© 2026 Zoe. All rights reserved.
Zoe is a legal information platform. Always consult the Federal Register of Legislation for authoritative text.
[2001] VSC 151
Supreme Court of Victoria
2001-05-17
HEDIGAN J
Original judgment source is linked above.
Appeals from decisions of Victorian Civil & Administrative Tribunal - Whether "bed fee" charged to respondent McRitchie was recoverable from the Appellant - Whether matters covered by "bed fee" were charges for "rehabilitation services" within the meaning of s.60 of the Transport Accident Act 1986 - Tribunal's decision that they were upheld on appeal. Transport Accident Act s.49 - Whether amounts to be allowed by the Commission in respect of lost earning capacity should include a sum akin to damages for lost earning capacity at common law - Scheme of Act and its provisions - Amounts for lost earning capability governed by s.49(5) without regard to common law principles.
(a) caring for Leanne at home;
(b) having her placed in a nursing home; or
(c) placing her in what is described as "a community house".
Mr McRitchie, who gave evidence to the Tribunal, explained why he chose option (c). First, because of his heavy business commitments and his other parental obligations, it was impossible for him to care for his daughter Leanne at home. Second, the nursing home was not a satisfactory option in his judgment because most of the residents of such places were elderly and such a home would not provide a satisfactory environment to a person of Leanne's age. Moreover, it was unlikely that a nursing home could provide the necessary attendant care which Leanne required. The evidence indicated that Ms McRitchie suffered from the effects of a very profound head injury., She is partially paralyzed, she has very limited short-term memory and requires constant attention and care. She requires substantial assistance with all aspects of her daily living, including assistance in dressing and undressing and personal hygiene. She is confined to bed or a wheelchair and it is necessary that her food be liquified or cut up into small pieces to enable her to eat it.
"60. Medical and like benefits (1) In addition to any other compensation paid under this Act, the Commission is liable to pay as compensation in respect of a person who is injured or dies as a result of a transport accident - (a) the reasonable costs of road accident rescue services, medical services, hospital services, nursing services, rehabilitation services and ambulance services received in Australia because of the accident; ..."
S.3: "rehabilitation services" -
(a) means the provision to or for a person for the purpose of rehabilitation of any aid, treatment, assistance, appliance, apparatus or any other services; (b) without derogating from the generality of paragraph (a), includes the provision to or for a person for the purpose of rehabilitation of attendant care, household help, modification to a home or a motor vehicle, counselling or transportation costs - if the provision under paragraph (a) or (b) is of an authorized service in accordance with section 23;"
"pre-accident earning capacity" in relation to an earner who suffers loss of earning capacity as a result of an injury in a transport accident, means the amount calculated in accordance with the formula - A x B/C where - A is the amount the Commission determines as the weekly amount the earner had the capacity to earn before the accident in employment reasonably available to the earner in view of the earner's training, skills and experience less such amount as the Commission reasonably considers to be the amount of income tax that would have been payable on that weekly amount under the Income Tax Assessment Act 1936 of the Commonwealth as amended and in force for the time being. B is the latest average weekly earnings as at 15 June in the preceding financial year of all employees for Victoria published by the Australian Statistician in respect of the December quarter of that financial year. C is the average weekly earnings of all employees for Victoria last published by the Australian Statistician before 15 June last preceding the accident in respect of the December quarter last preceding that date - or, if an amount cannot be determined in accordance with that formula, means 60 per centum of average weekly earnings of all employees for Victoria last published by the Australian Statistician in respect of a quarter."
"Rehabilitative medicine in our community is not confined to persons who can or will be restored to former health, but is available to assist persons whose health would otherwise deteriorate."
"The Bill now before the House shows the system of benefits to apply under the new scheme. As I said at the outset, these benefits are on a no-fault basis. They reflect the need to compensate injured persons for two things - immediate loss of income and the actual impairment received, together with the loss of earning capacity arising from that impairment. ... It is important that Honourable Members recognize that this relates to earning capacity and not to actual income. Earning capacities will be assessed every five years after injury stabilization. Between these reviews, injured persons are free to earn as much as they can."
