[2025] ICQ 8
General information, not legal advice.
Industrial Court of Queensland
2025-06-17
Davis J
Original judgment source is linked above.
WORKERS' COMPENSATION - ALTERNATIVE RIGHTS AGAINST EMPLOYER AND/OR THIRD PARTIES AND CONSEQUENCES THEREOF - ACTIONS FOR DAMAGES AGAINST EMPLOYER - STATUTORY CONSTRAINT ON ACTIONS FOR DAMAGES - PROCEDURAL MATTERS - GENERALLY - where the Workers' Compensation and Rehabilitation Act 2003 limited a right to action for common law damages to a "worker" who had an "injury" that was assessed - where the insurer would refer an injury for assessment upon application by the "worker" - where the respondent made application for assessment of an injury - where the respondent applied for assessment in the prescribed way - where the insurer determined that the injury was not an "injury" as defined by the legislation - where the insurer refused to refer the injury for assessment - where the respondent asserted that it was no part of the insurer's role to determine whether he had an "injury" - where the respondent asserted that the insurer was obliged to refer the injury if the respondent applied in the prescribed way - where the Workers' Compensation Regulator affirmed the decision of the insurer - where the Queensland Industrial Relations Commission set aside that decision - where the Regulator appealed the decision of the Commission - whether the function of the insurer included determining whether a "worker" had suffered an "injury"
Workers' Compensation and Rehabilitation Act 2003 (Qld), s 9, s 11, s 32, s 108, s 131, s 132, s 132A, s 134, s 179, s 180, s 184, s 185, s 237, s 257, s 258, s 275, sch 6
Allina Pty Ltd v Commissioner of Taxation (1991) 28 FCR 203; [1991] FCA 87, considered
City of Enfield v Development Assessment Commission (2000) 199 CLR 135; [2000] HCA 5, cited
Gates v City Mutual Life Assurance Society Ltd (1986) 160 CLR 1; [1986] HCA 3, cited
Grain Elevators Board (Vic) v Dunmunkle Shire (1946) 73 CLR 70; [1986] HCA 3, cited
Interlego AG v Croner Trading Pty Ltd (1992) 39 FCR 348; [1992] FCA 992, considered
Langridge v Workers' Compensation Regulator [2019] QIRC 048, related
Langridge v Workers' Compensation Regulator [2021] QIRC 251, related
Minister for Immigration, Citizenship, Migrant Services and Multicultural Affairs v Thornton (2023) 276 CLR 136; [2023] HCA 17, cited
Minister for Immigration v Eshetu (1999) 197 CLR 611; [1999] HCA 21, cited
R v A2 (2019) 269 CLR 507; [2019] HCA 35, followed
Mr McLeod KC was instructed directly by the Workers' Compensation Regulator
"132A Applying for assessment of DPI[7] before applying for compensation
(1) This section applies to a worker who has not made an application under section 132.
(2) The worker may apply to the insurer to have the worker's injury assessed under section 179 to decide if the worker's injury has resulted in a DPI.
(a) lodged with the insurer; and
(b) in the approved form; and
(c) accompanied by -
(i) a certificate in the approved form given by a doctor who attended the worker; and
(ii) any other evidence or particulars prescribed under a regulation.
(4) A registered dentist may issue the certificate mentioned in subsection (3)(c)(i) for an oral injury.
(5) If the worker can not complete an application because of a physical or mental incapacity, someone else may complete it on the worker's behalf."[8]
"(7) The insurer may reject the application only if satisfied the worker -
(a) was not a worker when the injury was sustained; or
(b) has not sustained an injury."[10]
(a) by s 132A, as it stood at the time of the injury,[12] WorkCover must satisfy itself that the claimant is a "worker" who has sustained an "injury" before it can refer the injury for assessment;
(b) "injury" as defined by s 32 of the Act is a personal injury which arose out of or in the course of a claimant's employment;
(c) the evidence does not support a conclusion that Mr Langridge's injury arose in the course of his employment; and, therefore
(d) the injury should not be assessed.
"1. The Queensland Industrial Relations Commission erred in holding that, on a proper construction of s.132A (in its pre-amended form) of the Workers' Compensation and Rehabilitation Act 2003 (Qld) ("the WCR Act"), WorkCover Queensland ("WorkCover"), as insurer:
(a) was obliged to refer the respondent for assessment of permanent impairment under s.179 of the WCR Act; and
(b) WorkCover had no capacity to reject the respondent's application for the said assessment under s.132A: (Reasons for decision at [60]-[61])."
