© 2026 Zoe. All rights reserved.
Zoe is a legal information platform. Always consult the Federal Register of Legislation for authoritative text.
[2025] FCAFC 8
Federal Court of Australia (Full Court)
2025-02-07
McEvoy JJ
Original judgment source is linked above.
rance" as term used in s 54 - s 40(3) not within scope of s 54 because it is does not have effect as a part of the contract of insurance INSURANCE - application of estoppel, waiver, election or breach of duty of good faith - claims in this respect without merit - insufficient evidence adduced of any representation or reliance - no lack of good faith established
Acts Interpretation Act 1901 (Cth) Legislation: Insurance Contracts Act 1984 (Cth) ss 13, 21, 22, 27AA, 28, 33, 40, 52, 54 Uniting Church in Australia Act 1977 (NSW)
Advance (NSW) Insurance Agencies Pty Ltd v Matthews (1989) 166 CLR 606 All Class Insurance Brokers Pty Ltd (in liquidation) v Chubb Insurance Australia Limited (No 2) [2021] FCA 782 Allianz Australia Insurance Ltd v Delor Vue Apartments CTS 39788 (2022) 277 CLR 445 Allianz Australia Insurance Ltd v Delor Vue Apartments CTS 39788 (2021) 287 FCR 388 Anderson v Canaccord Genuity Financial Ltd (2023) 113 NSWLR 151 Antico v Heath Fielding Australia Pty Ltd (1997) 188 CLR 652 Arab Bank plc v Zurich Insurance Co [1999] 1 Lloyd's Rep 262 Australian Competition and Consumer Commission v BlueScope Steel Limited (No 5) [2022] FCA 1475 Australian Financial Services and Leasing Pty Ltd v Hills Industries Ltd (2014) 253 CLR 560 Australian Securities and Investments Commission v Westpac Banking Corporation (No 2) (2018) 266 FCR 147 Australian Securities and Investments Commission v Westpac Securities Administration Ltd (2019) 272 FCR 170 Australian Securities Commission v Marlborough Gold Mines Ltd (1993) 177 CLR 485 Avant Insurance Ltd v Burnie [2021] NSWCA 272 Bilta (UK) Ltd (in liq) v Nazir (No 2) [2016] AC 1 Blatch v Archer (1774) 1 Cowp 63 CA & MEC McInally Nominees Pty Ltd v HTW Valuers (Brisbane) Pty Ltd [2009] 2 Qd R 1 CGU Insurance Ltd v AMP Financial Planning Pty Ltd (2007) 235 CLR 1 Clark v Avant Insurance Ltd [2022] NSWCA 175 Commercial Union Assurance Co of Australia Ltd v Ferrcom Pty Ltd (1991) 22 NSWLR 389 Commonwealth Bank of Australia v Kojic (2016) 249 FCR 421 Darshn v Avant Insurance Ltd (2021) 154 ACSR 1 DIF III - Global Co-Investment Fund L.P v DIF Capital Partners Limited [2020] NSWCA 124 Director General, Department of Education and Training v MT (2006) 67 NSWLR 237 Einfeld v HIH Casualty and General Insurance Limited (1999) 10 ANZ Insurance Cases ¶61-450 Euro Pools Plc v Royal & Sun Alliance Insurance Plc [2019] Lloyd's Rep IR 595 FAI General Insurance Co Ltd v Australian Hospital Care Pty Ltd (2001) 204 CLR 641 Farah Constructions Pty Ltd v Say-Dee Pty Ltd (2007) 230 CLR 89 Fitzgerald, in the matter of Temp Holdings Pty Ltd (In Liq) v Tully [2024] FCA 391 Fitzpatrick v Job & Job t/as Jobs Engineering (2007) 14 ANZ Insurance Cases ¶61-731 Fox v Percy (2003) 214 CLR 118 GM Global Technology Operations LLC v S.S.S. Auto Parts Pty Ltd [2019] FCA 97 Gosford City Council v GIO General Ltd (2003) 56 NSWLR 542 Cases cited: Grundt v Great Boulder Pty Gold Mines Ltd (1937) 59 CLR 641 Guild Insurance Ltd v Hepburn [2014] NSWCA 400 HLB Kidsons (a firm) v Lloyd's Underwriters [2009] Lloyd's Rep IR 178 Johnson v Triple C Furniture & Electrical Pty Ltd [2012] 2 Qd R 337 Jones v Dunkel (1959) 101 CLR 298 Kajima UK Engineering Ltd v Underwriter Insurance Co Ltd [2008] EWHC 83 (TCC) Lennard's Carrying Co Ltd v Asiatic Petroleum Co Ltd [1915] AC 705 Lindsay v CIC Insurance Ltd (1989) 16 NSWLR 673 Macquarie Underwriting Pty Ltd v Permanent Custodians Ltd (2007) 240 ALR 519 Major Engineering Pty Ltd v CGU Insurance Ltd (2011) 35 VR 458 Maxwell v Highway Hauliers Pty Ltd (2014) 252 CLR 590 Meridian Global Funds Management Asia Ltd v Securities Commission [1995] 2 AC 500 Moratic Pty Ltd v Gordon (2007) 13 BPR 24,713 MS Amlin Corporate Member Ltd v LU Simon Builders Pty Ltd [2023] FCA 581 Nationwide News Pty Ltd v Naidu (2007) 71 NSWLR 471 Newcastle City Council v GIO General Ltd (1997) 191 CLR 85 P & S Kauter Investments Pty Ltd v Arch Underwriting at Lloyds Ltd (2021) 105 NSWLR 110 Pech v Tilgals (1994) 28 ATR 197 Permanent Trustee Australia Limited v FAI General Insurance Company Limited (in liq) (2003) 214 CLR 514 Permanent Trustee Australia v FAI General Insurance Co Ltd (1998) 44 NSWLR 186 Porter v GIO Australia Ltd (2003) 12 ANZ Insurance Cases ¶61-573 R v Commercial Industrial Construction Group Pty Ltd (2006) 14 VR 321 Re FAI General Insurance Company Limited v Fletcher Construction Australia Limited (1998) 10 ANZ Insurance Cases ¶61-403 Rothschild Assurance plc v Collyear [1999] Lloyd's Rep IR 6 South Australian Housing Trust v State Government Insurance Commission (1989) 51 SASR 1 Stolberg v Pearl Assurance Co Ltd [1971] 19 DLR (3d) 343 Tesco Stores Ltd v Brent London Borough Council [1993] 1 WLR 1037 The Commonwealth v Verwayen (1990) 170 CLR 394 The Lady Gwendolen [1965] P 294 Tosich v Tasman Investment Management Limited [2008] FCA 377 Trustees of the Roman Catholic Church for the Archdiocese of Sydney v Ellis (2007) 70 NSWLR 565 Vero Insurance Ltd v Power Technologies Pty Ltd (2007) 14 ANZ Insurance Cases ¶61-745 Weir Services Australia Pty Ltd v AXA Corporate Solutions Assurance (2018) 20 ANZ Insurance Cases ¶62-175 Zurich Australian Insurance Limited v CIMIC Group Limited [2024] NSWCA 229
Date of hearing: 13 - 16 November 2023
Counsel for the Appellant: Mr JAC Potts SC with Mr JC Conde
Solicitor for the Appellant: HWL Ebsworth Lawyers
Counsel for the Respondent: Mr DL Williams SC with Mr P Mann and Mr ND Riordan
BETWEEN: ALLIANZ AUSTRALIA INSURANCE LIMITED ACN 000 122 850 Appellant AND: UNITING CHURCH OF AUSTRALIA PROPERTY TRUST (NSW) Respondent
order made by: DERRINGTON, COLVIN AND MCEVOY JJ DATE OF ORDER: 7 february 2025
THE COURT ORDERS THAT:
The nature of the appeal
A need for confidentiality
The evidence before the primary judge and on appeal
A central issue in the appeal
Overview
The substantive reasons of the primary judge
The primary judge's orders
The grounds of appeal and relevant issues
The policy terms
Issue 1 - Facts revealed by LKA2
The context in which LKA2 was commissioned
The content of LKA2
The text of the report
The transcripts included in LKA2 and other materials
The primary judge's conclusions as to what LKA2 disclosed
Did LKA2 reveal facts which might give rise to a claim?
