© 2026 Zoe. All rights reserved.
Zoe is a legal information platform. Always consult the Federal Register of Legislation for authoritative text.
[2002] VSCA 190
Court of Appeal (Vic)
2002-11-29
ORMISTON, BATT and VINCENT, JJ.A.
Original judgment source is linked above.
[ 2002] VSCA 190
ACCIDENT COMPENSATION - Worker injured - Compensation paid by Authority - Authority's entitlement to indemnity by third party tortfeasor - Whether to be quantified by reference to formula in force when worker injured or when compensation paid - Whether in applying formula account to be taken of payment by tortfeasor in settlement of worker's common law action made after payment of compensation but before trial of Authority's action for indemnity - Accident Compensation Act 1985, s.138(1), (3) - Accident Compensation (WorkCover Insurance) Act 1993, s.102.
"(1) Where an injury or a death for which compensation has been paid, or is or may be payable, by the Authority, an authorised insurer, a self-insurer or an employer was caused under circumstances creating a legal liability in a third party to pay damages in respect of the injury or death, the Authority, the authorised insurer, self-insurer or employer is entitled to be indemnified by the third party in accordance with this section."[1]
"(3) The amount which a third party is required to pay as indemnity under sub-section (1) is the lesser of - (a) the amount of compensation paid or payable under this Act in respect of the injury or death; and (b) the amount calculated in accordance with the formula -
Click here for Picture x Click here for Picture - (B + C) --
where - X is the extent, expressed as a percentage, whereby the third party's act, default or negligence caused or contributed to the injury or death; A is the amount of damages for pecuniary loss and non pecuniary loss which the third party is or would have been liable to pay in respect of the injury or death were it not for the provisions of this Act and the Transport Accident Act 1986; B is the amount recovered or recoverable by the Authority, the authorised insurer, the self-insurer or the employer under section 137 from the Transport Accident Commission (otherwise than under a settlement); C is the amount paid by the third party in respect of the injury or death to the worker or the dependants of the worker under any settlement of, or judgment in, an action by the worker or dependants of the worker against the third party."
A is the amount of damages (disregarding the extent, if any, whereby any other person's act, default or negligence caused or contributed to the injury or death) for pecuniary loss and non pecuniary loss which the third party is or would have been liable to pay in respect of the injury or death were it not for the provisions of this Act and the Transport Accident Act 1986. B, C and X remained the same.[2]
"[i]t must be steadily borne in mind what it is that s 138 seeks to achieve. In a statutory scheme calculated to benefit injured workers, and to spread the cost impact of doing so, the section confers upon the authority, insurers and employers a statutory entitlement, exercisable at times to suit themselves, to be indemnified by negligent third parties against compensation which has been paid or is payable to injured workers up to, but not exceeding, a limit which, if not agreed, is to be established by the courts."[8]
Three situations are encompassed by s.138(1); first, that an actual payment has been made; second, that there is a present obligation to make a payment of compensation; and third, that some or further compensation may become payable. There is a clear intendment by the inclusion of the words "is or may be payable" that the entitlement to the indemnity can arise prior to the making of any payment at all. The position is distinguishable on this basis from those considered by the Full Court in Borg Warner (Australia) Ltd v. Zupan[9], the New South Wales Court of Appeal in Howard Rotavator Pty. Ltd. v. Wilson[10] and in South Eastern Sydney Area Health Service v. Gadiry and Pelle[11] and cases there cited and the Court of Appeal in England in A.G. v. Arthur Ryan Automobiles Ltd.[12], to which our attention has been directed by the appellant.[13] Indeed it was emphasized in South Eastern Sydney Health Service[14] that the provision there relevant referred to the compensation "paid" to the worker, not "paid or payable".
