© 2026 Zoe. All rights reserved.
Zoe is a legal information platform. Always consult the Federal Register of Legislation for authoritative text.
[2000] VSC 107
Supreme Court of Victoria
2000-04-03
Byrne J
Original judgment source is linked above.
78 Definition of 'Total and Permanent Invalidity"
Agree with the Principal Employer, either generally or in any particular case, the definition of 'Total and Permanent Invalidity' where it is not to be as provided for in the definition.
Consider any information, evidence and advice provided to the Trustee by the Employer and other relevant information to determine:
(a) whether the Member has ceased to be an Employee and whether the Member is likely to ever engage in gainful work for which the Member is reasonably qualified; and (b) whether the existence or continuation of disablement is deliberate (including an unreasonable refusal to submit to treatment) for the purpose of causing a benefit to become or to continue to be payable from the Fund.
Level 1 Assessment Committee (in accordance with any policies approved by the Level 2 Assessment Committee); or Level 2 Assessment Committee. Level 2 Assessment Committee
(2) Whether the applicant's disability had had the result that she had been absent from all active work for a period of six months.
(3) Whether the applicant's disability had had the result that Telecom had required her to participate in a Rehabilitation Programme.
(4) Whether the applicant's disability had had the result that she had ceased to be an employee as defined in the deed.
(5) Whether the applicant's disability had had the result that she was unlikely ever to engage in any gainful work for which she is for the time being reasonably qualified by education, training or experience.
(6) Whether the disablement of the applicant was attributable to a material extent to deliberate action, including an unreasonable refusal to submit to treatment, for the purpose of causing a benefit to become payable from the fund.
(7) Whether the applicant who had been required by Telecom to participate in a Rehabilitation Programme had done so to the satisfaction of the trustee.
(8) Whether the trustee had agreed with Telecom not to insist upon the requirements referred to in questions (2), (3) and, possibly, (7).
(9) For the purpose of deciding questions (5) and (6) the trustee was required to consider what material other than that provided by Telecom was relevant.
"17. Benefits Committee The minutes of the Committee meeting held on 11 May 1994 were noted and accepted."
Notwithstanding some argument to the contrary, I am satisfied that the committee here referred to is the Level 2 Benefits Committee. It was at that meeting that Mrs Flegeltaub's application was rejected.
"In regard to future capacity for work. When I last saw Mrs Flegeltaub she was clearly unfit to work. Further I consider that she will remain permanently unfit to work in an area for which she is qualified or any other area. She is barely able to cope with the duties of managing a home and children and these will constitute considerable stresses for her for some years to come. When the time does come for Mrs Flegeltaub to be relieved of the responsibility of her family, I do not believe she will be in any fit state to work. She will be a chronically anxious obsessional phobic lady, considerably lacking the self confidence that would be needed for her to be employed. Regarding future medical treatment, she is probably going to require some help from time to time such as when the symptoms of depression or anxiety may become acute. However I think it unlikely that medical treatment will be available that would so change her that her capacity for employment outside the home would be restored."
"COMMENT The information presented with the appeal does not add significantly to the claim as it was assessed in May 1994. RECOMMENDATION I recommend that the decision by the Level 2 Benefits Committee on 11th May to deny Mrs Flegeltaub's claim for the Total and Permanent Invalidity benefit from the Telecom Superannuation Scheme not be overturned."
"Evidently the Superannuation Board did not accept either opinion and obtained an opinion favourable to them from another psychiatrist. It is impossible to say that Mrs Flegeltaub will ever [sic. Perhaps this was intended to read "never".] work again as she could be forced back to work by financial circumstances. She now has five children. If it is the intention of the Superannuation Board for this to happen I think they lack even the most minute amount of compassion. I am certain however if this situation arises she will need long term psychiatric treatment."
13.2 Glenda Flegeltaub Mr Slack tabled a letter from Mrs Flegeltaub's solicitor together with a letter from a treating doctor which were received this morning. The Directors considered all the papers and unanimously resolved to deny a total and permanent invalidity benefit to Mrs Flegeltaub."
1. Declare that the following decisions, determinations and resolutions were not an effectual exercise of the power of the defendant to determine the plaintiff's claim for total and permanent invalidity benefits pursuant to the Telstra Superannuation Scheme, namely:
(a) the determination of the Level 2 Benefits Committee of 11 May 1994;
(b) the resolution of the board of directors of the defendant of 22 June 1994;
(c) the resolution of the board of directors of the defendant of 13 December 1994.
2. Order that the declaration and order sought in paragraphs B, C and D of the plaintiff's statement of claim be refused.
3. Order that the question whether the plaintiff is entitled to a total and permanent invalidity benefit pursuant to the Telstra Superannuation Scheme be remitted to the defendant for determination in accordance with the trust deed.
4. Order that the defendant pay the costs of the plaintiff including reserved costs and the costs of transcribed notes.
[3] A similar course was adopted by Hodgson J in Chammas v Harwood Nominees Pty Ltd (1993) 7 ANZ Ins Cas 61-175
[5] Esso Australia Ltd v Australian Petroleum Agents' and Distributors' Association (Unreported, SC (Vic), Hayne J, 5 October 1993, BC9300733) at pp.18-20; Asea Brown Boveri Superannuation Fund No.1 Pty Ltd v Asea Brown Boveri Pty Ltd [1999] 1 VR 144 at 155, per Beach J.
[6] [1984] VicRp 13; [1984] VR 161 at 164.
[7] [1994] VR 161 at 164.
[8] [1984] VicRp 13; [1984] VR 161 at 166.