The nature of facts within the scope of s 40(3)
The authorities
The parties' contentions as to the matters revealed by LKA2
Allianz's submissions as what LKA2 revealed
The UCPT's submissions as to what LKA2 revealed
What the material in LKA2 revealed
Mr Nisbett
Other teachers
Existence of a problem of the sexual abuse of children at the school
Disagreement with the primary judge
The matters revealed were not irrelevant rumour
The facts shown might give rise to a claim
Conclusion with respect to the facts revealed
Issue 2 - Attribution of knowledge
The relevant repository of knowledge for insurance purposes
The facts relating to the acquisition of knowledge
The structure of the UCA and its business operations
The Assembly and the Synods
The creation and operation of the UCA Property Trusts
Operation of the Church activities
Knox Grammar School
The School Council's/Headmaster's responsibility for the sexual abuse of former students
The UCPT had no obvious primary liability for the damage suffered by students
Was the Headmaster or the School Council the repository of knowledge for the business of Knox?
Legal principles on attribution for insurance
Whose knowledge is relevant in the present case?
The primary judge's reasoning and conclusion
Allianz contests the primary judge's finding
The context in which knowledge is sought to be attributed to the UCPT
The policy terms
The UCA's internal insurance reporting protocols
The rule of attribution in the present case
The policy
The structure of the UCA
The UCA's internal protocols
Conclusion on special rule of attribution
A pleading issue?
An alternative
The receipt of LKA2
Issue 3 - The UCPT'S knowledge
A circumstantial case that LKA2 was provided to the UCPT
The factual foundation for the inference claimed
The primary judge's findings
Difficulties with the primary judge's conclusions
Later notice of LKA2 in 2007
Issue 4 - Allianz's conduct of the case at trial
The nature of the issue raised
The specific issue arising from Allianz's previous claims handling
Allianz's alleged changed position does not limit its case on appeal
Issue 5 - Whether LKA2 limits the scope of the UCPT's right to indemnity
Issue 6 - The operation of Exclusion 7(c)
Obliteration
Parallel constructions
The known facts on which Exclusion 7(c) operates
The operation of Exclusion 7(c) in this case
Were the facts of a character that may give rise to a claim?
Issue 7 - Is Exclusion 7(c) void?
The impact of s 33 of the ICA
The impact of s 52 of the ICA
Exclusion 7(c) is not void or unenforceable
Issue 8 - Does s 54 expand the operation of s 40(3)?
Section operates upon the effect of a contract of insurance
Issue 9 - Estoppel and associated pleas
Some relevant facts
The nature of the UCPT's claims
Whether there was any representation or convention assumed by the parties
The Blacker advice
The evidence relied upon to establish the provision of information to Allianz of the existence of reports and investigations
Emails of December 2003 and January 2004
The 2006 / 2007 notifications
Ms Blacker's inspection of LKA2 and the letter of advice from Blacker
Other materials relied on by the UCPT
The nature of the alleged representation
Was such a representation made to the UCPT?
Alleged detriment
Conclusion with respect to the claimed estoppel
Allianz v Delor Vue
Utmost good faith
Waiver and election
Relief
Associate: Dated: 7 February 2025 REASONS FOR JUDGMENT COLVIN AND MCEVOY JJ:
The policies of insurance
Section 40 of the Insurance Contracts Act
The nature of UCPT's case before the primary judge
Principal contentions in the appeal
Relevant factual findings by primary judge
Key findings by primary judge as to notifications
Issues for determination
The contents of LKA2 as apparent to a reasonable reader in the position of Mr Weeks
Issue (1): Did LKA2 contain facts which might give rise to claims for the purposes of s 40(3) of the Insurance Contracts Act that were broader than the claim that had been made by TPC1 concerning the conduct of Mr Nisbett in the latter part of the 2002 school year (as found by the primary judge) and, if so, what was the extent of those claims?