"In the present case the relevant liability was the liability of the shire to indemnify the commission, not the hypothetical liability of the shire to Mr. Orr. The shire's liability to the commission did not exist until s. 104 was enacted in 1994. Further, in my opinion the shire had no existing right within the meaning of s. 14(2)(e) of the Interpretation of Legislation Act before the amending Act to be free from an obligation to indemnify the commission against payments for loss of earning capacity. The fact that there existed a limited liability to indemnify the commission did not carry with it a right to be free in future from a more extensive liability to indemnify the commission. As the Full Court said in Robertson v. City of Nunawading [1973] VicRp 81; [1973] V.R. 819 at 825: There cannot, in any relevant sense, or perhaps in any sense, be a 'right' to exemption or immunity from legislative action. The taking of legislative action in a field where previously there was none cannot be treated as an impairment of a right for the purpose of the principle. The events that occurred before the 1994 Act was passed had not brought into existence any rights. The 1994 Act does not have a retrospective operation because it operates on those past events."
There is no need, in the present case, to address the question whether that case was correctly decided although it should be noted that the matter was not fully argued and the decision appears to have been regarded with some reservation in later judgments in TAC v. Lanson & Another[21]. Whatever may be the situation in that regard, the Court in Corangamite concluded that the passage of the Act in question did not affect any existing rights and liabilities. Ultimately the question is one of statutory construction and must be answered by reference to the terms and intent of the particular enactment under consideration. Section 138(1) confers an enforceable right, of definite and calculable extent, which arises upon the happening of the death or injury concerned, and determines the position for each of the affected parties. The right is one to be indemnified "in accordance with this section", which prima facie means the section as existing at the time the event happens. That provides the measure. The effect of a subsequent alteration of the formula upon that right can be assessed by applying with appropriate adaptation the test posed by Brooking, J. in J and P Lemming Holdings Pty. Ltd. v. O'Keefe and Anor[22]:
"Ask any judgment creditor or debtor whether his rights or liabilities are affected by changing the rate." Similarly, with reference to the Transport Accident Commission's entitlement to indemnity under s.104 of the Transport Accident Act 1986 (which required the Commission to have made payments of compensation), Phillips, J.A. in TAC v. Lanson[23] was of the view that a liability to indemnify may be sufficiently recognised as already in existence to warrant protection (in the absence of some indication of a contrary legislative intent) against subsequent legislative change increasing it, though it be still inchoate or contingent.[24]
"Some of the indemnity provisions in worker's compensation statutes have been interpreted as conferring distinct rights of action against the tortfeasor which arise when each compensation payment is made by the employer or insurer and which will succeed if the other conditions laid down in the provision are satisfied. It may be taken, for present purposes, that s.138 is such a provision." (Footnotes omitted.)
It is important to bear in mind that the Court did not address the specific questions before us. There is, in our view, nothing in the judgments in the case which casts doubts upon the construction adopted above. Setting to one side the possibility of securing a declaratory judgment, it would seem to be self-evident that an action to recover amounts whether paid or payable cannot, as a practical proposition, be instituted until at least the sums involved have been identified. Until then it may be accepted that the right is inchoate or contingent. An entitlement to be indemnified for a potential liability that has not arisen is under such a scheme enforceable by action as and when the amounts in respect of which recovery is sought have been paid or become payable. Only then can the pre-existing entitlement be vindicated by action. Conceptually there is no difficulty in accepting the existence of an entitlement to indemnity until a particular ceiling is reached which is enforceable by more than one action for the specific amounts covered by it as they fall due. This view does no violence to the terms of section 138 and is consistent with the statutory scheme as described by Winneke, P. in the passage set out earlier.
(a) From 19 January 1995 to 16 December 1996 (the day before the amendments to s.138(3) commenced) - $40,698.20.
(b) From 17 December 1996 to 11 February 2000 (the date of payment of the settlement sum mentioned below) - $64,299.60.
(a) From 19 January 1995 to 16 December 1996 - $9,726.65.
(b) From 17 December 1996 to 11 February 2000 - $7,701.35.
(c) From 11 February 2000 to 18 July 2000 - $85.20.
