© 2026 Zoe. All rights reserved.
Zoe is a legal information platform. Always consult the Federal Register of Legislation for authoritative text.
[2003] VSCA 226
Court of Appeal (Vic)
2003-12-23
PHILLIPS, BATT and BUCHANAN JJ.A.
Original judgment source is linked above.
Accident compensation - Transport accident - Victim a paraplegic - Liability of Commission for the reasonable costs of "disability services" - Meaning of "disability services" - Victim's mother providing "attendant care" to victim while in hospital - Whether the provision of such care is a "disability service" - Rental costs of permanent accommodation likely to be increased due to victim's disability - Whether financial assistance for such increased rental costs is a "disability service" - Meaning of "accommodation support" - Transport Accident Act 1986 ss.3(1), 23(1), 60(2)(a).
"... due to the funding arrangement with the hospitals, the TAC is unable to fund any attendant care while a claimant is an inpatient, as all your needs should be met by the hospital."
In consequence the Commission declined to provide the approval sought.
"... is not able to pay rent, utility costs or other everyday expenses."
To that extent the application was refused. What is now in issue is the respondent's claim for assistance with rent when she obtains permanent accommodation.
"... is liable to pay accommodation expenses or rental, reserved as to amount, but such amount being that resulting from the accident and necessary as part of the rehabilitation process, and being that over and above the expense which would have otherwise been incurred by the applicant but for the accident".
The formal order was expressed more simply: "that the [Commission] is liable to pay accommodation expenses or rental, reserved as to amount (see paragraph 28 of decision)." It is the order, interpreted in the light of paragraph 28, which is now the subject of appeal No.3739 of 2003.[1]
"(2) The Commission is liable to pay as compensation to a person who is injured or in respect of a person who dies as a result of a transport accident - (a) the reasonable costs of road accident rescue services, medical services, hospital services, nursing services, disability services, rehabilitation services, transportation costs and ambulance services received in Australia because of the transport accident".
There are three more paragraphs that follow in sub-s.(2): paragraph (b) dealing with "the reasonable costs of attendant care services" received overseas in certain circumstances; paragraph (c), dealing with the reasonable costs "in employing .... an authorised person to undertake ... housekeeping duties or care of the child" if the person injured was engaged mainly in housekeeping duties or the care of a child at the time of the accident; and paragraph (d), the reasonable costs "in employing an authorised person to provide ... services of a domestic nature or services relating to nursing and attendance" (less any amount payable under (c)). The notion of "an authorised person" is relevant to s.23 which I shall mention in a moment.
"'disability service' means the provision to or for a person who is disabled as a result of an injury in a transport accident of any service (other than a rehabilitation service) relating to attendant care, assistance, accommodation support, community access, respite care or household help, the provision of which service is an authorised service in accordance with section 23."
The respondent contended that her mother's attention to her while she was in hospital amounted to "attendant care" and so fell squarely within the definition of "disability service". For its part, the Tribunal had no difficulty in accepting that, in large part at least, the services in question did amount to "attendant care" if those words had their natural and ordinary meaning and were unaffected by context. Nor did I understand there to be any dispute about that on this appeal. In terms, of course, the definition of "disability service" is not called into play unless the services in question are also "authorised in accordance with section 23", sub-s.(1) of which reads:-
"(1) The Commission may authorise- (a) services to be disability services or rehabilitation services; or (b) persons to provide services for the purposes of section 60(2)(c) or 60(2)(d)."
Such approval was refused by the Commission, as already mentioned, in substance because the respondent was an in-patient in a hospital.
"'hospital service' includes- (a) maintenance, attendance and treatment in any hospital; and (b) the provision by any hospital of- (i) medical attendance and treatment; and (ii) nursing attendance; and (iii) medicines, medical, surgical and other curative materials, appliances or apparatus; and (iv) any other usual or necessary services provided by a hospital with respect to the treatment of the injury of a person."