Issue (2): Could awareness by Mr Weeks as headmaster of Knox (or the school council) of facts not known to officers of UCPT (particularly the contents of LKA2) bear upon whether UCPT as insured could rely upon the benefit of s 40(3)?
The contentions advanced by Allianz
The contentions advanced by UCPT
UCPT's role as a nominal defendant
The capacity in which UCPT advanced the proceedings
The bulk notifications
Is the awareness of Knox to be attributed to UCPT?
The statutory question
The contractual question
Conclusion
An alternative
Issue (3): If no to (2), did the primary judge err in failing to find, for the purposes of applying s 40(3), that UCPT was aware of the contents of LKA2?
Issue (4): Before the primary judge, was the case for Allianz pleaded and conducted in a way that foreclosed the case that it seeks to advance on appeal concerning the significance of the contents of LKA2?
Issue (5): Having regard to the answers to (1) to (4), should the primary judge have found that UCPT could not rely upon the benefit of s 40(3) to the extent of all or some (and if so, which) of the claims found to have been notified in policy years after 31 March 2004?
Issue (6): Does s 54 of the Insurance Contracts Act apply to a failure to notify as soon as reasonably practicable after the insured becomes aware of facts that might give rise to a claim?
Issue (7): Should the primary judge have found that LKA2 recorded a fact, circumstance or occurrence that may give rise to a claim for the purposes of Exclusion 7c?
Issue (8)(a): If yes to (7), is the operation of Exclusion 7c limited by the terms of s 33 of the Insurance Contracts Act to instances specified in s 28 on the basis that it specifies the extent of the insurer's right in respect of breach of the duty of disclosure imposed by s 21?
Issue (8)(b): If yes to (7), is Exclusion 7c void for inconsistency with the Insurance Contracts Act by operation of s 52?
Issue (9): If by reason of the answers to the above issues the primary judge was in error as to any of the findings as to notifications, do principles of estoppel, waiver or utmost good faith mean that Allianz cannot rely upon any failure to notify matters in LKA2?
Issue (10): If the primary judge was in error as to the finding that claims by current or former students arising from sexual misconduct by Mr Nisbett were notified as soon as reasonably practicable in the policy year to 31 March 2008, should the primary judge have found that such claims were notified during the policy year to 31 March 2007?
Issue (11): If there is coverage for UCPT for the 'problem' then save for individual claims for which Allianz raises no issue on the appeal, is that coverage only under the policy for the year ended 31 March 2009?
Conclusion and relief
Allianz Australia Insurance Limited
Uniting Church in Australia Property Trust
[2006] VSCA 181
[2003] HCA 25
(1989) 166 CLR 606
(2022) 277 CLR 445
(2021) 287 FCR 388
(2023) 113 NSWLR 151
(1997) 188 CLR 652
(2014) 253 CLR 560
(2018) 266 FCR 147
(2019) 272 FCR 170
(1993) 177 CLR 485
(2007) 235 CLR 1
(1991) 22 NSWLR 389
(2016) 249 FCR 421
(2006) 67 NSWLR 237
(2001) 204 CLR 641
(2007) 230 CLR 89
(2003) 214 CLR 118
(2003) 56 NSWLR 542
(1937) 59 CLR 641
(1959) 101 CLR 298
(1989) 16 NSWLR 673
(2007) 240 ALR 519
(2011) 35 VR 458
(2014) 252 CLR 590
(2007) 71 NSWLR 471
(1997) 191 CLR 85
(2021) 105 NSWLR 110
(2003) 214 CLR 514
(1998) 44 NSWLR 186
(2006) 14 VR 321
(1989) 51 SASR 1
(1990) 170 CLR 394
(2007) 70 NSWLR 565