to comply with a provision of this Act, the Administration Act or the 1947 Act; and
(b) there are special circumstances (other than financial hardship alone) that make it desirable to waive; and
(c) it is more appropriate to waive than to write off the debt or part of the debt.
Note 1: Section 1236 allows the Secretary to write off a debt on behalf of the Commonwealth.
Note 2: This section has effect subject to section 1237AAE in relation to an assurance of support debt.
...the legal costs paid to Law Firm B of $121,128.34 should also be treated as not having been made to the Applicant because of the circumstances applicable to that payment: the Applicant did not receive any benefit from the payment of those legal costs; in fact, she received no benefit at all from the protracted legal proceedings which were initiated by the [South Australia] Health Department in pursuit of what they decided was a wrong interpretation of the State statute. The Tribunal is satisfied that special circumstances exist in relation to the payment to Law Firm B to enliven the discretion available in s 1184K(1) of the Act.
In terms of whether special circumstances apply to Ms Li, the Tribunal notes her evidence about her financial situation, but also that she has been able to return to work (at least for a period) to assist as a nurse during the pandemic, which is much to her credit. The Tribunal accepts she has sold her Adelaide property and that her own residence is heavily encumbered by a mortgage. The Tribunal also accepts the Applicant has certain health conditions, but notes she did return to work for a period, and does not consider these conditions rise to the level of satisfying the 'special circumstances' discretion in s 1184K(1) of the Act. The Tribunal agrees with the Respondent's submissions that there is no provision for reducing the lump sum figure by the amount of medical expenses which have been paid as part of a lump sum.
(1) $14,736.32 for medical expense reimbursement ordered by consent by the SAET on 7 November 2022; and
(2) $20,000 for future medical costs to be paid by way of redemption agreement made pursuant to s 42 of the Workers Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1986 (SA) (since repealed).
The Secretary accepts that the Tribunal's decision is affected by a material error of law error by reason of it having failed to consider the applicant's submission that her [parenting payment] debt should be written off pursuant to s 1236 of the Act or waived pursuant to ss 1237A or 1237AAD of the Act (CB 738, 758-760)...
For the reasons below, the Secretary contends that whilst Question of Law 3(b) and Question of Law 4 engage the Court's jurisdiction, albeit only insofar as they impugn the Tribunal not having considered the write off and waiver provisions of the Act, the amended notice of appeal otherwise fails to engage the Court's jurisdiction, such that no error of law is identifiable in respect of the Tribunal's factual findings that the applicant impugns.
177 Court may make findings of fact
(1) In hearing the appeal, the Federal Court may make findings of fact if:
(a) the findings of fact are not inconsistent with findings of fact made by the Tribunal (other than findings made by the Tribunal as the result of an error of law); and
(b) it appears to the Court that it is convenient to do so.
(2) In deciding whether it is convenient, the Court must have regard to:
(a) the extent (if any) to which it is necessary to make findings of fact; and
(b) the means by which those facts might be established; and
(c) the quick and efficient resolution of the whole of the matter; and
(d) the relative expense and delay (if any) to the parties if the Court, rather than the Tribunal, makes the findings of fact; and
(e) whether any of the parties considers that it is appropriate for the Court, rather than the Tribunal, to make the findings of fact; and
(f) any other matters that the Court considers relevant.
(3) For the purposes of this section, the Court may:
(a) have regard to the evidence given in the proceeding in the Tribunal; and
1002. This clause enables the FCA to make findings of fact in an appeal on a question of law. It is equivalent to subsections 44(7) and (8) of the AAT Act. It has minor updates to reflect modern drafting practices. These do not affect the operation or effect of the provision, and do not expand the FCA's ability to make findings of fact. The operation of this provision, as set out below, was interpreted by the Full Court of the FCA in Haritos v Federal Commissioner of Taxation (2015) 33 FCR 315. The clause is intended to operate consistently with that interpretation.
- The clause provides that the Court may only make findings of fact that are consistent with previous findings made by the Tribunal (unless that finding was due to an error of law), and where it is convenient for the Court to make the finding.
