[2019] AATA 981
General information, not legal advice.
Administrative Appeals Tribunal of Australia
2019-05-23
Original judgment source is linked above.
Wood and Comcare (Compensation) [2019] AATA 981 (23 May 2019)
........................................................................
WORKERS COMPENSATION - no present entitlement - accepted conditions of tenosynovitis and chronic pain syndrome - new medical evidence - osteoarthritis of the thumbs - carpal tunnel syndrome - aggravation - where no change to underlying pathology - whether symptoms contributed to by employment to the requisite degree - whether medical treatment obtained in relation to the compensable conditions - whether reasonably obtained - decision under review set aside
Abrahams v Comcare [2006] FCA 1829
Anderson and Australian Postal Corporation [2016] AATA 228
Bailey v Broadsword Marine Contractors [2017] FCAFC 219
Comcare v Reardon [2015] FCA 1166
Commonwealth Banking Corporation v Percival [1988] FCA 240; (1988) 20 FCR 176
Commonwealth v Beattie [1981] FCA 88
Federal Broom Co Pty Ltd v Semlitch [1964] HCA 34
Fletcher and Comcare [2015] AATA 430
Kennedy Cleaning Services Pty Ltd v Petkoska (2000) 200 CLR 286
Mellor and Australian Postal Corporation [2010] AATA 502
Military Rehabilitation and Compensation Commission v May [2016] HCA 19; (2016) 257 CLR 468
Prain v Comcare [2017] FCAFC 143
Rodriguez v Telstra Corporation Ltd [2002] FCA 30
Rutledge and Comcare [2011] AATA 865
Telstra Corporation v Hannaford [2006] FCAFC 87
Tippett and Australian Postal Corporation [1998] FCA 335
Zickar v MGH Plastic Industries Pty Ltd (1996) 187 CLR 310
Jane F Thomsen, Fred Garr and Isam Atroshi_, Carpal tunnel syndrome and the use of computer mouse and keyboard: a systematic review_ BMC Musculoskeletal Disorders 2008;9:134
Isam Atroshi et al_, Carpal tunnel syndrome and keyboard use at work: a population-based study_ Arthritis and Rheumatism 2007;56;3620
Z Mediouni et al, Carpal tunnel syndrome and computer exposure at work in two large complementary cohorts BMJ Open 2015;5:e008156
"injury" means:
(a) a disease suffered by an employee; or
(b) an injury (other than a disease) suffered by an employee, being a physical or mental injury arising out of, or in the course of, the employee's employment; or
(c) an aggravation of a physical or mental injury (other than a disease) suffered by an employee (whether or not that injury arose out of, or in the course of, the employee's employment), being an aggravation that arose out of, or in the course of, that employment;
but does not include any such disease, injury or aggravation suffered by an employee as a result of reasonable disciplinary action taken against the employee or failure by the employee to obtain a promotion, transfer or benefit in connection with his or her employment;
"disease" means:
(a) any ailment suffered by an employee; or
(b) the aggravation of any such ailment;
being an ailment or an aggravation that was contributed to in a material degree by the employee's employment by the Commonwealth or a licensed corporation;
...
(1) In this Act:
disease means:
(a) an ailment suffered by an employee; or
(b) an aggravation of such an ailment;
that was contributed to, to a significant degree, by the employee's employment by the Commonwealth or a licensee.
(2) In determining whether an ailment or aggravation was contributed to, to a significant degree, by an employee's employment by the Commonwealth or a licensee, the following matters may be taken into account:
(a) the duration of the employment;
(b) the nature of, and particular tasks involved in, the employment;
(c) any predisposition of the employee to the ailment or aggravation;
(d) any activities of the employee not related to the employment;
(e) any other matters affecting the employee's health.
This subsection does not limit the matters that may be taken into account.
(3) In this Act:
significant degree means a degree that is substantially more than material.
Where an employee suffers an injury, Comcare is liable to pay, in respect of the cost of medical treatment obtained in relation to the injury (being treatment that it was reasonable for the employee to obtain in the circumstances), compensation of such amount as Comcare determines is appropriate to that medical treatment.
Does Ms Wood still suffer from these conditions?
Do these conditions have the nexus with employment required?
Is Ms Wood's condition a frank injury or an ailment?
Were Ms Wood's conditions contributed to in a material degree by her employment?
There is no specific incident at work that has caused any underlying pathology to be worsened temporarily or permanently. Her work would have made her conditions more symptomatic in the same way that the conditions would have become symptomatic when not at work. However, these would have been transient such as documented by Dr Johnson when, after a period of rest, her symptoms improved.
...each case must depend upon its own facts. For present purposes it is enough to say that pain brought on by work activity may constitute an aggravation of a pre-existing injury even though no pathological change takes place.
It is indeed fundamental to compensation law that a symptom of an injury or a disease is part of the condition in respect of which compensation for incapacity is granted. Pain is probably the most common symptom of injury or disease.
Other cases leading to similar conclusions include Tippett and Australian Postal Corporation [1998] FCA 335; Mellor and Australian Postal Corporation [2010] AATA 502; Rutledge and Comcare [2011] AATA 865; Fletcher and Comcare [2015] AATA 430; and Comcare v Reardon [2015] FCA 1166.
It does not follow in every case that a worker with a pre-existing injury, who carries out work and as a result suffers pain, will have suffered an aggravation of his injury. A worker whose fractured leg is encased in plaster will be unable to put it to the ground without suffering pain and other disability. But that is not a case of aggravation. In such a case any incapacity for work arises only by reason of the pre-existing injury.
Professor Youssef's comment that either work or non-work activities could make Ms Wood's conditions symptomatic suggests that this might be an example of the kind of case raised by the above passage, that is, it may be that Ms Wood's condition was going to become symptomatic regardless of whether she worked or not. But that is not what this case in fact suggests. The uncontested evidence is that her duties were heavily focused on keyboarding and related activities, and her symptoms and their appearance are closely associated with the intensity of her work. I have no evidence to suggest that, in recent years in particular, there are any other activities that are contributing in a similar way or at a similar intensity. The evidence of Dr Johnson at T15 is that with a month off work, Ms Wood's symptoms almost completely resolved. That suggests to me that her duties at work were the principal factor contributing to her conditions becoming symptomatic. The case is broadly parallel to the circumstances in Anderson and Australian Postal Corporation [2016] AATA 228.
The statutory scheme allows for progressive and evolving decision-making giving effect to the provisions of ongoing review of relief or entitlements in the nature of course of workers compensation, being review which allows for adjustment or change in the light of events and circumstances which may subsequently happen. The statutory scheme hence reflects a flexible scope for adjustment by way of decisions in the nature of awards to be made subsequently to the determination of s 14 liability, whether that determination be made in isolation, or in the context of decision-making concerning consequential relief that may be required in the light of evolving circumstances. It is therefore a scheme which allows progressively for ongoing relief, and is thus not comparable of course with the process of curial resolution of the traditional common law entitlement of an injured employee for damages as a consequence of the negligent conduct of an employer. The opening words of s 14(1) '[s]ubject to this Part...' are consistent with the flexibility inherent in the ensuing codification of the various facets of compensation envisaged.
Was medical treatment obtained by Ms Wood between 11 October 2017 and the present reasonable medical treatment obtained in relation to her accepted condition?
........................................................................
Abrahams
Comcare
(1988) 20 FCR 176
(2000) 200 CLR 286
(2016) 257 CLR 468
(1996) 187 CLR 310