[2025] FCA 1563
General information, not legal advice.
Federal Court of Australia
2025-12-12
Policy Number P, Mr P, Derrington J
Original judgment source is linked above.
Allianz Australia Insurance Ltd v Uniting Church in Australia Property Trust (NSW) (2025) 308 FCR 308
Attree Pty Ltd v Certain Underwriters at Lloyds of London Subscribing to Policy Number P_ML/0/272375/20/L-7 [2024] FCA 1408
East End Real Estate Pty Ltd v CE Health Casualty & General Insurance Ltd (1991) 25 NSWLR 400
FAI General Insurance Company Limited v Australian Hospital Care Pty Ltd [2001] HCA 38; (2001) 204 CLR 641
Maxwell v Highway Hauliers Pty Ltd [2014] HCA 33; (2014) 252 CLR 590
McCann v Switzerland Insurance Australia Ltd [2000] HCA 65; (2000) 203 CLR 579
Onley v Catlin Syndicate Ltd (as the Underwriting Member of Lloyd's Syndicate 2003) [2018] FCAFC 119; (2018) 360 ALR 92
Prepaid Services Pty Ltd v Atradius Credit Insurance NV [2013] NSWCA 252; (2013) 302 ALR 732
Watkins Syndicate 0457 at Lloyds v Pantaenius Australia Pty Ltd [2016] FCAFC 150; (2016) 244 FCR 5
Wilkie v Gordian Runoff Ltd [2005] HCA 17; (2005) 221 CLR 522
Commercial Contracts, Banking, Finance and Insurance
Mr B Walker AO SC with Mr P Knowles SC and Ms M Kearney
AUSTRALIAN RETIREMENT TRUST PTY LTD ACN 010 720 840 AS TRUSTEE FOR AUSTRALIAN RETIREMENT TRUST
AUSTRALIAN FINANCIAL COMPLAINTS AUTHORITY LIMITED ACN 620 494 340
Note: Entry of orders is dealt with in Rule 39.32 of the Federal Court Rules 2011.
4.1 This policy is evidence of a contract of insurance between QInsure and the QSuper Board for the payment of certain Insurance Benefits where:
4.1.1 a Member dies while this policy is in force; or
4.1.2 a Member suffers Terminal Illness, Total and Permanent Disablement, Total and Temporary Disablement or Partial and Temporary Disablement, and the Date of Disablement is a date while this policy is in force;
upon the conditions set out in this policy in consideration of the payment of premiums by the QSuper Board.
27.3 Total and Permanent Disablement Benefit
27.3.1 Subject to any relevant exclusion in this policy, if an Insured Person with Total and Permanent Disablement Cover in force suffers Total and Permanent Disablement, QInsure will pay the Sum Insured that applied to them at their Date of Disablement.
Total and Permanent Disablement means that, in the opinion of QInsure:
a) the Insured Person meets the definition of Medical Care; and
b) the Insured Person meets the "Permanent Incapacity" definition contained in the SIS Regs, as amended from time to time; and
c) from the Date of Disablement, the Insured Person has been unable to work as a result of an Illness or Injury; and
d) after obtaining the advice of not fewer than two Medical Practitioners, which QInsure may require to be a specialist in the condition or related conditions, solely because of the same Illness or Injury the Insured Person is unlikely ever to be able to work again in any occupation for which the Insured Person is reasonably qualified by education, training or experience that they have acquired or could reasonably be expected to able to acquire in the future within a sustainable rehabilitation/retraining program;
In determining what could be acquired in the future, QInsure will consider if the Illness or Injury prevents the Insured Person from being able to undertake retraining or rehabilitation to acquire education, training or experience;
...
