austlii:tas/TASCAT/2026/29
General information, not legal advice.
TASCAT
2026-03-19
Commissioner Wilkins, Member Jack
Original judgment source is linked above.
Tasmanian Water and Sewerage Corporation Pty Ltd v DMP [2026] TASCAT 29
Tasmanian Water and Sewerage Corporation Pty Ltd (Employer)
Written submissions dated 19 January 2026, 28 January 2026 and 4 February 2026.
Weekly payments of compensation and the cost of benefits payable under Division 2 of Part VI of the Workers Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988 are not to be paid by the employer.
Workers Compensation - Section 81A - Nature of referral - Sufficiency of reasons for dispute - Facts and evidence.
Candice Care Inc. v S [2021] TASWRCT 20;
State of Tasmania (Department of Education) v B [2022] TASCAT 58;
St Helens Oysters Pty Ltd v Coatsworth [2007] TASSC 90;
Bradshaw v Tasmania Networks Pty Ltd [2020] TASFC 2;
Vos Construction & Joinery Pty Ltd v Norton-Smith [2016] TASSC 38;
Tassal Operations Pty Ltd v Lese [2021] TASSC 22;
The State of Tasmania (Department of Natural Resources and Environment) v R [2024] TASCAT 84;
M v Allianz Australia Services Pty Ltd No. 2 [2019] TASWRCT 35;
Karinya Young Women's Service Inc v W [2023] TASCAT 36;
Alison Jane Connolly v P and O Resorts Pty Ltd t/as Cradle Mountain Lodge [1996] TASSC 132;
Lamont v MRD Supermarkets Pty Ltd [2016] TASSC 16.
This decision has been anonymised for the purposes of publication.
(i) the Tribunal has jurisdiction to deal with this s 81A referral; and if so,
(ii) the employer has discharged its onus to prove a reasonably arguable case to dispute its liability to pay compensation to the worker.
(a) A factual dispute;
(b) A dispute that causation can be attributed to the requisite degree to the worker's employment; and
(c) A potential defence to liability pursuant to s 25(1A) of the WRC Act.
(i) Statement - TG signed 12 December 2025 with attachments:
- Worker - Teams Chat
- Incident notification
- Letter Aboriginal Health Service
- Email attaching Authority to Release Information Agreement
- Aboriginal Health Service medical certificate 17 September 2025
- Aboriginal Health Service medical certificate 23 September 2025
- Email [worker] to TasWater attaching initial WCMC
- Initial WCMC
- Claim form worker section
- Claim form employer's section
- Statement of worker
- CS Hub - Teams chat
- Stacey - Teams chat
- Worker - End of year PDA discussion notes
- Managing Work Stress document
- FW PDA Creation for worker - Action required
(ii) Section 81A letter to the worker disputing liability with enclosures.
81A. Disputes of liability for weekly payments and other benefits > > (1) An employer who disputes liability to pay compensation by way of weekly payments for an injury referred to in section 81(1) or benefits under Division 2 of Part VI must, within 84 days of receiving the claim for compensation in respect of the injury to the worker - > > (a) serve the worker with written notice that the employer disputes liability - > > (i) to pay compensation by way of weekly payments; or > > (ii) to pay any benefits payable under Division 2 of Part VI in respect of the injury; and > > (b) inform the worker of the reasons for disputing liability; ...
The Act requires that an employer who disputes liability to pay compensation must serve a worker with, not only notice that it disputes liability - s81A(1)(a), but also inform the worker of the reasons for disputing liability - s81A(1)(b), and provide to the worker all evidentiary material upon which the employer intends to rely. It is clear that what the employer is required to provide to the worker within the statutory time limit is more than simply information that the claim is in dispute. > > In the present instance, as a result of the participation by the worker and his counsel in the hearing of the s81A referral as it has unfolded to date, I am prepared to draw the inference that the worker was aware that his claim for compensation has been disputed, and was so aware prior to the expiration of the 84 days (the first appearance in relation to the s81A referral occurring within the 84 days). However, there is no evidence that the correspondence from the employer's solicitors to the worker's solicitors came into the possession of the worker, nor that he became aware of any of the details of the dispute within the statutory time frame of 84 days from the date the claim was made. > > Although I have already determined that the worker was not served with the dispute, because service via email was not available to the employer, even if I am wrong about that, there is no evidence that notice of the dispute, as contemplated by s81A, including the reasons for the dispute, came into the possession, or to the attention, of the worker within the 84 days permitted by s81A. On that basis, the Tribunal does not have jurisdiction to hear the s81A referral.
