[2019] WASC 74
General information, not legal advice.
Supreme Court of WA
2019-03-11
Quinlan CJ
Original judgment source is linked above.
Section 601AG of the Corporations Act
A person may recover from the insurer of a company that is deregistered an amount that was payable to the company under the insurance contract if:
(a) the company had a liability to the person; and
(b) the insurance contract covered that liability immediately before deregistration.
The new cause of action does not arise until the company having the benefit of the insurance is deregistered. Any defences that the insurer may have at that point to an action on the insurance contract may be pleaded by it in defence to the s 601AG claim and any defence the insured may have had to the claim against the insured may be advanced to show that the insured had no liability to the plaintiff.
(b) At the time of its deregistration, the company had a liability to the plaintiff; and
(c) At the time of the company's deregistration, an insurance contract with the defendant covered the liability.
(a) Companies listed on the Australian Stock Exchange ('ASX');
(b) Companies with high net asset backing which secured the value or price of the securities of that company;
(c) Companies which could reasonably be expected to achieve capital growth;
(d) Companies that paid dividends which were greater than existing bank deposit rates.
('Authorised Securities')
14.2 Ms Young on behalf of Rastus, Young Investments or Reid Park would give instructions in response to any recommendation made and Stripe would only act in accordance with those instructions.
14.3 If a positive instruction was given Stripe would make an offer to purchase the recommended shares on behalf of (as instructed) one or other of Rastus, Young Investments or Reid Park.
14.4 Thereafter, Stripe was required to provide details to Rastus, Young Investments and or Reid Park in relation to any shares purchased, the price paid (including commission or other fee charged) and the holding details of those shares.
14.5 If instructed by Ms Young to do so, Stripe would sell the relevant shares and provide details of the shares and account for the sales.
23.1 without instructions bought and sold securities on behalf of Rastus, Young Investments and Reid Park;
23.2 bought securities on behalf of Rastus, Young Investments and Reid Park; which were not Authorised Securities including options and derivatives;
23.3 without authority to do so undertook high volume trading of securities in order to effect transactions on which commissions would be earned by Stripe without any or any reasonably commensurate benefit being earned by Rastus, Young Investments and or Reid Park;
23.4 in relation to Young Investments and Reid park entering into the LE Margin Loan Agreement and in respect of draw downs on the said loan agreement was paid commissions by Leveraged Equities without disclosing those commissions to Young Investments and or Reid Park and accounting for benefits received;
23.5 without instructions or authorisation drew down funds from the LE Margin Loan Agreement;
23.6 used the unauthorised draw downs from the LE Margin Loan Agreement to undertake high volume trading in securities (including options and derivatives) for the purposes of earning commissions without any or any reasonable commensurate benefit being earned by Young Investments and or Reid Park;
23.7 undertaking discretionary trading without complying with the financial services laws.
19.1 the purpose of the LE Margin Loan Agreement was to provide a loan facility to be drawn upon if the opportunity arose to make a profit by trading in securities in a falling market ('Short Selling')
19.2 any Short Selling would only be entered into on express instructions from Ms Young together (the 'Margin Loan Representations').
PARTICULARS
The Margin Loan Representations were made in or about July 2007 by Stripe acting through Mr King to Ms Young for Young Investments and Reid Park.
20.1 on the basis that Stripe in making the Margin Loan Representations was providing financial services advice;
20.2 in reliance of Margin Loan Representations;
20.3 in good faith.
21.1 to obtain a secret commission or commissions from Leveraged Equities; and/or
The secret commission or commissions were by way of fees paid to Stripe or Mr King by Leveraged Equities calculated by reference to the drawings made by Young Investments or Reid Park on the facility provided by the LE Margin Loan Agreement.
21.2 to allow Stripe to draw down on the facility provided by the LE Margin Loan Agreement to purchase further securities and to trade those securities in an attempt to recover losses already incurred by Young Investments and Reid Park on unauthorised trading undertaken by Stripe; and/or
21.2 to allow Stripe to draw down on the facility provided by the LE Margin Loan Agreement to undertake high volume trading of securities in order to effect transactions on which commissions would be earned by Stripe without any or any reasonable commensurate benefit being earned by Young Investments and or Reid Park.