(a) works under a contract; and
(b) in relation to the work, is an employee for the purpose of assessment for PAYG withholding under the Taxation Administration Act 1953 (Cwlth), schedule 1, part 2-5.
(1) An injury is personal injury arising out of, or in the course of, employment if--
(a) ... the employment is a significant contributing factor to the injury..."[19]
Compensation is compensation under this Act, that is, amounts for a worker's injury payable under chapters 3 and 4 by an insurer to a worker, a dependant of a deceased worker or anyone else, and includes compensation paid or payable under a former Act."[23]
(1) Compensation is payable under this Act for an injury sustained by a worker.
(2) However, if a worker's injury is an aggravation mentioned in section 32(3)(b) or (ba), the worker is entitled to compensation for the injury only to the extent of the effects of the aggravation."[25]
(1) An application for compensation is valid and enforceable only if the application is lodged by the claimant within 6 months after the entitlement to compensation arises.
(2) If an application is lodged more than 20 business days after the entitlement to compensation arises, the extent of the insurer's liability to pay compensation is limited to a period starting no earlier than 20 business days before the day on which the valid application is lodged.
(3) Subsection (2) does not apply if death is, or results from, the injury.
(4) An insurer must waive subsection (1) for a particular application if it is satisfied that special circumstances of a medical nature, decided by a medical assessment tribunal, exist.
(5) An insurer may waive subsection (1) or (2) for a particular application if the insurer is satisfied that a claimant's failure to lodge the application was due to -
(a) mistake; or
(b) the claimant's absence from the State; or
(c) a reasonable cause.
(1) An application for compensation must be made in the approved form by the claimant.
(2) The application must be lodged with the insurer.
(a) a certificate in the approved form given by -
(i) a doctor who attended the claimant; or
(ii) if the application relates to a minor injury - a nurse practitioner who attended the claimant and who is acting in accordance with the workers' compensation certificate protocol; and
(b) any other evidence or particulars prescribed under a regulation.
(4) A registered dentist may issue the certificate mentioned in subsection (3)(a) for an oral injury.
(5) If the claimant can not complete an application because of a physical or mental incapacity, someone else may complete it on the claimant's behalf."[26]
"134 Decision about application for compensation
(1) A claimant's application for compensation must be allowed or rejected in the first instance by the insurer.
(2) The insurer must make a decision on the application within 20 business days after the application is made.
(3) The insurer must notify the claimant of its decision on the application.
(4) If the insurer rejects the application, the insurer must also, when giving the claimant notice of its decision, give the claimant written reasons for the decision and the information prescribed under a regulation.
(5) Subsection (6) applies if the insurer does not make a decision on the application within the time stated in subsection (2).
(6) The insurer must, within 5 business days after the end of the time stated in subsection (2), notify the claimant of its reasons for not making the decision and that the claimant may have the claimant's application reviewed under chapter 13."[27]
"237 General limitation on persons entitled to seek damages
(1) The following are the only persons entitled to seek damages for an injury sustained by a worker -
(a) the worker, if the worker -
(i) has received a notice of assessment from the insurer for the injury; or
(ii) has not received a notice of assessment for the injury, but -
(A) has received a notice of assessment for any injury resulting from the same event (the assessed injury); and
(B) for the assessed injury, the worker has a WRI[28] of 20% or more or, under section 239, the worker has elected to seek damages;
(b) the worker, if the worker's application for compensation was allowed and the injury has not been assessed for permanent impairment;
(c) the worker, if -
(i) the worker has lodged an application, for compensation for the injury, that is or has been the subject of a review or appeal under chapter 13; and
(ii) the application has not been decided in or following the review or appeal;
(d) the worker, if the worker has not lodged an application for compensation for the injury;
(e) a dependant of the deceased worker, if the injury results in the worker's death.
(2) The entitlement of a worker, or a dependant of a deceased worker, to seek damages is subject to the provisions of this chapter.
(a) is required under section 239 to make an election to seek damages for an injury; and
(b) has accepted an offer of payment of lump sum compensation under chapter 3, part 10, division 3 for the injury;
the worker is not entitled under subsection (1)(a)(ii) to seek damages.
(4) However, subsection (3) does not prevent a worker from seeking damages under section 266.