[9] [1984] VicRp 13; [1984] VR 161 at 166.
[10] Unreported, SC (NSW), 4 April 1985, BC8500888.
[11] Meat Industry Employees Superannuation Fund Pty Ltd v Petrucelli (Unreported SC (Vic), Nathan J, 28 February 1992, BC9200730); Esso Australia Ltd v Australian Petroleum Agents' and Distributors Association (Unreported SC (Vic), Hayne J, 5 October 1993, BC9300733) at p. 18; Vidovic v Email Superannuation Pty Ltd (Unreported SC (NSW), Bryson J, 3 March 1995, BC9504297); Neskovski v Rogers (Unreported, SC (NSW), McLelland CJ, 12 May 1995, BC9504722); Tonkin v Western Mining Corp Ltd (Unreported SC (WA), Scott J, 31 May 1996, BC9602306); Muinos v Johnson and Johnson Retirement Benefits Ltd (Unreported SC (NSW), McClelland CJ, 5 December 1996, BC9605916); Tonkin v Western Mining Corporation Ltd (No 3) (Unreported, SC (WA), Scott J, 19 June 1997, BC9702687); Minehan v AGL Employees Superannuation Pty Ltd [1998] ACTSC 114; (1998) 134 ACTR 1; Asea Brown Boveri Superannuation Fund No.1 Pty Ltd v Asea Brown Boveri Pty Ltd [1999] 1 VR 144.
[12] Maciejewski v Telstra Super Pty Ltd [1999] NSWSC 341 at [13], per Windeyer J.
[13] Unreported, SC (NSW), 3 March 1995, BC9504297 at p.11.
[14] Unreported, SC (NSW), 20 July 1988, BC 8801719 at pp.15- 16.
[15] Minehan v AGL Employees Superannuation Pty Ltd [1998] ACTSC 114; (1998) 134 ACTR 1 at [55].
[16] Maciejewski v Telstra Super Pty Ltd [1999] NSWSC 341 at [13] - [14], per Windeyer J; Tonkin v Western Mining Corporation Ltd (unreported SC (WA), Scott J, 31 May 1996, BC9602306) at p.10
[17] Mettoy Pension Trustees Ltd v Evans [1990] 1 WLR 1587 at 1610, per Warner J.
[18] Re Beloved Wilkes' Charity [1851] EngR 375; (1851) 3 Mac & G 440; 42 ER 330 at 333, per Lord Truro LC.
[19] Karger v Paul [1984] VicRp 13; [1984] VR 161 at 166; Pope v Lawler (1996) 41 ALD 127 at 134.
[20] Maciejewski v Telstra Super Pty Ltd (1998) 44 NSWLR 601; Karger v Paul [1984] VicRp 13; [1984] VR 161 at 178.
[21] Maciejewski v Telstra Super Pty Ltd (1998) 44 NSWLR 601; Minehan v AGL Employees Superannuation Pty Ltd [1998] ACTSC 114; (1998) 134 ACTR 1.
[22] Karger v Paul [1984] VicRp 13; [1984] VR 161 at 178.
[23] Unless this be implicit from the fact that the applicant bears the onus of proof: Tonkin v Western Mining Corporation Ltd (unreported SC (WA), Scott J, 31 May 1996, BC9602306) at p.13.
[24] White v Board of Trustees [1997] 2 Qd R 659 at 672, per White J.
[26] [1984] FCA 6; (1984) 1 FCR 301 at 304, 305.
[27] [1984] FCA 6; (1984) 1 FCR 301 at 303.
[28] (1983) 6 ALD 244 at 249-250.
[29] In Dundee General Hospitals Board of Management v Walker [1952] 1 All ER 896 at 903, Lord Morton of Henryton regarded such a discretion as not a discretionary power in the ordinary sense of that phrase. See, too, Rapa v Patience ,unreported, SC (NSW), 4 April 1985, BC8500888 at p14 per McLelland J.
[30] Esso Australia Ltd v Australian Petroleum Agents' and Distributors' Association (Unreported, SC (Vic), Hayne J, 5 October 1993, BC9300733) at p. 22.
[33] As was the case in Karger v Paul [1984] VicRp 13; [1984] VR 161. Adopting the classification of Warner J in Mettoy Pension Trustees Ltd v Evans [1990] 1 WLR 1587 at 1613-4, the decision of the trustee in Karger v Paul is a category 1 discretion; that of the trustee in the present case is a category 3 discretion.
[34] Re Beloved Wilkes' Charity [1851] EngR 375; (1851) 3 Mac & G 440; 42 ER 330.
[35] Cf Libby v Kennedy [1999] Pensions LR 143
[36] In Re Jenner and Keighran's Contract [1925] VicLawRp 41; [1925] VLR 283 at 296, per Irvine CJ.
[37] Rapa v Patience ,unreported, SC (NSW), 14 April 1985, BC8500888 at 14, per McClelland J. See, too, Minehan v AGL Employees Superannuation Pty Ltd [1998] ACTSC 114; (1998) 134 ACTR 1 at [68], per Gallop ACJ; Dillon v Burns Philp Finance Ltd unreported, SC (NSW), 20 July 1998, BC 8801719 at p.15.
[38] Vidovic v Email Superannuation Pty Ltd (unreported SC (NSW), Bryson J, 3 March 1995, BC9504297) at p.22 per Bryson J
[39] See Neskovski v Rogers (Unreported, SC (NSW), at p.5, per McLelland CJ, 12 May 1995, BC9504722).
Flegeltaub
Telstra Super Pty Ltd [2000] VSC 107