© 2026 Zoe. All rights reserved.
Zoe is a legal information platform. Always consult the Federal Register of Legislation for authoritative text.
[2012] FMCA 487
Federal Magistrates Court of Australia
2012-07-25
Original judgment source is linked above.
The objects of the FW Act are clearly directed to matters of industrial relations, by defining and regulating the rights that exist between employer and employees inter se. Insofar as the objects refer to the Commonwealth's international labour obligations, the explanatory memorandum for the objects of the FW Bill listed seven conventions to which Australia was then and still remains a signatory. Those conventions are directed primarily to the contractual aspects of the employer/employee relationship including conventions giving rights to gender equal remuneration and termination. Other conventions focus on the elimination of discrimination in workplaces. Importantly, the objects of the FW Act, as revealed by its expanded objects incorporating Australia's convention obligations, are confined to industrial relations processes and matters relevant to the regulation and definition of employment between employers and employees inter se.
WorkCover, Leighton contended that it was supplied under compulsion of s.536 of the WCR Act and accordingly ought not be categorised as a document relating to Hayward's workers' compensation application. So far as is relevant, s.536 WCR Act provides: * "536 Duty to report fraud or false or misleading information or documents * _(1) This section applies if - _ * (a) an employer who is not a self-insurer believes on reasonable grounds that a person is defrauding, or attempting to defraud, WorkCover; or * ... * (3) The employer who is not a self-insurer must give WorkCover the information the employer has in relation to the defrauding, attempting to defraud, stating of the thing or giving of the document. ..." 6. For reasons I have earlier addressed, the documents in question here were not obtained. However, a question does arise as to whether their provision to WorkCover, irrespective of whether they were provided under statutory compulsion, constitutes a 'use' and thus occasions a contravention of s.572A(1)(b). 7. The word 'use' has numerous possible meanings, each of which must be accessed from the circumstances in which the term is used. Two possible meanings in the current context are: "1. to employ for some purpose; put into service; turn to account: use a knife to cut; use a new method. 2. to avail oneself of; apply to one's own purposes: use the front room for a conference."[17] 8. In my view, in the context of s.572A the term 'use' is employed as provided for in the second of the two meanings in the Macquarie Dictionary. The section is directed to personal use of workers' compensation documents by that person. It is a much narrower employment of the word than the first possible meaning provided in the Macquarie Dictionary. 9. Accepting that approach, it follows that the provision of a workers' compensation document, such as the surveillance report, to WorkCover does not constitute a 'use' of it for the purpose of s.572A. Accordingly, I consider the provision of that document by Leighton to WorkCover did not constitute a contravention of s.572A(1) WCR Act. 10. Group D - Documents created by an employer from information sourced in workers' compensation documents: The Annexure A document is also a workers' compensation document in my view. It is significantly different to Dr Bourke's report and the Riedel Report as Annexure A is a document composed and formulated by Leighton from various sources, some of which were workers' compensation documents. However, whilst not a document 'obtained' it was plainly one that was 'used.' While this plainly demonstrates the wide ambit of the definition of a "workers' compensation document" and the prospective breadth of contraventions of s.572A, as I have earlier noted, that matter is not one for the court but the legislature to resolve, if indeed the ambit extends beyond that which it intended. 11. Accepting my findings, the final question for resolution is whether any of those documents were exempt by s.572A(2) in that the documents were necessary to secure the worker's rehabilitation or early return to work. Plainly, the surveillance report was commissioned because of Leighton's distrust concerning Hayward's reports of his symptoms and in turn how that matter might bear upon his employment. Whilst a return to work or rehabilitation may have been by products of its production, those were not matters within contemplation at the time of its commissioning. However, the prospective contravention here relates to the use of the surveillance report. Arguably, by the time the reports were provided there was no need for rehabilitation, and in any event a return to work with Leighton was not reasonably within contemplation. On the evidence, Hayward was perpetrating a fraud upon both WorkCover and Leighton. Leighton, not unreasonably, would have wanted to be rid of Hayward. The real purpose of using the reports was not for a purpose relating to Hayward's rehabilitation or return to work and on that basis would not enjoy the benefit of the exemption. 