Ground 1: Alleged jurisdictional error in consideration of s 1184K
The Tribunal committed a jurisdictional error by failing to exercise its discretion under section 1184K(1) of the Social Security Act 1991 (Cth) ("SS Act") to exclude non-income components from the assessable compensation payment by:
(a) Failing to exclude $14,736.32 for medical providers as set out in the SAET Order dated 7 November 2022, despite the Applicant's submission and evidence that these were medical costs not referable to lost earnings;
(b) Failure to exclude $20,000 of medical expenses that were recovered by Medicare Compensation Recovery Department on 6 April 2023, resulting in an unlawful double recovery contrary to the legislative purpose of s 1184K and the Social Security Guide 4.13.4.10;
(c) Abandoning its independent statutory function by accepting Centrelink's position that no provision allowed the exclusion of medical expenses from lump sum compensation, despite section 1184K(1) providing such discretion.
Ground 2: Misinterpretation of lump sum preclusion period and double recovery
The Tribunal erred in law by mischaracterising the entire lump sum amount of $164,736.32 as compensation for loss of earnings, without:
(a) Properly distinguishing medical expenses as a separate head of damage, as expressly stated in the SAET Order;
(b) Correctly applying Instruction 4.13.4.10 of the Social Security Guide, which mandates exclusion of medical components to prevent double recovery; and
(c) Recognising that the Commonwealth had already recovered the $20,000 in medical expenses via Medicare Compensation Recovery, rendering Centrelink's debt assessment duplicative and unlawful.
Purported Question of Law 2 is similarly misconceived. The Tribunal's omission to consider ss 1236 and 1237 of the Act (which omission the Secretary concedes) does not mean that it misinterpreted s 1184K; they are distinct powers, and the applicant has not identified how the omission to apply ss 1236 and 1237 identifies an error of law in the Tribunal's application of s 1184K.
Ground 3: Failure to consider write off and waiver
The Tribunal committed jurisdictional errors by misconstruing and misapplying its statutory powers, specifically:
(a) Misapplying section 1184K(1) as the legal basis for assessing the Applicant's claim for debt waiver, which is governed exclusively by sections 1236(1A) (administrative error) and 1237AAD (special circumstances) of the SS Act;
(b) By failing to exercise its statutory discretion under section 1236(1A) and 1237AAD despite the Applicant's extensive submissions asserting administrative error and multiple special circumstances warranting waiver of the debt;
(c) Acting outside its jurisdiction by conflating exclusion under s 1184K(1) with debt waiver, thereby failing to exercise its proper jurisdiction and statutory functions.
Did the tribunal commit jurisdictional errors by:
(a) Failing to properly exercise its discretion under section 1184K(1) of the Social Security Act 1991 (Cth) to exclude the medical costs of $34,736.32 from the assessable compensation;
(b) Misapplying section 1184K(1) as the legal basis for determining debt waiver, thereby exceeding the scope of its statutory power and failing to properly consider and apply the correct provisions under sections 1236(1A) and 1237AAD of the Social Security Act 1991 (Cth).
Purported Question of Law 3(a) in substance invites merits review of the Tribunal's non-acceptance of the applicant's contention that her medical costs should be excluded.
It is also well-established that the requisite level of engagement by the decision-maker with the representations must occur within the bounds of rationality and reasonableness. What is necessary to comply with the statutory requirements for a valid exercise of power will necessarily depend upon the nature, form and content of the representations. The requisite level of engagement - the degree of effort needed by the decision-maker - will vary, among other things, according to the length, clarity and degree of relevance of the representations. The decision maker is not required to consider claims that are not clearly articulated or which to not clearly arise on the materials before them.
Additional ground: Construction of s 17 of the SS Act
Inclusion of the full $34,736.32 medical component contravened sections 17(1) and 17(2) of the Act, which define "compensation" and "compensation-affected payments" as relating only to lost income or capacity to earn.
