© 2026 Zoe. All rights reserved.
Zoe is a legal information platform. Always consult the Federal Register of Legislation for authoritative text.
[2000] VSCA 113
Court of Appeal (Vic)
2000-06-23
CALLAWAY, BATT and BUCHANAN, JJ.A.
Original judgment source is linked above.
ACCIDENT COMPENSATION - Common law proceeding commenced after 11 November 1997 - Subsequently enacted amendment prohibiting commencement unless additional steps taken - Amendment "deemed to have come into operation on 12 November 1997" - No room for presumption against retrospectivity - Amendment applicable to existing proceeding - Proceeding incompetent - Accident Compensation Act 1985, ss.135A(2DE), (6A), (18A) and (18B) and 138A; Accident Compensation (Amendment) Act 1996, s.32(2); Accident Compensation (Miscellaneous Amendment) Act 1997, s.2(2); Interpretation of Legislation Act , and (1) and (3).
"(2DE) The worker must not commence proceedings in accordance with this section, other than ... the commencement of [sic] of proceedings with the consent of the Authority under subsection (6A), unless ..."
various conferences have been held and offers made. Secondly, by s.47(8) the amending Act inserted in s.135A a new sub-s.(6A), which provides:
"(6A) If, on the application of a worker, the Authority is satisfied that - (a) the worker is unable to commence proceedings in accordance with this section because of the operation of subsection (2DE) ...; and (b) the failure to comply with subsection (2DE) ... was not due to any fault or omission of the worker or the worker's legal representative - the Authority may consent to the commencement of the proceedings ..."
Thirdly, by s.47(11) the amending Act inserted new sub-ss.(18A) and (18B). They provide:
"(18A) If - (a) a written application for a determination under sub-section (3) was made before 12 November 1997 by a worker to the Authority, an authorised insurer or self-insurer; and (b) the advice of the Authority, authorised insurer or self-insurer was not given before that date; and (c) the period of 60 days after the application was received by the Authority, authorised insurer or self-insurer expires on or after that date - the Authority, authorised insurer or self-insurer must advise the worker in accordance with sub-sections (2D) and (2DA) within 120 days after receiving from the worker - (d) a copy of all medical reports; and (e) affidavits attesting to such other material - existing when the worker gives copies of any such reports and affidavits to the Authority and of which the worker or his or her legal representative is aware and on which the worker intends to rely, or the substance of which the worker intends to adduce in evidence, in proceedings in accordance with this section or in any related proceedings. (18B) If sub-section (18A) applies to an application, this section, as amended by section 47 of the Accident Compensation (Miscellaneous Amendment) Act 1997, applies, subject to sub-section (18A), as if the application had been made under this section as so amended."
Until the enactment of the amending Act a worker applying for a determination of the degree of impairment did not need to furnish medical reports and affidavits (as now required by sub-s.(2BA), inserted by the amending Act) and the Authority, authorised insurer or self-insurer had, under sub-s.(2B), 60 days from receipt of a written application for a determination in which to make it, instead of 120 days (which sub-s.(2B) was amended to afford).
"138A. Substantive law For the avoidance of doubt, it is hereby declared that all the provisions of this Division contain matters that are substantive law and are not procedural in nature."[5]
"There is no doubt that the Act of 1915 was meant to be retrospective; and therefore the numerous cases which lay down the principle of construction against retrospective or retroactive operation are inapplicable."
Likewise, any possible operation of s.14(2) of the Interpretation of Legislation Act 1984 is excluded since it is expressed to operate "unless the contrary intention expressly appears" and that intention does appear here.
[1] Section 45(1) and (3) of the Interpretation of Legislation Act 1984 probably excludes a Finance Facilities construction (Finance Facilities Pty. Ltd. v. Federal Commissioner of Taxation [1971] HCA 12; (1971) 127 C.L.R. 106) of sub-s.(6A) but not the argument that the discretion could often be exercised only in one way.
[2] As to such a claim against an occupier, see Secretary to the Department of Natural Resources & Energy v. Megan Elizabeth Harper [2000] VSCA 36 at para.39.
[3] Section 135A of the Act at that date applied to injuries suffered on or after 1 December 1992: sub-s.(2)(a). The Bill proposed to amend it consequentially so as in sub-s.(1) to restrict such application to injuries suffered before 12 November 1997.
[4] But it was necessary to show therein that the employment was a significant contributing factor to the injury.
[5] Compare Transport Accident Act 1986, s.93(20).
[6] By Rule 9.11(3)(a) the proceeding against a new defendant commences upon the amendment of the filed originating process within 10 days. It appears that the writ was not amended, but no point was taken about this irregularity.
