[2022] NTSC 76
General information, not legal advice.
Supreme Court of the NT
2022-09-29
Brownhill J
Original judgment source is linked above.
CIVIL PROCEDURE - Application for leave to appeal final order of Northern Territory Civil and Administrative Tribunal - Appeal grounds made out - Tribunal made errors of law which resulted in loss to applicant of potential for significantly higher financial award - Need for judicial determination of proper construction of the Victims of Crime Assistance Regulations 2007 (NT) - Leave granted.
CIVIL PROCEDURE - Appeal of Tribunal decision on five grounds - Tribunal failed to apply correct construction of the term 'with continuing disability' - Tribunal did not consider whether the relevant injury was one 'with continuing disability' - Tribunal wrongly considered issue of contributory negligence - Tribunal failed to consider a statutory declaration from the applicant - Alternatively, the Tribunal failed to give adequate reasons for its decision - Grounds 1-4 made out - Whether Court should substitute its own decision or remit matter back to Tribunal - Court can conveniently and should substitute its decision rather than remit the matter to the Tribunal - Decision of the Tribunal set aside and Court's decision substituted.
Booth v Assessor under s 24 of the Victims of Crime Assistance Act [2019] NTSC 89; Cheedy on behalf of the Yindjibarndi People v Western Australia [2010] FCA 690; Coal and Allied Operations Pty Ltd v Australian Industrial Relations Commission [2000] HCA 47; (2000) 203 CLR 194; Decleah Investments Pty Ltd v Commissioner of Taxation [2018] FCA 717; Hill v Zuda [2022] HCA 21; (2022) 96 ALJR 540; Minister for Immigration and Border Protection v Makasa [2021] HCA 1; (2021) 270 CLR 430; Minister for Immigration and Border Protection v MZYTS (2013) 230 FCR 431; Minister for Immigration and Multicultural Affairs v Yusuf [2001] HCA 30; (2001) 206 CLR 323; NAIS v Minister for Immigration and Multicultural and Indigenous Affairs (2005) 228 CLR 470; Nelson v Comcare [2009] FCA 1149; One Key Workforce Pty Ltd v Construction, Forestry, Mining and Energy Union [2018] FCAFC 77; (2018) 262 FCR 527; Osland v Secretary, Department of Justice [2010] HCA 24; (2010) 241 CLR 320; Panegyres v Medical Board of Australia [2020] WASCA 58; Re Patterson; Ex parte Taylor (2001) 207 CLR 391; Tanah Merah Vic Pty Ltd v Owners Corporation No 1 of PS613436T (No 2) [2021] VSCA 122; Victims Compensation Fund Corp v Brown (2003) 77 ALJR 1797; Young v Legal Profession Complaints Committee [2022] WASCA 52, referred to.
Victims of Crime Assistance Regulations 2007 (NT) rr 16, 18, Sch 3
Applicant/Appellant: North Australian Aboriginal Justice Agency
Second Respondent: Solicitor for the Northern Territory
Herbert v An Assessor (Victims of Crime Assistance Act) & Anor [2022]
AN ASSESSOR UNDER s 24 OF THE VICTIMS OF CRIME ASSISTANCE ACT 2006
(a) The appellant reported pain in her left foot with walking and standing, which was constant and moderate. She reported that the pain disturbs her sleep. She reported intermittent swelling of the foot. She reported that she limps most of the time. She reported intermittent numbness of the left foot. Her walking tolerance was reported to be 1.5km.
(b) There was a 9cm surgical scar on the medial aspect of the dorsum of her left foot.
(c) There was some reduction in the left ankle range of movement, with differences between left and right ankles of 24 degrees in inversion, 2 degrees in eversion and 4 degrees in dorsiflexion.
(d) There was mild tenderness upon stressing the first three metatarsal bones.
(e) There was no evidence of failure to access adequate initial treatment impeding recovery.
(f) There was no minor disfigurement, so scarring did not apply.
(g) The appellant has 'largely restored function' and the occupational physician was 'unable to establish continuing disability' from his examination. Consequently, he considered the appropriate award was for 'metatarsal bones: fracture of 1 foot (full recovery)'.