22.1 to obtain a secret commission or commissions from Leveraged Equities; and/or
The secret commission or commissions were by way of fees paid to Stripe or Mr King by Leveraged Equities calculated by reference to the drawings made by Young Investments or Reid Park on the facility provided by the LE Margin Loan Agreement
22.2 to allow Stripe to draw down on the facility provided by the LE Margin Loan Agreement to purchase further securities and to trade those securities in an attempt to recover losses already incurred by Young Investments and Reid Park on unauthorised trading undertaken by Stripe; and/or
22.3 to allow Stripe to draw down on the facility provided by the LE Margin Loan Agreement to undertake high volume trading of securities in order to effect transactions on which commissions would be earned by Stripe without any or any reasonable commensurate benefit being earned by Young Investments and or Reid Park,
which failure to disclose was in breach of s1041H of the Corporations Act as the said representations were misleading and deceptive.
24.1.1 the terms of the Rastus Agreement, Young Investments Agreement and the Reid Park Agreement pleaded in paragraph 13 and 14 herein;
24.1.2 the duties pleaded in paragraph 15 herein.
24.2.1 the terms of the Rastus Agreement, Young Investments Agreement and the Reid Park Agreement pleaded in paragraph 13 and 14 herein;
24.2.2 the duties pleaded in paragraph 15 herein.
24.3.1 the terms of the Rastus Agreement, Young Investments Agreement and the Reid Park Agreement pleaded in paragraph 13 and 14 herein;
24.3.2 the duties pleaded in paragraph 15 herein.
24.4.1 the terms of the Young Investments Agreement and the Reid Park Agreement pleaded in paragraph 13; and
24.4.2 the duties pleaded in paragraph 15 herein.
24.5.1 the terms of the Young Investments Agreement and the Reid Park Agreement pleaded in paragraph 13; and
24.5.2 the duties pleaded in paragraph 15 herein.
24.6.1 the terms of the Young Investments Agreement and the Reid Park Agreement pleaded in paragraph 13 herein; and
24.6.2 the duties pleaded in paragraph 15 herein.
24.7.1 the terms of the Young Investments Agreement and the Reid Park Agreement pleaded in paragraph 13; and
24.7.2 the duties pleaded in paragraph 15 herein.
(a) Trading losses.
Super TY
($1,820,290.06) from the following trading:
Super BY
($1,917,758) from the following trading:
(b) Further particulars of the value of commissions received by Stripe and not disclosed and accounted for will be provided following discovery.
25.2 Young Investments has suffered loss and damage.
(a) Trading losses.
($1,343,251.70) from the following trading:
(b) Further particulars of the value of commissions received by Stripe and not disclosed and accounted for will be provided following discovery.
25.3 Reid Park has suffered loss and damage.
(a) Trading losses.
Reid Park General Account
($3,418,862.20) from the following trading:
(b) Further particulars of the value of commissions received by Strip and not disclosed and accounted for will be provided following discovery.
As a result of the matters pleaded in paragraphs 9 and 20 herein ASANDAS is also responsible for the conduct of Stripe pleaded in paragraphs 21, 21A and 23 herein and is also responsible for the loss and damage pleaded in paragraph 25 herein.
(a) The first and third respondents pay to the second applicant $1,343,251.70 as pleaded in paragraphs 25.2 and 26 of the substituted statement of claim;
(b) The first and third respondents pay to the first applicant $3,738,009.70 as pleaded in paragraphs 25.1 and 26 of the substituted statement of claim;
(c) The first and third respondents pay to the third applicant $7,136,542.20 as pleaded in paragraphs 25.3 and 26 of the substituted statement of claim.
QBE agrees to indemnify the Insured against civil liability for compensation arising from any Claim first made against the Insured during the Period of Cover and notified to QBE during the period of cover as a result of breach of professional duty in the conduct of the Financial Service.
(a) the Unauthorised Transactions exclusion (in cl 4.24 of the Policy); and
(b) the Conflict exclusion (in cl 4.3 of the Policy).