(5) To remove any doubt, it is declared that subsection (1) abolishes any entitlement of a person not mentioned in the subsection to seek damages for an injury sustained by a worker."[29] (emphasis added)
This division applies to a claimant who is a person mentioned in section 237(1)(d)."[32]
"258 Access to damages if claimant has not lodged application for compensation
(1) The claimant may seek damages for the injury only if the insurer -
(a) decides that the claimant -
(i) was a worker when the injury was sustained; and
(ii) has sustained an injury; and
(b) gives the claimant a notice of assessment for the injury.
(2) For subsection (1), the insurer must have the degree of permanent impairment assessed under chapter 3, part 10 and give the claimant a notice of assessment.
(3) Chapter 3, part 10 applies to the assessment, but only for the purpose of assessing the degree of permanent impairment for the purposes of part 12.
(4) To remove any doubt, it is declared that the assessment does not give the claimant an entitlement to lump sum compensation under chapter 3, part 10, division 3 for the injury.
(5) The insurer must make a decision or decisions for the purpose of subsection (1) within 3 months after -
(a) the claimant gives, or is taken to have given, a complying notice of claim; or
(b) the claimant gives a notice of claim for which the insurer waives compliance with the requirements of section 275, with or without conditions; or
(c) a court makes a declaration under section 297.
(6) If the insurer is WorkCover, WorkCover must notify the claimant and the claimant's employer of any decision it makes for the purpose of subsection (1).
(7) If, for any injury, the insurer decides that the claimant -
(a) was not a worker when the injury was sustained; or
(b) has not sustained an injury; the notification must include written reasons for the decision.
(8) If, for any injury, the insurer does not make a decision for the purpose of subsection (1) within the time mentioned in subsection (5), the claimant may have the failure to make a decision reviewed under chapter 13.
(9) A person aggrieved by a decision made by the insurer for the purpose of subsection (1) may have the decision reviewed under chapter 13.
(10) For any assessment mentioned in subsection (1) made by the insurer with which the person does not agree, section 186 applies."[33] (emphasis added)
(a) the claimant was a "worker"; and
(b) the complainant had sustained an "injury".
(1) Before starting a proceeding in a court for damages, a claimant must give notice under this section within the period of limitation for bringing a proceeding for the damages under the Limitation of Actions Act 1974.
(a) give the notice of claim in the approved form to the insurer at the insurer's registered office; and
(b) if the worker's employer is not a self-insurer, give a copy of the notice of claim to the worker's employer.
(3) The notice must include the particulars prescribed under a regulation.
(a) whether, and to what extent, liability expressed as a percentage is admitted for the injury; or
(b) a statement of the reasons why the claimant can not admit liability.
(5) Any statement made by the claimant in the notice that is in the claimant's personal knowledge must be verified by statutory declaration.
(6) The notice must be accompanied by a genuine offer of settlement or a statement of the reasons why an offer of settlement can not yet be made.
(7) The notice must be accompanied by the claimant's written authority allowing the insurer to obtain information, including copies of documents relevant to the claim, and in the possession of -
(a) a hospital; or
(b) the ambulance service of the State or another State; or
(c) a doctor, provider of treatment or rehabilitation services or person qualified to assess cognitive, functional or vocational capacity; or
(d) the employer or a previous employer; or
(e) persons that carry on the business of providing workers' compensation insurance, compulsory third party insurance, personal accident or illness insurance, insurance against loss of income through disability, superannuation funds or any other type of insurance; or
(f) a department, agency or instrumentality of the Commonwealth or the State; or
(g) a solicitor, other than where giving the information or documents would breach legal professional privilege.
(8) The notice must also be accompanied by copies of all documents supporting the claim including, but not limited to -
(a) hospital, medical and other reports relating to the injury sustained by the worker, other than reports obtained by or on behalf of the insurer; and
(b) income tax returns, group certificates and other documents for the 3 years immediately before the injury supporting the claimant's claim for lost earnings or diminution of income-earning capacity; and
(c) invoices, accounts, receipts and other documents evidencing the claimant's claim for out-of-pocket expenses."[34]
(1) An insurer may decide, or a worker may ask the insurer, to have the worker's injury assessed to decide if the worker's injury has resulted in a degree of permanent impairment.
(2) The insurer must have the degree of permanent impairment assessed -
(a) for industrial deafness - by an audiologist; or
(b) for a psychiatric or psychological injury - by a medical assessment tribunal; or
(c) for another injury - by a doctor.