The [second respondent] submits that as an occupational physician, [the occupational physician] is suitably qualified to provide an assessment of the [appellant's] injury and ongoing disability, if any. The submission goes on to say the expert report is clear in its findings - 'thorough and responsive' and should be afforded the appropriate weight in coming to a conclusion on this matter.
I agree with the [second respondent]. The [appellant] has not sought to introduce her own evidence to counter the expert report and has made a mere 'broad brush' submission as to why it should not be accepted. I reject that submission.
Having reviewed all of the evidence that was before [the assessor] and taking into account the submissions of the [appellant] and the [second respondent], I am satisfied that the assessment was properly arrived at and I so order.
If I am wrong in my findings on review, I also note the aggravating circumstances in this matter that have not been addressed by the [appellant] - that being her failure to follow the post-operation instructions to not weight-bear on her left foot for 6 weeks and to reattend to have the screws in her foot removed 3 months after the operation. The applicant failed to follow either of those instructions.
There is evidence of on-going complaints of pain in the applicant's foot as early as only a few days after the operation and then a number of further occasions where the applicant has admitted to aggravating the injury by her own actions. There is no evidence the injury was aggravated by further unlawful assault upon her.
Whilst there is no direct evidence filed by either party on this point, in my view it is reasonable to conclude on the balance of probabilities that any aggravation to the injury that may be considered to render it a 'continuing disability' lies with the applicant's own actions (or inaction as the case may be).
Whilst there was significant submissions as to how the terms 'continuing disability' and 'fully recovered' should be interpreted in this matter as to a finding of fact, in my view the question becomes problematical as any higher amount of compensation I would have awarded should I have determined the injury was to be defined as 'continuing disability' would be reduced to at least the same amount awarded by the assessor on the basis of contributory negligence on the part of the applicant.
(a) by failing to apply the correct construction of the term 'metatarsal bones: fracture of 1 foot (with continuing disability)' in Part 2 of Schedule 3 of the Regulations (ground 1);
(b) by not applying itself to the question which the law prescribes, being whether the appellant's injury is properly characterised as 'metatarsal bones: fracture of 1 foot (with continuing disability)' within the meaning of Part 2 of Schedule 3 of the Regulations (ground 2);
(c) by asking the wrong question in purporting to reduce the amount of compensation available to the appellant by a test of 'contributory negligence', which does not appear in the Act, instead of considering whether or not to exercise the discretionary power to reduce any award of compensation pursuant to s 41(1)(c) of the Act by reference to the terms of the statutory test and the evidence before the Tribunal (ground 3);
(d) by failing to consider the appellant's statutory declaration filed on 18 May 2022, and in doing so it failed to perform its statutory task, failed to afford procedural fairness to the appellant, failed to consider a material relevant consideration, and made a decision that is unreasonable or seriously irrational (ground 4); and
(e) by failing to discharge its duty to provide adequate reasons for its decision, in that the reasons do not include findings on material questions of fact and there is no consideration of the relevant legal tests (ground 5).
Grant of leave to appeal and determination of each ground of appeal
Ground 2 - Proper construction of 'metatarsal bones: fracture of 1 foot (with continuing disability)'
(a) it must be contrasted with the term 'full recovery', which in its ordinary meaning requires a complete, entire or maximum return to the physical ability, capacity and mobility the victim had before the injury;
(b) it must be contrasted with other injuries which specify the degree of impairment or disability existing at the time of the assessment; and
(c) it must be contrasted with other injuries which specify the period for which the impairment or disability must have existed at the time of the assessment.
Ground 3 - Application of a test of contributory negligence
Ground 4 - Failure to consider appellant's statutory declaration
Determination of factual issues on an appeal on a question of law
While this Court may substitute its own decision in that event, that does not require or authorise this Court to make findings of fact or to determine questions of mixed fact and law. The Court will only substitute its own decision in circumstances where the correct answer to the question of law is of itself determinative of the matter.