The Commission's case was that the assistance rendered by Mrs Salcedo to her daughter while in hospital was of the very nature of a "hospital service"; for in many respects the services that Mrs Salcedo was performing were those regularly performed by nursing staff at the hospital when such staff were available and in this instance the services were being rendered by Mrs Salcedo only because staff were not immediately available. It was submitted that such services were compensable or not according to whether they fell within the definition of "hospital service" - and these did not because, even if characterised as "nursing attendance" or perhaps as "any other usual or necessary services provided by a hospital", they were not within the opening words of paragraph (b) in that they were not provided "by [a] hospital". They were provided by Mrs. Salcedo.
"'rehabilitation service' means the provision to or for a person for the purpose of rehabilitation of any aid, treatment, counselling, appliance, apparatus or other service, the provision of which is an authorised service in accordance with section 23".
(See again s.23(1)(a).) The efforts of, say, an occupational therapist on behalf of an injured person no doubt fall within the definition of "rehabilitation service" when those services are provided to the client at home. Are they denied that character when they are provided, perhaps altogether independently of the hospital, to the client while still an in-patient? Must they then be characterised, if possible, as a "hospital service" but not as a "rehabilitation service" so that s.23(1) becomes irrelevant? There seems to me no reason for such exclusivity, or indeed such dominance of one definition - that of hospital service - over the others. (Again, the definition of "disability service" expressly excludes what is by definition a "rehabilitation service", which indicates once more that where Parliament meant exclusivity it said so.)
"I accept that, at least in the immediate future, she will need to have a carer on hand to assist with the requirements of everyday living. Of necessity, the carer will be required to share the applicant's accommodation. That necessity has been created by the motor vehicle accident and by the injuries sustained by the applicant. ..... I accept that, as one would expect, there is a price differential between one bedroom apartments and two bedroom apartments in the areas where the applicant seeks to live .... As stated, I accept that when the applicant moves from her present accommodation, she will need accommodation that not only has been modified in various ways but which must have at least two bedrooms in order to accommodate carers ...".
While accepting that the respondent would have had living expenses, including for accommodation, in any event, the Tribunal concluded that "the expense of obtaining a two bedroom apartment as compared with a single bedroom apartment is an expense directly referable to the accident." Hence, it followed said his Honour, "that a reasonable allowance paid by the respondent should be that which represents the difference between a two bedroom apartment and a one bedroom apartment in the areas under consideration". But the detail was reserved for further consideration, given that the respondent had not yet identified the permanent accommodation she sought.
"(4) If a person who is injured as a result of a transport accident reasonably requires modifications to a home in Australia because of the injury, the Commission is liable to- (a) pay the reasonable cost of modifications to the person's home; or (b) contribute to- (i) the reasonable purchase cost of a semi detachable portable unit; or (ii) reasonable relocation costs to another home- if the person does not own a home which is capable of being modified."
Hence, no doubt, in this case the offer made by the letter of 19 February 2002 to "consider minimum required modifications to Ms Salcedo's rental property if required". But s.60(4) makes provision for what are plainly capital costs, not revenue outgoings. The contrast is clear between the expenses covered by s.60(4) and the increased rent for which the respondent is seeking assistance in this instance.
upon it in reaching my conclusion as to the liability of the Commission in this case.
[1] On 11 July 2003, the Tribunal reviewed also the Commission's decision of 19 February 2002, not to meet the cost of taxis for access to recreational and leisure activities, and confirmed the decision of the Commission. That was paragraph 2 of the order of 11 July 2003 and it is not the subject of appeal.
[2] This assumes the correctness of the premise upon which the argument proceeded; i.e., that the services being provided by Mrs. Salcedo did not fall within the first limb of the definition of "hospital service".
[3] [2001] VSC 151, Hedigan, J., 17 May 2001; [2003] VSCA 51, Court of Appeal, 5 May 2003.
[4] McRitchie v. T.A.C. No.1999/101641, Dep. President McNamara, 16 May 2000.
[5] The application was filed in the High Court on 5 May 2003. It has not yet been determined.
Transport Accident Commission
Salcedo [2003] VSCA 226