© 2026 Zoe. All rights reserved.
Zoe is a legal information platform. Always consult the Federal Register of Legislation for authoritative text.
[2000] HCA 6
High Court of Australia
2000-02-10
Gaudron ACJ, Callinan JJ
Original judgment source is linked above.
B J Shaw QC with J J Batrouney for the appellant (instructed by Australian Government Solicitor)
G J Davies QC with J F Goldberg and J Davies for the respondent (instructed by Coadys)
A Moshinsky QC with S R McCredie intervening on behalf of Victorian WorkCover Authority (instructed by Paul Tipping, Victorian WorkCover Authority)
Notice: This copy of the Court's Reasons for Judgment is subject to formal revision prior to publication in the Commonwealth Law Reports.
Income Tax - Income - Eligible termination payment - Whether lump sum payment received by member of superannuation fund for total and permanent disability "consideration ... in respect of ... personal injury".
Practice and procedure - High Court - Criteria for grant of leave to an intervener or amicus curiae.
Words and phrases - "consideration" - "in respect of".
Income Tax Assessment Act 1936 (Cth), ss 27A(1)(n), 27G.
"The lump sum of $164,957.91 which [the respondent] was paid from the RACV Superannuation Fund on or about 6 December 1993 in respect of total and permanent disablement, comprised:
(i) $161,990.36 calculated in accordance with clause 2.4.1 of the Trust Deed; and
(ii) $2,967.55 calculated in accordance with clause 3.5.1 of the Trust Deed."
"'eligible termination payment', in relation to a taxpayer, means:
(a) any payment made in respect of the taxpayer in consequence of the termination of any employment of the taxpayer, other than a payment:
(i) made from a superannuation fund in respect of the taxpayer by reason that the taxpayer is or was a member of the fund;
(b) any payment made from a superannuation fund in respect of the taxpayer by reason that the taxpayer is or was a member of the fund, not being a payment:
(ii) to which paragraph (d), (da), (e) or (ga) applies; or
(iii) that is a benefit to which subsection 26AF (1), 26AFA (1) or 26AFB (2) or (3) applies;
reduced by any amount that has been or will be included in the assessable income of the taxpayer under subsection 26AF (2), 26AFA (3) or 26AFB (5) in respect of the transfer by the taxpayer of a right to receive the payment or any part of the payment;
(m) consideration of a capital nature for, or in respect of, a legally enforceable contract in restraint of trade by the taxpayer, to the extent to which the amount or value of the consideration is, in the opinion of the Commissioner, reasonable having regard to the nature and extent of the restraint;
(n) consideration of a capital nature for, or in respect of, personal injury to the taxpayer, to the extent to which the amount or value of the consideration is, in the opinion of the Commissioner, reasonable having regard to the nature of the personal injury and its likely effect on the capacity of the taxpayer to derive income from personal exertion; or
"'concessional component', in relation to an ETP, means so much of the ETP as consists of, or is attributable to:
(c) an invalidity payment made before 1 July 1994".
(a) an eligible termination payment is made in relation to a taxpayer in consequence of the termination of any employment of the taxpayer;
(b) the termination of the employment of the taxpayer occurred -
(i) by reason of the taxpayer's physical or mental incapacity to engage in that employment; and
(ii) before the last retirement date in relation to the employment,
so much of the eligible termination payment as is equal to the amount ascertained in accordance with the formula A B, where -
A is the amount of the eligible termination payment;
B is the number of whole days in the period from the date on which the termination occurred to the last retirement date; and
C is the aggregate of the number of whole days in the eligible service period in relation to the eligible termination payment and the number of whole days represented by component B,
is an invalidity payment in relation to the taxpayer."
"'Disablement' means in respect of a Member his disablement caused through bodily injury, physical or mental illness, disease, infirmity or accident (none of which has been incurred or inflicted for the purposes of obtaining a benefit from the Fund) which the Trustees, after obtaining the advice of a legally qualified and registered medical practitioner, determine will render the Member temporarily or permanently incapable of performing his duties to his Employer, and occasions the termination of his Employment prior to the Normal Retirement Age.