[9] Sub-section (2DE) does not require any participation by or even dealing with a non-employer.
[10] Defined in sub-s.(19), as amended, as the date 28 days after the "determination date", which in turn is likewise defined as the date on which the injury is, relevantly, determined to be serious.
[11] [1990] HCA 19; (1990) 169 C.L.R. 515 at 518
[13] (1943) 45 S.R.(N.S.W.) 27 at 30-31
[14] [1998] HCA 20; (1998) 192 C.L.R. 285 at 309. See also The King v. Kidman (1915) 20 C.L.R. 424 at 443, per Isaacs, J.
[15] [1986] VicRp 2; [1986] V.R. 19 at 24
[16] An early and instructive case is Jamieson v. Attorney-General (1833) 1 Alcock & Nap.375.
[19] See also University of Wollongong v. Metwally [1984] HCA 74; (1984) 158 C.L.R. 447 at 478 and SCI Operations at 323, and, for a retrospective validating Act, Taylor v. Anstis [1940] VicLawRp 49; [1940] V.L.R. 300 ("is and always has been validly constituted").
[21] Cf. Polyukhovich v. The Commonwealth [War Crimes Act Case] [1991] HCA 32; (1991) 172 C.L.R. 501 at 643 (where the legislation was of an "internal regulation" kind).
[22] Cf. Kidman at 448 and 463 as to State legislation.
[23] at 448. Similarly, Pearce & Geddes, Statutory Interpretation in Australia, 4th edn., para.[10.2].
[24] (1970) 72 S.R.(N.S.W.) 466, C.A., where there is a detailed review of the cases. The principle was accepted in Skorpos v. Development Assessment Commission (1995) 64 S.A.S.R. 51; District Council of Angaston v. Hamilton (1995) 64 S.A.S.R. 110; and Continental Liqueurs Pty. Ltd. v. G.F. Heublein & Bro. Inc. [1960] HCA 37; (1960) 103 C.L.R. 422 at 426-7, but treated as exceptional and held not to be satisfied. The decision of Kitto, J. on the point in the latter case was reversed in G.F. Heublein & Bro. Inc. v. Continental Liqueurs Pty. Ltd. [1962] HCA 66; (1962) 109 C.L.R. 153 at 159-162 on the ground that the new Act's saving provisions, which did not apply to the existing proceeding, were exhaustive.
[25] [1950] 1 K.B. 574 at 579, where Evershed, M.R. doubted the statement of Jessel, M.R. in In re Joseph Suche & Co. Ld. (1875) 1 Ch.D. 48 at 50 that an express statement of application to pending actions was required.
[26] [1980] A.C. 734 at 742
[28] applied in United Malayan Banking Corporation Berhad v. Pemungut Hasil Tanah [1985] A.C. 180 at 188.
[29] It is for this reason that it is not possible to apply to the plaintiff's action by analogy the principle enunciated by the Privy Council in Colonial Sugar Refining Co. Ltd. v. Irving [1905] A.C. 369 in relation to a right of appeal in a pending action, namely, that in the absence of express enactment or necessary intendment a statute abolishing the appeal or transferring it to a new tribunal does not deal with a mere matter of procedure and is therefore not retrospective.
[30] Each such person had, at the least, nearly another year before the period of limitation expired: Limitation of Actions Act 1958 s.5(1A).
[31] Compare s.45(1) and (3) of the Interpretation of Legislation Act 1984 and contrast Finance Facilities Pty. Ltd. v. Federal Commissioner of Taxation [1971] HCA 12; (1971) 127 C.L.R. 106 and like cases concerned with provisions to the effect that if a functionary is satisfied of some matter the functionary "may" take a certain step, in particular Commissioner of State Revenue (Vict.) v. Royal Insurance Australia Ltd.
[32] The Act by s.39(1) gives the County Court exclusive jurisdiction to determine any question arising out of a decision of the Authority. But sub-s.(1A), inserted by the amending Act with effect from 12 November 1997, provides that sub-s.(1) does not apply in respect of a decision of the Authority under s.135A(6A). It is unnecessary to decide whether the Supreme Court or the County Court or neither would have jurisdiction to entertain an application to review a decision under s.135A(6A). See also ss.62 and 63 of the amending Act.
[33] (1886) 31 Ch.D. 402 at 409
[34] [1858] EngR 854; (1858) 8 E&B 784 at 787; [1858] EngR 854; 120 E.R. 292 at 293
[35] [1998] VSCA 104; [1999] 1 V.R. 299; special leave refused 10 May, 1999.
State of Victoria
Robertson & Anor [2000] VSCA 113