© 2026 Zoe. All rights reserved.
Zoe is a legal information platform. Always consult the Federal Register of Legislation for authoritative text.
[2000] VSCA 74
mixed. Appeal in Esso allowed in part: trial orders awarding indemnity sums were amended to remove s.60 interest and to reduce the future indemnity ceiling from $421,795.22 to $277,795; orders 1-3 below set...
The Court of Appeal held that when courts compute the notional common law damages under s.138(3)(b) to produce a ceiling for a statutory indemnity, they must not include an amount described as 'interest' because interest is a separate statutory remedy under the Supreme Court Act, not part of pecuniary loss 'in respect of the injury' (para [99]). The Court also held that proceedings to enforce the s.138 indemnity are statutory and sui generis, and are not 'proceedings for the recovery of debt or damages' within s.60(1) of the Supreme Court Act; therefore, s.60 interest should not be awarded on sums the court orders under s.138(3)(a) (paras [115], [125], [128]). The trial judge's apportionment of liability between Esso and AFCO (80:20) was not disturbed (paras [85], [88]). Orders were varied to remove interest and to reduce the future indemnity ceiling (paras [143], [153]).
AI-generated legal information, not legal advice. Zoe can make mistakes. Check the cited source, and for advice about your situation consult a qualified Australian lawyer.
1,938 words · generated 17/08/2026
No linked legislation citations have been extracted yet.
Facts and procedural history
Two principal legal determinations drove the result.
Apportionment
Before this decision
After this decision
This decision will be triggered when:
Grounding solely in the judgment
The Court clarified two key issues but left certain practical and doctrinal questions that remain:
Practical computation of the indemnity 'ceiling' under s.138(3)(b) without interest:
Other statutory interest regimes and policy choices:
Interplay with settlement practice and subtractions under factor 'C' in s.138 formula:
Broader application to other statutory indemnities:
Concluding note
Disclaimer: This is a source‑grounded explanation of the Court of Appeal's reasons in Esso Australia Ltd v Victorian WorkCover Authority & Anor [2000] VSCA 74, based only on the judgment text you provided. It is legal information, not legal advice. I can make mistakes. Before you act on, rely on, or use any part of this analysis or any draft documents informed by it, have a qualified Australian lawyer check them.
Accident Compensation - Claim for indemnity pursuant to Accident Compensation Act 1985 (s.138) in respect of compensation payments "paid or payable" - Nature of the entitlement to indemnity discussed - Whether notional assessment of damages pursuant to s.138(3)(b) of the Act contemplates assessment of "damages in nature of interest" - Whether court entitled to award penalty interest pursuant to s.60 of Supreme Court Act on amounts of compensation recovered - Whether the action is a "proceeding for the recovery of debt or damages" - s.138 Accident Compensation Act 1985; s.60(1) of Supreme Court Act 1986.
(1) Where an injury or a death for which compensation has been paid, or is or may be payable, by the Authority, an authorized insurer, a self-insurer or an employer was caused under circumstances creating a legal liability in a third party to pay damages or that would, but for section 134A, create such a liability in respect of the injury or death, the Authority, authorized insurer, self-insurer or employer is entitled to be indemnified by the third party in accordance with this section. (2) In determining for the purposes of sub-section (1) whether an injury or death was caused under circumstances creating a legal liability in a third party to pay damages in respect of the injury or death, Division 9 of Part IV must not be taken into account. (3) The amount which a third party is required to pay as indemnity under sub-section (1) is the lesser of -
(a) the amount of compensation paid or payable under this Act in respect of the injury or death; and
(b) the amount calculated in accordance with the formula -
X is the extent, expressed as a percentage, whereby the third party's act, default or negligence caused or contributed to the injury or death;
A is the amount of damages disregarding the extent, if any, whereby any other person's act, default or negligence caused or contributed to the injury or death) for pecuniary loss and non pecuniary loss which the third party is or would have been liable to pay in respect of the injury or death were it not for the provisions of this Act and the Transport Accident Act 1986;
B is the amount recovered or recoverable by the Authority, the authorized insurer, the self-insurer or the employer under section 137 from the Transport Accident Commission (otherwise than under a settlement);
C is the amount paid by the third party in respect of the injury or death to the worker or the dependants of the worker under any settlement of, or judgment in, an action by the worker or dependants of the worker against the third party.
(4) Judgment against or settlement by a third party in an action by a worker, or dependants of a worker, in respect of an injury or death referred to in sub-section (1) does not eliminate or diminish the right of indemnity given by this section, except to the extent provided in this section."