I note, however, that the Minister referred to the loss of earning capacity arising from that impairment and did not refer to future earnings. The argument was that the essence of the system of benefits under the Act was for victims to receive "loss of earnings" benefits for the first 18 months and thereafter "loss of earning capacity" benefits. He claimed the calculation of loss of earning capacity benefits is provided to be by reference to the amount the victim had the "capacity" to earn pre-accident, rather than being calculated in relation to actual earnings. He claimed that both the decision of the Tribunal and the earlier case of Re Rowe v. Transport Accident Commission failed to take into account the difference between the concepts of loss of earnings and loss of earning capacity. He argued that the common law meaning of lost earning capacity was well-known and that it should be concluded that its adoption in the statutory wording meant that the legislative intention was that it would carry the same meaning as at common law, subject to any clear indication to the contrary or specific qualification. Thus he put it that loss of earning capacity was a flexible concept allowing as a matter of fairness for the estimation of likely career progression arising out of pre-accident that would, but for the event, in due course have found expression in a post-accident career and income progression. With respect Ms McRitchie, she would have continued in her career path after completing her training, risen to a different pay scale at the expiration of 12 months and then onto a Federal award. She also had, in his submission, a well-founded expectation of receiving director's fees in the immediate future and that both expectations were in existence at the time of her accident. He argued there was no restriction implicit in the words of the legislation save for the statutory ceiling placed by s.49 upon the amount of lost earning capacity benefits and the fact that the legislation provided a statutory formula by which those benefits are to be calculated. These matters are not merely incidental variations, he claimed. They are fundamental to the way in which the statute is intended to work in this respect. Provision of a compulsory statutory formula is not an abnegation of the application of the common law principles of assessment of damages in respect of lost earning capacity. It was submitted that calculation of lost earning capacity at common law involves the tasks described in any number of cases; see Cullen v. Trapell[9]; Burden v. Rath[10] and more recently the statements [11]of the High Court in Husher v. Husher. Reliance was also placed upon the High Court's statements in Medlin v. State Government Insurance Commission[12] to the effect that compensation by way of damages for lost earning capacity can be recovered in relation of a future time if there has been an accident-caused loss of capacity which will in the future produce financial loss. It was submitted that both Deputy President McNamara and Presiding Member Coghlan in Re Rowe v. Transport Accident Commission[13] had confused the concepts of loss of earnings and loss of earning capacity. Presiding Member Coghlan had in Rowe decided the reference in factor "A" in the formula was a reference to an assessment of the amount the earner had the capacity to earn before the transport accident occurred and did not refer to the common law concept of loss of earning capacity or the earning capacity the earner would have had after the accident. In my view, a reading of Rowe does not support the claim of confusion between loss of earnings and loss of earning capacity. It proceeded upon the basis that there was a specific provision in the statute that had to be interpreted. The approach in Rowe was to the effect that ss.49 and 50 of the Act directed the Commission on how to assess the amount of the weekly payment in respect of the loss of earning capacity with s.49(2)(a) providing that the amount was 80 per cent of the earner's pre-accident earning capacity, that capacity being specifically defined in s.49(5). It was also said that pre-accident earning capacity therefore had a precise meaning for this Act which did not embrace the loss of earning capacity as it would be in a common law claim. Thus the Tribunal looked at the person's capacity to earn before the accident in employment reasonably available. There were no words used to indicate that the calculations were made by reference to common law loss of earning capacity or what one's earning capacity might have been "but for the accident" or had it not been for the accident.
"'earnings' means such amount as, in the opinion of the Commission, the person concerned would have received by a way of income from personal exertion but for the transport accident."
as an example of the simple methodology of the Act in making provision for a future event. He urged that the phrase "before the accident" in s.49(5) should be given full weight as it was the key component in restricting the level of damages in contrast to common law on the basis that this was a no fault scheme, with generous provisions in many respects. He contended this case was a perfect example of the distinction between loss of earnings and the loss of earning capacity in that Ms McRitchie was not in employment at the time of the accident, that is immediately before the accident, but she had qualified in her beautician's course and had just acquired the capacity to engage in employment as first year beautician. Therefore she was treated as having that capacity. The Act does not go on to permit speculation, rational or irrational, about what she would have been her working capacity over her working life. He drew attention to s.49(6), its restriction on the determination of the post-earning capacity and other provisions concerning apprentices and people under awards, all of which he contended would be unnecessary if one merely applied the common law concept of earning capacity. Thus he argued all of this was there for a purpose. The qualification in s.49(5) as to employment reasonably available, accommodation in the sort of situation here prevailing where she had not actually commenced work. The heart of the submission was that this part of the Act and certainly the whole of s.49 was a code that excluded the common law and, specifically for this case, confined the lost earning capacity issue to the terms of the Act.
[1] [1991] VicRp 62; [1991] 2 V.R. 214 at 225 (O'Bryan, J.).
[6] See Van Gurven v. Fenton [1992] HCA 54; (1992) 175 C.L.R. 327.
[10] (1986) Australian Torts Reports 80-050 at 67,949 (Kirby, P. there describing the task as one of "rational speculation about the future).
[11] [1999] HCA 47 at paras [8]-[9].
[12] [1995] HCA 5; (1995) 182 C.L.R. 1 at 12.
[13] (1996-1998) Vol. 12 Victorian Administrative Reports 219.
Transport Accident Commission
McRitchie [2001] VSC 151