QBE shall not be liable under this Policy to provide indemnity in respect of any Claim against any Insured ...
in connection with:
(a) the Financial Service provided by the Insured or any Representative, Authorised Representative or other agent while without:
(i) an Australia Financial Services Licence (AFSL), including but not limited to the suspension, non-renewal, withdrawal or cessation of an AFSL, or
(ii) an appropriate authorisation for the provision of the Financial Service under an AFSL, unless the Insured, Representative, Authorised Representative or agent is exempt from having an AFSL or an authorisation under the AFSL for the provision of the Financial Service.
where such Licence is required by law.
QBE shall not be liable under this Policy to provide indemnity in respect of any claim against an insured ... directly or indirectly based upon, or attributable to or in consequence of a Conflict.
Conflict shall mean:
(a) a conflict of duty and duty, where an Insured acts for a client whilst being subjected to a contrary interest, being an interest of another client; or
(b) conflict of interest and duty where an Insured acts for a client whilst being subjected to a contrary interest, being a personal advantage interest.
Insured shall mean:
(a) the incorporated body stated in item 4.1 of the Schedule;
(b) any Subsidiary specified in item 4.2 of the Schedule, and declared in the Proposal form as constituting the Proponent, engaged in the provision of the Financial Service in part or in whole;
(c) any person who is or was:
(i) a Director, Officer or Employee; or
(ii) a Representative, Authorised Representative or Proper Authority Holder who is or was also a Director, Officer or Employee of the incorporated bodies referred to in sub-clauses 7.26(a) and 7.26(b) of this definition, but only in respect of work performed while a Director, Officer or Employee of the incorporated bodies referred to in sub-clauses 7.26(a) and 7.26(b) of this definition.
Onus of proof and fact finding in relation to exclusions
[A] condition necessary to the accrual of liability of an insurer, a 'condition precedent', was contrasted with one which creates a particular exception to the insurer's obligation. The insured bears the onus of proving the fulfilment of the firstmentioned condition. It is well accepted that the insurer must prove that a loss falls within an exception.
Third, there is a difference in the terms in which the ambit of the power conferred by the former r 3(2)(c) ('the relief ... that the applicant appears entitled to on the statement of claim') and the wording of the current r 5.23(2)(c) ('the relief claimed in the statement of claim to which the Court is satisfied that the applicant is entitled'). Notwithstanding that difference in language, the requirement imposed is not that an applicant prove by way of evidence the claim sought to be advanced; the requirement is that the court needs to be 'satisfied' on the face of the statement of claim that the applicant is entitled to the 'relief' claimed. The facts as alleged in the statement of claim are deemed to have been admitted by a respondent...
Fourth, to be satisfied that an applicant 'is entitled' to the relief claimed in the statement of claim, the Court needs to be satisfied that 'each element of the relevant civil wrong involved is properly and discretely pleaded in the statement of claim'.
Fifth, in addition to the facts alleged in a statement of claim, the Court may permit recourse to limited further evidence. But it may not admit evidence which would alter the case as pleaded. (original emphasis; footnotes omitted)
...[I]t is a question of fact in the circumstances whether the particular statement in a pleading or analogous document constitutes an admission. The relevant circumstances will include the type of pleading or other document and the terms in which the alleged admission has been expressed. Thus, an assertion in a statement of claim in an action for damages for personal injuries that a plaintiff, X, was the driver of a motor car when it collided with another vehicle at a particular time and place will generally constitute an admission ... so as to be admissible against X in subsequent civil or criminal proceedings. That I consider to be consistent with the observations of Cockburn CJ in Richards v Morgan [1863] EngR 997; (1863) 4 B & S 641; 122 ER 600. In a passage, at 661; 607, which has been cited with approval by Rares J in Hoy Mobile Pty Ltd v Allphones Retail Pty Ltd [2008] FCA 369; (2008) 167 FCR 314, at [34], his Lordship said;
It cannot be doubted that a man's assertions are admissions, whether made in the course of a judicial proceeding or otherwise, and, in the former case, whether he was himself a party to such proceeding or not. It may be given in evidence against him in any suit or action in which the fact so asserted or admitted becomes material to the issue to be determined. And in principle, there can be no difference whether the assertion or admission be made by the party himself who is sought to be affected by it, or by someone employed, directed or invited by him to make the particular statement on his behalf. In like manner, a man who brings forward another for the purposes of asserting or proving some fact on his behalf, whether in a court of justice or elsewhere, must be taken himself to assert the fact that he thus seeks to establish.
