© 2026 Zoe. All rights reserved.
Zoe is a legal information platform. Always consult the Federal Register of Legislation for authoritative text.
[2000] VSCA 180
Court of Appeal (Vic)
2000-09-28
ORMISTON, CALLAWAY and BATT, JJ.A.
Original judgment source is linked above.
[2000] VSCA 180
TRUSTS - Superannuation - Entitlement to benefit on "Total and Permanent Invalidity" - Meaning of definition, especially the words "unreasonable refusal to submit to treatment" - Whether trustee exercising a discretion - Extent of trustee's duties in forming opinion as to question of fact.
"Subject to part 2.4 [which relates to preservation of Employer Financed Benefits], if a Member ceases to be an Employee before attaining the age of 60 years because of Total and Permanent Invalidity, there is payable to the Member from the Fund a lump sum benefit of an amount equal to the benefit which would have been payable under clause 2.3.2 if the Member had died on the Date of Invalidity."
"Date of Invalidity" is defined in clause 2.1.2 as follows:
"'Date of Invalidity' means in relation to a Member and a state of invalidity or disablement giving rise to a benefit under this Deed the date on which the Member ceased to be an Employee or any other date agreed between the Trustee and the Principal Employer from time to time either generally or in any particular case for the purposes of the whole or any particular provision of this Deed."
"'Total and Permanent Invalidity' means in relation to a Member disablement as a result of which - (a) unless otherwise agreed between the Trustee and the Principal Employer from time to time either generally or in any particular case, the Member has been continuously absent from all active Work for a period of at least six months and has been required by the Employer to participate in a Rehabilitation Programme; and (b) in the opinion of the Trustee after consideration of any information, evidence and advice provided to the Trustee by the Employer and any other information, evidence and advice the Trustee may consider relevant, the Member has ceased to be an Employee and is unlikely ever to engage in any gainful Work for which the Member is for the time being reasonably qualified by education, training or experience, but - (1) Total and Permanent Invalidity does not include disablement the existence or continuation of which, in the opinion of the Trustee after consideration of any information, evidence and advice provided to the Trustee by the Employer and any other information, evidence and advice as [sic] the Trustee may consider relevant, is attributable to a material extent to deliberate action or inaction by any person for the purpose of causing a benefit to become or to continue to be payable from the Fund, including without limitation what the Trustee considers to be an unreasonable refusal to submit to treatment; and (2) a Member who is required by the Employer to participate in a Rehabilitation Programme will not be considered to have suffered Total and Permanent Invalidity unless the Member participates in that Programme to the satisfaction of the Trustee." (Emphasis added.)
his judgment,[12] but for an aspect of the construction of the definition of "Total and Permanent Invalidity" that emerged for the first time on the hearing of the appeal.
"The grounds on which the performance by trustees of functions such as these[23] may be successfully challenged are those applicable generally to the exercise by trustees of discretionary powers, helpfully discussed by McGarvie J in Karger v. Paul [1984] VicRp 13; [1984] VR 161. As encapsulated by his Honour in that case there are three such grounds and in some circumstances a fourth. They are, first, that the discretion was not exercised by the trustees in good faith, second, that the discretion was not exercised upon real and genuine consideration (which includes consideration of the wrong question - see Scott on Trusts 3rd ed. Vol. 3, para. 187.3), third, that the discretion was not exercised in accordance with the purposes for which it was conferred and, fourth, where the trustees have disclosed (otherwise than in the course of the proceedings in which the discretion is challenged) the reasons for the exercise of their discretion, that those reasons are not sound."
In the case of an obligation to form an opinion, a court may infer a breach of duty if the decision is one which no reasonable trustee could make on the material which was before it.[24]
[2] See Vol. III paras.187, 187.2 and 187.3.
[3] Unreported, Supreme Court of New South Wales, 4 April 1985.
[4] The test in Scott is expressed (at p.33) as enabling "the Court [to] control the trustee in the exercise of a power where he acts beyond the bounds of a reasonable judgment".
[9] And supported by Windeyer, J., although without citing supporting authority, in Maciejewski v. Telstra Super Pty. Ltd. [No. 2] [1999] N.S.W.S.C. 341.
[10] Whether she is still a "Member" as defined in clause 1.1.1 of the trust deed depends on whether she has been paid all the benefits to which she could become entitled.
[11] Flegeltaub v. Telstra Super Pty. Ltd. [2000] VSC 107 (Byrne, J.).
[12] I should not have regarded paragraphs (1) and (2) of the definition of "Total and Permanent Invalidity" as provisos but simply as exceptions or, as Windeyer, J. said in Maciejewski v. Telstra Super Pty. Ltd. (No. 2) [1999] NSWSC 341 at [9], exclusions: cf. Piesse_, The Elements of Drafting_ (5th edition 1976) at 36-38 and 89-95; (9th edition 1995) at 27-28 and 86-89. A Member would have a right to proffer information to the Trustee commensurate with the latter's duties, but I do not think Byrne, J. intended to suggest otherwise at [20]. I express no opinion on the delegation point or whether the definition imports the exercise of a "Power" as defined by the trust deed or at all. The issues associated with Karger v. Paul [1984] VicRp 13; [1984] V.R. 161 and temporal questions are considered below.