Where there is a factual matter that has to be determined as a consequence of the appeal, it may be that it is able conveniently to be determined by the Court of Appeal upon uncontested evidence or primary facts already found by the Tribunal. When the outstanding issue involves the formation of an opinion which is, as in this case, based upon considerations of public interest, then it should in the ordinary case be remitted to the body established for the purpose of making that essentially factual, evaluative and ministerial judgment.
Categorisation of the appellant's left foot injury
Reduction of the award under s 41(1)(c) of the Act
[1] By r 18(1) of the Regulations, where a victim has suffered more than one injury as a result of the same violent act, they are entitled to the full amount for the most serious injury and 30% of the full amount for the second most serious injury.
[2] In the Tribunal, the first respondent took no active role and the second respondent was joined as an intervenor.
[3] In these appeal proceedings, the first respondent took no active role.
[4] See Minister for Immigration and Border Protection v Makasa [2021] HCA 1; (2021) 270 CLR 430 at [50] per the Court regarding the functions of the Commonwealth Administrative Appeals Tribunal, which performs similar functions to the NTCAT.
[5] See Re Patterson; Ex parte Taylor (2001) 207 CLR 391 at [82] per Gaudron J (citing Coal and Allied Operations Pty Ltd v Australian Industrial Relations Commission [2000] HCA 47; (2000) 203 CLR 194 at [31]), applied in One Key Workforce Pty Ltd v Construction, Forestry, Mining and Energy Union [2018] FCAFC 77; (2018) 262 FCR 527 at [169] per Bromberg, Katzmann and O'Callaghan JJ and cited with approval in NAIS v Minister for Immigration and Multicultural and Indigenous Affairs (2005) 228 CLR 470 at [41] per Callinan and Heydon JJ.
[6] Macquarie Dictionary (online).
[7] See Victims Compensation Fund Corp v Brown (2003) 77 ALJR 1797 at [33] per Heydon J (McHugh ACJ, Gummow, Kirby and Hayne JJ agreeing).
[8] See Minister for Immigration and Multicultural Affairs v Yusuf [2001] HCA 30; (2001) 206 CLR 323 at [82] per McHugh, Gummow and Hayne JJ.
[9] See Sappideen C and Vines P (eds), Fleming's The Law of Torts (10th ed, Lawbook Co, 2011) at [12.30].
[10] See Law Reform (Miscellaneous Provisions) Act 1956 (NT), ss 15 and 16.
[11] Citing Minister for Immigration and Multicultural Affairs v Yusuf [2001] HCA 30; (2001) 206 CLR 323 at [82] per McHugh, Gummow and Hayne JJ; Decleah Investments Pty Ltd v Commissioner of Taxation [2018] FCA 717 at [29] per Steward J; Cheedy on behalf of the Yindjibarndi People v Western Australia [2010] FCA 690 at [24] per McKerracher J; Nelson v Comcare [2009] FCA 1149 at [50] per Foster J; Minister for Immigration and Border Protection v MZYTS (2013) 230 FCR 431 at [31] per Kenny, Griffiths and Mortimer JJ.
[12] The appeal was to the Victorian Court of Appeal rather than the Victorian Supreme Court because the Tribunal had been constituted by the President and the statute provided that, in such a case, the appeal was to be to the Court of Appeal.
[13] See also, for example, Panegyres v Medical Board of Australia [2020] WASCA 58 at [85]- [88] per Buss P and Murphy JA; Tanah Merah Vic Pty Ltd v Owners Corporation No 1 of PS613436T (No 2) [2021] VSCA 122 at [6] per Beach and Osborn JJA, Stynes AJA.
[14] See Hill v Zuda [2022] HCA 21; (2022) 96 ALJR 540 at [25] per the Court.
Herbert
An Assessor
(2000) 203 CLR 194
(2022) 96 ALJR 540
(2021) 270 CLR 430
(2013) 230 FCR 431
(2001) 206 CLR 323
(2005) 228 CLR 470
(2018) 262 FCR 527
(2010) 241 CLR 320
(2001) 207 CLR 391
(2003) 77 ALJR 1797