© 2026 Zoe. All rights reserved.
Zoe is a legal information platform. Always consult the Federal Register of Legislation for authoritative text.
[2000] VSC 461
Supreme Court of Victoria
2000-10-30
Ashley J
Original judgment source is linked above.
"subject to section 37 ... in substitution for any civil liability of the carrier under any other law in respect of the death of the passenger, or in respect of the injury that ... resulted in the death of the passenger."
It was common ground before me that the Carriers legislation, so far as the dependants of a deceased passenger are concerned, sets up a cause of action distinct from and in substitution for the cause of action created by s.16 of the Wrongs Act 1958.[2]
"138. Indemnity by third party (1) Where an injury or a death for which compensation has been paid, or is or may be payable, by the Authority, an authorised insurer, a self-insurer or an employer was caused under circumstances creating a legal liability in a third party to pay damages in respect of the injury or death, the Authority, authorised insurer, self-insurer or employer is entitled to be indemnified by the third party in accordance with this section. ... (3) The amount which a third party is required to pay as indemnity under sub-section (1) is the lesser of - (a) the amount of compensation paid or payable under this Act in respect of the injury of death; (b) the amount calculated in accordance with the formula - X x A - (B + C) - 100 1 where - X is the extent, expressed as a percentage, whereby the third party's act, default or negligence caused or contributed to the injury or death; A is the amount of damages for pecuniary loss and non pecuniary loss which the third party is or would have been liable to pay in respect of the injury or death were it not for the provisions of this Act and the Transport Accident Act 1986; B is the amount recovered or recoverable by the Authority, the authorised insurer, the self-insurer or the employer under section 137 from the Transport Accident Commission (otherwise than under a settlement); C is the amount paid by the third party in respect of the injury or death to the worker or the dependants of the worker under any settlement of, or judgment in, an action by the worker or dependants of the worker against the third party."
The Application of s.138(1)
The s.138(3)(b) Formula: Matters Agreed
The s.138(3)(b) Formula: Matters in Dispute
" 4. Statutes of limitation. (1) Where any relevant period of limitation expires after the date of filing of a statement of claim and after that expiry an application is made under rule 1 for leave to amend the statement of claim by making the amendment mentioned in any of subrules (2), (3), (4) and (5), the Court may in the circumstances mentioned in that subrule make an order giving leave accordingly, notwithstanding that that period has expired. ... (5) Where a plaintiff, in his statement of claim, makes a claim for relief on a cause of action arising out of any facts, the Court may order that he have leave to make an amendment having the effect of adding or substituting a new cause of action arising out of the same or substantially the same facts and a claim for relief on that new cause of action."
Those rules had been introduced as a schedule to the Supreme Court Act 1970 (NSW), by s.6 of which
"Any Act in force immediately before the commencement of this Act which is inconsistent with the rules, shall be superseded to the extent of such inconsistency and while such inconsistency continues to exist."
The Court of Appeal determined, consistent with earlier authority, that the effect of the critical rules was to displace the rule in Weldon v. Neal (1887) 19 QBD 394, and that the amendment was not futile because amendment dated from the date of commencement of the proceeding. Having regard to the fact that the proceeding had in fact been commenced within the two-year period, grant of leave to amend had the effect that the widower's right of action had never been extinguished.[13]
its settlement, and to the amount of $180,000 which was paid. The formula set out by s.138(3)(b) yields, in the particular case, the answer zero.[27]
[1] That includes an amount paid for funeral expenses, and excludes interest paid on the sums awarded.
[2] One obvious point of distinction between the two causes of action is that liability under s.16 depends upon proof of fault, whereas liability under s.35(2) depends only upon proof of the occurrence of a specified event - although contributory negligence is nonetheless available in respect of a s.35(2) claim: See s.39(1).
[3] That agreement facilitated debate. It is not to say that $360,000 represented the likely extent of the dependants' claim, if assessed under Part III of the Wrongs Act.
[4] All counsel agreed that the text of s.138 as it appeared in Reprint 5 of the Act was the pertinent text for present purposes.
[5] But see one matter which I later raise in connection with argument concerning factor C
[6] In deciding which of the two situations applies in an individual case, I think that the better view is this: where the commencement of a proceeding is not altogether precluded, but is subject to inhibitions such as the threshold and ceiling provisions of s.135A and the prohibition upon making a claim for medical and like expenses, or for Griffiths v. Kerkemeyer damages, then the first situation applies; but in cases where a proceeding simply cannot be brought, the second situation is that which applies.
[7] I have referred to an amount of damages for which Anderson was liable rather than to an amount of damages for which Anderson would have been liable, because the case was conducted for the plaintiff on the footing that the dependants were not precluded, except by s.34 of the Commonwealth Act, from bringing a claim for damages against Anderson under the Carriers legislation. No question arose whether such a claim was available having account of s.135A(1) and (8) of the Act. The plaintiff relied upon s.135A(9), however, in connection with the determination of factor A.
[8] and perhaps also the amount fixed by s.31(2), but I will focus upon the s.31(1) amount
[9] The pertinent questions there were whether damages for pecuniary loss and non-pecuniary loss included damages in the nature of interest under s.60 of the Supreme Court Act (as to which see per Winneke, P. at paragraphs 22 and 23); and whether interest should be awarded upon amounts of indemnity established by s.138 (as to which see per Winneke, P. at paragraphs 24 to 29). I was told by counsel, I should add, that special leave to appeal has been granted in that matter.
[10] See the release at court book 78-81.
[11] Compare the release at court book 82-85.
[13] See per Moffitt, P. at 171B-C, 172F, 174F-175A, 176A-B, per Glass, JA at 181B-D and per Priestley, JA at 182F-183G, 186B-C and 186G.
[14] [1991] SASC 2961; (1991) 102 ALR 565 (FC, SC of SA).
[16] The basis for that conclusion is exposed at 567 line 40 - 568 line 4.
[17] See at 573 lines 15-24 and 574 lines 38-41.
[21] A rule approximating the New South Wales rule considered in Proctor.
[23] It was inserted by Act 110 of 1986.
[24] See Anglo Irish Beef Processors International v. Federated Stevedores Geelong (1996) 140 ALR 658 at 661-663 per Phillips, JA.
[25] See Transcript 26 October 2000, page 13 lines 13-21
[26] The same language is used in the present s.138(3)(b).
[27] It is not correct to say, as counsel for the plaintiff submitted, that if the defendants' argument in this case was accepted the answer must always be zero. In many cases, as I pointed out in argument, the amounts of factors A and C will or may vary.
Victorian Workcover Authority
Anderson [2000] VSC 461
(1991) 102 ALR 565
(1993) 119 FLR 291
(1996) 140 ALR 658