In the absence of very singular evidence as to the construction of a settlement payment and the heads of damage for which it is made, where one sees a payment made in the course of either compensation or personal injuries proceedings, which is made as a result of those proceedings having been brought, it would ordinarily be an unremarkable conclusion, where the proceedings have included a claim in respect of loss of earning capacity or incapacity to undertake work, to reach a conclusion that the payment was one which had been made wholly or partly "in respect" of earnings or lost capacity to earn, resulting from personal injury.
The Respondent noted that the first review decided that there were special circumstances that meant part of Ms Li's compensation payment above $260,000 should be treated as not having been made. The Respondent accepted that, the Applicant having sought a second review in the General Division, the Tribunal is conducting a review de novo, and can set aside the first review finding, but that the Secretary of the Department considers it is appropriate in the special circumstances of this case to treat $263,976.73 'and no more' as compensation payments as not having been made to the Applicant.
(1) First: the Respondent was unsuccessful in the Tribunal in arguing for the inclusion of the legal costs in respect of Law Firm B as part of the lump sum compensation payment. It has not argued that decision was infected by legal error.
(2) Second: the Respondent accepted before the Tribunal that it was appropriate for the legal costs in respect of Law Firm A to be treated as not having been made to the Applicant. There is no reason that it should be permitted to resile from that concession.
(3) Third: The matter has been ongoing for a number of years. There have been substantial delays, including those which the Tribunal recognised are not the fault of the Applicant (R[50]). It is in the interests of the efficient resolution of all issues in dispute that the matter be determined in an efficient and just manner. I consider that objective would be best served by a limited remitter.
(1) The decision of the Tribunal dated 21 June 2024 be set aside in part, insofar as it concerns the inclusion of medical expenses as part of the amount of the lump sum compensation payment.
(2) The matter be remitted to the Tribunal to determine according to law save in respect of the Tribunal's decision that the amount of $359,240.41 be disregarded under s 1184K of the SS Act as not having been made.
(3) In relation to costs:
(a) the Respondent pay the costs of the proceeding up to and including 14 July 2025, to be taxed in default of agreement; and
(b) there be no order as to costs incurred from 14 July 2025.
(4) The amended notice of appeal dated 11 June 2025 is otherwise dismissed.
I certify that the preceding one hundred and one (101) numbered paragraphs are a true copy of the Reasons for Judgment of the Honourable Justice Bennett .
Li
Secretary, Department of Social Services [2025] FCA 1617
Avetmiss Easy Pty Ltd v Australian Skills Qualifications Authority [2014] FCA 314
Borcherdt v Department of Families, Housing, Community Service and Indigenous Affairs [2009] FCA 62
Carr v Western Australia [2007] HCA 47; 232 CLR 138
Charles Apartments Pty Ltd v Commissioner of Taxation [2025] FCA 461
Commissioner of Taxation v Bazzo (No 2) [2024] FCA 560
Commissioner of Taxation v Bazzo [2024] FCA 452
Haidar v Department of Social Security [1998] FCA 994; (1998) 157 ALR 359
Haritos v Commissioner of Taxation [2015] FCAFC 92; 233 FCR 315
NAIS v Minister for Immigration and Multicultural and Indigenous Affair [2005] HCA 77; 228 CLR 470
Onassys v Comcare [2022] FCA 90
Plaintiff M1/2021 v Minister for Home Affairs [2022] HCA 17; 275 CLR 582
Project Blue Sky Inc v Australian Broadcasting Authority [1998] HCA 35; (1998) 194 CLR 355
Roncevich v Repatriation Commission [2005] HCA 40; 222 CLR 115
Rusanov v Commissioner of Taxation (No 2) [2025] FCAFC 116
Secretary, Department of Family and Community Services v Chamberlain [2002] FCA 67; 116 FCR 348
SZTAL v Minister for Immigration and Border Protection [2017] HCA 34; 262 CLR 362
(1998) 194 CLR 355
(1998) 157 ALR 359
(1990) 26 FCR 349
(2015) 33 FCR 315