'Total and Permanent Disablement' means in respect of a Member his Disablement to a degree that, in the opinion of the Trustees, after obtaining the advice of a legally qualified and registered medical practitioner, the Member is unlikely ever to be able to undertake any form of remunerative work."
"Total and Permanent Disablement. Subject to Clauses 2.4.2 and 2.4.3 in the event of the termination of Employment of a Member on the grounds of Total and Permanent Disablement, the Trustees shall pay to the Member a lump sum equal to seven (7) times the Member's Final Average Salary reduced in the proportion that his Potential Benefit Period bears to thirty (30) years."
"Pension Option. A Member may elect, as at the termination of his Employment on the grounds of Total and Permanent Disablement to receive in lieu of the whole or part of the lump [sum] to which he would have been entitled pursuant to Clause 2.4.1 -
(a) where the Member elects to receive the whole of the lump sum as a Pension, a Pension equal to 75% of the Member's Final Average Salary reduced in the proportion that his Potential Benefit Period bears to thirty years; or
(b) where the Member elects to receive part of the lump sum as a Pension, a Pension equal to a pro-rated amount of the Pension described in paragraph (a) above."
"Alternative Pension. With the agreement of the Trustees a person entitled to receive a Pension pursuant to Clause 2.4.2 may elect to receive an alternative Pension of equivalent value as determined by the Trustees with the advice of the Actuary."
"Retirement. Subject to Clauses 2.3.2 and 2.3.3 in the event of the Retirement of a Member, the Trustees shall pay to the Member a lump sum equal to seven (7) times the Member's Final Average Salary and, if his Membership Period is less than thirty (30) years, reduced in the proportion that his Membership Period bears to thirty (30) years."
The "Pension Option" in cl 2.3.2 and the "Alternative Pension" in cl 2.3.3 were in almost exactly the same terms as cll 2.4.2 and 2.4.3 of the Trust Deed. Clause 2.5.1 provided:
"Death in service of a Member. In the event of the death of a Member while he is an Employee, the Trustees shall pay a lump sum benefit calculated as in Clause 2.4.1 subject to and in accordance with Clause 1.31.1."
Clause 1.31.1 dealt with the proper recipient for the payment of a death benefit. Clause 2.5.2 provided for the payment of a lesser pension to an "eligible spouse", cl 2.5.3 for the treatment of a pension after the death of a pensioner ex-member, cl 2.5.4 for pensions in respect of children, cl 2.5.5 for alternative pensions and cl 2.5.6 for a minimum benefit payable in respect of the above.
"Retirement, Death or Total and Permanent Disablement. If a Member -
(a) retires from the employ of the Employer and from all other Gainful Work on or after attaining age 55;
(c) becomes Totally and Permanently Disabled while in the employ of the Employer,
there shall be payable to or in respect of the Member from the Fund a lump sum benefit equal to the sum of -
(i) the Member's Total Account Balance as at the date the Member leaves the employ of the Employer; and
(ii) the proceeds of any Part 3 Insurance effected in respect of the Member and payable in the event of death or Total and Permanent Disablement (as the case may be),
PROVIDED THAT, in the case of Total and Permanent Disablement, if the Member has not retired from all Gainful Work because of permanent incapacity or permanent invalidity in terms of any applicable requirement of a Relevant Law regarding preservation of benefits, then that part of the benefit payable hereunder which must be preserved in order to comply with such a requirement shall, unless transferred out of the Fund pursuant to the Deed, be retained in the Member's Preserved Account until the Deferral Date."
"Cessation of Employment in Other Circumstances. If a Member leaves the employ of the Employer other than in the circumstances provided for in Clause 3.5.1 -
(a) a lump sum benefit equal to the Member's Non-Preserved Account Balance as at the date the Member leaves the employ of the Employer shall be payable to the Member; and
(b) unless transferred out of the Fund pursuant to the Deed, a lump sum benefit shall become payable to or in respect of the Member on the Deferral Date equal to the Member's Preserved Account Balance as at the Deferral Date."