"As a consequence of the assessment of damages I made (paragraph 14 of the primary judgment) and apportionment of liability (paragraph 10 of the primary judgment) and upon the basis of the amounts certified pursuant to s.249A of the Accident Compensation Act 1985 to have been paid ..., putting aside for the moment the matter of interest, I order that the defendant [Esso] pay to the firstnamed plaintiff [VWA] the sum of $116,226.22 and that the defendant pay to the secondnamed plaintiff [F.A.I.] the sum of $219,000 to indemnify the plaintiffs for amounts paid by them to or on behalf of the worker ..."
1. that Esso pay to V.W.A. The sum of $116,226.22 plus interest fixed at $7,206.66;
2. that Esso pay to F.A.I. the sum of $219,000 plus interest fixed at $80,600.22;
(a) for all further payments of compensation made under the Accident Compensation Act 1985 to the worker (Wsol) in respect of his injury; and
(b) in an amount (sic) "exceeding the further sum of $421,795.22 - in other words up to total limit of $760,000".
(a) that his Honour failed to give adequate reasons for the apportionment of liability between AFCO and Esso; thus leading to an apportionment which was plainly wrong;
(b) that, in calculating the amount produced by the application of the statutory formula prescribed by s.138(3)(b), his Honour erroneously included a sum for "damages in the nature of interest" or, alternatively, erroneously applied a penalty interest rate;
(c) that his Honour was in error in allowing interest, pursuant to s.60(1) of the Supreme Court Act 1986 on the sums which he ordered to be paid by Esso to the respondents, pursuant to s.138(3)(a), being amounts already paid as compensation to or on behalf of the worker (paragraphs 1 and 2 of his Honour's orders of 10 December 1998);.
(d) that, having allowed a sum for interest in calculating the notional amount in accordance with sub-s.(3)(b) of the section, his Honour - in allowing a further amount of interest on the sums awarded pursuant to sub-s.(3)(a) - was awarding "interest upon interest" contrary to s.60(2)(a) of the Supreme Court Act.
Although, amongst other things, the appellant asked us to set aside his Honour's order that F.A.I. was entitled to be indemnified by Esso in respect of all future payments of compensation made under the Act by F.A.I. to the worker, up to total limit of $760,000, it became apparent on the appeal that the appellant was merely claiming adjustments to the figures set out in that order which would necessarily be made should any of its grounds of appeal succeed.
"A finding on a question of apportionment is a finding upon a question, not of principle or of positive findings of fact or law, but of proportion, of balance and relative emphasis, and of weighing different considerations. It involves an individual choice or discretion, as to which there may well be differences of opinion by different minds." (British Fame (Owners) v. Macgregor (Owners) [1943] A.C. 197 at 201 per Lord Wright.)
In citing this passage in Podreberserk v. Australian Iron & Steel Pty Ltd [1985] HCA 34; [1985] 59 A.L.J.R. 492 at 493-4, the High Court said:
"Such a finding, if made by a judge, is not lightly reviewed. The task of an appellant is even more difficult when the apportionment has been made by a jury."
For my own part, I am far from persuaded that his Honour's reasons for apportioning blame as he did are inadequate; nor am I persuaded that the apportionment which he made was erroneous. It is, I think, tolerably clear from his Honour's reasons that he regarded Esso as the person primarily responsible for the worker's injury because it was the occupier and person in control of the premises where the injury occurred, premises which were not as easily accessible to the employer for day to day inspection or observation of defects. His Honour noted, however, that the employer remained subject to its non-delegable duty not to expose its servants to unnecessary risk of injury in the performance of their tasks and, to that end, enjoyed the right to visit the premises and, if necessary, make recommendations if it believed that the safety of the worker was at risk. However, whilst these facts led his Honour, correctly in my view, to the conclusion that both the occupier and the employer were in breach of their respective duties to the worker, it is equally clear that they point unerringly to the conclusion to which his Honour came; that the person who had the immediate control of the rig, and the facilities within it, had by far the greater opportunity to rectify the defects which existed. The circumstances of this case are very different from those which existed in the case of Bourke v. Hassett [1998] VSCA 24; [1999] 1 V.R. 189 upon which counsel for the appellant sought to rely. I am not persuaded, for the reasons given, that his Honour was in error in making the apportionment which he did nor in the reasons which he gave for making such apportionment. I would, accordingly, reject this ground of appeal.
Award of Interest in applying the Formula under s.138(3)(b)
"The Court, on application in any proceeding for the recovery of debt or damages must, unless good cause is shown to the contrary, give damages in the nature of interest at such rate for the time being fixed under section 2 of the Penalty Interest Rates Act 1983 as it thinks fit from the commencement of the proceedings to the date of judgment over and above the debt or damages awarded."