Section 98 payment
Between 17 December 1996 and 11 February 2000 the worker was paid compensation for maims in the sum of $14,497.20.
Click here for Picture x Click here for Picture - (0 + $84,481)
Since this figure was less than the total compensation paid of $137,008, the indemnity payable was $79,999, and his Honour gave judgment for the appellant for that sum accordingly.
(a) From 14 July 1994 to 16 December 1996 - $69,569.
(b) From 17 December 1996 to 27 January 1998 (the day before payment of the settlement sum mentioned below) - $32,476.80.
(a) From 14 July 1994 to 16 December 1996 - $37,480.
(b) From 17 December 1996 to 27 January 1998 - $3,115.96.
(c) From 27 January 1998 to 14 April 2000 - $949.40.
(a) the employer, to the extent of 25 per cent;
(b) Jennings to the extent of 25 per cent;
(c) the worker, to the extent of 50 per cent.
His Honour also found that the worker's entitlement to pecuniary loss damages and non-pecuniary loss damages but for the operation of the Accident Compensation Act was $360,000. (The judge stated in his reasons mentioned below that the lesser assessment of damages by him was derived partly from the fact that the worker had returned to substantial employment by the time of his Honour's assessment, when that had not been anticipated at the time when settlement took place.) The proceeding was then adjourned to a date to be fixed in the expectation that his Honour's findings would enable the parties to make appropriate calculations to arrive at the appellant's entitlement under s.138. This did not eventuate and the proceedings were listed for further hearing and argument, which occurred on 4 May 2001 with the benefit of written submissions. On 17 May 2001 his Honour published his reasons and pronounced judgment for the appellant in the sum of $2,500 together with costs to be taxed on the Magistrates' Court Scale "B" up to and including 6 March 2000 and an order that the appellant pay the respondent's costs from that date on County Court Scale "D".
His application of the second formula in respect of payments made on or after that date resulted in an indemnity in favour of the appellant in the sum of $2,500.[28]
"Construed in this way, it is said, the court can identify, once and for all, an entitlement to indemnity against a negligent third party which will not exceed that party's proportionate responsibility for the worker's notional damages at common law for pecuniary and non-pecuniary loss." (Emphasis added.)
Although the President said that he had some difficulty in construing the section in that manner, but for the reasons he gave was content to adopt the construction, the joint judgment in the High Court does not refer to his Honour's difficulty, but rather states, "This construction of s.138 should be accepted." A question might arise whether the President's statement, and in particular the italicised words in it, as approved by four justices of the High Court, would preclude reliance by the third party tortfeasor on the later payment in any subsequent claim for indemnity, when, as seems likely, the problem now being discussed was not present to their Honours' minds. It is unnecessary to attempt to answer any of these questions here.
[1] Section 138 as initially enacted in Act No. 10191 of 1985 was in a significantly different form. A new s.138 was introduced by the Accident Compensation (Amendment) Act 1994, Act No. 50 of 1994, with effect from 1 December 1992. Minor amendments to sub-s.(1) were made by Acts passed in 1997 and 1998, but they are presently immaterial.
[2] These amendments were introduced by s.22 of the Accident Compensation (Further Amendment) Act 1996, with effect from 17 December 1996.
[3] It is provided by s.138(2) that for the purposes of sub-s. (1) Division 9 of Part IV of the Act, which places limitations on both the quantum of damages recoverable at common law and the circumstances under which an action can be commenced, is not to be taken into account.
[4] A simple example will serve to illustrate the difference in possible result:
[5] It is clear that legislation will not be regarded as having retrospective operation simply because it takes account of "antecedent facts and circumstances as a basis for what it prescribes for the future" - see Robertson v. City of Nunawading [1973] VicRp 81; [1973] V.R. 819 at 824.