(a) the payment by the Fund falls within par (b) of the definition of "eligible termination payment" in s 27A(1);
(b) if the payment is within the description in par (n) of the definition, it is not an "eligible termination payment";
(d) the respondent did sustain "personal injury" within the meaning of par (n) of the definition of "eligible termination payment"; and
(e) the amount of the payment is, "in the opinion of the Commissioner, reasonable having regard to the nature of the personal injury and its likely effect on the capacity of the [respondent] to derive income from personal exertion".
(a) the meaning, in this context, of "consideration";
(b) the meaning, in this context, of "for, or in respect of"; and
(c) the relationship between s 27A(1)(n) and s 27G of the Act.
"It was submitted that the use of the word 'consideration' required a link between the payment and responsibility to compensate for the injury and so would encompass a payment in settlement of a negligence action or a payment under a workers' compensation claim.
I agree that the word 'consideration' in para (n) of the definition of 'eligible termination payment' is apt to refer to, for instance, an award of damages for personal injury awarded by a court or a figure agreed in settlement of such a claim or for payments made pursuant to a policy of insurance against the risk of personal injury to the taxpayer."
Nevertheless, his Honour did not think that the case turned on the word "consideration". He went on to say[5]:
"If the payment made to the [respondent] is properly to be characterised as a payment 'for, or in respect of personal injury ...', that payment would be no less a 'consideration of a capital nature' than would the payments referred to in those examples just referred to: the link between the payment and an obligation to compensate for the injury, (being the necessary nexus urged on behalf of the Commissioner), would equally apply."
"It is clear that it is not a payment for personal injury to the [respondent], because the payment is for total and permanent incapacity, as defined by the superannuation deed." (emphasis added)
"Had it been the case that payment under the superannuation deed was confined to total and permanent disability, brought about by personal injury, the payment would properly be characterised in my opinion, as a payment 'in respect of personal injury' because there is a nexus between the payment and personal injury ... Where however, as is the case here, the payment is made for total and permanent disablement howsoever caused ... it is not a payment in respect of personal injury and so, does not fall within para (n) of the definition of 'eligible termination payment'.
There is no necessary connection between the payment and personal injury, although such a connection is a possible one. In those circumstances, in my opinion, the payment is not a payment 'in respect of' personal injury."
"The pars (m) and (n) refer to '"consideration" of a capital nature ... to the extent to which ... the value of the consideration is reasonable'. When reference is made to 'amount or value', as a matter of ordinary English, the expression 'consideration' is appropriate because it includes both a monetary payment and benefits which are not in the form of a payment of money. The expression 'consideration' is used to extend the paragraph to include a benefit which is not strictly a 'payment' but is a benefit in respect of which an estimation or valuation can be made as to its monetary worth.
In the context of the definition of eligible termination payment, the term 'consideration', in our view, was not intended to apply only in the narrower, contractual, sense of a promise given or an act done in exchange for an act or promise by another party. The use of the expression 'consideration' in association with the words 'for or in respect of' indicates a broader meaning ... Superannuation benefits are part of the broader scheme of entitlements which an employee receives in return for rendering services. Employees are bound by the Deed (cl 1.19.4). The members are not volunteers but they have in a very real sense given valuable consideration for their entitlements ... In this context, it is appropriate to refer to the payment as 'consideration' passing from the Trustees to the member in satisfaction of the Trustees' obligations and responsibilities to the member."
"In our opinion, there is no requirement that the payment should be proportionate with, or measurable by reference to, the loss or damage suffered in order to be properly characterised as a payment in respect of personal injury ... The basis underlying the entitlement to payment here is total and permanent disablement as a consequence of personal injury and that, in our view, is a sufficient nexus ...