12. Dr Bourke's report was obtained to address questions of rehabilitation. Although I am conscious that it was commissioned after the report to Jacobs from the shop floor, the fact remains that at that time Leighton had accepted Hayward's claim, and the information received was that Hayward had "fabricated stories in relation to workplace injuries before."[18] The commissioning of a rehabilitation report would not be inconsistent with such information. Indeed, such a report would arguably fortify the process by assisting the employer in that process. On the evidence therefore, I am satisfied as to the motives of Leighton. Despite the report's later use, it was initially required to secure Hayward's rehabilitation and early return to work and thus enjoys exemption. 13. Finally, the Annexure A document was a workers' compensation document compiled well after all the material events. It was not used for any purpose related to Hayward's rehabilitation and return to work and does not enjoy exemption. 14. In summary, it is apparent that Leighton prima facie obtained and used Hayward's initial application for compensation. Grounds for s.572A contravention arise on this matter alone. Dr Bourke and the Riedel Report were "workers' compensation document[s]" as defined. However, the contravention in respect of those documents related solely to the use of them in contravention of s.572A(1)(b). 15. Accepting that Leighton's use of Hayward's workers compensation documents were used in contravention of s.572A WCR Act Leighton submits that s.572A WCR Act does not create a right where a worker makes a WorkCover claim. It submits that as an offence provision it does not provide any advantage, profit or assistance to a worker whose details are used in breach of the section. Accordingly, it submits that the provision does not create a "benefit" and can thus be a workplace right within s.341(1)(a). In support of its contention, it relied upon the decisions of Preston v Star City Pty Ltd [1999] NSWSC 1273 and Soutter v P & O Resorts Pty Ltd [1999] 2 Qd R 106. Both those cases dealt with the issue of whether or not a breach of statute would enliven a right of action for breach of statutory duty. In those cases the question arising concerned whether the respective claimants fell within the class intended to be protected by the statute by offering a civil remedy for its breach. As the Queensland Court of Appeal observed in Soutter: "To find a right of action one must go further and consider whether the intention was to confer one."[19] 16. In this instance, the right enlivened by s.572A is the right for protection from the unauthorised use of a worker's "workers' compensation documents." It is no less a substantive right than a statutory duty imposed to afford a worker a safe place and system of work. Whether the breach of the right extends to the provision of damages as a remedy for its breach is an entirely different issue; that being the issue debated in the authorities cited by Leighton. However, s.572A is a right which a relevant worker may seek to enforce by injunction. It is personal to him and readily capable of definition. 17. In my view, Hayward's right under s.572A affords him a benefit under the WCR Act and is a workplace right under s.341(a)(1). Furthermore, he is able to initiate proceedings in respect of that right and make a complaint in respect of it.[20] It follows, in my view, that Hayward also has workplace rights in respect of the unauthorised use of his worker's compensation documents contrary to s.572A WCR Act, pursuant to s.341(1)(b) and (c) FW Act. 18. In summary I find that:
Inconsistency between Federal and State instruments
His Honour concluded that the negative assessment and its communication on to Garuda Airlines constituted adverse action as defined.[26]
Was adverse action taken because of a workplace right - Reverse Onus
In considering this conduct, the body of documents can be conveniently examined in two groups, the first being Hayward's workers' compensation documents, so called by definition, which were generated by Leighton independent of Hayward's WorkCover claim. That is the report of Dr Bourke, the Riedel Report and the Annexure 'A' document. The second group includes the remaining documents obtained and/or used by Leighton, they being Hayward's raised workers' compensation documents.
For reasons I have detailed above, I find the operative reasons for the use of these documents was to inquire into the integrity of Hayward's dealings with Leighton and those associated with it. Leighton had a bona fide basis for concern and in the circumstances I am satisfied that Leighton's action was not because of Hayward's workplace right or an operative reason in the decision. Indeed, I am satisfied that Leighton's agents were unaware of s.572A WCR Act or its import until s.572A WCR Act was raised late in dealings between the applicant and Leighton.