PARTICULARS
Sub-paragraph 23.7 of the Substituted Statement of Claim alleged that Stripe had undertaken discretionary trading without complying with the financial services laws.
Condition 29 of the AFSL prohibited ASANDAS (or its authorised representatives, including Stripe) from operating a 'Managed Discretionary Account Service'.
(i) issuing, applying for, requiring, varying or disposing of a financial product in respect of the following classes of financial products:
...
(f) securities ...
The licensee must not provide an MDA service to a retail client except when operating a registered scheme.
a service with the following features:
(a) a person (the client) makes contributions; and
(b) the client agrees with another person that the client's portfolio assets will:
(i) be managed by that other person at their discretion, subject to any limitation that may be agreed, for the purposes that include investment, and
(ii) not be pooled with property that is not the client's portfolio assets to enable an investment to be made or made on more favourable terms, and
(iii) to be held by the client unless a beneficial interest, but not legal interest in them will be held by the client; and
(c) the client and the person intend that the person will use client contributions of the client to generate a financial return or other benefit from the person's investment expertise.
In McCann v Switzerland Insurance Australia Ltd, after observing that, as a commercial contract, a policy of insurance should be given a businesslike interpretation, Gleeson CJ added:
'Interpreting a commercial document requires attention to the language used by the parties, the commercial circumstances which the document addresses, and the objects which it is intended to secure'.
... In construing the Policy, as with other instruments, preference is given to a construction supplying a congruent operation to the various components of the whole.
...The meaning of the terms of a commercial contract is to be determined by what a reasonable businessperson would have understood those terms to mean ... As reaffirmed, it will require consideration of the language used by the parties, the surrounding circumstances known to them and the commercial purpose or objects to be secured by the contract. Appreciation of the commercial purpose or objects is facilitated by an understanding 'of the genesis of the transaction, the background, the context [and] the market in which the parties are operating.' ... [U]nless a contrary intention is indicated, a court is entitled to approach the task of giving a commercial contract a businesslike interpretation on the assumption 'that the parties...intended to produce a commercial result'. A commercial contract is to be construed so as to avoid it 'making commercial nonsense or working commercial inconvenience. (footnotes omitted)
Named Insured: Australian Stockbroking & Advisory Services Limited
Endorsement attaching to and forming part of policy no. 776342FIP
With effect from 25 February 2008 the following amendments applies:
It is hereby noted and agreed that the following has been added in the Endorsement Section of the Policy Schedule:
Nominated Authorised Representative Extension - 120905 (amended 200208)
QBE agrees to indemnify a Nominated Authorised Representative as if an Employee, against civil liability arising from any Claim first made against the Nominated Authorised Representative and notified to QBE during the Period of Cover as a result of a breach of professional duty in the conduct of the Financial Service provided on behalf of the Insured.
PROVIDED ALWAYS THAT:
(a) such Nominated Authorised Representative has entered into a written Authorised Representative agreement with the Insured for the provision of representative services to the Insured in accordance with the Financial Service.
(b) such Nominated Authorised Representative is subject to the training, monitoring and supervision of the Insured;
(c) such indemnity shall be specifically excess of any other indemnity available to the Nominated Authorised Representative;
(d) the Nominated Authorised Representative shall observe and be subject to all the terms of this Policy Insofar as they can apply;
(e) such Claim would otherwise be covered by this Policy if made against the Insured;
(f) this endorsement does not otherwise provide indemnity to the Nominated Authorised Representative;
(g) such indemnity shall not apply to any Claim brought by or on behalf of the Nominated Authorised Representative;
(h) the indemnity provided by this endorsement shall be part of and not in addition to the Limit of Indemnity stated in the Schedule;
For the purpose of this endorsement Nominated Authorised Representative shall mean:
It does not mean a Director, Officer or Employee.
Where the provisions of the endorsement conflicts with Clause 7.18 Employee, then the terms of this endorsement will prevail.