(3) The degree of permanent impairment must be assessed in the way prescribed under a regulation and a report must be given to the insurer stating -
(a) the matters taken into account, and the weight given to the matters, in deciding the degree of permanent impairment; and
(b) any other information prescribed under a regulation.
(1) If, as a result of the assessment, a worker is entitled to lump sum compensation, the amount of the lump sum compensation must be calculated under a regulation having regard to the degree of permanent impairment and the table of injuries.
(2) Without limiting subsection (1), lump sum compensation for injury must not include an amount for a degree of impairment attributable to -
(a) a condition existing before the injury; or
(b) a condition for which the worker is not entitled to compensation.
(3) The amount of lump sum compensation is to be calculated as at the day the insurer makes an offer of lump sum compensation to the worker under section 187."[35]
This division applies if an assessment of permanent impairment of a worker's injury has been made under section 179.
(1) The insurer must, within 10 business days after receiving the assessment of the worker's permanent impairment, give the worker a notice of assessment in the approved form.
(2) However, if a worker sustains multiple injuries in an event, the insurer must give the notice only after the worker's degree of permanent impairment from all the injuries has been assessed.
(a) whether the worker has sustained permanent impairment from the injury; and
(b) if the worker has sustained permanent impairment -
(i) the degree of permanent impairment attributable to the injury; and
(ii) the WRI calculated for the injury; and
(iii) the amount of lump sum compensation under section 180 to which the worker is entitled for the injury; and
(c) if the worker's WRI is 30% or more - the worker's entitlement to additional lump sum compensation under section 192; and
(d) if the worker's WRI is 15% or more - the worker's entitlement to additional lump sum compensation (if any) for gratuitous care under section 193.
(4) If the notice states the worker has not sustained a degree of permanent impairment, the insurer must also give the worker a copy of sections 10, 237(3), 239, 240 and 316."[37]
"Clause 9 inserts a new section 132A outlining the process for applying to an insurer for an assessment of the degree of permanent impairment in situations where an application for statutory compensation has not been made, for example if the applicant is seeking to lodge a notice of claim for damages."
"237 General limitation on persons entitled to seek damages
(1) The following are the only persons entitled to seek damages for an injury sustained by a worker -
(a) the worker, if the worker -
(i) has received a notice of assessment from the insurer for the injury and the DPI for the assessed injury is more than 5%; or
(ii) has a terminal condition;
(b) a dependant of the deceased worker, if the injury results in the worker's death.
(2) The entitlement of a worker, or a dependant of a deceased worker, to seek damages is subject to the provisions of this chapter.
(a) is required under section 239 to make an election to seek damages for an injury; and
(b) has accepted an offer of payment of lump sum compensation under chapter 3, part 10, division 3 for the injury;
(4) However, subsection (3) does not prevent a worker from seeking damages under section 266.
(5) To remove any doubt, it is declared that subsection (1) abolishes any entitlement of a person not mentioned in the subsection to seek damages for an injury sustained by a worker."[38]
(1) An insurer may decide, or a worker who has made an application under section 132 may ask the insurer, to have the worker's injury assessed to decide if the worker's injury has resulted in a degree of permanent impairment.
(2) The insurer must have the degree of permanent impairment assessed -
(a) for industrial deafness - by an audiologist; or
(b) for a psychiatric or psychological injury - by a medical assessment tribunal; or
(c) for another injury - by a doctor.
(3) The degree of permanent impairment must be assessed in accordance with the GEPI to decide the DPI for the injury, and a report complying with the GEPI must be given to the insurer.
(4) If the worker sustains permanent impairment from multiple injuries sustained in 1 event -
(a) the degree of permanent impairment for the injuries, other than a psychiatric or psychological injury, must be assessed together to decide the DPI for the injuries; and
(b) the degree of permanent impairment for the psychiatric or psychological injury must be assessed separately to decide the DPI for the injury.
(1) If, as a result of an assessment under section 179, a worker is entitled to lump sum compensation, the amount of the lump sum compensation must be calculated under a regulation having regard to the DPI.
(2) Without limiting subsection (1), lump sum compensation for injury must not include an amount for a degree of impairment attributable to -
(a) a condition existing before the injury; or
(b) a condition for which the worker is not entitled to compensation.
(3) The amount of lump sum compensation is to be calculated as at the day the insurer makes an offer of lump sum compensation to the worker under section 187."[39]
(a) prescribed that a prerequisite to seeking damages was a notice of assessment; and
(b) did not provide (as did s 237(1)(d)[40]) for a right to claim damages only where there had been no compensation claim.
