© 2026 Zoe. All rights reserved.
Zoe is a legal information platform. Always consult the Federal Register of Legislation for authoritative text.
[2001] HCA 38
High Court of Australia
2001-06-27
Pincus JA, Gleeson CJ, Hayne JJ
Original judgment source is linked above.
FAI General Insurance Company Limited v Australian Hospital Care Pty Ltd [2001] HCA 38
P A Keane QC with R G Bain QC for the appellant (instructed by Clayton Utz)
S S W Couper QC with K N Wilson for the respondent (instructed by McLaughlins)
Notice: This copy of the Court's Reasons for Judgment is subject to formal revision prior to publication in the Commonwealth Law Reports.
FAI General Insurance Company Limited v Australian Hospital Care Pty Ltd
Insurance - Professional indemnity insurance - Claims made and notified policy - Term of policy deeming claim against insured made after expiry of period of cover to be covered by policy if, during period of cover, insured became aware of occurrence which gave rise to the claim and gave written notice to insurer - Claim by third party made after expiry of period of cover - Insured became aware of occurrence which gave rise to claim during period of cover but failed to notify insurer - Whether insurer entitled to refuse indemnity for failure to give notice - Whether s 54 of Insurance Contracts Act 1984 (Cth) applicable.
"(1) Subject to this section, where the effect of a contract of insurance would, but for this section, be that the insurer may refuse to pay a claim … by reason of some [omission] of the insured or of some other person, being an [omission] that occurred after the contract was entered into … the insurer may not refuse to pay the claim by reason only of that [omission] but the insurer's liability in respect of the claim is reduced by the amount that fairly represents the extent to which the insurer's interests were prejudiced as a result of that [omission]." (emphasis added)
"To indemnify the Insured against any claim or claims for compensation first made against the Insured during the period of cover specified in the Schedule and reported to the [insurer] during the period of cover specified in the Schedule,
(a) for breach of professional duty in the conduct of [the business conducted by the insured] by reason of any negligence …"
"2. The Insured shall as a condition precedent to his or their right to be indemnified under this Policy to [sic] give to the [insurer] immediate notice in writing:
"(1) Subject to this section, where the effect of a contract of insurance would, but for this section, be that the insurer may refuse to pay a claim, either in whole or in part, by reason of some act of the insured or of some other person, being an act that occurred after the contract was entered into … the insurer may not refuse to pay the claim by reason only of that act but the insurer's liability in respect of the claim is reduced by the amount that fairly represents the extent to which the insurer's interests were prejudiced as a result of that act.
(6) A reference in this section to an act includes a reference to:
"[Section 54] takes as its starting point the existence of a claim and a contract the effect of which is that the insurer may refuse to pay the claim."
That is, if s 54(1) applies, the parties to a contract of insurance will necessarily have different rights and duties from those for which their contract of insurance provided.
"'Occurrence' liability insurance policies work reasonably well in covering insureds such as automobile owners and drivers. Where an automobile operator is negligent and thereby causes damage, the nature of the negligent act and the resultant damages are in almost all cases known upon the happening of the negligent act or shortly thereafter. But for insureds who are professionals such as doctors, lawyers, engineers, etc, damages can result (or be discovered) many years after a negligent act is committed. This is even more the case for manufacturers and other types of insureds who can cause damages by producing hazardous products or toxic waste. Therefore, for each of these types of insureds, insurers are at risk for an unknown number of claims that may be made many years after the expiry of a particular policy of 'occurrence' liability insurance.
Another type of problem associated with the 'long‑tail' nature of 'occurrence' policies resulted where defendants to claims had been insured successively under liability insurance policies from different insurers over the years. In those types of situations, there arose disputes between the insurers as to when the 'occurrence' in question happened - and, therefore, which insurer had to provide an indemnity for the loss. These kinds of disputes further added to the uncertainty in calculating insurers' actuarial risk, and also caused added expenses to the insurance industry in engaging in this type of litigation.
