© 2026 Zoe. All rights reserved.
Zoe is a legal information platform. Always consult the Federal Register of Legislation for authoritative text.
[2024] NSWCA 239
Court of Appeal (NSW)
2024-03-28
White JA, Mitchelmore JA, Stern JA
Original judgment source is linked above.
antee Corporation [2008] NSWSC 1022 Warner Bros Feature Productions Pty Ltd v Kennedy Miller Mitchell Films Pty Ltd [2018] NSWCA 81 Godecke v Kirwan (1973) 129 CLR 629;[1973] HCA 38 Ye v Chen (No 2) [2023] NSWCA 9 Texts Cited: Nil. Category: Principal judgment Parties: John Stephen Drummond (First appellant) Colleen Anne Drummond (Second appellant) Gordian Runoff Limited ACN 052 179 647 (Respondent) Representation: Counsel:
J Hutton SC with A Gandar (Appellants) B Walker SC with P Bambagiotti (Respondent)
Gilbert + Tobin (Appellants) Mills Oakley Lawyers (Respondent) File Number(s): 2023/215770 Publication restriction: Nil Decision under appeal Court or tribunal: Supreme Court of New South Wales Jurisdiction: Equity Citation: [2023] NSWSC 607; [2023] NSWSC 731 Date of Decision: 09 June 2023 Before: Rees J File Number(s): 2022/163350
[Note: The Uniform Civil Procedure Rules 2005 provide (Rule 36.11) that unless the Court otherwise orders, a judgment or order is taken to be entered when it is recorded in the Court's computerised court record system. Setting aside and variation of judgments or orders is dealt with by Rules 36.15, 36.16, 36.17 and 36.18. Parties should in particular note the time limit of fourteen days in Rule 36.16.]
HEADNOTE [This headnote is not to be read as part of the judgment] In January 2009 the appellants entered into an agreement with a contractor (the "Contractor") to build their property. On 13 January 2009 a home warranty insurance policy (the "Policy") with Calliden Insurance Limited was issued (from 29 June 2020 the respondent assumed the rights and liabilities under the Policy). The Policy is a "contract of insurance" under Pt 6 of the Home Building Act 1989 (NSW). Within a short period after the works on the appellants' property were completed, defects arising from breaches of statutory warranties by the Contractor became apparent. On 25 January 2017 the appellants commenced proceedings against the Contractor in the New South Wales Civil and Administrative Tribunal (the "Tribunal") alleging breaches of statutory warranties and seeking damages for rectification of the defects. In May 2018 the Tribunal held the Contractor responsible to rectify the remaining defects (for which rectification had not been agreed) and issued a work order. The Contractor completed some, but not all, of those works. In September 2019 the appellants filed a second application in the Tribunal. On 25 June 2020 the proceedings were adjourned after the Contractor informed the Tribunal that it had been placed into external administration. The appellants first notified the respondent of a loss on 9 July 2020. On 18 August 2020 the Contractor was placed into creditors' voluntary liquidation. On 15 December 2020 the appellants made a claim on the Policy. On 31 May 2021 the respondent denied liability, relying upon s 103BB(3)(a) of the Home Building Act, contending that the loss was not notified within the period of insurance under the Policy. It was common ground that the notification of loss on 9 July 2020 was outside the period of insurance and that the appellants had failed to satisfy the requirements of s 103BB(3)(c) of the Home Building Act. The appellants brought proceedings in the New South Wales Supreme Court seeking an order that the respondent indemnify them under the Policy. The appellants contended that s 54 of the Insurance Contracts Act 1984 (Cth) prevented the respondent from refusing a "delayed claim" where the insured fails to notify the insurer in accordance with s 103BB(3) of the Home Building Act. The primary judge dismissed the proceedings with costs and in a separate judgment subsequently varied the costs order to order that the appellants pay indemnity costs from 20 July 2022. On appeal the principal issue was whether s 54 of the Insurance Contracts Act prevented the respondent from disclaiming liability ("Issue 1"). This turned on the proper construction of each