[13] [1984] FCA 6; (1984) 1 F.C.R. 301. The key passages are set out in Flegeltaub v. Telstra Super Pty. Ltd. at [22].
[14] The reasonableness of a refusal to submit to treatment is not determined solely by the likelihood of its being successful. An operation that is more likely than not to be successful may entail risks that a reasonable person is not willing to take. Moreover, there may be many factors bearing on reasonableness in this context, including religious belief and the aetiology of the refusal, especially if it is the disablement itself.
[15] Compare Maciejewski v. Telstra Super Pty. Ltd. (No. 2) at [10-12].
[17] Karger v. Paul at 163 line 48 and 166 line 47. It was conceded that, even if the appellant was exercising a discretion, it was not "absolute and uncontrolled": cf. Esso Aust. Ltd. v. Australian Petroleum Agents' and Distributors' Association (unreported, Supreme Court of Victoria, 5th October 1993) at 22.
[18] In the former case there may still be a discretion in the widest sense of that word: cf. Coal and Allied Operations Pty. Ltd. v. Australian Industrial Relations Commission [2000] HCA 47 at [19, last sentence]. "Category 3" in Mettoy Pension Trustees Ltd. v. Evans [1990] 1 W.L.R. 1587 at 1614 was described as comprising "any discretion which is really a duty to form a judgment as to the existence or otherwise of particular circumstances giving rise to particular consequences". (Emphasis added.)
[19] Compare Singer v. Berghouse [1994] HCA 40; (1994) 181 C.L.R. 201 at 210-211; Mitchell v. R. [1996] HCA 45; (1996) 184 C.L.R. 333 at 346 and Attorney-General v. Breckler (1999) 197 C.L.R. 83 at [24].
[20] Flegeltaub v. Telstra Super Pty. Ltd. at [18] and [55].
[21] This is not, perhaps, an exact statement, but it is sufficiently accurate for present purposes.
[22] Unreported, Supreme Court of New South Wales, 4th April 1985 at 11. We were informed that this is regarded in New South Wales as the seminal decision on the subject and were referred to a number of cases in which it has been applied.
[23] The function that is relevant for present purposes was to consider whether they were of opinion that the plaintiff's injury was sufficiently serious to render him unlikely to resume work or attend to any gainful profession or occupation for which he was reasonably fitted or could have been reasonably fitted by education, training and experience.
[24] Maciejewski v. Telstra Super Pty. Ltd. (No. 2) at [14-15] and [21].
[25] Similarly Esso Aust. Ltd. v. Australian Petroleum Agents' and Distributors' Association was concerned with a discretion to make a payment. It was not a superannuation case.
[26] It is not necessary, in order to decide the present case, to consider whether that language is sufficient, or appropriate, in every case of a fiduciary obligation to form an opinion as to a question of fact.
[27] Compare Maciejewski v. Telstra Super Pty. Ltd. [No. 1] (1998) 44 N.S.W.L.R. 601 at 605 and Maciejewski v. Telstra Super Pty. Ltd. (No. 2) at [21].
[28] Compare Thomas on Powers (1998) at ss 6-239 - 6-243A.
[30] Matters stated in Harris v. Lord Shuttleworth [1994] ICR 989 at 999.
[31] Compare, for example, Avon Downs Pty. Ltd. v. FC of T [1949] HCA 26; (1949) 78 C.L.R. 353 at 360; FC of T v. Brian Hatch Timber Co. (Sales) Pty. Ltd. [1972] HCA 73; (1972) 128 C.L.R. 28; Kolotex Hosiery (Australia) Pty. Ltd. v. FC of T [1975] HCA 5; (1975) 132 C.L.R. 535; DC of T v. Richard Walter Pty. Ltd. [1995] HCA 23; (1995) 183 C.L.R. 168 at 188 (where the word "discretion" appears); and Minister for Immigration and Ethnic Affairs v. Wu Shan Liang[1996] HCA 6; (1996) 185 C.L.R. 259 at 275-276.
[32] For example, Vidovic v. Email Superannuation Pty. Ltd. (unreported, Supreme Court of New South Wales, Bryson, J., 3 March 1995) at p.11; Dillon v. Burns Philp Finance Ltd. (unreported, Supreme Court of New South Wales, Bryson, J., 20 July 1988) at pp.15-16; Minehan v. AGL Employees Superannuation Pty. Ltd. [1998] ACTSC 114; (1998) 134 A.C.T.R. 1 at para.55; and Mettoy Pension Trustees Ltd. v. Evans [1990] 1 W.L.R. 1587 at 1610. See also Lord Browne-Wilkinson, Equity and its Relevance to Superannuation Today (Leo Cussen Institute, 1992) and J.A. Riordan, Superannuation, Disablement and Trustee's Discretion, (1993) 67 Law Institute Journal 932.
Telstra Super Pty Ltd
Flegeltaub [2000] VSCA 180