The Workers' Compensation and Rehabilitation Act 2003 after the enactment of the Workers' Compensation and Other Legislation Amendment Act 2015
"132A Applying for assessment of DPI if no application made for compensation
(1) This section applies to a worker who has not made an application under section 132.
(2) The worker may apply to the insurer to have the worker's injury assessed under section 179 to decide if the worker's injury has resulted in a DPI.
(a) lodged with the insurer; and
(b) in the approved form; and
(c) accompanied by -
(i) a certificate in the approved form given by a doctor who attended the worker; and
(ii) any other evidence or particulars prescribed under a regulation.
(4) A registered dentist may issue the certificate mentioned in subsection (3)(c)(i) for an oral injury.
(5) If the worker can not complete an application because of a physical or mental incapacity, someone else may complete it on the worker's behalf.
(6) The insurer must, within 40 business days after an application under subsection (2) is made, decide to allow or reject the application.
(7) The insurer may reject the application only if satisfied the worker -
(a) was not a worker when the injury was sustained; or
(b) has not sustained an injury.
(8) The insurer must notify the worker of its decision on the application.
(9) If the insurer rejects the application, the insurer must also, when giving the worker notice of its decision, give the worker written reasons for the decision and the information prescribed by regulation.
(10) If the worker is aggrieved by the insurer's decision on the application, the worker may have the decision reviewed under chapter 13.
(11) If the insurer does not decide the application within the time stated in subsection (6) -
(a) the insurer must, within 5 business days after the end of the time stated in subsection (6), notify the worker -
(i) of its reasons for not deciding the application; and
(ii) that the worker may have the insurer's failure to decide the application reviewed under chapter 13; and
(b) the worker may have the insurer's failure to decide the application reviewed under chapter 13.
(12) To remove any doubt, it is declared that a decision of the insurer to allow the application does not entitle the worker to compensation for the injury."[41] (emphasis added)
(a) the claimant is a "worker"; and whether
(b) the claimant has suffered an "injury".
"... s 132A does not provide any entitlement to damages but rather is merely a mechanism whereby a person can apply for an assessment of the injury where they have not made an application for compensation under s 132 of the Act."
Section 132A(1): "This section applies to a person who works under a contract and is an employee for the purpose of assessment for PAYG withholding, who has not made an application under s 132."
Section 132A(2): "The person who works under a contract and is an employee for the purposes of assessment for PAYG withholding may apply to the insurer to have [his] personal injury arising out of, or in the course of employment if the employment is a significant contributing factor to the injury, assessed under s 179 to decide if [his] injury has resulted in a DPI."
(a) where the insurer decides to have "the worker's injury" assessed. That clearly bestows a discretion upon the insurer, of its own motion, to conduct an assessment; or
(b) where the worker "asks" the insurer "to have the worker's injury assessed".
"(2) The main provisions of the scheme provide the following for injuries sustained by workers in their employment -
(a) ...
(b) regulation of access to damages."
The Bill implements a number of policy proposals made by the current Queensland Government in its pre-election policy document Restoring the rights of Queenslanders injured at work. The Bill aims to achieve the following objectives:
The Bill also makes a number of other minor miscellaneous amendments that will improve the day-to-day operation of Queensland's workers' compensation scheme." (emphasis added)
The Bill will achieve the Government's policy objectives by amending the Workers' Compensation and Rehabilitation Act 2003 (the Act) to:
"Clause 4 amends section 132A of the Act to specify the decisions the insurer must make in determining the application, the time the decision must be made within, and that the decisions of an insurer is reviewable. The amendment also clarifies that the decision of the insurer to accept the application does not entitle a worker to compensation for the injury."
[1] Langridge v Workers' Compensation Regulator [2021] QIRC 251.
[2] As it stood at the time of Mr Langridge's injury being sustained.
[3] WorkCover is the relevant "insurer"; Workers' Compensation and Rehabilitation Act 2003: Reprint current as at 1 July 2014, sch 6, definition of "insurer".
[4] Workers' Compensation and Rehabilitation Act 2003, Reprint current as at 1 July 2014, s 32.
[5] Langridge v Workers' Compensation Regulator [2021] QIRC 251 at [60].
