© 2026 Zoe. All rights reserved.
Zoe is a legal information platform. Always consult the Federal Register of Legislation for authoritative text.
[1998] VSCA 24
Court of Appeal (Vic)
1998-08-14
WINNEKE, P., BROOKING and BUCHANAN, JJ.A.
Original judgment source is linked above.
Negligence - Injury caused to rider when horse stumbled at race-track - Defect in track known to occupier of track and rider's employer - Rider suing occupant and employer - Consideration of employer's liability in circumstances where he had no control of defect. Accident compensation - Whether stable hand/rider the "deemed employee" of VRC whilst riding horse for track-work - Meaning of s.16 (4)(b) of Accident Compensation Act 1985 considered. Accident compensation - Recovery by insurer of compensation paid from negligent third party - Whether third party responsible for "injury" for which compensation was paid - s.138 Accident Compensation Act.
The issues and findings in the Indemnity and Third Party Claims
(1) Except as provided in sub-section (4), where a person is engaged by an employer to participate as a contestant in a sporting or athletic activity, neither ... the [VWA] or authorized insurer is liable to pay compensation for an injury received by the person if -
(i) participating as a contestant in a sporting or athletic activity;
(ii) engaged in training or preparation with a view to so participating; or
(iii) travelling between a place of residence and the place at which the person is so participating or so engaged; and
(b) the person is not entitled to any remuneration other than for the things specified in paragraph (a) under the contract under which the person does any of those things ...
(3) For the purposes of sub-section (1) "person" does not include a person -
(a) who holds a licence, permit or approval to ride granted in accordance with the Rules of Racing of the [VRC]; or
(b) engaged to participate as a rider, not being a person referred to in paragraph (a) ... at a race meeting within the meaning of the Racing Act 1958 on a racecourse licensed under that Act ... .
(a) engaged to participate as a rider in a horse-race at a race meeting held under the Rules of Racing of [the VRC]; or
(b) who, not being an apprentice or the owner or trainer of the horse to be ridden, holds a licence, permit or approval to ride, granted in accordance with the Rules of Racing of [the VRC] and who agrees to do ride work on a horse at any racecourse or training track ... -
shall be deemed for the purpose only of this Act while participating as such a rider or doing such riding work to be a worker solely employed by [the VRC] and the amounts paid to the person in respect of so participating or doing shall be deemed to be remuneration."
1. Whether the VRC was a "deemed employer" of Hassett by reason of s.16(4)(b) of the Act.
2. Whether the insurers were estopped from contending or had waived their right to contend that the VRC was not the "deemed employer" by assuming control of the principal proceedings on behalf of the VRC, as well as Gayval.
3. Whether, pursuant to s.138, the "injury in respect of which compensation was paid" was the track injury claimed by Hassett to have been suffered on 13 February 1986 or a series of injuries suffered by Hassett over a period of time dating from the track incident.
The Issue of Indemnity pursuant to s.138
"Where an injury ... for which compensation has been paid by [VWA] ... was caused under circumstances creating a legal liability in a third party to pay damages in respect of the injury ..., [VWA] is entitled to be indemnified by the third party for such proportion of the amount of compensation paid as is appropriate to the degree to which the injury ... was attributable to the act, default or negligence of the third party ... ."
"It follows ... that in the related s.138 proceedings the only issue is whether the compensation benefits were paid in respect of a disability caused by the incident of the 13th February 1986, or as a result of the cumulative effect of that event and others in which the plaintiff was involved during the period of 10 days in which he remained at work.
During that period the plaintiff worked in his ordinary duties as a stable hand. Undoubtedly some of those duties were arduous. It is clear that while he was working he became aware that his original injury was troubling him to an extent greater than he had expected. In broad terms the subsequent history is of real deterioration demonstrated by the fact that the plaintiff has not since returned to work and it is unlikely that he will ever do so.
As Mr Spittle put it, the argument is based on the enshrined principle that compensation is paid in respect of incapacity resulting from an injury, not in respect of the injury itself. It seems to me that this issue really comes down to a simple question of fact. That question is whether the plaintiff's incapacity is a consequence of just the episode that occurred on 13 February 1986 or a combination of that episode and others in which Mr Hassett was involved during the following 10 days. Essential to Mr Spittle's argument is that the plaintiff's incapacity was a result of the cumulative effect of the events between the 13th February 1986 and the cessation of his employment."
"The better way of looking at what occurred is that the plaintiff sustained that injury on 13 February 1986. As a result of that original injury, the heavy work with which he had previously coped caused him to become more conscious of the symptoms caused by his original injury ... . I do not think in the light of this it can be said that the plaintiff's injury was exacerbated by reason of his continued employment. The continued employment did no more than make him conscious of the more serious nature of that which had already occurred."
"Given the position of the defendants, effectively the VRC and a prominent trainer (i.e. T.J. Smith), it might be assumed that they would have ready access to plenty of expertise on this topic."
"I turn to the question of the first named defendant's liability. Again the question is: Did the first named defendant act reasonably? Despite Mr Smith's protestations to the contrary I believe that he ought to have recognised the potential danger of the crossing. But he did not have the same obligation to assess the potential danger and consider options as did the second named defendant. After all, all the first named defendant was doing was using this racecourse as a training venue. He did not control the venue. He did not have the obligation or opportunity to consider the issue with the same degree of concern. He did not control the course. He had no say over how the danger should be avoided or minimised.
I am of the opinion that Mr Smith was entitled to consider that the track was in the hands of experts which it was. My conclusion is that it would not be reasonable to say that he should have gone behind the decision of the second named defendant [i.e. the VRC] and exercised independent control over the way in which his horses and jockeys worked on this course. It follows, therefore, that I cannot be satisfied that the liability of the first named defendant is established."
"Notwithstanding what was said in Taylor v. Sims & Sims (167 L.T. 414), it has since been held, I think rightly, that employers who send their workmen to work on the premises of others cannot renounce all responsibility for their safety. The employers still have an over-riding duty to take reasonable care not to expose their men to unnecessary risk. They must, for instance, take reasonable care to devise a safe system of work ...; and if they know or ought to know of a danger on the premises to which they send their men, they ought to take reasonable care to safeguard them from it. What is reasonable depends, of course, on the circumstances." (See also Wilson v. Tyneside Window Cleaning Co. [1958] 2 Q.B. at 121-2 per Pearce, L.J.; Sinclair v. William Arnott Pty. Ltd. (1963) 64 S.R. (N.S.W.) 88 at 9102 per Walsh, J.)