Date of Disablement means:
a) for Total and Temporary Disablement insurance benefits or Partial and Temporary Disablement insurance benefits, the date on which the Insured Person is temporarily unable to work due to the Illness or Injury for which the Insurance Benefit is being claimed;
b) for Total and Permanent Disablement insurance benefits:
(i) where an Insured Person is Gainfully Employed, the later of:
(A) the date the Insured Person ceases all work whether or not for reward, due to the Injury or Illness for which the Insurance Benefit is being claimed; and
(B) the date on which a Medical Practitioner (having examined the Insured Person) certifies in writing that the Insured Person is permanently unable to work again due to the Injury or Illness for which the Insurance Benefit is being claimed;
(ii) where an Insured Person is not Gainfully Employed, the date on which a Medical Practitioner (having examined the Insured Person) certifies in writing that the Insured Person is permanently unable to work again (including Home Duties if applicable) due to the Injury or Illness for which the Insurance Benefit is being claimed;
- for Terminal Illness insurance benefits, the date on which the Insured Person first has a Terminal Illness;
Partial and Temporary Disablement means:
a) immediately following a period of at least 7 out of 12 consecutive calendar days of Total and Temporary Disablement during the Waiting Period and in the opinion of QInsure, solely due to the same Illness or Injury that caused Total and Temporary Disablement, the Insured Person after the Waiting Period has been served:
(i) from the start of the Benefit Period to the first 24 months of the Benefit Period - is unable to perform some but not all of the Material and Substantial Duties of the Insured Person's Own Occupation; or
(ii) from 24 months of commencing the Benefit Period to the end of the Benefit Period - is unable to perform some but not all of the Material and Substantial Duties of any occupation for which the Insured Person is reasonably able to perform by reason of education, training or experience; and
b) from the Date of Disablement to the end of the Benefit Period, the Insured Person:
(i) satisfied one of the conditions in item (a) of the definition of Total and Temporary Disablement or the definition of Partial and Temporary Disablement as a direct result of the same Injury or Illness and received Insurance Benefits;
(ii) is under the regular care of a Medical Practitioner whose specialty is appropriate for the Illness or Injury at a frequency that is appropriate for the condition and in accordance with generally accepted medical standards and, is complying with the advice and treatment given by the Medical Practitioner; and
(iii) is not engaged in any occupation whether or not for reward, unless otherwise agreed to in writing by QInsure;
...
Total and Temporary Disablement means:
a) in the opinion of QInsure, solely due to the Injury or Illness that caused the Insured Person to cease work, the Insured Person, after the waiting Period has been served:
(i) from the start of the Benefit Period to the first 24 months of the Benefit Period - is unable to perform all of the Material and Substantial Duties of the Insured Person's Own Occupation; or
(ii) from 24 months of commencing the Benefit Period to the end of the Benefit Period - is unable to perform all of the Material and Substantial Duties of any occupation for which the Insured Person is reasonably able to perform by reason of education, training or experience; and
b) from the Date of Disablement to the end of the Benefit Period, the Insured Person:
(i) satisfied one of the conditions in item (a) of the definition of Total and Temporary Disablement or the definition of Partial and Temporary Disablement as a direct result of the same Injury or Illness and received Insurance Benefits; and
(ii) is under the regular care of a Medical Practitioner whose specialty is appropriate for the Illness or Injury at a frequency that is appropriate for the condition and in accordance with generally accepted medical standards and, is complying with the advice and treatment given by the Medical Practitioner; and
(iii) is not engaged in any occupation whether or not for reward, unless otherwise agreed in writing by QInsure;
The Income Protection Claim (from 18 October 2021)
The first medical report supporting Kate Buckland as is permanently unable to work again due to the Injury or Illness for which the Insurance Benefit is being claimed was the Total and Permanent Disability (TPD) Benefit Claim (Part C) - Doctor's Statement dated 22 August 2022. Prior to this report, the medical was supporting a likely return to employment.
(Emphasis in original).
RE: Total Permanent Disability claim with Qsuper
Kate Buckland
...
To whom it may concern,
Mrs Buckland ceased paid employment September 21st 2021 due to [an illness]. A report to Qsuper was done on April 17th 2022. At the time of that review the goal for Mrs Buckland was to return to work ... with full work duties and hours. However, in hindsight with access to reports from her multidisciplinary team including her psychiatrist ..., her psychologist ... and from my various consultations with Mrs Buckland it is clear that she has in fact been incapacitated since she ceased working on September 21st 2021.
(1) at paragraph [1.2] of the Reasons, AFCA summarised its determination: although Ms Buckland did not meet the definition of "Date of Disablement" on 21 September 2021, she was entitled to rely upon s 54 of the Act in order to "prevent the insurer from relying on the 'date' of the certification, as opposed to the substance of the medical evidence to determine the [Date of Disablement], to partly refuse payment of the [TPD Claim]".
(2) at paragraph [2.2] of the Reasons, AFCA determined that Ms Buckland did not satisfy the "Date of Disablement" definition as of 21 September 2021. In so concluding, it:
(a) identified that, for the purpose of the definition, the relevant date was, "at a high level", the later of the date upon which a member ceases all work or a medical practitioner certifies that the member is permanently unable to work again.
(b) accepted a construction of the second limb of the definition to the effect that the relevant date was the date on which the relevant medical practitioner certifies the member is unable to work again. It rejected a competing construction that the relevant date was that which a medical practitioner retrospectively identified as being the date upon which the member was unable to work again.