In this case, in a real and practical sense, it is evident that the injury suffered by the member gave rise to the entitlement and resulted in payment of the consideration. There is a real, discernible and rational connection between payment and the personal injuries. In these circumstances the consideration was 'in respect of' personal injury." (second emphasis added)
The payment is not "consideration of a capital nature for, or in respect of, personal injury to the taxpayer"
"(8) For the purposes of this Subdivision, a transfer of property to, or for the benefit of, a person shall be deemed to be a payment to, or for the benefit of, the person of an amount equal to the value of the property immediately before the transfer.
(a) a transfer of property to, or for the benefit of, a person is deemed by subsection (8) to be a payment to, or for the benefit of, the person; and
(b) but for this subsection, the payment would be an eligible termination payment under paragraph (a) of the definition of 'eligible termination payment' in subsection (1);
the amount of the payment shall be reduced by the amount or value of any consideration provided, paid or payable by the person in respect of the transfer."
By reason of s 27A(8), there was no need to use the word "consideration" to capture non-monetary benefits. If the Parliament used the term "consideration" merely to cover non-monetary benefits, it is by no means clear why the Parliament was concerned with non-pecuniary benefits in respect of pars (m) and (n) but not in respect of the other paragraphs where payments were made the focus of the section's operation. The existence of ss 27A(8) and (8A) makes it clear that "consideration" was intended to cover more than non-pecuniary benefits.
(b) where there was "no material connection" between injury and payment;
(c) where the relevant incapacity arose from something other than "personal injury" such as disease, illness or infirmity[13]; and
(d) where part of the payment fell outside the "reasonableness" requirement in par (n).
"A superannuation scheme of the type involved here is therefore, to my mind, completely analogous to a policy of accident or sickness insurance taken out in the employee's favour with his employer instead of with an insurer. Whether paid by him wholly, or paid for partly by him and partly by his employer, it is none the less to my mind provided in consideration of his service to his employer; and where superannuation becomes payable [before] the normal retiring age, it is not payable in recognition of any injury which may have caused such retirement, or in order to alleviate any loss of earnings, thereby occasioned, or as a discretionary payment or act of grace; it is payable simply and solely because the employee has by his work bought his entitlement to it; if it were not paid, and he sued for it, the fact that he had recovered damages for his injury from his employer or anyone else could not conceivably be pleaded in bar in that action."
"The plaintiff is entitled to recover the damages caused to him by the negligence of the defendants, and there is no reason or justice in setting off what the plaintiff has entitled himself to under a contract with third persons, by which he has bargained for the payment of a sum of money in the event of an accident happening to him. He does not receive that sum of money because of the accident, but because he has made a contract providing for the contingency; an accident must occur to entitle him to it, but it is not the accident, but his contract, which is the cause of his receiving it."
"In assessing damages for personal injuries, benefits that a plaintiff has received or is to receive from any source other than the defendant are not to be regarded as mitigating his loss, if ... they were received or are to be received by him as a result of a contract he had made before the loss occurred and by the express or implied terms of that contract they were to be provided notwithstanding any rights of action he might have ... [This] description covers accident insurances and also many forms of pensions and similar benefits provided by employers ... [T]he decisive consideration is, not whether the benefit was received in consequence of, or as a result of the injury, but what was its character: and that is determined ... by what under his contract the plaintiff had paid for ... The test is by purpose rather than by cause."
"[T]here may be advantages which accrue to the injured plaintiff, whether as a result of legislation or of contract or of benevolence, which have an additional characteristic. It may be true that they are conferred because he is intended to enjoy them in the events which have happened. Yet they have this distinguishing characteristic, namely they are conferred on him not only independently of the existence in him of a right of redress against others but so that they may be enjoyed by him although he may enforce that right: they are the product of a disposition in his favour intended for his enjoyment and not provided in relief of any liability in others fully to compensate him."
"The payment of the $164,000 was the consideration the respondent received for the discharge or satisfaction of her entitlements under clauses 2.4.1 and 3.5.1(c) of the trust deed. That sum of money was consideration in respect of each of the matters which under the trust deed gives rise to those entitlements."
