© 2026 Zoe. All rights reserved.
Zoe is a legal information platform. Always consult the Federal Register of Legislation for authoritative text.
[2021] NSWCA 136
Court of Appeal (NSW)
2021-06-11
Bathurst CJ, Bell P, Meagher JA, Slattery J
Original judgment source is linked above.
ng Agency Limited (Fourth Respondent) Representation: Counsel: A J Bannon SC and J S Drummond J E Sexton SC and S Kanagaratnam (First, Second and Fourth Respondents) M A Jones SC and E W L Anderson (Third Respondents)
Solicitors: Nolan Commercial Law Practice (Appellants) Kennedy's Australia (First, Second and Fourth Respondents) Norton Rose Fulbright (Third Respondent) File Number(s): 2020/160753 Publication restriction: Nil Decision under appeal Court or tribunal: Supreme Court of New South Wales Jurisdiction: Equity Citation: [2020] NSWSC 359; [2020] NSWSC 930 Date of Decision: 8 May 2020; 22 July 2020 Before: Slattery J File Number(s): 2020/374893; 2013/314269; 2015/252310
[Note: The Uniform Civil Procedure Rules 2005 provide (Rule 36.11) that unless the Court otherwise orders, a judgment or order is taken to be entered when it is recorded in the Court's computerised court record system. Setting aside and variation of judgments or orders is dealt with by Rules 36.15, 36.16, 36.17 and 36.18. Parties should in particular note the time limit of fourteen days in Rule 36.16.]
HEADNOTE [This headnote is not to be read as part of the judgment] The appellants are members or self-managed superannuation funds of four family groups who received financial planning advice from Moylan Retirement Solutions Pty Ltd (MRS) and its principal, Mr Christopher Moylan. Acting on Mr Moylan's advice, between 2006 and 2009 they made various investments in projects or entities in which Mr Moylan had financial interests by making unsecured loans to Moylan Investments Group Pty Ltd (MIG), a company of which Mr Moylan was the sole director and shareholder. Additionally, moneys of some of the appellants were misapplied and treated by MRS as funds available to MIG instead of being used as instructed, to purchase shares or to make deposits with Macquarie Bank. No payments of interest, repayments of principal, dividends or distributions were received in respect of any of these investments after late 2009, and MIG was wound up in September 2010. MRS was deregistered in August 2014. Under Corporations Act 2001 (Cth), s 601AG, the appellants sued MRS' professional indemnity insurers directly to recover the indemnity payable in respect of MRS' liability to them for negligent financial advice, misleading and deceptive conduct and breach of fiduciary duties. The appellants alleged that MRS was indemnified against those liabilities under one or the other of two insurance policies, one current from 5 February 2012 to 5 February 2013 (the 2012/2013 policy) and the other for the following period to 5 February 2014 (the 2013/2014 policy). In January 2013, whilst seeking to renew the 2012/2013 policy, MRS had purported to notify the insurers that a "small number of clients" had made property investments that "have to date been unable to repay those funds in total" and that there was "a chance of a claim ... in relation to any loss that may be incurred". The primary judge held that the 2012/2013 policy did not respond because no "claim" had been made against MRS before May 2013, and MRS' purported notification in January 2013 of facts that "might give rise to a claim" did not engage Insurance Contracts Act 1984 (Cth), s 40(3) because the notification was not of "facts" but of "bare possibilities" which did not point towards any particular claim. His Honour also held that MRS had made fraudulent misrepresentations and non-disclosures when seeking the renewal in January 2013, entitling the insurers to avoid the 2013/2014 policy, and separately that the insurers were entitled to reduce their liability under that policy to nil because of other non-disclosures by MRS. Finally, he held that four exclusions applied to exclude cover under the 2013/2014 policy for some or all of MRS' liability to the appellant plaintiffs. The appellants appealed. The issues in the appeal (including those raised by the respondent insurers' notice of contention) were: (i) Whether the primary judge erred in not finding that the January 2013 notification was of "facts that might give rise to a claim", with the result that the 2012/2013 policy responded to the claims made by the appellants outside the policy period; (ii) If so, whether MRS had breached its duty of disclosure under Insurance Contracts Act, s 21 in relation to the 2012/2013 policy, entitling the insurers to reduce their liability under that policy to nil under s 28(3); (iii) If not, whether the primary judge erred in finding that there had been fraudulent misrepresentations and non-disclosures by MRS entitling the insurers to avoid the 2013/2014 policy under s 28(2), or alternatively innocent non-disclosures entitling them to reduce their liability under that policy to nil; (iv) Whether one or more of the four exclusions relied on by the insurers applied to exclude cover under the policies for some or all of MRS' liability to the appellants (three of the four are relied on in relation to the 2012/2013 policy); and (v) Whether the primary judge erred in ordering that the appellant plaintiffs be jointly and severally liable for the respondent insurers' costs of all of the three proceedings brought by the appellants. Held, dismissing the appeal (Meagher JA, Bathurst CJ and Bell P agreeing): As to issue (i):
Judgment
The issues in the appeal
Mr Moylan's interests in the various investments
The investments made by each of the family groups
Davey family investments
Smith family investments
Kauter family investments
Manning family investments
Whether the 15 January 2013 notification engaged the cover under the 2012/2013 policy (grounds 1 and 2)
Whether there was a breach of MRS' duty of disclosure with respect to the 2012/2013 policy (contention ground 1)
Whether the underwriters were entitled to avoid the 2013/2014 policy for fraudulent non-disclosure or misrepresentation (appeal grounds 3 to 16)
Whether error in ordering that appellants be jointly and severally liable for costs of underwriters (appeal grounds 43 and 44)
Conclusion
DISCLAIMER - Every effort has been made to comply with suppression orders or statutory provisions prohibiting publication that may apply to this judgment or decision. The onus remains on any person using material in the judgment or decision to ensure that the intended use of that material does not breach any such order or provision. Further enquiries may be directed to the Registry of the Court or Tribunal in which it was generated. Decision last updated: 02 July 2021
P & S Kauter Investments Pty Ltd
Arch Underwriting at Lloyds Ltd
(1989) 166 CLR 606
(2008) 235 CLR 103
(1996) 38 NSWLR 558
(1936) 55 CLR 499
(1997) 191 CLR 85
(1996) 186 CLR 524
[1936] HCA 40