© 2026 Zoe. All rights reserved.
Zoe is a legal information platform. Always consult the Federal Register of Legislation for authoritative text.
[2019] NSWCA 215
Court of Appeal (NSW)
2019-06-27
Bell P, Gleeson JA, Schmidt J, Davies J, Commission J
Original judgment source is linked above.
82 Dickinson v The Motor Vehicle Insurance Trust (1987) 163 CLR 500; [1987] HCA 49 Donau Pty Ltd v ASC AWD Shipbuilder Pty Ltd [2019] NSWCA 185 Electricity Generation Corporation t/as Verve Energy v Woodside Energy Ltd (2014) 251 CLR 640; [2014] HCA 7 Franklins Pty Ltd v Metcash Trading Ltd (2009) 76 NSWLR 603; [2009] NSWCA 407 Government Insurance Office (NSW) v RJ Green & Lloyd Pty Ltd (1966) 114 CLR 437; [1966] HCA 6 Jireh International Pty Ltd t/as Gloria Jean's Coffee v Western Exports Services Inc [2011] NSWCA 137 Life Insurance Company of Australia Ltd v Phillips (1925) 36 CLR 60; [1925] HCA 18 Lindsay-Owen v Winton Partners Funds Management Pty Ltd [2017] NSWCA 78 Maggbury Pty Ltd v Hafele Australia Pty Ltd (2001) 210 CLR 181; [2001] HCA 70 McCann v Switzerland Insurance Australia Limited (2000) 203 CLR 579; [2000] HCA 65 Metlife Insurance Ltd v RGA Reinsurance Company of Australia Ltd [2017] NSWCA 56 Minister for Immigration and Border Protection v SZVFW [2018] HCA 30; (2018) 92 ALJR 713 Mount Bruce Mining Pty Ltd v Wright Prospecting Pty Ltd (2015) 256 CLR 104; [2015] HCA 37 Quintano v B W Rose Pty Ltd [2008] NSWSC 793 Simic v New South Wales Land and Housing Corporation (2016) 260 CLR 85; [2016] HCA 47; (2016) 91 ALJR 108 University of New South Wales v Moorhouse (1975) 133 CLR 1; [1975] HCA 26 Victoria v Tatts Group Ltd [2016] HCA 5; (2016) 90 ALJR 392 Zhang v ROC Services (NSW) Pty Ltd (2016) 93 NSWLR 561; [2016] NSWCA 370 Texts Cited: I Enright and R Merkin, Sutton on Insurance Law (4th ed, 2015, Law Book Co) Sir Kim Lewison and Mr David Hughes, The Interpretation of Contracts in Australia (2012, Lawbook Co) Category: Principal judgment Parties: XL Insurance Company SE (Appellant) BNY Trust Company of Australia Limited (First Respondent) MMJ Real Estate (WA) Pty Ltd (formerly known as DTZ (WA) Real Estate Pty Ltd) (Second Respondent) Dennis John Volk (Third Respondent) Brett Hosking (Fourth Respondent) Representation: Counsel: Mr S D Donaldson SC / Mr R P V Carey (Appellant) Mr T Faulkner SC / Mr A Macauley (First Respondent) Mr G M Watson SC / Ms K Petch (Second, Third and Fourth Respondents)
Solicitors: Moray & Agnew Lawyers (Appellant) HWL Ebsworth (First Respondent) Mony De Kerloy Barristers & Solicitors (Second Respondent) Mills Oakley (Third Respondent) Hotchkin Hanly Lawyers (Fourth Respondent) File Number(s): 2019/6129 Decision under appeal Court or tribunal: Supreme Court of New South Wales Jurisdiction: Civil Citation: [2018] NSWSC 1938 [2019] NSWSC 84 Date of Decision: 14 December 2018 20 February 2019 Before: Schmidt J File Number(s): 2016/313421
[Note: The Uniform Civil Procedure Rules 2005 provide (Rule 36.11) that unless the Court otherwise orders, a judgment or order is taken to be entered when it is recorded in the Court's computerised court record system. Setting aside and variation of judgments or orders is dealt with by Rules 36.15, 36.16, 36.17 and 36.18. Parties should in particular note the time limit of fourteen days in Rule 36.16.] HEADNOTE [This headnote is not to be read as part of the judgment] BNY Trust Company of Australia Limited (BNY) made a claim against MMJ Real Estate (WA) Pty Ltd (MMJ), Dennis Volk and Bruce Hosking (together the defendants) for professional negligence arising out of three property valuations undertaken for BNY in 2010. The defendants brought a cross-claim against their insurer, XL Insurance Company SE (XL), after XL declined to indemnify them or to pay their defence costs under a professional indemnity insurance policy issued to MMJ. XL did so in reliance upon exclusion (ix) in an endorsement to the policy. The specified matter in the exclusion was valuations undertaken by or on behalf of the Insured for lenders who were not an Authorised Deposit-Taking Institution (ADI) supervised by the Australian Prudential Regulatory Authority (APRA), "unless" the valuation included a "Prudent Lender Clause" or a clause with materially the same effect. The Supreme Court ordered the separate determination of the questions whether XL was entitled to decline to indemnify the defendants and to pay their defence costs by reason of the operation of exclusion (ix) under the policy. The agreed facts included that BNY was not an ADI; that the valuations issued by MMJ to BNY did not include a prudent lender clause; and that the loss the subject of BNY's claim was not caused by the failure to incorporate a prudent lender clause in the valuations. In December 2018, Schmidt J determined the separate questions in favour of the defendants finding that exclusion (ix) operated only where there was a causal connection established between the "plaintiff's loss" and the absence of a prudent lender clause in the valuations: BNY Trust Company of Australia v MMJ Real Estate (WA) Pty Ltd (No 2) [2018] NSWSC 1938. Final orders, including a declaration, were made by her Honour in February 2019. XL appealed to the Court of Appeal. The principal issues raised on the appeal were: Whether the primary judge erred in her construction of exclusion clause (ix). Whether the primary judge erred in granting declaratory and other final relief when the defendants' liability to BNY had not yet been established. The Court (Gleeson JA, Bell P and Emmett AJA agreeing) allowed XL's appeal and held: As to issue (1): Having identified the competing constructions of the exclusion clause, the proper approach was to test each against the text, context and purpose of the contract: [53]-[54]. In this case, the preferred construction is that exclusion (ix) applies to exclude cover for "Loss" as defined in the policy where the valuation is undertaken by or on behalf of the Insured for a non-ADI lender and the valuation does not include a prudent lender clause: [55]-[60]. The valuations undertaken by MMJ for BNY answered the description of the specified matter in exclusion (ix). XL was entitled to deny indemnity and refuse to pay defence costs by reason of the exclusion under the policy: [109]-[110]. Burns Philp Hardware Ltd v Howard Chia Pty Ltd (1987) 8 NSWLR 642 at 657 (Priestley JA); MetLife Insurance Ltd v RGA Reinsurance Company of Australia Ltd [2017] NSWCA 56 at [100]-[101] (Leeming JA, McColl JA and Emmett AJA agreeing), applied. As to issue (2): Although the issue did not arise, the scope of the declaratory and final relief ordered by the primary judge was too wide. It is not usually appropriate for the courts to make a declaration as to the liability of an insurer to indemnify an insured in circumstances where the liability of the insured to a claimant has not yet been established by judgment: [114]-[117]. AMP Financial Planning Pty Ltd v CGU Insurance Limited (No 2) at [4]-[12] (Heerey J); University of New South Wales v Moorhouse (1975) 133 CLR 1 at 10; [1975] HCA 26; Ainsworth v Criminal Justice Commission (1992) 175 CLR 564 at 582; [1992] HCA 10; AMP Fire & General Insurance Co Ltd v Dixon [1982] VR 833 at 839-840, applied.
Judgment
Overview
The agreed facts
The policy
The primary judge's reasons on construction
The primary judge's reasons on relief
Issues on appeal
The parties' submissions on construction
XL
The defendants and BNY
A: Determination of the construction issue
The primary judge's approach to the construction issue
The Endorsement
The grammatical meaning of exclusion (ix)
The legal meaning of exclusion (ix)
(1) The requirements of previous insurance policies
(2) Valuations for ADI and non-ADI lenders
(3) Exclusion (vii)(c)
The significance of other exclusions - Exclusion (v)(a)
Concession as to causation
Contra proferentem
Conclusion on construction
B. Whether the grant of final relief was appropriate?
Conclusion and orders
DISCLAIMER - Every effort has been made to comply with suppression orders or statutory provisions prohibiting publication that may apply to this judgment or decision. The onus remains on any person using material in the judgment or decision to ensure that the intended use of that material does not breach any such order or provision. Further enquiries may be directed to the Registry of the Court or Tribunal in which it was generated. Decision last updated: 02 September 2019
XL Insurance Co SE
BNY Trust Company of Australia Limited
[1986] HCA 82
[2015] HCA 37
[1975] HCA 26
[2010] HCA 70
(1992) 175 CLR 564
(1973) 129 CLR 99
(1987) 8 NSWLR 642
(1986) 161 CLR 500
(1987) 163 CLR 500
(2014) 251 CLR 640
(2009) 76 NSWLR 603
(1966) 114 CLR 437
(1925) 36 CLR 60
(2001) 210 CLR 181
(2000) 203 CLR 579
(2018) 92 ALJR 713
(2015) 256 CLR 104
(2016) 260 CLR 85
(2016) 91 ALJR 108
(1975) 133 CLR 1
(2016) 90 ALJR 392
(2016) 93 NSWLR 561
(2005) 221 CLR 522
(2000) 105 FCR 476