"Undoubtedly the words 'in respect of' have a wide meaning, although it is going somewhat too far to say, as did Mann CJ in Trustees Executors & Agency Co Ltd v Reilly[28], that 'they have the widest possible meaning of any expression intended to convey some connection or relation between the two subject-matters to which the words refer'. The phrase gathers meaning from the context in which it appears and it is the context which will determine the matters to which it extends."
(c) "Undeducted contributions" (defined in ss 27A(1)
and 27A(7) and not included in assessable income) $ 3,596.70
Taxed element of post-June 1983 component (as above) $12,452.24
The payment is not an "eligible termination payment"
Scully v Federal Commissioner of Taxation (1997) 97 ATC 4921; 37 ATR 159. ↑
Scully v Commissioner of Taxation (1998) 84 FCR 41 (Ryan, Tamberlin and Finkelstein JJ). ↑
Australia, House of Representatives, Explanatory Memorandum to Income Tax Assessment Amendment Bill (No 3) 1984 and Income Tax (Companies, Corporate Unit Trusts and Superannuation Funds) Amendment Bill 1984 ("the Explanatory Memorandum") at 4. ↑
Scully v Federal Commissioner of Taxation (1997) 97 ATC 4921 at 4925; 37 ATR 159 at 163-164. ↑
Scully v Federal Commissioner of Taxation (1997) 97 ATC 4921 at 4925; 37 ATR 159 at 164. ↑
Scully v Federal Commissioner of Taxation (1997) 97 ATC 4921 at 4925; 37 ATR 159 at 164. ↑
Scully v Federal Commissioner of Taxation (1997) 97 ATC 4921 at 4926; 37 ATR 159 at 165. ↑
Scully v Commissioner of Taxation (1998) 84 FCR 41 at 49-50. ↑
Scully v Commissioner of Taxation (1998) 84 FCR 41 at 51-52. ↑
Scully v Commissioner of Taxation (1998) 84 FCR 41 at 49. ↑
The Macquarie Dictionary, 2nd ed (1991) at 383. ↑
See Scully v Commissioner of Taxation (1998) 84 FCR 41 at 52-53. ↑
See Hume Steel Ltd v Peart (1947) 75 CLR 242 at 252-253 per Latham CJ. ↑
See Imperial Group Pension Trust Ltd v Imperial Tobacco Ltd [1991] 1 WLR 589 at 597 per Sir Nicolas Browne-Wilkinson V-C; [1991] 2 All ER 597 at 605; Lock v Westpac Banking Corporation (1991) 25 NSWLR 593 at 601-602 per Waddell CJ in Eq. ↑
See reasons of Gaudron ACJ, McHugh, Gummow and Callinan JJ at [7-8]. ↑
Scully v Federal Commissioner of Taxation (1997) 97 ATC 4921 at 4924; 37 ATR 159 at 162. ↑
(1997) 97 ATC 4921 at 4924; 37 ATR 159 at 163. ↑
Scully v Federal Commissioner of Taxation (1997) 97 ATC 4921 at 4922; 37 ATR 159 at 160; Scully v Commissioner of Taxation (1998) 84 FCR 41 at 43. ↑
Scully v Commissioner of Taxation (1998) 84 FCR 41 at 51. This was conceded in the appellant's written submissions in this Court. ↑
cf Emanuele v Australian Securities Commission (1997) 188 CLR 114 at 140; Sheahan v Carrier Air Conditioning Pty Ltd (1997) 189 CLR 407 at 441; Cannane v J Cannane Pty Ltd (In liq) (1998) 192 CLR 557 at 589-591; Marks v GIO Australia Holdings Ltd (1998) 73 ALJR 12 at 35; 158 ALR 333 at 366. ↑