In all other respects this policy remains unchanged.
As Fisher J said in FCT v Comber [1986] FCA 92; (1986) 64 ALR 451, 'In my opinion, deeming provisions are required by their nature to be construed strictly and only for the purpose for which they are resorted to: Re Levy; Ex parte Walton (1981) 17 Ch D 746 per James J at 756. It is improper in my view, to extend by implication the express application of such a statutory fiction.' See too Muller v Dalgety & Co Ltd [1909] HCA 67; (1909) 9 CLR 693 at 696 and Wiest v Director of Public Prosecutions [1988] FCA 450; (1988) 86 ALR 464 at 485-6 per Burchett J.
...The 'as if' agreement that they are to be treated in this way does no more that provide the mechanism for making, through the 'Employee' route, [Stripe Capital] an 'Insured' for the purposes of the contract.
Given that a capital E 'Employee' already forms part of the privately agreed dictionary between the parties to the contract, the 'as if' agreement in this case is best characterised as providing for an expansion of the definition of 'Employee' beyond the previously agreed dictionary definition that had hitherto been agreed to, rather than to be seen as the parties seeking to create any form of fiction as the words 'as if' are sometimes said to achieve in a statutory context (but if the words are to be treated as a synonym of deemed that is not always the result). That is because the parties have already sought to depart from the constraints of common English meaning by the selection of their own dictionary. The words 'as if' in this context are akin to adding to the definition of Employee the words 'including the Nominated Authorised Representatives referred to in the Endorsement'. (emphasis added)
For the purpose of this Policy, each of the parties comprising the Insured shall be considered as a separate legal entity and the word 'Insured' shall apply to each party as if a separate policy had been issued to each of the said parties but nothing herein contained shall operate to increase the Company's Limits of Liability stated in the Schedule. (emphasis added)
On its face, as I have noted, the effect of the cross liability clause would appear to be to require that the reference to the 'Insured' in the employer's liability exclusion be read as a reference to Hamersley where the claim is made by Hamersley in respect of its interest. In the context of a policy in which many, but not all, of the clauses are capable of being read as the cross liability clause would appear on its face to suggest, the question is whether there is anything in the wording, nature or context of the employer's liability clause which would suggest that that clause should be read as if the reference to the insured were a reference to Speno.
In relation to this issue, Zurich suggests that to read the word 'Insured' as if it referred to Hamersley rather than Speno, would be to create a 'dramatic and totally different risk ... when it could not have been intended by the parties.' However, there is nothing in the circumstances of the contract which, to my mind, indicates that the intention of the parties was to exclude liability only in respect of persons employed by Speno. One can readily imagine circumstances in which liability would arise in Hamersley for injury arising out of the course of employment of one of its employees as a result of the performance of the contract by Speno. ... A risk of this kind would, one would assume, be covered by Hamersley's own employer's liability policy, and it would appear to me to be entirely possible that the parties would have intended that Zurich's liability to Hamersley in respect of Hamersley's own employees should therefore be excluded. There appears to me to be no particular reason, having regard to the purpose and scope of the policy, to consider that the parties would have intended the reference to the Insured in this clause always to read as a reference to Speno.
...
... I would therefore respectfully disagree with his Honour's view that the employer's liability exclusion in the general liability policy operated so as to exclude Zurich's liability to Hamersley in relation to the injury sustained by Speno's employee, Mr Nolan...
Could the Conflict Exclusion otherwise apply to Stripe Capital?
Of, pertaining to, concerning or affecting a person as an individual (rather than as a group or of the public, or in a professional capacity etc.); individual; private; One's own.
(a) conflicts of duty between clients of an insured, (i.e., the conflict identified in subparagraph (a)); and
(b) conflicts of interest that occur between the interest of the client and the interest of the insured (i.e., the conflict identified in subparagraph (b)).
Under the control or influence of, subordinate to. ... Under obligation or bound ... Submissive obedient.