of the Policy, s 103BB of the Home Building Act and s 54 of the Insurance Contracts Act, specifically: (a) Whether s 103BB of the Home Building Act was itself incorporated as a term of the Policy; (b) Whether s 103BB relevantly alters the effect of the Policy so as to engage s 54 of the Insurance Contracts Act; or (c) Whether the operation of s 54 of the Insurance Contracts Act was attracted where a refusal to pay is premised upon the effect of s 103BB(3) and not upon the Policy. The other issues on appeal were whether s 103BB(3) of the Home Building Act was inconsistent with, or alters, impairs or detracts from the operation of, s 54 of the Insurance Contracts Act within the meaning of 109 of the Constitution ("Issue 2") and whether the primary judge's determination as to costs was correct ("Issue 3"). The Court (Stern JA, Mitchelmore JA agreeing, White JA dissenting) held dismissing the appeal: As to issue 1(a) Per Stern JA (Mitchelmore JA agreeing) (1) The chapeau to the insuring clause, which provided that "[w]e will provide insurance cover to you, subject to the terms, conditions and exclusions set out in this Policy, and in accordance with the Act and Regulation for: …" did not incorporate relevant sections or regulations of the Home Building Act and the Home Building Regulation 2004 (NSW) ("2004 Regulation") into the terms of the Policy. Rather, it provided that coverage under the Policy would not be provided in a manner inconsistent or conflicting with the Home Building Act and the 2004 Regulation: [106]. Per Curiam (2) The "loss insured by the Policy" is the loss or damage arising from the manifestation of a defect consequent upon breach of a statutory warranty as opposed to the irrecoverability of such loss: [115]-[116]. Per White JA (dissenting) (3) In agreeing to provide cover in accordance with the Home Building Act in the chapeau to the insuring clause, the respondent incorporated the terms of the Home Building Act as governing the provision of insurance. It was the direct effect of the chapeau which provided the insurer the contractual right to refuse the claim owing to the omission of the appellants to notify the loss: [40], [42] (4) There is further indication that the contract incorporated the terms of the statute in the "Definitions" section. The concluding paragraph of that section does not provide that any term inconsistent with the Home Building Act was invalid or excluded, but instead that such a term is to be read and applies as if it complied with the Home Building Act, giving contractual effect to the requirements of the statute: [43], [44]. As to issue 1(b) Per Stern JA (Mitchelmore JA agreeing) (5) Section 103BB(3) does not alter the contractual effect of a contract of insurance. It operates by way of statutory, not contractual, effect. It operates in favour of an insured but on a condition imposed by Parliament, not by agreement between the parties: [154], [156], [162]. (6) The primary judge did not find that the only way in which the Home Building Act could modify contractual rights was by expressly inserting an implied term or specifying that the contract is taken to have additional terms. The primary judge addressed the proper question, being whether s 103BB of the Home Building Act should be construed such that its terms should be taken to be part of the contract. There was no error: [163]. Per White JA (dissenting) (7) Irrespective of whether the effect of s 103BB was incorporated as a contractual term, it effected a change to the effect of the contract rather than directly altering the rights and obligations of the parties. Section 103BB contains no statutory prohibition on an insurer paying a claim and the Home Building Act did not provide a statutory scheme for compensation. Rather, the statute regulated the contracts for carrying out home building work and implied statutory warranties into the relevant contract. The statute therefore operated through such contracts by changing their effect and it was only by contract that the appellants could make a claim on the respondent: [44], [47]-[52]. As to issue (1)(c) Per Stern JA (Mitchelmore JA agreeing) (8) The primary judge did not err in finding that s 54 of the