(c) concluded that, on the evidence available, the first respondent "did not meet the definition of [Date of Disablement] until 22 August 2022 ... because she was not certified by a medical practitioner as unable to work until this date".
(3) at paragraph [2.2] of the Reasons, AFCA expressed "sympathy" for the position of Ms Buckland on the basis "the insurer appears to be taking a form over substance approach ... because the better view of the evidence shows the complainant was unable to work from 17 September 2021". In this respect, it found, at paragraph [2.3] of the Reasons, that the "Date of Disablement" definition appeared to "operate arbitrarily" and focused "on the technical need to have a medical certificate, and the date of the certificate, as opposed to the substance of the medical evidence". In turn, this "focus on a technical requirement over the substance of the evidence" was said to "lead[] to" a consideration of whether s 54 had any application to the circumstances.
(4) at paragraph [2.3] of the Reasons, AFCA found that s 54 could apply to the "medical certification requirement" of the "Date of Disablement" definition. It held that:
(a) the definition was not an "inherent requirement" of the Policy - it only operated to fix the amount of the sum insured; it did not form part of the TPD definition; it did not reflect whether someone was, in fact, totally and permanently disabled.
(b) the definition, "if treated strictly as written", focused on the technical form (the actual date of the certification provided) rather than the substance of the medical evidence and, therefore, was liable to operate arbitrarily.
(c) the conclusions reached in AFCA determination 845342 were irrelevant.
(d) the "strict operation of the medical certification requirement" was "somewhat reminiscent" of the timely claim clauses in FAI General Insurance Company Limited v Australian Hospital Care Pty Ltd [2001] HCA 38; (2001) 204 CLR 641 (FAI General Insurance).
(e) in effect, s 54 serves to permit an insured to recover under a policy where the insurer purports to rely upon "a technicality" to avoid the substance of the claim.
(5) at paragraph [2.3] of the Reasons, AFCA found Ms Buckland's "omission" of obtaining an earlier medical certificate had not caused QInsure loss or prejudice. It held that:
(a) the "better view" of the evidence was that Ms Buckland was unlikely to work again from on or about 17 September 2021 (notwithstanding that a diagnosis that Ms Buckland would not return to work was not possible at that time).
(b) the suggestion that the relevant "omission" had led to prejudice to QInsure (because it paid income protection benefits longer than it would have otherwise done (i.e., under the IP Claim)) was incorrect.
(6) at paragraph [2.4] of the Reasons, AFCA concluded that the decision of the insurer (not to pay the TPD Benefit from 21 September 2021 to 22 August 2022) was not "fair and reasonable" given its construction of s 54 of the Act.
(1) was the failure by Ms Buckland to obtain, prior to 22 August 2022, a medical certificate certifying (or the failure by a medical practitioner to certify) her as permanently unable to work again due to injury or illness an "act or omission" within the scope of s 54?
(2) was AFCA's approach in determining the relevant Date of Disablement to be a date other than 22 August 2022 open to it having regard to the scope and operation of s 54?
(3) was it open to AFCA to make the findings it did about fairness and reasonableness in light of its conclusion as to the operation of s 54?
(collectively, the Section 54 Issue).
The construction of the definition of "Date of Disablement"
... the date on which a Medical Practitioner (having examined the Insured Person) certifies in writing that the Insured Person is permanently unable to work again due to the Injury or Illness for which the Insurance Benefit is being claimed ...
The Section 54 Issue
Division 3 -- Remedies
- Insurer may not refuse to pay claims in certain circumstances
(1) Subject to this section, where the effect of a contract of insurance would, but for this section, be that the insurer may refuse to pay a claim, either in whole or in part, by reason of some act of the insured or of some other person, being an act that occurred after the contract was entered into but not being an act in respect of which subsection (2) applies, the insurer may not refuse to pay the claim by reason only of that act but the insurer's liability in respect of the claim is reduced by the amount that fairly represents the extent to which the insurer's interests were prejudiced as a result of that act.
...
(6) A reference in this section to an act includes a reference to:
(a) an omission; and
(b) an act or omission that has the effect of altering the state or condition of the subject-matter of the contract or of allowing the state or condition of that subject-matter to alter.
Preliminary: the nature of s 54
Contractual Obligations
- Obligations during the Period of Cover. Many contracts of general insurance and some contracts of life insurance contain terms which have the effect of placing obligations on the insured in order to protect the insurer against increases in the risk during the period of cover. Legislation should provide that, whatever the form of the relevant terms, the penalty placed on the insured for a failure to comply with an obligation imposed by the contract should be the same (para. 229). ...
