[2026] VCAT 241
General information, not legal advice.
Victorian Civil and Administrative Tribunal
2026-04-08
Original judgment source is linked above.
(a) $297,566.20; and > > (b) $148,498.33 interest on unpaid progress certificates 17 and 18 pursuant to the building contract to 1 June 2023, as calculated in a table filed by email with the Tribunal by the applicant's solicitors dated 1 June 2023.
(a) $109,082 damages for defective works; > > (b) by consent, $13,050 liquidated damages; > > (c) by consent, $2,544 in credits conceded by [TCM]; > > (d) a $759 credit in respect of the whole of variation V77, conceded by [TCM]; and > > (e) a $193 reduction of variation V71, conceded by [TCM].
3.4 any defects in the Residence which are known or ought reasonably to have been known to exist at the date of this agreement; and
3.5 the matters referred to in the Recitals to this agreement.
The General Rules of Civil Procedure 1986 entitle a plaintiff to sue several defendants on different causes of action. However in cases where the plaintiff seeks to recover from several defendants compensation in respect of the same damage it is fundamental that the plaintiff cannot recover more than the total damage which he or she has sustained. Where the claims for damages are concurrent, in the sense that the claims "overlap", recovery by the plaintiff of the whole or part of the loss claimed from one defence will necessarily be taken into account in assessing damages to be recovered from the other.[2]
It is not to the point to argue...that the claims made against the various defendants proceed from various causes of action. The fundamental question is whether the claims are "concurrent" in the sense that the relief sought is the same...[3]
In this case, it cannot, I think, be doubted that the claims which were mounted against the builders and the solicitors were concurrent in the sense that they were claims being made to recover the same damage. In its essence the claim being made against the solicitors was that the owners should be entitled to recover from the solicitors whatever amount they could not recover from the builders on account of their faulty workmanship. The claim being made was truly an alternative claim for the same damage. The claim was made by the owners against the solicitors in response to the builders' contention that the owners were estopped from claiming damages against them for faulty workmanship because of the 1988 settlement which the solicitors had negotiated with them on behalf of the owners. The ultimate finding by his Honour that such an estoppel was not made out cannot affect the application of the principles to which I refer. Those principles, as explained [by his Honour, earlier] in Townsend's case,[4] must a fortiori apply to this case.
Whether, in respect of global settlements, any difficulty in assessing the amount paid in satisfaction of a concurrent claim, prevents the application of the principle.
However the paucity of that material cannot...affect the application of the principle to which I have referred.[7]
...The builders having proved that the owners had accepted the sum of $5,000 from the solicitors in "full and final settlement of the...proceeding" against them, the builders were entitled to claim, as they did, that such sum should have been presumed to have been accepted in fulfillment of the concurrent claims made by the owners against them and the solicitors. Indeed it might be said that the learned judge was being generous to the owners in not requiring the owners to account for the whole of the $5,000.[8] However, as I have already said, it has not been suggested on this appeal that he was in error in doing so.[9]
(a) disputed liability in respect of certified variations V2, V27, V42, V71 V72 and V77 (paragraph 33 of the counterclaim);
(b) damages for exceeding the "agreed construction period" that would have had the works brought to practical completion by 17 April 2017 (30(a) and 54 of the counterclaim); and
(c) damages in respect of construction defects (paragraphs 55-56 of the counterclaim)
(a) the alleged improper certification by the architect of variations V2, V27, V42, V71, V72 and V77 (paragraphs 14-14.5 of the FAPC);
(b) the alleged failure by the architect to apply various credits to the Grossis when certifying progress claims (paragraphs 14.5-14.6 of the FAPC);
(c) the alleged failure to notify the Grossis of their right to liquidated damages for the period from 17 April 2017, the alleged date for practical completion of the works (paragraphs 14.7-14.8 of the FAPC);
(d) the alleged failure by the architect to ensure the rectification of defects and non-compliant work (paragraphs 14.9-14.10 of the FAPC);
(e) the alleged improper certification of practical completion on 30 August 2017 (paragraphs 16-26 of the FAPC); and
(f) the alleged improper issue of progress payment certificates as failed to make sufficient allowance for defective work and the Grossis entitlement to liquidated damages, as failed to properly assess variations and failed to apply credits to which the Grossis were entitled (paragraph 27 of the FAPC).
Whether TCM has demonstrated the extent to which part of the claim against TCM has already been satisfied.
It is said that the burden lies on the defendant to show that a part of the claim against him has already been satisfied and to demonstrate the extent to which recovery has already been completed by the plaintiff...Allowing this, however, it seems to me that the initial burden is discharged when the defendant shows acceptance of a payment-in, in causes of action where there are concurrent claims against him.
..."all-in" (inclusive of any claim to costs and interest)...
[1] Boncristiano and Another v Lohmann and Others [1998] VSC 228; [1998] 4 VR 82, 88-89.
[4] Townsend v Stone Toms & Partners (1984) 27 BLR 26.
[6] See Banque Keyser Ullman SA v Skandia (UK) Insurance Co Ltd and others (No 2) [1988] 2 All ER 880
[7] Boncristiano (n 1) at p 89 ll.36-39.
[8] It appears from the report that the trial judge chose to deal on what the Court described as a "global" fashion with the question of how much of the $5,000 settlement monies paid by the solicitors to the owners was to be ascribed to the owners' claim for costs.
[9] Boncristiano (n 1) at p 90 ll. 6-15.
[11] See RACV Insurance Pty Ltd v Unisys Australia Ltd [2001] VSC 300 at [560].
[13] See Unisys Australia Ltd v RACV Insurance Pty Ltd [2004] VSCA 81 at [92]- [101].
[14] The concurrent nature of the two causes of action was also clear from the written openings.
[16] Australia Super Developments Pty Ltd v David Wellesley Marriner (No 2) [2015] VSC 315 at [78].
TCM Building Group Pty Ltd
Grossi
Boncristiano and Another v Lohman and Others [1998] VR 82; Townsend v Stone Toms & Partners (1984) 27 BLR 26; Banque Keyser Ullman SA v Skandia (UK) Insurance Co Ltd and others (No 2) [1988] 2 All ER 880; RACV Insurance Pty Ltd v Unisys Australia Ltd [2001] VSC 300 at [560]; Unisys Australia Ltd v RACV Insurance Pty Ltd [2004] VSCA 81 considered.