Make submissive or dependent subordinate.
directly or indirectly based upon, attributable to, or in consequence of:
2.2 Fraud & Dishonesty
QBE agrees to indemnify the Insured against civil liability for compensation arising from any Claim made against that Insured which would otherwise be excluded by reason of Exclusion 4.8 (Fraud and Dishonesty) PROVIDED ALWAYS THAT:
The effect of an exception is to save the insurer from liability for a loss which but for the exception would be covered. The effect of the cover is not to impose on the insurer liability for something which is within the exception.
(a) Obtaining secret commissions from Leveraged Equities and using loan funds to trade securities to recover existing losses (pleaded in [21.1], [22.1] and [23.4] of the statement of claim);
(b) Drawing down funds from the LE Margin Loan Account to undertake high volume trading to earn commissions without any commensurate benefit to the plaintiffs ([21.3], [22.3] and [23.6] of the statement of claim);
(c) Undertaking high volume trading to earn commissions without any commensurate benefit to the plaintiffs ([23.3] of the statement of claim).[62]
(a) Trading losses of Rastus as trustee of TY Super (Table 1);
(b) Trading losses of Rastus as trustee of BY Super (Table 2);
(d) Trading losses of Reid Park General Account (Table 4);
[W]ithout authority to do so undertook high volume trading of securities in order to effect transactions on which commissions would be earned by Stripe without any or any reasonably commensurate benefit being earned by Rastus, Young Investments and or Reid Park[.]
7.8 Claim
Claim shall mean:
(a) the receipt by the Insured of any written notice of demand for compensation made by a third party against the Insured.
(b) any writ, statement of claim, summons, application or other originating legal or arbitral process, cross-claim, counter claim or third or similar party notice served upon the Insured which contains a demand for compensation made by a third party against the Insured.
5.4 Multiple Claims
All casually connected or interrelated acts, errors or omissions shall jointly constitute a single act, error or omission under this Policy.
Where a single act, error or omission gives rise to more than one Claim, all such Claims shall jointly constitute one Claim under the Policy, and only one Deductible and, if there is an Aggregate Limit of Indemnity, only one Limit of Indemnity shall be applicable in respect of such Claim.
(a) Neither the Unauthorised Transactions exclusion nor the Conflict exclusion apply to the Claims in the present case;
(b) the plaintiffs are entitled to judgment against QBE pursuant to s 601AG of the Corporations Act 2001 (Cth) up to the Aggregate Limit of Indemnity of $10,000,000; and
(c) there are three Claims within the meaning of the Policy, being a Claim in respect of each Plaintiff.
I certify that the preceding paragraph(s) comprise the reasons for decision of the Supreme Court of Western Australia.
Research Associate to the Honourable Chief Justice Quinlan
[1] Fairweather Pty Ltd v QBE Insurance (Australia) Ltd [2012] WASCA 270 (Pullin JA; Newnes & Murphy JJA agreeing).
[2] Fairweather Pty Ltd v QBE Insurance (Australia) Ltd [4].
[3] See further amended statement of claim dated 16 October 2017 [4], further amended defence dated 2 November 2018 [4].
[4] See Defendant's Submissions for Trial [15]-[18].
[5] Relevantly, the Policy comprised a Policy Schedule 7776342FIP dated 25 January 2008, together with Standard Policy Form QPLDFIPIW 2004 (Exhibit 5). A further endorsement to the Policy Schedule was issued on 27 February 2008 (Exhibit 6).
[6] QBE Insurance Ltd v Nguyen [2008] SASC 138; (2008) 100 SASR 560 [51]-[55] (Doyle CJ), [134]-[136] (Gray J), [185] (Layton J).
[7] Formally known as Beverley Lorraine Young.
[10] The formatting as it exists at [24] of the statement of claim has been amended in this reproduction to reflect continuing numbering.
[12] Exhibit 10 (Young Investments Group Pty Ltd v Stripe Capital Pty Ltd [2013] FCA 528).
[14] Witness statement of Beverley Lorraine Margetts dated 4 April 2018.
[15] See further amended statement of claim dated 16 October 2017 [6(g)]; further amended defence dated 2 November 2018 [6.7].
[18] Wallaby Grip Ltd v QBE Insurance (Australia) Ltd [2010] HCA 9; (2010) 240 CLR 444 [25] (French CJ, Gummow, Hayne, Heydon and Kiefel JJ).
