[2025] TASSC 48
General information, not legal advice.
Supreme Court of Tasmania
2025-09-30
Porter AJ
Original judgment source is linked above.
CITATION: Superannuation Commission v Sandman [2025] TASSC 48
Superannuation - Public service funds - Other matters - Claimant had right in 1985 to purchase four teacher studentship years on becoming permanent employee - Right not exercised at the time - Claimant left and rejoined the Fund - Claimant applied to be allowed to exercise the right on the ground that right lost otherwise than through her fault - Where letter of initial acceptance to Fund referred to information brochure which explained the right - Court not satisfied on claimant's evidence that brochure not with the letter - Relevant comprehensible information available - Court not satisfied failure to make the election was otherwise than through claimant's fault - Claim rejected.
Public Sector Superannuation Reform Regulations 2017, regs 101, 105
Superannuation - Public service funds - Other matters - "Employee" for purposes of retirement benefits legislation excluded a permanent part-time employee - "Permanent part-time employee" defined to mean a person who during a year was required to work for at least 40 percent of the hours of full-time work that would be required - Claimant arranged with employer to work at 60 percent of a full-time workload for a period of about two months - Claimant deemed by Fund management not to be an "employee" and not required to make contributions - Claim that the right or benefit of being a contributor lost otherwise than through the fault of the claimant - Meaning to be attributed to the phrase "during a year" in the definition of permanent part-time employee - Proper meaning was that the period of part-time work had to be for at least one year - Claim for lost right accepted.
Davenport (Inspector of Taxes) v Hasslacher [1977] 3 All ER 396; Bagus v Minister for Immigration, Local Government and Ethnic Affairs (1994) 50 FCR 3, considered
Commonwealth v Baume [1905] HCA 11; (1905) 2 CLR 405; Project Blue Sky Inc v Australian Broadcasting Authority [1998] HCA 28, 194 CLR 355, referred to.
Judgment Number: [2025] TASSC 48
"101 Power of Commission to reinstate lost rights
(1) If the Commission is satisfied, after the inquiry, if any, that the Commission thinks fit, that -
(a) a person has, otherwise than through his or her own fault, lost or ceased to be entitled to a right, privilege or benefit under -
(i) these regulations; or
(ii) the Retirement Benefits Act 1982 or the Retirement Benefits Act 1993 ; or
(iii) the former regulations -
to which he or she was otherwise entitled or which he or she might have otherwise obtained; and
(b) it is equitable that he or she should be allowed to have the enjoyment of that right, privilege or benefit -
the Commission, with the approval of the Minister, may permit that person to exercise the right or grant to him or her the privilege or benefit."
"105 Right to apply to Supreme Court for declaration as to validity
(1) If the Commission has made a final decision under regulation 104 adversely to an applicant, the applicant may, within 6 months after notification of the final decision, require the Commission to apply to the Supreme Court for a declaration in respect of that final decision.
(2) Subject to subregulation (3) , the Supreme Court may, on an application under subregulation (1) , make a declaration, having regard to facts existing and events that had occurred at the time when the Commission's final decision was made, as to the validity or otherwise of that final decision.
(b) remitting the matter to which the Commission's final decision relates to the Commission for reconsideration in accordance with the directions of the Court; or
(d) setting aside the Commission's final decision and substituting another decision for that final decision of the Commission.
"If you have not already done so, please indicate the desired rate of contribution to the Fund by completing the form 'Rate of Contributions to Retirement Benefits Fund' which has been included with this letter. Until the election form is returned to this office you will be treated as a member of 40 years' service scheme, as explained in the brochure, with deductions from pay at the rate of 5.5% of salary." [Emphasis added]
"I think - I know that at the time, I would have looked at what was on that letter and put that brochure to one side, if - not that I can recall receiving it. But I would have put it to one side. I was new to teaching, I was flat out, trying to program for hundreds and hundreds of children. I never received any other information from RBF about this matter. And there was nothing in the front of that letter to draw my attention to the fact that I needed to look in that brochure about - because I was just - just come out of a studentship.
Mrs Sandman, the brochure is referred to on at least two occasions in the letter?......It didn't refer to the fact that I needed to address the studentship issue in the letter.
But the letter enclosed the brochure, which was going to inform you of all things about the - the superannuation scheme?......Yes, but I was new to teaching, new to superannuation. I couldn't - I couldn't have known that. I couldn't have known that I could buy that studentship, unless that - it had been -
Unless you had read the brochure?......Well, true, true.
You chose not to, is that what you're telling us?......I'm not saying I chose not to. I put it to one side because I was a very new teacher with a lot of - a lot of demands on my time. And it didn't seem to me that it was important to read it straight away. Nothing in that letter said you need to refer to this section because you've just come off a studentship, to purchase your studentship is - " [Emphasis added]
(a) during a year, required to work in an office or position -
(i) in the service of the State or in the service of an authority of the State, ...for at least 40%;
of the hours that he would be required to work if he were a full time employee in that office or position; and
(b) paid at the same rate of salary for the period worked by him as a full-time employee in that office or position would be paid for working for the same period;
"It may be possible to continue to contribute to the Fund under Section 6(1)(c) of the Retirement Benefits Act 1982. Please complete the enclosed form indicating your intention regarding contribution to the Fund and return it to this office.
It is important to note that should your application to be a contributor as a part-time employee be approved you will deemed to have become an employee within the meaning of the Retirement Benefits Act. Accordingly, you must remain a contributor so long as you are continuously employed."