Insurance Contracts Act was not engaged by the respondent's refusal to pay in reliance upon s 103BB(3) of the Home Building Act. The language of s 54, which in terms speaks of "the effect of a contract of insurance", focusses upon contractual not statutory effects: [173], [186]. (9) The better view is that the words "but for this section" were included in s 54 out of an abundance of caution rather than to signal that s 54 is engaged where an insurer's refusal to pay is premised upon statute and not upon the terms or effect of the contract of insurance itself: [174]. Per White JA (dissenting) (10) The respondent accepted on appeal that s 54 would apply to the appellants' "omission" to notify their claim within the time prescribed by s 103BB, if the relevant effect was the effect of the contract. The respondent also accepted that, if the failure to notify the insurer of the loss arising from defective building work was an omission to which s 54 applies because it was an effect of the contract that entitled the insurer to refuse to pay the claim, then s 54 was satisfied: [53]-[55]. FAI General Insurance Co Limited v Australian Hospital Care Pty Limited (2001) 204 CLR 641; [2001] HCA 38; Maxwell v Highway Hauliers Pty Ltd (2014) 252 CLR 590; [2014] HCA 33, referred to. As to issue 2 Per Stern JA (Mitchelmore JA agreeing) (11) Noting that the appellants alleged direct and not indirect inconsistency, given that s 103BB of the Home Building Act does not modify the terms or effect of the contract of insurance but operates by way of supervening statutory regulation, it does not alter, impair or detract from the operation of s 54 of the Insurance Contracts Act so as to give rise to inconsistency within the meaning of s 109 of the Constitution: [188]. Jemena Asset Management (3) Pty Ltd v Coinvest Ltd (2011) 244 CLR 508; [2011] HCA 33, applied. Per White JA (12) The appellants' reliance on s 109 of the Constitution would not arise if the refusal of the insurer was the effect of the statute. If the refusal was the effect of the contract, the respondent did not dispute that relief under s 54 of the Insurance Contracts Act was available: [56]. As to issue 3 Per Stern JA (Mitchelmore JA agreeing) (13) The primary judge was correct to find that the respondent's offer on 20 July 2022 to compromise the whole of the proceedings on the basis of judgment for the respondent with no order as to costs had the necessary element of compromise to fall within r 20.26 of the Uniform Civil Procedure Rules 2005 (NSW). An offer to forego any right to claim costs in circumstances in which proceedings have been ongoing for some time has the character of a genuine offer of compromise: [194]-[195].
JUDGMENT
Factual and procedural background
The primary judgment
Notice of appeal and notice of contention
Grounds 1-4 and 6: does s 54 apply in the circumstances?
The Policy and its proper construction
Does the Policy incorporate provisions of the Home Building Act?
The scope of coverage and the meaning of "loss" in the Policy
Notification requirements under the Policy
The Home Building Act
Statutory context for s 103BB
Construction of s 103BB
Does s 54 of the Insurance Contracts Act apply in the circumstances?
Is there inconsistency within the meaning of s 109 of the Constitution
Costs
Conclusion
DISCLAIMER - Every effort has been made to comply with suppression orders or statutory provisions prohibiting publication that may apply to this judgment or decision. The onus remains on any person using material in the judgment or decision to ensure that the intended use of that material does not breach any such order or provision. Further enquiries may be directed to the Registry of the Court or Tribunal in which it was generated. Decision last updated: 09 October 2024
Drummond
Gordian Runoff Limited ACN 052 179 647
[2001] QSC 388
(1991) 25 NSWLR 400
(2001) 204 CLR 641
(2023) 111 NSWLR 550
(1936) 55 CLR 499
(2011) 244 CLR 508
(2014) 252 CLR 590
(2000) 203 CLR 579
(2011) 195 FCR 234
(1989) 94 FLR 339
(2017) 262 CLR 362
(1973) 129 CLR 629
(1997) 188 CLR 652
(2013) 302 ALR 732
(1998) 194 CLR 355
(1981) 147 CLR 297
(1955) 92 CLR 390
(2021) 106 NSWLR 1
(1997) 187 CLR 384
(2011) 245 CLR 1
[1936] HCA 40