[19] Munro, Brice & Co v War Risks Association Ltd [1918] 2 KB 78, 88 (Bailhache J).
[20] McLennan v Insurance Australia Ltd [2014] NSWCA 300 [6] - [19] (Beazley P, Meagher and Ward JJA).
[21] Speedo Holdings B.V. v Evans (No 2) [2011] FCA 1227.
[22] Speedo Holdings B.V. v Evans (No 2) [23]-[25].
[23]Australian Competition and Consumer Commission v Pratt (No 3) [2009] FCA 407 [72]; [2009] FCA 407; (2009) 175 FCR 558 [72] (Ryan J).
[24] QBE, for example, relied upon the advice of the Privy Council in Kok Hoong v Leong Cheong Kweng Mines Ltd [1964] AC 993, 1018 to the effect that where a litigant is shown to have acted positively in the face of the court, making an election and procuring from it an order affecting others apart from himself, court should hold the litigant to his or her conduct and refuse to start again on the basis that he or she has abandoned.
[25] Defendant's Submissions for Trial [41]-[42].
[29] See, in particular, statement of claim [14].
[31] In addition to its further amended defence and Submissions for Trial, QBE's Answers to the Plaintiffs' Request for Further and Better Particulars dated 6 August 2018 confined its allegation pleaded in [17] of defence to the admissions in [23.7], [24], [25], and [26] of the statement of claim in the Federal Court action.
[32] When construing an exclusion clause, of course, it is necessary to construe the particular clause in the context of the Policy as a whole, and arrive at a construction which gives effect to the intention of the Policy. A construction that would render the Policy illusory should not be adopted. See Alex Kay Pty Ltd v General Motors Acceptance Corporation & Hartford Fire Insurance Company [1963] VicRp 66; [1963] VR 458, 463 (Sholl J).
[35] Wilkie v Gordian Runnoff Ltd [2005] HCA 17; (2005) 221 CLR 522 [15] - [16] (Gleeson CJ, McHugh, Gummow & Kirby JJ).
[36] Electricity Generation Corporation t/as Verve Energy v Woodside Energy Ltd [2014] HCA 7; (2014) 251 CLR 640 [35] (French CJ, Hayne, Crennan & Kiefel JJ).
[37] Byrnes v Kendle [2011] HCA 26; (2011) 243 CLR 253 [98] (Heydon & Crennan JJ).
[38] Toll (FGCT) Pty Ltd v Alphapharm Pty Ltd [2004] HCA 52; (2004) 219 CLR 165 [40] (Gleeson CJ, Gummow, Hayne, Callinan & Heydon JJ). See also Ecosse Property Holdings Pty Ltd v Gee Dee Nominees Pty Ltd [2017] HCA 12; (2017) 261 CLR 544 [16] (Kiefel, Bell & Gordon JJ).
[39] Wilkie v Gordian Runnoff Ltd [15] - [16] (Gleeson CJ, McHugh, Gummow & Kirby JJ)
[41] The Stripe Endorsement also confers an indemnity to another authorised representative, Chess Capital Partners Pty Ltd (Chess Capital). In the reasons which follow, in relation to the Stripe Endorsement, I have referred only to Stripe Capital.
[42] East Finchley Pty Ltd v Federal Commissioner of Taxation [1989] FCA 481; (1989) 90 ALR 457 [478] (Hill J).
[43] Supplementary Submissions of the Defendant Pursuant to Direction of the Chief Justice dated 12 December 2018 [3] and [4].
[44] McCann v Switzerland Insurance Australia Ltd [2000] HCA 65; (2000) 203 CLR 579.
[46] The only way in which the Stripe Endorsement contemplates any effect on ASANDAS is the fact that the Limit of Indemnity under the Policy remains the same $10,000,000.
[47] Clauses 2.5, 3.3, 4.6, 4.8 and 4.19 provide examples which expressly distinguish between 'the Insured' and 'any Insured'. Other uses of 'the Insured' clearly contemplate 'any Insured' (see eg cl 4.16 and cl 5.2).
[48] Speno Rail Maintenance Australia Pty Ltd v Hamersley Iron Pty Ltd [2000] WASCA 408; (2000) 23 WAR 291 [18] (Malcolm CJ).