The 'claims‑made' type of policy was seen (as were hybrid policies) as a means of providing liability insurance at reasonable rates while avoiding the problems associated with the 'long‑tail' nature of 'occurrence' policies. The date at which a claim was made would be easier to ascertain than the date at which an 'occurrence' happened, and more importantly, insurers would be better able to project the likely level of claims that would be payable under liability insurance policies."
"A conclusion that the operation of s 54 … is governed by the draftsman's decision as to where the relevant provision is located on the printed policy form would represent a triumph of form over substance."
Nevertheless, the majority of the Court in Perry decided that an omission to notify an insurer of an occurrence which may give rise to a future claim did not constitute an omission of the kind with which s 54 is concerned[24]. Once it is accepted, however, as was later held in Antico[25], that for the purposes of s 54 an "omission" may be a failure by the insured to exercise a right, choice or liberty which the insured enjoys under the policy, it is apparent that s 54 can be engaged by an omission by the insured to give notice of an occurrence, even if that omission results from a deliberate choice by the insured. The reasoning of the majority in Perry is inconsistent with Antico. Perry must therefore be regarded as overruled.
"The absence of a claim on the insured does not create any 'effect' that an 'insurer may refuse to pay a claim' by the insured. Until the first kind of claim is made, no issue of a claim of the second kind arises at all. This is not a matter of drafting or of mere form. The 'claim' [on the insured] is an event wholly external to the policy and precedes any consideration of its 'effect'."
"The extent of the cover is primarily provided for in the insuring clauses. This is done in terms of claims made against the insured and reported to the insurer during the period of cover. But that provision, although primary, is not an end of the definition of the insurer's accepted liability. Under condition 3, for the purposes of this particular policy, a notional definition of when a 'claim' is made is provided. It cannot matter that this appears among the conditions of the policy. For the reasons which the Court pointed out in East End (and which the Australian Law Reform Commission had earlier explained in the report which gave rise to the Act) it could not be left to the insurer to control the operation of the Act by the way in which it drafted its terms. The provision appearing in condition 3 could just as easily have appeared in the ensuing clauses or amongst the definitions. The policy was to be read as a whole. Where, in the insuring clauses 'claim ... first made' appears, that phrase must be understood in terms of the elaboration provided by condition 3.
The omission of the insured to give the written notice required by the terms of the condition is subject to the relief expressly provided for by s 54 of the Act. For that omission the insurer is now denied the entitlement which would otherwise have existed under the general law or under its policy, to refuse to pay the claim. Instead, the Court is directed to the apportionment referred to in the closing words of s 54 of the Act.
The insurer sought to expunge its own condition, with its special notional definition of when a claim was made, from the policy altogether. This was a curious effort and one doomed to failure."
Section 54 of the Act and claims made type policies
"Because notice of a claim or potential claim defines coverage under a claims‑made policy, we think that the notice provisions of such a policy should be strictly construed. See Driskill v El Jamie Marine, Inc 1988 WL 93606 (E D La Sept 7, 1988) ('In occurrence policies, the notice requirement is merely to "aid the insurance carrier in investigating, setting, and defending claims," but in claims‑made policies, the notice requirement is as important as the requirement that the claim be asserted during the policy period. It is the transmittal of notice of the claim that invokes coverage.')".
The arguments for the insurer's construction of s 54
"It is the duty of the insured to disclose circumstances which might give rise to a claim each year in the proposal. That is the precise moment at which it is still open to the insured to give notice of circumstances which might give rise to a claim under the current policy. The insured's specific attention to the need for disclosure is invoked by a proposal question asking whether the insured, after due inquiry, is aware of any claims circumstances. This should not be too high a burden to ask of professionals who should always be bound by principles of honesty and good faith. Moreover, there is nearly always professional insurance broker advice available to the insured."