As I have earlier noted, Donaldson stated that the reason for his conduct in holding the meeting, putting the concerns to Hayward and suspending him was to ensure that his concerns (and, therefore, Leighton's concerns) as to the conduct of Hayward could be addressed and that Hayward be offered natural justice as part of the process. Whether or not Hayward may have had an entitlement to a WorkCover claim was irrelevant to Donaldson, and none of the objective material points to any other motive. Even so, it is clear that the ongoing nature of the WorkCover claim backgrounded these events. As I have noted earlier, I am satisfied that the true motivation or operative reason was Leighton's concern about the integrity of Hayward's dealings with it and its agents. I am satisfied that it was entirely serendipitous that these events arose in the context of a WorkCover claim. I accept that Leighton's response would have been no different if an integrity issue arose in respect of any other dealing between Hayward and it. In any event, if Hayward's entitlement to benefits had ceased because the claim was fraudulent, he would have had no entitlement to the benefit of a workplace law. Plainly, any bona fide and reasonable step taken, including an inquiry to ascertain an entitlement to the benefit of a workplace law, explains Leighton's action. For reasons I have earlier explained, Leighton has statutory rights under the FW Regulations to terminate employees for fraudulent conduct and any bona fide conduct directed to this purpose would answer the applicant's complaint provided that Leighton's reasons were not contaminated by any improper purpose. That is not the case here. In this case, Leighton's explanation of the intention behind the inquiry proves that there was no intention to take adverse action in respect of Hayward's workplace rights and the applicant here has sought to conflate his workplace rights with the adverse action, with full knowledge that Leighton's conduct was directed solely to the integrity issue.
Donaldson, who is the author of that correspondence, stated that the reason for sending the letter was as a result of his concerns as to Hayward's alleged dishonesty, as well as to answer correspondence from the applicant. The fact that Hayward may have had a WorkCover entitlement following his disability was irrelevant to Donaldson for reasons I have already given and the content of the letter did not evidence a change in Donaldson's position concerning his reasons for undertaking the process of allowing Hayward an opportunity to respond to the company's concerns. I am satisfied that this correspondence was directed by Leighton to the bona fide progression of the original integrity issue between it and Hayward. It was not action taken because Hayward had a workplace right.
Moncrieff, who is the author of that correspondence, stated that the reason for sending the letter was as a result of concerns as to Hayward's alleged dishonesty and to answer correspondence from the applicant. He too stated that Hayward's alleged WorkCover claim was irrelevant. The content of the letter did not evidence any different reason on Moncrieff's part or any change of position by Leighton following earlier discussions with Donaldson. I am satisfied that the operative reason for it being sent was to advance in a bona fide manner the earlier correspondence and issues arising from the meeting of 16 December. It was not action taken because Hayward had a workplace right.
Moncrieff stated that the reason for that letter was as a result of his concerns relating to Hayward's alleged dishonesty and to answer correspondence from the applicant. Nothing had changed from earlier correspondence. As with the earlier correspondence, I am satisfied that the operative reason for it being sent was to advance in a bona fide manner the earlier correspondence and issues arising from the meeting of 16 December. It was not action taken because Hayward had a workplace right.
I certify that the preceding 185185one hundred185185eighty-fiveninety-oneone hundred and eighty-five (185) paragraphs are a true copy of the reasons for judgment of Burnett FM
[1] In the application final relief is sought in favour of the applicant. However, the claim for interlocutory relief reveals that the claim seeks substantial relief for the applicant's member, Hayward.
[2] Affidavit of Kelly Maree Thomas filed 21 May 2012 Annexure KMT 6 at page 223.
[3] Amended Defence paragraph 5 - It did not admit that they were workers' compensation documents. I accept that Hayward's application for workers' compensation was a "workers' compensation document." I find that Dr Bourke's report was not, it being a document procured internally by Leighton for internal rehabilitation management.
[6] In any event, in Bayford a right of action existed under s.351 which defined the Equal Opportunity Act 1995 (Vic) as "anti-discrimination law." That ground was raised but dismissed in the facts of the case.
[7] Geddes RS, Pearce DC, Statutory Interpretation in Australia (6th ed, LexisNexus Butterworths, Chatswood, 2006).
[8] Applicant's submissions at paragraph 22.
[10] Industrial Relations and Other Acts Amendment Bill 2005 (Qld) Explanatory Notes at page 9.
[12] Queensland Parliamentary Hansard Tuesday 8 March 2005 at page 339.