[49] Speno Rail Maintenance Australia Pty Ltd v Hamersley Iron Pty Ltd [148]-[149], [153] (Wheeler J).
[50] Speno Rail Maintenance Australia Pty Ltd v Hamersley Iron Pty Ltd [20] (Malcolm CJ).
[51] Speno Rail Maintenance Australia Pty Ltd v Hamersley Iron Pty Ltd [75]-[81].
[52] National Vulcan Engineering Insurance Group Ltd v Transfield Pty Ltd [2003] NSWCA 327; (2003) 59 NSWLR 119 [46]-[51] (Santow JA; Ipp JA & Young CJ in Eq agreeing).
[53] There was an additional submission in which the plaintiffs said that Stripe Capital was not 'acting' for the plaintiff. That submission was abandoned at trial (see ts 135).
[54] There is no suggestion in the present case that cl 7.11(a) (i.e. conflicts between clients) could apply.
[55] Electricity Generation Corporation t/as Verve Energy v Woodside Energy Ltd [35] (French CJ, Hayne, Crennan & Kiefel JJ).
[56] Plaintiffs' Responsive Submissions for Trial dated 3 December 2018 [14].
[58] Plaintiffs' Responsive Submissions for Trial dated 3 December 2018 [17].
[59] Kiriacoulis Lines SA v Compagnie d'Assurances Maritime Aeriennes et Terrestres (Camat) (The Demetra K) [2002] EWCA Civ 1070; [2002] 1 Lloyd's Rep IR 795 [18] cited in McCarthy v St Paul International Insurance Co Ltd [2007] FCAFC 28; (2007) 157 FCR 402 [81].
[60] Mitor Investments Pty Ltd v General Accident Fire & Life Assurance Corporation Ltd [1984] WAR 365, 370 (Burt CJ).
[61] See McCann v Switzerland Insurance Australia [195] (Callinan J). While Callinan J dissented, his Honour has here summarised non-proximate clauses in a manner not different from the majority.
[62] See QBE's Answers to the Plaintiffs' Request for Further and Better Particulars dated 6 August 2018 as to [25] of the amended defence.
[63] Table 4 defines ONA as "Ordinary Shares Unauthorised Securities", rather than "Ordinary Shares not Authorised Securities". The difference is not material and I accept that, in context, the meaning is the same.
[64] 'Authorised Securities' is itself defined in [14.1] of the statement of claim.
[67] Further amended defence dated 2 November 2018 [13].
[70] The pleadings, again, provided little assistance on this point. While the prayer for relief (in [9] of the further amended statement of claim) contemplated one deductible, it does not specify the amounts to be paid to each plaintiff.
[71] See ts 94. In such as case, as Senior Counsel put it, 'the question of excesses doesn't make a lick of difference' as the plaintiffs would get $10,000,000 under the Policy.
[72] By way of example, the relative proportions of $10,000,000 to each of the plaintiffs based on the amounts in [217] (i.e. without reference to the deductibles) would be $1,099,418.16: $3,059,499.25: $5,841.082.59, whereas based on the based on the amounts in [220] (i.e. with reference to the deductibles) would be $1,071,651.20: $3,056,095.57: $5,872.253.23.
[73] McCarthy v St Paul International Insurance Co Ltd [2007] FCAFC 28; (2007) 157 FCR 402 [75] (Allsop J).
[74] This conclusion is, in my view, consistent with that reached by Allsop J in McCarthy v St Paul International Insurance Co Ltd at [77], in which his Honour found there to be a single claim 'for each applicant'.
(2008) 167 FCR 314
(1986) 64 ALR 451
(2008) 100 SASR 560
(2010) 240 CLR 444
(2005) 221 CLR 522
(2011) 243 CLR 253
(1909) 9 CLR 693
(1988) 86 ALR 464
(2009) 175 FCR 558
(2014) 251 CLR 640
(2004) 219 CLR 165
(1989) 90 ALR 457
(2000) 203 CLR 579
(2000) 23 WAR 291
(2003) 59 NSWLR 119
(2007) 157 FCR 402
(2017) 261 CLR 544