[2020] TASSC 13
General information, not legal advice.
Supreme Court of Tasmania
2020-05-08
Brett J
Original judgment source is linked above.
CITATION: Tasmania v Pilling [2020] TASSC 13
APPEALED FROM: State of Tasmania (Department of Health) v P [2019] TASWRCT 36
Workers Compensation - Proceedings to obtain compensation - Preliminary requirements - Notice of injury - Particular cases - Whether sending notice by facsimile to the worker's work unit amounts to giving notice to the employer.
Workers Compensation - Proceedings to obtain compensation - Determination of claims - Procedure - Section 81A referral based on deficiency of notice- Whether s 37 should be taken into account in determining whether the employer has demonstrated an arguable case.
Tasmanian Health Service Act 2018 (Tas), ss 15, 19, 23.
Crown Proceedings Act 1993 (Tas), ss 3, 4, 13.
Supreme Court Rules 2000 (Tas), rr 693, 709.
State Service Act 2000 (Tas), ss 14, 37, 56.
Hazell Bros Pty Ltd v Adams [1999] TASSC 37; Sue v Hill [1999] HCA 30, 199 CLR 462; Pivot Limited v Crawford [1999] TASSC 67, 8 Tas R 40; Sullivan v Hobart City Council and MMI Insurance Limited [1999] TASSC 101; St Helens Oysters Pty Ltd v Coatsworth [2007] TASSC 90, 17 Tas R 43; Tasmania v Herlihy [2019] TASSC 5, referred to.
Judgment Number: [2020] TASSC 13
"(i) the employer of the worker or, if there is more than one employer, to one of the employers of the worker; or
(ii) a person under whose supervision the worker is employed; or
(iii) a person designated for the purpose by the employer; or
(iv) a person having authority or apparently having authority to receive such a notice on behalf of the employer."
"(5) Dr Fasset's rooms offered to send the certificate through to the LGH. I was advised that that was what they normally did.
(6) I wrote on the fax sheet the number of the LGH Specialist Clinic which was [fax number]. That was the number for the LGH Specialist Clinic where Ktima Turner is the Nurse Unit Manager.
(7) From my experience my certificate would have been brought to Katrina [sic] Turner's attention.
(8) When I got home I then rang the LGH 'pool office' as required to notify LGH administration of the leave I was taking from 22 May 2019 to 24 May 2019. I spoke to an officer there by the name of 'Jackie' to whom I advised that a workers compensation medical certificate had been sent through from Dr Fassett's rooms to the LGH Specialist Clinic authorising my leave.
(9) I was not aware of, and at no time had I been given any instruction or training as to the legal or my employer requirements for the giving of a workers compensation notice of injury."
"5 If Dr Fassett did fax the document to Specialist Clinic it would have been converted into an email which would have been sent to an email address which I seldom check as it has been set up for clerical use.
"[38] In this case the employer's details report notes the worker's injury or condition occurred at the LGH and the employer is a State Government department which is known as THS - which I infer is the Tasmanian Health Service. That entity is arguably an agency or instrumentality of the Crown. The worker suggests the initial workers compensation medical certificate was faxed by her general practitioner's rooms to the clinic at the LGH in which she worked on 22 May 2019. In those circumstances I do not think it is reasonably arguable to contend there has not been compliance with s33(1)(b). The contents of the initial workers compensation medical certificate satisfy s33(1)(d) and I note it was not submitted otherwise. For the purposes of the worker's condition s3(5) deems a disease to have occurred when there is an incapacity for work and that, on the evidence, appears to be on 22 May 2019 when notice was arguably given.
[39] I do not think there is any substance in the third argument raised by the employer in paragraph 28. Hazell Bros Pty Ltd v Adams (supra) quite clearly demonstrates s33(1)(b)(i) applies to entities such as companies and by extension the State. In this case the instrumentality or agency of the State for whom the worker is employed is the Tasmanian Health Service. She is based at the LGH and she arranged for her general practitioner's rooms to forward the initial workers compensation medical certificate to the clinic at the LGH in which she worked."
"1 The learned Chief Commissioner misconstrued the provisions of s 33(1)(b) of the Workers Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988 by determining that subparagraph (i) could apply to the State, when upon its proper construction it does not apply to the State;
2.1 He determined that the sending of a facsimile to the Launceston General Hospital Specialist Clinic was notice of an injury to the Appellant pursuant to s 33(1)(b)(i) of the Workers Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988 when it was not open to do so; and
2.2 He treated the Respondent, the State of Tasmania, as analogous to a company when construing the terms of s 33(1)(b)(i) of the Workers Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988 when the State was not and could not be so considered."
"There are also special provisions for the giving by a worker to the employer of notice of the injury. By s33(1), it may be 'given' orally or in writing and 'shall be given' to any of a number of persons identified in the subsection. A notice of injury and a claim for compensation are important documents in the scheme of the Act and it is not difficult to understand why the legislature made special provision concerning how they are to be given by workers to employers. The service of all other documents under the Act is provided for by s159, which explains, in considerable detail, how they may be served on a body corporate, a firm and a person who is neither a body corporate nor a firm. But the section excludes from its operation notices of injury and claims for compensation."
Was notice given to the respondent's supervisor
"(2) If, under a law of this jurisdiction, a person is permitted to give information in writing, the person may give the information by means of an electronic communication, where ¾
(a) at the time the information was given, it was reasonable to expect that the information would be readily accessible so as to be useable for subsequent reference; and
(b) the person to whom the information is permitted to be given consents to the information being given by means of an electronic communication."
"A case will not be reasonably arguable unless the case itself is reasonable in the sense that there is a reasonable prospect of the claim being rejected following a final hearing."
"(a) the failure was occasioned by mistake ... or other reasonable cause, and
(b) it is found in proceedings relating to the worker's right to claim compensation under this Act that the employer's defence is not prejudiced by reason of the failure."
"[12] Counsel for the respondent submitted that the onus lay on the worker to show that the respondent's defence was not prejudiced by the failure to give the notice until 23 December 1997. That is certainly so, but the burden is not a heavy one and in the absence of any evidence of prejudice to the respondent and in the circumstances of the case, including the short period of time after the termination of his employment before appropriate notice was given by the worker, a finding that no prejudice existed would have been fully justified. In Haywood v Westleigh Colliery Company Ltd [1915] AC 540 at 546, Lord Atkinson put the position thus:
'The statute requires that notice should be served, and if it is not served the party who should have served it is in default; he must excuse that default, and I think the burden of proof in the first instance rests upon him. But if he gives evidence from which it may be reasonably inferred that the employer has not been prejudiced, I think then the burden of proof is shifted from his shoulders on to the shoulders of his employer, and if the employer is in a position to prove notwithstanding this evidence that he is prejudiced in some particular matters he is bound to do so. If he omits to do that, - as he has omitted to do it in this case, - then my impression is that it is not open to him to conjecture, as he has endeavoured to do through his counsel here, that he might have done this, or he might have done that, or he might have done something else that would have rebutted the evidence which has been given on behalf of the workman. He abstained from doing that, and then he says 'By reason of those conjectures which I have not supported you are to come to the conclusion that I was prejudiced'."
Tasmania
Pilling [2020] TASSC 13
(1995) 123 FLR 126