[2017] AATA 1541
General information, not legal advice.
Administrative Appeals Tribunal of Australia
2017-09-26
Deputy President J
Original judgment source is linked above.
(a) a person lodges a claim for a disability support pension; and
(b) the person is not, on the day on which the claim is lodged, qualified for a disability support pension; and
(c) the person becomes qualified for a disability support pension sometime during the period of 3 months that starts immediately after the day on which the claim is lodged;
the person's provisional commencement day is the first day on which the person is qualified for the pension and is an Australian resident and in Australia.
The relevant enquiry for a decision-maker was whether the applicant for a disability support pension, if not qualified at claim, became qualified within the following three months. No doubt it has largely been assumed this approach also informs the construction of clause 4. However, it is trite to observe that it is the terms of the current provision, and not its predecessor, which must be considered.
3 Start day - general rule
(1) If:
(a) a person makes a claim for a social security payment; and
(b) the person is qualified for the payment on the day on which the claim is made;
the person's start day in relation to the payment is the day on which the claim is made.
...
4 Start day - early claim
(1) If:
(a) a person (other than a detained person) makes a claim for a relevant social security payment; and
(b) the person is not, on the day on which the claim is made, qualified for the payment; and
(c) assuming the person does not sooner die, the person will, because of the passage of time or the occurrence of an event, become qualified for the payment within the period of 13 weeks after the day on which the claim is made; and
(d) the person becomes so qualified within that period;
the claim is taken to be made on the first day on which the person is qualified for the social security payment.
...
(A) is not an Australian resident; and
(B) is a dependent child of an Australian resident;
and the person becomes an Australian resident while a dependent child of an Australian resident.
For the purpose of this Agreement an Australian disability support pension and New Zealand invalid's benefit shall be limited to cases where:
(a) the person is severely disabled;
(b) the person was a resident of one of the Parties at the date of severe disablement; and
(c) the person, prior to the date of severe disablement, was residing in the territory of the other Party for a period of not less than one year at any time. [emphasis added]
(aa) to work for at least the next 2 years; and
(bb) unable to benefit within the next 2 years from participation in a program of assistance or a rehabilitation program; or... [emphasis added]
Article 2(2), not article 12(4), is the provision of the Agreement that limits, in express terms, the availability of a disability support pension under the Agreement.
The Tribunal accepts that this observation provides some marginal support for the Secretary's position.
6 Overriding of social security law by scheduled international social security agreements
(1) The provisions of a scheduled international social security agreement have effect despite anything in the social security law.
(2) Subsection (1) applies to a provision of an agreement only in so far as the provision is in force and affects the operation of the social security law.
...
Does Mr Al-Janabi have a physical, intellectual and psychiatric impairment?
Does Mr Al-Janabi have medical conditions that can be rated at 20 points or more under the Impairment Tables?
Severe back pain radiat[ing] to lower limbs, limping, can't sit, stand, walk more than 10-15 mins, can't use public transport, can't do lawn mowing, physical work at home. Can't bath independently.
...continues with chronic back pain and left sided sciatica, radiating through the left hip and into both sides of the thigh and left knee... Unfortunately he had no relief from injections and is currently taking Voltaren.
Mr Al-Janabi suffers from severe bilateral shoulder pain and limited range of movements and has been seeking treatment, started about 5 years ago and in the left shoulder and then the right shoulder. He even had steroid injections and ultrasound showed he has [rotator] cuff syndrome in both shoulders. [This] condition has been fully treated and stabilised as of 4/4/2016 when he applied for the DSP and [is] not expected to get better even with treatment and any further physiotherapy on injections, he is certainly not for any surgery.[6]
...main concern at present is left arm pain; he awoke at the beginning of January with neck and left arm pain. There was numbness radiating down the arm and for arm and numbness also affecting the thumb, index and middle fingers. He has tried physiotherapy but without benefit...[8]
...has a generalised arthritic condition and warrants review by a rheumatologist and I have recommended he see you to discuss this hopefully you can arrange this locally for him...
Mr Al-Janabi suffers from severe major depression illness and post-traumatic stress and his condition has been fully treated by qualified psychiatrist and psychologist and he has been [sic] reasonable and efficient treatment and has been very compliant.
His condition has not improved... and he will not benifit [sic] from further treatment.
[A]ccording to table 5 of the social security impairment tables he should be allocated 20 points as he he [sic] has sever [sic] difficulty interacting with others, limited social contacts, can not [sic] travel alone, and he will be unable to attend any regular work or study or training.
...
He is forgetfull [sic] and can not [sic] concentrate on a task or duty moe [sic] than 10 minutes. This condition will impair his function for the rest of [his] life.[11]
...on 24 February 2016 and he still had depressive symptoms including depressed moods, insomnia, and irritability. ...
I have started him on Pristiq 50mg a day to be increased to 200 mg.[14]
I certify that the preceding 59 (fifty-nine) paragraphs are a true copy of the reasons for the decision herein of Deputy President J Walsh and Dr L Bygrave, Member.
...........................[sgd].............................................
[3] Exhibit 1: T4, T10, T11, T17, T23 and T26.
[7] Exhibit 1: T4, T13, T17, T19, T20 and T27.
[12] Exhibit 1: T12 and T34; Exhibit 3.
Secretary, Department of Families, Housing, Community Services and Indigenous Affairs
Mahrous
Secretary, Department of Families, Housing, Community Services and Indigenous Affairs v Mahrous [2013] FCAFC 75
Tamua and Secretary, Department of Social Services [2016] AATA 757