His Honour awarded, as interest, a sum of $7,206.66 on the amount of $116,226.22 ordered to be paid to V.W.A., and a sum of $80,600.22 on the amount of $219,000 ordered to be paid to F.A.I. As I have already indicated, his Honour did so on the basis that the orders which he had made in favour of the respondent clearly fell within the words of s.60(1) - namely that the proceeding before him was one "for the recovery of debt or damages" and that those words were "of conspicuous breadth" and that the policy underlying the provision was "not to be readily deflected nor ... pared down in a restrictive fashion". In support of his decision that interest was payable, his Honour referred to and relied upon certain passages in the judgment of Gobbo, J. in Mario Piraino Pty Ltd v. Roads Corporation ([1991] 2 V.R. 534 at 536-7) and B.P. Exploration Co. (Libya) Ltd. v. Hunt (No.2), ((1983) 2 A.C. 352 at 373 per Lord Brandon of Oakbrook). His Honour was not "deflected" from the view to which he had come by the contrary decision of the trial judge in the Coats Paton case to which his Honour had been referred by counsel.
"Certainly the effect of s.64 of the N.S.W. Act is not to render the third party liable to indemnify [the employer] for a statutory tort, making him liable in damages to the person paying compensation, such damages being limited to the amount of the compensation paid."
Likewise, in Philip Morris Ltd. v. Ainley, supra, Menhennitt, J. considered the nature of the right to indemnity conferred by the former s.62(1) of the Workers Compensation Act 1958 (Vic.) and, in particular, whether it was an action "in contract or tort" for the purposes of the applicable costs rule. His Honour said (349):
"The fact that the right being enforced is the creature of statute need not produce the result that the action is not one of tort. However the cause of action appears to me to have none of the elements of a common law cause of action in the definitions to which I have referred. It is not a common law action for unliquidated damages within the definition of Salmond on Torts. Nor is it a civil right of action available under the English common law for the recovery of unliquidated damages within the definition in Halsbury ... . In essence, the action is one to enforce a statutory right by a statutory cause of action. This is made clear by the section itself."
It can be accepted that the authorities relied upon by the judge and by counsel for the respondents establish that the words in s.60 of the Supreme Court Act are, in appropriate cases, to be given a broad meaning and to comprehend claims for recovery of damages or compensation in a far wider field than actions to recover damages in tort or contract. But in each of those cases it could be seen with some clarity, in my opinion, that the proceeding was one for the recovery of debt or damages. Thus, in the Mario Piraino case, supra, interest was held to be payable pursuant to s.60(1) of the Supreme Court Act upon compensation claimed and awarded, pursuant to the Planning and Environment Act 1987, for loss suffered as a consequence of land being reserved for a public purpose. The judge rejected the argument that "damages" in s.60 should be confined to compensation for a wrong that is either a tort or breach of contract. In the B.P. Exploration Co. (Libya) case, supra, the House of Lords concluded that interest was payable, pursuant to the English equivalent of s.60, upon sums recovered by an injured party to a contract pursuant to the Law Reform (Frustrated Contracts) Act 1943. Each case was, and in my opinion can be seen to be, discretely different from a claim for the statutory indemnity conferred by s.138 of the Act. Likewise, the cases of -, supra, and , supra, upon which the respondents relied before us, do not support the contention that the claim for the statutory indemnity is a "proceeding for the recovery of debt or damages". Each was concerned with the question whether the action in question was an action to "recover debt or damages" sufficient to support a payment into court within the meaning of the relevant rules. In each case, the court was able, and in my view entitled, to conclude that the action in respect of which the "payment in" was made was one "to recover debt or damages". However, and for the reasons which I have given, a claim under s.138 of the Act to establish an entitlement to indemnity can, in no way, be distorted into such a proceeding. To award interest on sums ordered to be paid in partial satisfaction of an indemnity entitlement will simply, as it has in the Esso case, distort the nature and extent of the right conferred by s.138.
Orders 1, 2 and 3 made by his Honour below are set aside and in lieu thereof the following orders are to be substituted:
(1) that the defendant pay to the firstnamed plaintiff the sum of $116,226.22;
(2) that the defendant pay to the secondnamed plaintiff the sum of $219,000;
(3) that the secondnamed plaintiff be entitled to be indemnified by the defendant:
(a) for all further payments of compensation made under the Accident Compensation Act 1985 by the secondnamed plaintiff to the worker, Mr Kazimer Wsol, in respect of the injury caused to him on 10 January 1989; and
(b) up to an amount not exceeding a further sum of $277,795.
Esso Australia Ltd
Victorian WorkCover Authority & Anor [2000] VSCA 74
Appeal in Esso allowed in part: trial orders awarding indemnity sums were amended to remove s.60 interest and to reduce the future indemnity ceiling from $421,795.22 to $277,795; orders 1-3 below set aside and substituted (paras [143], [153]). The Coats Paton appeal was dismissed (para [156]). Costs to be argued; appellant's costs of the Esso appeal ordered paid by respondents (paras [153], [162], [165]).