Judicial attempts to confine the application of s 54
"It is not clear why there is any more reason to treat the insured's not having notified the insurer than a third party not having claimed against the insured as an omission within s 54, in view of the expression 'act of the insured or of some other person' in s 54(1)."
It seems unlikely that this differentiation would provide a sound, universal touchstone for the correct operation of s 54.
The classification of the insurer's "reason" to refuse the claim
"For [s 54(1)] to apply, the entitlement to refuse to pay the claim must be 'by reason of some act of the insured or of some other person'. In the present case, the immediate reason why the insurer could refuse to pay the claim was not, in terms, by reason of an act (for which may be substituted 'omission') of 'the insured or of some other person' but by reason merely of the fact that, the making of the claim upon the insured not having been 'notified' to the insurer, the claim was not within the cover. But it was not within the cover by reason of an (omission) of the insured. Therefore the entitlement to refuse arose by reason of that omission."
"It is, after all, scarcely convincing to say that the absence of liability in the insurer is not by reason of an omission on the part of the insured when it is clear that, had the insured only given notice and made a claim [later], that policy would have operated fully to protect him."
Conclusion: s 54 applied to afford relief from the "omission"
FAI General Insurance Co Ltd v Australian Hospital Care Pty Ltd (1999) 10 ANZ Insurance Cases ¶61-445. ↑
(1997) 188 CLR 652 at 669 per Dawson, Toohey, Gaudron and Gummow JJ. ↑
(1997) 188 CLR 652 at 669 per Dawson, Toohey, Gaudron and Gummow JJ. ↑
(1997) 188 CLR 652 at 669‑670 per Dawson, Toohey, Gaudron and Gummow JJ. ↑
cf Reid Crowther & Partners Ltd v Simcoe & Erie General Insurance Co [1993] 1 SCR 252 at 264 per McLachlin J. ↑
Antico (1997) 188 CLR 652 at 660 per Brennan CJ, 668‑669, 673 per Dawson, Toohey, Gaudron and Gummow JJ. ↑
HIH Casualty and General Insurance Australia Ltd v DellaVedova (1999) 10 ANZ Insurance Cases ¶61‑431 at 74,870 [28]. ↑
FAI General Insurance Co Ltd v Australian Hospital Care Pty Ltd (1999) 10 ANZ Insurance Cases ¶61‑445 per Derrington J and Chesterman J (Pincus JA dissenting); 153 FLR 448. ↑
Einfeld v HIH Casualty & General Insurance Ltd (1999) 166 ALR 714 at 721 [25]; 10 ANZ Insurance Cases ¶61‑450 at 75,164; 152 FLR 211 at 218‑219. ↑
(1998) 44 NSWLR 706 at 721‑722 ("Greentree"). ↑
FAI General Insurance Co Ltd v Australian Hospital Care Pty Ltd (1999) 10 ANZ Insurance Cases ¶61‑445; 153 FLR 448. ↑
Permanent Trustee Australia v FAI General Insurance Co Ltd (1998) 44 NSWLR 186 at 227‑228. Perry was followed in the Full Court of the Supreme Court of Western Australia before the decision in Antico was delivered by this Court: Kelly v New Zealand Insurance Co Ltd (1996) 9 ANZ Insurance Cases ¶61‑317; 130 FLR 97. ↑
Clarke, "After the Dust Settles on Antico: FAI v Perry Lives", (1997) 9 Insurance Law Journal 29. ↑
Kelly and Ball, Principles of Insurance Law (2001) at 5391‑5438 [5.0190.15]. ↑
Masel, "Taking Liberties with Claims Made Policies", (2000) 11 Insurance Law Journal 104 ("Masel"). ↑