Explanatory memorandum to the Income Tax Assessment Amendment Bill (No 3) 1984 and the Income Tax (Companies, Corporate Unit Trusts and Superannuation Funds) Amendment Bill 1984 ("explanatory memorandum") at 5. ↑
cf Workers' Compensation Board (Q) v Technical Products Pty Ltd (1988) 165 CLR 642 at 653-654. ↑
Technical Products Pty Ltd v State Government Insurance Office (Q) (1989) 167 CLR 45 at 47. ↑
Cooper Brookes (Wollongong) Pty Ltd v Federal Commissioner of Taxation (1981) 147 CLR 297 at 321; AMP Inc v Utilux Pty Ltd [1972] RPC 103 at 109 (HL) per Lord Reid; Minister for Resources v Dover Fisheries (1993) 43 FCR 565 at 574 per Gummow J. ↑
Scully v Commissioner of Taxation (1998) 84 FCR 41 at 53. ↑
Scully v Federal Commissioner of Taxation (1997) 97 ATC 4921 at 4924; 37 ATR 159 at 162. ↑
Scully v Commissioner of Taxation (1998) 84 FCR 41 at 53. ↑
cf Hume Steel Ltd v Peart (1947) 75 CLR 242 at 252-253; Zickar v MGH Plastic Industries Pty Ltd (1996) 187 CLR 310 at 332, 352. ↑
Scully v Federal Commissioner of Taxation (1997) 97 ATC 4921 at 4924; 37 ATR 159 at 163. ↑
For a general description of the growth of superannuation and federal regulation of it see Attorney-General (Cth) v Breckler (1999) 73 ALJR 981 at 984-986, 993-996; 163 ALR 576 at 580-582, 592-595. ↑
Pars (a), (aa), (b), (ba), (c), (ca), (d), (e), (f), (g), (h) and (j). ↑
Scully v Commissioner of Taxation (1998) 84 FCR 41 at 50. ↑
See eg Mettoy Pension Trustees Ltd v Evans [1990] 1 WLR 1587 at 1610; [1991] 2 All ER 513 at 537; Imperial Group Pension Trust Ltd v Imperial Tobacco Ltd [1991] 1 WLR 589 at 597; [1991] 2 All ER 597 at 605-606; Lock v Westpac Banking Corporation (1991) 25 NSWLR 593 at 601-602; Uncle v Parker (1994) 55 IR 120 at 123. ↑
The Oxford English Dictionary, 2nd ed (1989) at 769, meaning 5. ↑
See eg Macquarie Dictionary, 3rd ed (1997) at 467, meaning 4: "a recompense for service rendered, etc; a compensation. 5. Law in a contract, or other legal transaction, the promise by which some right or benefit accrues to one party, in return for which the party who receives the benefit promises or conveys something to the other." ↑
Technical Products Pty Ltd v State Government Insurance Office (Q) (1989) 167 CLR 45 at 47-48. ↑
Technical Products Pty Ltd v State Government Insurance Office (Q) (1989) 167 CLR 45 at 51. ↑
Technical Products Pty Ltd v State Government Insurance Office (Q) (1989) 167 CLR 45 at 51, see also at 47. ↑
Abebe v The Commonwealth (1999) 73 ALJR 584 at 592 per Gleeson CJ and McHugh J; 162 ALR 1 at 11. ↑
cf Zickar v MGH Plastic Industries Pty Ltd (1996) 187 CLR 310 at 332-334, 352. ↑
Commissioner of Taxation
Scully
(1998) 84 FCR 41
(1947) 75 CLR 242
(1991) 25 NSWLR 593
(1961) 105 CLR 569
(1983) 151 CLR 117
(1996) 187 CLR 354
(1989) 167 CLR 45
(1988) 165 CLR 642
(1997) 188 CLR 114
(1997) 189 CLR 407
(1998) 192 CLR 557
(1998) 73 ALJR 12
(1981) 147 CLR 297
(1993) 43 FCR 565
(1996) 187 CLR 310
(1999) 73 ALJR 981
(1994) 55 IR 120
(1999) 73 ALJR 584
(1997) 189 CLR 579