(see, also, the ALRC Report at 113 [186]; Explanatory Memorandum, Insurance Contracts Bill 1984 (Cth) at 80 [182]).
Possible Means of Evasion
- The Commission has already pointed out that its present recommendations should extend not only to strict warranties and other terms imposing obligations on the insured, but also to exclusions from cover of certain risks. Were they not to extend to temporal exclusions, legislation based on the present recommendations might be avoided simply by rephrasing an obligation ('the insured warrants that the car will be kept in a roadworthy condition') as a temporal exclusion ('the insurer will not be liable while the car is in an unroadworthy condition'). That legislation might also be avoided if obligations and exclusions were omitted and the cover itself stated in such a way as to achieve the same end ('cover is granted in respect of the roadworthy car'). Once again, the form in which the insurer seeks to protect itself from an increase in risk should not be allowed to affect the extent of that protection. The relevant provisions of the draft legislation attached to the report are designed to ensure that implementation of the present recommendations would be unaffected by the form in which policies were drafted.
(1) key to the application of s 54 is the identification of the effect of the policy of insurance as between the parties, the claim that was made, and the reasons for the insurer's refusal to pay that claim: FAI v Australian Hospital Care 658 [39]; see also Watkins Syndicate 0457 at Lloyds v Pantaenius Australia Pty Ltd [2016] FCAFC 150; (2016) 244 FCR 5, 12 [33] (Watkins).
(2) the relevant inquiry concerns the effect of the contract of insurance on the claim that was in fact made and not with some other claim that the insured might have made at some other time (or some other event or circumstance): FAI v Australian Hospital Care 659 [40]; Allianz v UCPT 404 [470].
(3) it is not permissible to reformulate the claim in question, as the concern is as to that on which the insurer relies for the purposes of refusing to pay the particular claim: FAI v Australian Hospital Care 659 [41]; Allianz v UCPT 404 [470], 404 - 405 [472].
(4) central to the application of s 54 is determining whether that relied upon by the insurer for refusing the claim is something that takes the claim outside of the cover provided by the policy. That is said to be a question of substance, and it does not matter that the matter relied upon is stated to be a condition of cover, or a limitation on cover, or an exclusion of cover: East End Real Estate Pty Ltd v CE Health Casualty & General Insurance Ltd (1991) 25 NSWLR 400, 403 - 404; Prepaid Services Pty Ltd v Atradius Credit Insurance NV [2013] NSWCA 252; (2013) 302 ALR 732, 764 - 765 [128] - [130]; Watkins 12 [34].
(5) s 54 does not operate to overcome restrictions or limitations that are inherent in the claim having regard to the nature (or "essential character") of the insurance contract under which that claim is made: Maxwell v Highway Hauliers Pty Ltd [2014] HCA 33; (2014) 252 CLR 590, 598 [23]; Watkins 17 [40].
s 54 does not apply to the present circumstances
Ms Buckland's argument reformulates the claim made
There was no "omission" and the "Date of Disablement" is confined to the Policy period
On these facts, I do not think the insurer could have determined the complainant was TPD any earlier than it did. The complainant clearly maintained hope that she would be able to return to work as late as 17 April 2022, as confirmed by a report from Dr SB. However, this appears to have changed by 22 August 2022 when the complainant lodged a TPD claim. Dr BJ issued a report on 14 October 2022, and the insurer made a decision to admit the claim on 24 November 2022. ...
(3) The Federal Court is to hear and determine the appeal and may make such order as it thinks appropriate.
(4) Without limiting subsection (3), the orders that may be made by the Federal Court on an appeal include:
(a) an order affirming or setting aside the determination of AFCA; and
(b) an order remitting the matter to be determined again by AFCA in accordance with the directions of the Court.
(1) The appeal be allowed.
(2) The Determination be set aside under s 1057(4)(a) of the Corporations Act.
(3) There be no order as to costs.
I certify that the preceding seventy-one (71) numbered paragraphs are a true copy of the Reasons for Judgment of the Honourable Justice Derrington.
Australian Retirement Trust Pty Ltd ATF Australian Retirement Trust
Buckland [2025] FCA 1563
(2000) 203 CLR 579
(2018) 360 ALR 92
(2005) 221 CLR 522
(2001) 204 CLR 641
(2013) 302 ALR 732
(2016) 244 FCR 5
(2025) 308 FCR 308
(1991) 25 NSWLR 400
(2014) 252 CLR 590