"I readily accept that, according to the ordinary use of language, the word 'during' when used as a preposition governing a stated period of time, is well capable of bearing the meaning 'in the course of' in a proper context. Indeed, in many instances the context will show clearly that it bears that sense, because the activity or condition referred to by the relevant verb by its very nature cannot have continued throughout the designated period. For example, if someone were to tell me that during the afternoon X jumped into the lake, he would manifestly be using the word 'during' in the sense of 'in the course of'. In my judgment, however, according to the ordinary use of English, the word 'during' tends to point more naturally to the meaning 'throughout the whole continuance of' than the meaning 'in the course of' in any context where, having regard to the verb to which it is linked, it is capable of bearing the former sense. For example, if someone were to tell me that during the period 1880 to 1890 Rudolph was King of Ruritania, I would regard such statement as meaning prima facie that Rudolph reigned throughout the period 1880-1890 unless there were additional factors in the particular context which showed the informant merely meant that Rudolph's reign fell within that period." [Emphasis added].
"I refer to your recent telephone enquiry and advise that funds held by the Retirement Benefits Fund as at 11th October, 1989 total $3,451.42. This figure is represented by contributions of $2,986.89 plus interest of $464.53."
"It is understood that I am a person eligible to become a member of the Retirement Benefits Fund pursuant to either Section 5 or 6 of the Retirement Benefits Act 1982.
The rights available to me under the provisions of Sections 5 and 6 of the Retirement Benefits Act 1982 have been explained by the 'responsible officer' [sic] and I hereby elect: ..."
"So, you were aware that you could continue to contribute?........Well, no, I hadn't received any other information up until now to tell me that that was a possibility -
No, no. Listen, you - once you received this letter and you read that sentence, you were aware that there was a possibility that you could contribute under - if you made an election under s6(1)(c)?........No. Until that time, I hadn't seen anything -
HIS HONOUR: When you got this letter, you then understood that you could continue to contribute? When you got this letter and read it, that's the point that's being made.
WITNESS: Okay. I know at the time I still thought I couldn't contribute.
MR O'FARRELL SC: (Resuming) You still thought you could?........I couldn't contribute." [Emphasis added]
"I see that, and - and I know that at the time, as I said, I was hoping to defer - my intention was originally to go back after my - the birth of my daughter, to full time work. That didn't eventuate. So, at the time, my head would have been thinking I need to - I want to defer contributions, and when I come back, I will be full time again."
(1) It is declared that the final decision of the Commission, made on 9 November 2021 in respect of the respondent's claim to have lost the right to purchase her studentship years is affirmed.
(2) The final decision of the Commission, made on 9 November 2021 rejecting the respondent's claim that she lost the right, privilege or benefit in 1989 regarding her eligibility to remain as a member of the scheme, is set aside.
(3) That matter be remitted to the Commission for reconsideration in accordance with the following directions:
(a) The respondent has otherwise than through her own fault, lost a right or benefit under the Retirement Benefits Fund Act 1982, to which she was otherwise entitled, namely the right to continue to be a member of the Scheme and the benefit of being a contributor.
(b) It is equitable that the respondent be allowed to have the enjoyment of that right and benefit with effect from the date the respondent ceased to be a contributor to the Scheme it having been determined that she was no longer an employee within the meaning of the Retirement Benefits Fund Act 1982.
(c) Subject to the approval of the Minister, the Commission must permit the respondent to exercise the right and/or grant the benefit to her from that date.
[1] 40 years' service scheme (higher rate), 40 years' service scheme (lower rate), 35 years' service scheme, and 30 years' service scheme.
[2] In evidence, the respondent said superannuation was "very new"; she was very busy and she knew she had to make a decision. She thought she would go with the lower rate and look at it a bit later on to see what was best.
[4] An example of this position is a document completed by the Department for the Board on 14 May 1999, which shows the respondent's employment status as "F/T" from 1 January 1981 to the date of the document.
[5] A "temporary employee" was a person appointed under s 38 which allowed for the employment of persons in a temporary capacity for the purpose of providing relief or assistance, or to undertake such other work as may be required, for a specified period of time or otherwise on a full-time, part-time, hourly, daily, weekly, contract or other basis set out in s 38.
[6] Lord Denman's views may be borne out by an examination of the origin of the word. Middle English had a present participle, "durying" taken from an obsolete verb, "duren", which had Latin and Old French roots and which meant to last or endure. In Latin the verb "durare" has that meaning as does the French "durer". The Oxford New English Dictionary on Historical Principles provides several meanings for the word "during", none of which is "within" or "in the course of". The closest relevant meaning is "throughout the whole continuance of; hence, in the course of, in the time of."
[7] In terms of the rate of contributions for affected employees where the period is lengthy but less than a year, there may have been an argument for pro-rata contributions. That would depend on the proper construction of Schedule 3. Otherwise, full contributions at the rate they which they would have been required to contribute would have continued: s 23(8). However, there was the option to defer under s 26(3)(c) which, it seems, would have been available as it related to a lesser rate of pay for the time being "for any reason."
[8] That was the view taken by Blow CJ in Elmore at [3]-[4] where the proceedings were under the identical provision in the 2005 Regulations.
[9] In evidence is a pro forma election form, Period of Leave Without Pay, sent to another contributor in late 1988 (with details redacted). This form reflects the options set out in the 20 October 1989 letter.
[10] This was the provision under consideration in Elmore.
[11] I have some difficulty accepting the Commission's submission that Form 6 was in substantial compliance with the prescribed Form 11 within the meaning of s 47(2) of the Acts Interpretation Act 1931. But this has no consequences for this case.
[12] Because of its terms, reg 106 would involve a rehearing on the material before the Commission. That means the only real alternative under reg 105 would be proceedings akin to an appeal in the strict sense; an unlikely interpretation.
Superannuation Commission
Sandman [2025] TASSC 48
(1994) 50 FCR 3
(1905) 2 CLR 405
(1991) 171 CLR 506
(1935) 53 CLR 526
(1999) 187 CLR 384
(1968) 118 CLR 526