At [13]-[16]; see also the reasons of Gleeson CJ at [1]-[5]. ↑
FAI General Insurance Co Ltd v Australian Hospital Care Pty Ltd (1999) 10 ANZ Insurance Cases ¶61‑445 at 75,085‑75,086, 75,091‑75,093; 153 FLR 448 at 452-455, 462-464. ↑
FAI General Insurance Co Ltd v Australian Hospital Care Pty Ltd (1999) 10 ANZ Insurance Cases ¶61‑445 at 75,085, 75,089 per Derrington J; 153 FLR 448 at 453, 458. ↑
Set out in the reasons of McHugh, Gummow and Hayne JJ at [14]. Condition 3, viewed in the context of the subject policy, was not akin to an option to extend the insurance cover to some extra, additional and different kind of insurance such as against libel and slander (extension 1), previous business risks (extension 2), outgoing principals (extension 3), dishonesty (extension 4), fidelity (extension 5) or loss of documents and property damage (extension 6). Condition 3 was not, in form or effect, a term expanding the scope of the policy. It was part of the operative provisions defining the insurance cover and providing when the insuring clause would come into effect. ↑
As defined in the insuring clause: see the reasons of McHugh, Gummow and Hayne JJ at [13]. The Schedule specified the period of cover: 4pm on 20 June 1991 to 4pm on 20 June 1992. ↑
FAI General Insurance Co Ltd v Australian Hospital Care Pty Ltd (1999) 10 ANZ Insurance Cases ¶61‑445 at 75,085 per Derrington J; 153 FLR 448 at 453. ↑
FAI General Insurance Co Ltd v Australian Hospital Care Pty Ltd (1999) 10 ANZ Insurance Cases ¶61‑445 at 75,082 per Pincus JA, 75,086 per Derrington J, 75,094 per Chesterman J; 153 FLR 448 at 449, 454‑455, 464. ↑
The terms of condition 3 are set out in Perry (1993) 30 NSWLR 89 at 99. ↑
Greentree (1998) 44 NSWLR 706 at 708 per Spigelman CJ. ↑
Greentree (1998) 44 NSWLR 706 at 710 per Spigelman CJ. ↑
Greentree (1998) 44 NSWLR 706 at 718 per Mason P. ↑
Kelly v New Zealand Insurance Co Ltd (1996) 9 ANZ Insurance Cases ¶61‑317 at 76,518; 130 FLR 97 at 110. ↑
Australian Law Reform Commission, Insurance Contracts, Report No 20 (1982). ↑
Commercial Union Assurance Co of Australia Ltd v Ferrcom Pty Ltd (1991) 22 NSWLR 389 at 391‑392, 402‑403; Ferrcom (1993) 176 CLR 332 at 340‑341; Newcastle City Council v GIO General Ltd (1997) 191 CLR 85 at 101‑102, 110. ↑
See GIO General Ltd v Newcastle City Council (1996) 38 NSWLR 558 at 571. ↑
GIO General Ltd v Newcastle City Council (1996) 38 NSWLR 558 at 571; Simcoe [1993] 1 SCR 252 at 266. ↑
Masel, (2000) 11 Insurance Law Journal 104 at 108. ↑
Masel, (2000) 11 Insurance Law Journal 104 at 110. ↑
Masel, (2000) 11 Insurance Law Journal 104 at 111 suggested the possible need for legislative intervention "[i]f the courts cannot accommodate a workable distinction exempting acts and omissions which define or extend the scope of cover from the operation of s 54". ↑
FAI General Insurance Company Limited
Australian Hospital Care Pty Ltd
(1991) 25 NSWLR 400
(1993) 30 NSWLR 89
(1999) 153 FLR 448
(1998) 44 NSWLR 706
(1997) 188 CLR 652
(1998) 44 NSWLR 186
(1991) 22 NSWLR 389
(1993) 176 CLR 332
(1997) 191 CLR 85
(1996) 188 CLR 418
(1996) 38 NSWLR 681
(1999) 166 ALR 714
(1996) 38 NSWLR 558
(2001) 75 ALJR 408
(2000) 75 ALJR 325
(1998) 195 CLR 232