© 2026 Zoe. All rights reserved.
Zoe is a legal information platform. Always consult the Federal Register of Legislation for authoritative text.
[2002] VSCA 127
Court of Appeal (Vic)
2002-08-07
PHILLIPS, BUCHANAN and VINCENT, JJ.A.
Original judgment source is linked above.
[ 2002] VSCA 127
Accident compensation - Work related injury in employment in January 1997 - Action commenced in 1999 to recover damages at common law - Conditions on the commencement of the proceeding - Conditions satisfied before amendment to the legislation as from 12 November 1997 - Whether necessary for plaintiff to satisfy conditions as amended - Whether amendments retrospective - Accident Compensation Act 1985 s.135A, Accident Compensation Act (Miscellaneous Amendment Act) 1997 s.47.
"(2) A worker may recover damages in respect of an injury arising out of, or in the course of, or due to the nature of, employment - (a) if employment of that nature was a significant contributing factor, and the injury is a serious injury and arose on or after 1 December 1992; ... (2A) Subject to sub-section (2D), a worker may not bring proceedings in accordance with this section unless a determination of the degree of impairment of the worker has been made under sub-section (3). (2B) Subject to sub-section (2C), the Authority, authorised insurer or self-insurer must make a determination under sub-section (3) within 60 days of receiving a written application for a determination from the worker. (2C) Despite sub-section (2B), if the application is received during the first 104 weeks after the injury, the Authority, authorised insurer or self-insurer may refuse to make a determination if the Authority, authorised insurer or self-insurer is not satisfied that the worker's injury has stabilised. (2D) If the Authority, authorised insurer or self-insurer has not within 60 days of receiving the application advised the worker in writing - (a) of the determination; or (b) of the refusal to make a determination under sub-section (2C) - the worker is entitled to bring proceedings in accordance with this section and to have the question of whether or not the injury in respect of which the worker is seeking to receive damages is a serious injury determined in the proceedings."
Sub-sections (3) and (4) then provided for what should happen if the Authority, authorised insurer or self-insurer, responding within time, determined the degree of impairment. If the degree of impairment was determined as 30% or more, the injury was deemed to be a serious injury within the meaning of the section; if determined as less than 30% then, according to sub-s.(4), the applicant was not entitled to bring proceedings for the recovery of damages without a certificate from the Authority, authorised insurer or self-insurer or the leave of the court, and such certificate or such leave depended upon satisfaction that the injury was a "serious injury". For the purposes of s.135A "serious injury" was defined by sub-s.(19).
"(2DB) If the Authority, authorised insurer or self-insurer fails to advise the worker in writing within 120 days of receiving the application - (a) of the determination; or (b) of the refusal to make a determination under sub-section (2C) - the worker is deemed to have suffered a serious injury."
That, it might be thought, worked in favour of the plaintiff, rather than against him. Instead of a worker's becoming "entitled to bring proceedings in accordance with this section" and "to have the question [of serious injury] determined in the proceedings" as previously provided by sub-s.(2D), the question of serious injury was to be resolved in favour of the worker, should the Authority, authorised insurer or self-insurer fail to respond within 120 days of receiving the application to have the degree of impairment determined. There was, of course, the difficulty that the application made by the plaintiff in this case on 26 August 1997 did not comply with the additional requirements of sub-s.(2BA) - which was scarcely surprising as the application was made well before those requirements were enacted. But this morning Mr Corrigan submitted on behalf of the respondent that compliance with sub-s.(2BA) was not essential in relation to applications made before 12 November 1997, as (he said) sub-s.(18A)[3]
must be taken to demonstrate. I do not explore the argument. Suffice it to say that if sub-s.(2DB) could be called in aid by the plaintiff, then the question of serious injury was finally resolved in his favour, or so it would appear.