A case will not be reasonably arguable unless the case itself is reasonable in a sense that there is a reasonable prospect of the claim being rejected following a final hearing...The very notion of a "reasonably arguable case", like the very notion of a "prima facie case', precludes a final determination of a disputed question of fact...On the face of a s 81A, a reasonably arguable case will exist concerning the liability of an employer to pay a worker if it is reasonably arguable on the material in relation to the claim or identified deficiencies or weaknesses in the claim that, following a contested hearing, it may be rejected.
Whilst the employer carries the onus of proof on a s 81A application, I accept the submission ... that what the employer is required to prove is not that there is no liability under s 25 of the Act, but only that there exists, on the evidentiary material that the employer relies upon in the s 81A proceedings, a reasonable chance that the worker will be unable to discharge the onus of proof that will ultimately rest with the worker by virtue of the Act, s 49(2)(a), on a final hearing of the worker's claim. As counsel for the employer put it, "the worker was certainly not required in this instance to positively prove that some specific factor other than the worker's employment was the major or most significant contributing factor".
The Act does not require that the employer's case about liability be strong or compelling, but the case that the claim may ultimately be rejected must be reasonably arguable.
In determining whether an employer has demonstrated the existence of a reasonably arguable case to dispute a worker's claim for compensation, the Tribunal takes the evidence relied upon by the employer at its highest.
The worker was counselled early on about her unplanned leave and potential performance outcomes of continued unplanned leave. > > The worker experienced the relocation of her child to another jurisdiction in 2025. > > The worker advised ADHD (unmedicated) in March 2025, was awaiting psychiatric input, and sought workplace and workload adjustments to reduce hours of work downwards as it was impacting her ability to work. > > In April 2025, the worker advised she had returned a positive result for cervical cancer screening. > > In May 2025, the worker was experiencing back pain and took leave. > > In June 2025, the worker advised psychological abuse by her ex-partner. > > In late June-early July 2025, the worker advised that she was involved in family law proceedings. > > In late June-early July 2025, the worker averted to family violence. > > The worker experienced pregnancy loss in July 2025 and arrived at the office in distress and was sent home. > > In mid-July 2025, the worker posted to her social media profiles with comments suggesting a 'black heart' and 'giving up' and confided in her manager about personal relationship issues. > > In late July 2025 the worker was tearful and distressed in the workplace due to a failed motion at a southern Tasmanian council. > > In late July 2025, the worker's significant pattern of workplace absences and concerns around her wellbeing were directly discussed during a performance review. The worker explained that she was still in recovery after a difficult period in her personal life, and that the ongoing efforts to develop a suitable care and treatment plan for her ADHD were causing a difficulty in meeting deadlines and staying on top of her work. She remarked that she was currently working at about half capacity due to recent emotional turmoil and health issues. > > In August 2025 the worker sought further guidance and strategies to manage her ADHD and advised the employer she had another psychiatrist appointment coming up.
(a) Multiple discussions around disruptive behaviour in the workplace;
(b) The contents of the performance review discussion on 28 July 2025;
(c) The worker expressed on multiple occasions her sadness and distress and was tearful in the workplace, due to being denied the opportunity to participate in a project of cultural significance to her because her work attendance and wellbeing due to external stressors and mental health concerns was not up to standard.
the employer's reliance on vague domestic stressors is incapable of displacing work causation even on a provisional basis.
It is not enough in a s 81A referral for the employer to indicate that it simply wishes to put the worker to proof. The terms and history of s 81A disclose a legislative intention that an employer must do more than rely on the contention that a worker may not ultimately be able to discharge the onus of proof, in support of its contention that a mere denial of the worker's claim is not sufficient.
...that the information required by a workers compensation medical certificate does not include an opinion as to whether the worker's disease arose out of and in the course of his employment, and to which his employment contributed to a substantial degree - s 25(1)(b).
(a) Multiple discussions around disrupting behaviours in the workplace; and
(b) The contents of performance review discussion on 28 July 2025; and
(c) The worker expressed on multiple occasions her sadness and distress and was tearful in the workplace due to being denied the opportunity to participate in a project of cultural significance to her because her work related attendance and wellbeing due to external stressors and relevant health concerns were not up to standard.
Tasmanian Water and Sewerage Corporation Pty Ltd
DMP [2026] TASCAT 29