[13] Appendix A is a summary document based on information contained in various workers' compensation documents.
[14] Macquarie Dictionary (3rd ed_,_ 2005) at page 1323.
[16] I note the difference between the terms in the heading of s.572A and its body. The heading refers to 'access.' Section 572A(1)(a) speaks of obtaining. Section 14 Acts Interpretation Act 1954 (Qld) provides that headings do form part of the Act. The term 'access' is much broader than the terms 'obtain' or 'use', provisions employed within the section. They do not operate to extend it.
[17] Macquarie Dictionary (3rd ed_,_ 2005) at page 2068.
[20] See generally Spry I, Equitable Remedies (8th ed, Thompson Reuters, 2009) at page 340 and the cases discussed therein.
[22] At paragraphs [13 ] - [14] and cited in Jemena Asset Management at [39].
[23] Jemena Asset Management v Coinvest Ltd [2009] FCAFC 176; (2009) 180 FCR 576 at 583 [38] quoted in Jemena Asset Management at [32].
[29] Cameron v Hogan [1934] HCA 24; (1934) 51 CLR 358; Buckley v Tutty [1971] HCA 71; (1971) 125 CLR 353.
[30] Spry I, Equitable Remedies (8th ed, Thompson Reuters, 2009) at page 412.
CFMEU
Leighton Contractors Pty Ltd [2012] FMCA 487
Service Assistance Pty Ltd [2011] FCA 333
Education [2011] FCAFC 14
BHP Iron Ore Pty Ltd v Australian Workers Union [2000] FCA 430; (2000) 97 IR 266
Buckley v Tutty [1971] HCA 71; (1971) 125 CLR 353
Cameron v Hogan [1934] HCA 24; (1934) 51 CLR 358
Construction, Forestry, Mining and Energy Union v BHP Coal Pty Ltd [2012] FCA 563
Deputy Commissioner of Taxation v Clark [2003] NSWCA 91; (2003) 57 NSWLR 113
Dickson v R [2010] HCA 30; (2010) 241 CLR 491
Dowling v Fairfax Media Publications [2008] FCA 1470
Esber v Commonwealth of Australia [1992] HCA 20
Jemena Asset Management v Coinvest Ltd [2009] FCAFC 176; (2009) 180 FCR 576
Jemena Asset Management (3) Pty Limited v Coinvest Ltd [2011] HCA 33 Jones v Queensland Tertiary Admission Centre Ltd (No 2) [2010] FCA 399
Mathieson v Burton [1971] HCA 4; (1971) 124 CLR 1
New South Wales v Commonwealth (Health Fund Levy/Hospital Benefits case) [1983] HCA 8; (1983) 151 CLR 302
Oceanic Life Ltd v Chief Commissioner of Stamp Duties [1999] NSWCA 416; (1999) 168 ALR 211 Patrick Stevedores Operations No 2 Pty Ltd v Maritime Union of Australia (No 3) [1998] HCA 30; (1998) 195 CLR 1
Police Federation of Australia v Nixon [2008] FCA 467; (2008) 168 FCR 340
Preston v Star City Pty Ltd [1999] NSWSC 1273
Project Blue Sky Inc v Australian Broadcasting Authority [1998] HCA 28; (1998) 194 CLR 355 R v Regos [1947] HCA 19; (1947) 74 CLR 613
Stephens v Australian Postal Corporation [2011] FMCA 448
United Firefighters' Union of Australia v Metropolitan Fire and Emergency Services Board [2003] FCA 480; (2003) 198 ALR 466
(2011) 191 FCR 212
(1976) 12 ALR 605
(2011) 207 IR 50
(2000) 97 IR 266
(1971) 125 CLR 353
(1934) 51 CLR 358
(2003) 57 NSWLR 113
(2010) 241 CLR 491
(2009) 180 FCR 576
(1971) 124 CLR 1
(1983) 151 CLR 302
(1999) 168 ALR 211
(1998) 195 CLR 1
(2008) 168 FCR 340
(1995) 61 FCR 258
(1998) 194 CLR 355
(1947) 74 CLR 613
(2003) 198 ALR 466
(1992) 174 CLR 430
(1988) 14 NSWLR 685
(2001) 107 FCR 93
(2000) 102 FCR 97