"(2DE) The worker must not commence proceedings in accordance with this section .... unless - (a) the worker and the Authority, authorised insurer or self-insurer hold, or begin, a conference within 21 days after the response date [a term defined in sub-s.(19) by reference indirectly to the date on which injury was determined to be, or was deemed to be, a serious injury]; and ..." -
and the taking of a number of steps in succession was then required, including the making to the worker of an offer of settlement, either at the time of the conference or thereabouts; and if that offer was not accepted the making of a counter-offer by the worker; and if the counter-offer was not accepted the commencement of proceedings "not earlier than 21 days, and not more than 51 days after, the counter-offer is made." This is a somewhat simplified description of the steps described in the new sub-s.(2DE), but it is enough for present purposes to indicate the new conditions attached to the commencement of proceedings. Of course, none of these conditions were satisfied in this instance. There had been no conference held and no offers exchanged; nor had the plaintiff made any move in that direction, and it was in default of compliance with the conditions spelled out in the sub-section that the defendant argued, by reference to the introductory words of sub-s.(2DE), that the plaintiff was not entitled to commence his proceeding in December 1999.
"For the avoidance of doubt, it is hereby declared that all the provisions of this Division contain matters that are substantive law and are not procedural in nature".
In 1997 s.135A was indeed in the same Division as s.138A and so, as from 12 November 1997 at least, there can be no doubt about the characterisation of s.135A and the sub-sections within it. The provisions of s.135A are substantive law and so too, it must follow, were the amendments made by s.47 of the amending Act. Mr Corrigan submitted that even a provision purporting to be declaratory only, as was s.138A, cannot be used to assist in characterising the provisions of s.135A before amendment, on the ground that s.138A itself only came into force on 12 November 1997, but there may be difficulties in drawing a line so firmly. I do not pursue the point, however, for there is no need to rely upon s.138A. Independently of that section, I think it clear, as I have said, that the entitlement expressly created by sub-s.(2D) (in this case created in the plaintiff) was a substantive right, and so apt to be protected by the presumption against retrospectivity.
"Counsel for the defendant submitted that s.135A of the Act, as it applied at the date of the issue of the plaintiff's writ, was a substantive provision, conditionally extinguishing a field of potential rights and liabilities, with the result that his common law cause of action did not arise unless the requirements of sub-s.(2DE) were met. He relied in this regard upon the decision of the Court of Appeal in State of Victoria v Robertson [2000] VSCA 113 at p.14 per Batt, J.A. citing Swannell v Farmer [1998] VSCA 104; (1999) 1 V.R. 299".
State of Victoria v Robertson is now reported[8].
determined in that proceeding, and the new provisions of s.135A, which on their face would deny that entitlement. It is that conflict that falls to be resolved. That is the problem and it is resolved, in my opinion, by the application of the presumption, whether at common law or under statute, against giving s.135A as amended any force or effect in relation to a right which has already accrued under the former s.135A(2D). Because it was mentioned in argument, I emphasise that I do not decide, and say nothing about, the case in which there was not a failure to respond within 60 days (as there was in this case) but a determination that the degree of impairment was less than 30%, where (as was not the case in Robertson) that determination was made before 12 November 1997.
(Discussion ensued re costs.)
PHILLIPS, J.A.:
1. The appeal is allowed with costs. 2. The orders made in the County Court on 20 November 2000 are set aside and it is ordered in lieu that: (a) the application by summons filed on behalf of the defendant be dismissed; (b) that the defendant pay the plaintiff's costs of the application to be taxed on Scale D; (c) that there be a certificate for counsel's fees as brief fee of $1,750 for each of the two days, together with costs fixed at $750 for the appearance before Master Patkin on 13 October 2000; and (d) that there be a further order for costs of $279 in relation to the hearing of judgment.
The Court grants the respondent a certificate under the Appeal Costs Act.
4] [1993] VicRp 95; [1993] 2 V.R. 632 at 649.
[5] (1905) A.C. 369 at 372-3.
[8] [2000] VSCA 113; (2000) 1 V.R. 465. The reference to Swannell is found at 474.
Dolling
National Australia Bank [2002] VSCA 127