[6] Accident Compensation Commission v. C.E. Heath Underwriting & Insurance (Australia) Pty. Ltd. (Re. Matasic); (Re. Yerolemou); (Re. Tassoula); (Re. Franco) (1992) VACR 82,101. See also Marks, J. in Accident Compensation Commission v. State Insurance Office [1992] VicRp 84; [1992] 2 V.R. 522 at 526. A similar view was expressed by Phillips, J.A. in TAC v. Lanson & Anor. [2001] VSCA 84; (2001) 3 V.R. 250 at 267.
[7] See Ruby v. Marsh [1975] HCA 32; (1975) 132 C.L.R. 642 per Barwick, C.J. at 650. Jacobs, J., who dissented for other reasons, expressed a similar view at 668.
[8] Esso Australia Ltd v. Victorian WorkCover Authority & Anor [2000] VSCA 74; (2000) 1 V.R. 246 at 256.
[13] In Borg Warner the relevant provision was s.64(1) of the New South Wales Compensation Act 1926 (as amended) which provided:
"(1) Where the injury for which compensation is payable under this Act was caused under circumstances creating a legal liability in some person other than the employer to pay damages in respect thereof -
(b) if the worker has recovered compensation under this Act, the person by whom the compensation was paid shall be entitled to be indemnified by the person so liable to pay damages as aforesaid; ...."
The Court in Howard Rotavator was concerned with the same section. The provision considered in A.G. v. Arthur Ryan Automobiles Ltd. was equally clear [Section 30(2) of the Worker's Compensation Act 1925 (Eng)]:
"(2) If the workman has recovered compensation under this Act or such scheme, the person by whom the compensation was paid, and any person who has been called on to pay an indemnity under section six of this Act relating to liability in case of workmen employed by contractors, shall be entitled to be indemnified by the person so liable to pay damages as aforesaid, ...."
[15] It may be accepted that in the normal contract of indemnity there is no right of action sounding in money until the party to be indemnified has paid, as discussed, for instance, in South Eastern Sydney Health Service at paragraphs [22], [23] and [42].
[16]. "(b) if the worker has recovered compensation under this Act or under any scheme the person by whom the compensation was paid and any person who has been called on to pay an indemnity under the section of this Act relating to sub-contracting shall be entitled to be indemnified by the person so liable to pay damages as aforesaid, and all questions as to the right to and amount of any such indemnity shall in default of agreement be settled by action or if the parties consent by the Board."
[17] Accident Compensation Act 1985 (Vic.) No. 10191, s.138.
[18] Accident Compensation (WorkCover Insurance) Act 1993, s.102(1)(b). The second reading speeches do not mention this amendment and it appears that, unusually, an Explanatory Memorandum was not prepared for the Bill for this Act.
[19] Section 102(2). The date was 1 June 1993.
[20] [1999] VSCA 220; [1999] 3 V.R. 304 at 309 - 310.
[22] [1984] VicRp 79; [1984] V.R. 1005 at 1010.
[24] Compare Crimmins v. Stevedoring Industry Finance Committee [1999] HCA 59; (1999) 200 C.L.R. 1 at 13-14, 15 and 52-56 and Free Lanka Insurance Co. Ltd. v. Ramasinghe [1964] A.C. 541 at 552.
[26] On one view the settlement was for $452,045.80. For s.135A(11) has at all material times provided that if a settlement is made its amount must be reduced, to the extent it is in respect of pecuniary loss, by (in effect) weekly payments of compensation made and, to the extent it is for non-pecuniary loss, by (in effect) lump sum compensation paid for maims or pain and suffering.
[27] His Honour did not set out his calculation, but by inference it was:
[29] The wording of some of the sub-sections mentioned varied between the date of injury and the judgment of 17 May 2001, but not in any material way.
[31] [1988] HCA 64; (1988) 166 C.L.R. 351 at 356 and 381.
[32] Rule 13.08 in both the County Court and the Supreme Court now enables subsequent facts to be pleaded more widely.
[33] [2000] VSCA 74; (2000) 1 V.R. 246 at 252.