[7] "DPI, for an injury of a worker, means an estimate, expressed as a percentage of the degree of the worker's permanent impairment assessed and decided in accordance with the GEPI" and "GEPI means the Guidelines for the Evaluation of Permanent Impairment made under section 183"; Workers' Compensation and Rehabilitation Act 2003, Reprint current as at 1 July 2014, sch 6, definition of "DPI" and "GEPI".
[9] Workers' Compensation and Rehabilitation and Other Legislation Amendment Act 2015; section 132A in that form appears in paragraph [42] of these reasons.
[10] Reprint current as at 31 January 2015.
[11] Langridge v Workers' Compensation Regulator [2019] QIRC 048.
[12] Reprint current as at 1 July 2014; see paragraph [5] of these reasons.
[13] See paragraph [7] of these reasons.
[14] Langridge v Workers' Compensation Regulator [2021] QIRC 251.
[16] The relevant reprints are: Time of injury: Reprint current as at 1 July 2014; Pre-2013 amendments: Reprint current as at 23 September 2013; 2013 amendments: Reprint current as at 29 October 2013; 2015 amendments: Reprint current as at 31 January 2015.
[17] Reprint current as at 1 July 2014.
[18] Act No. 52 of 2013; Reprint current as at 29 October 2013.
[19] Reprint current as at 29 October 2013; for present purposes, the form of ss 11 and 32 in the Reprint current as at 1 July 2014 is equivalent.
[20] See paragraph [5] of these reasons; Reprint current as at 1 July 2014.
[21] See generally Gates v City Mutual Life Assurance Society Ltd [1986] HCA 3; (1986) 160 CLR 1 at 11-13.
[22] Workers' Compensation and Rehabilitation Act 2003, Reprint current as at 29 October 2013, ss 5(2)(b), 9 and 10.
[23] Reprint current as at 1 July 2014.
[25] Reprint current as at 1 July 2014.
[26] Reprint current as at 1 July 2014.
[28] Defined as "Work Related Impairment", sch 6; Reprint current as at 23 September 2013.
[29] Reprint current as at 23 September 2013.
[30] Reprint current as at 23 September 2013.
[31] Reprint current as at 23 September 2013.
[32] Reprint current as at 23 September 2013.
[33] Reprint current as at 23 September 2013.
[36] Reprint current as at 23 September 2013; sch 6.
[37] Reprint current as at 23 September 2013.
[40] Reprint current as at 23 September 2013.
[41] Reprint current as at 31 January 2015.
[42] By removing doubt as to the position before the 2015 amendment; see s 132A(12) as appears at paragraph [42] of these reasons and the Reprint current as at 31 January 2015.
[44] The provisions as appears in the Reprint current as at 29 October 2013.
[45] [2019] HCA 35; (2019) 269 CLR 507 at [32]- [37]; followed in Minister for Immigration, Citizenship, Migrant Services and Multicultural Affairs v Thornton [2024] HCA 6; (2023) 276 CLR 136 at [54].
[46] R v A2 [2019] HCA 35; (2019) 269 CLR 507 at [32].
[47] Appearing at paragraph [5] of these reasons.
[48] Appearing at paragraph [16] of these reasons.
[49] Appearing at paragraph [16] of these reasons.
[51] As appears in paragraph [40] of these reasons; Reprint current as at 1 July 2014.
[54] Each of the injuries identified in subsections (a), (b) and (c) to s 179(2); see paragraph [40] of these reasons where the section appears.
[55] City of Enfield v Development Assessment Commission [2000] HCA 5; (2000) 199 CLR 135 at 154-155; and see generally Minister for Immigration v Eshetu [1999] HCA 21; (1999) 197 CLR 611 at [127]- [140] per Gummow J.
[56] As it stood after the 2013 amendments; see Reprint current as at 29 October 2013 and, for present purposes, 1 July 2014.
[58] Grain Elevators Board (Vic) v Dunmunkle Shire [1946] HCA 13; (1946) 73 CLR 70.
[63] Reprint current as at 31 January 2015.
[64] Reprint current as at 1 July 2014; see also ss 5(1), 5(3) and 5(4).
[66] Reprint current as at 31 January 2015.
[67] Reprint current as at 1 July 2014.
[68] Reprint current as at 31 January 2015
Workers' Compensation Regulator
Langridge [2025] ICQ 8
(1991) 28 FCR 203
(2000) 199 CLR 135
(1986) 160 CLR 1
(1946) 73 CLR 70
(1992) 39 FCR 348
(2023) 276 CLR 136
(1999) 197 CLR 611
(2019) 269 CLR 507