[2012] SAWCT 20
General information, not legal advice.
Workers Compensation Tribunal (SA)
2012-06-01
President Judge P, Mr J
Original judgment source is linked above.
3.4 to determine more than one designated weekly earnings figure applicable to the worker.
Issues in context - the credibility of the worker
Symptoms of anxiety and depression from January 2008
The extent of the alleged serious and wilful misconduct
[the reasons for decision then proceed from paras [67] to [262] to set out the details of the allegations by the employer, the outcome of the employer's inquiry, the evidence of all of the witnesses to the alleged behaviour in the LOC, and the reasons of the Tribunal for finding that the misconduct alleged by the employer had been established.]
"I don't recall whether I reported anything beforehand ... I never correlated properly in my head ... what chronic pain will do to me. I never wanted to admit it. I just didn't understand what was happening".[39]
"mood swings while on WorkCover; strange and getting worse through WorkCover; had been harassed many times for his WorkCover by his rehab consultant; always in pain like electric shock; thinks hasn't been done much for his WorkCover; wife left him due to these issues; stressed and worried, unable to do home maintenance; taking Effexor 150mg; worse knee pains; multiple harassment; has been feeling depressed and upset and down; sometimes tearful has low self esteem; has been told that he sexually harassed a girl at work but that girl had multiple issues with other people; has got multiple witnesses against her; is feeling apathetic with lack of energy; sexual drive reduced (low interest); sleeping worse than usual, insomnia; has no suicidal ideation, is not suicidal and is not psychotic, has no hallucinations".
"...ongoing pain, discomfort and restriction of movement and his inability to successfully return to pre injury duties our client now suffers from an adjustment disorder with anxious mood and depression."
"...should be limited to cases that fall squarely within its ambit, they being cases that exclusively involve illnesses or disorders of the mind. It does not apply to a physical injury simply because that injury has a psychological component."[138]
Whether the worker has any entitlement to income maintenance during any period of partial incapacity resulting from a compensable disability
The effect of s 35A of the Act on the entitlement to income maintenance during partial incapacity in the context of a breach of mutuality
(1) Subject to this Act, a worker is, in respect of a particular compensable disability, entitled to weekly payments while incapacitated for work during the first entitlement period as follows:
(a) for any period when the worker has no current work capacity - the worker is entitled to weekly payments equal to the worker's notional weekly earnings;
(b) for any period when the worker has a current work capacity - the worker is entitled to weekly payments equal to the difference between the worker's notional weekly earnings and the worker's designated weekly earnings.
(2) ... [same as in subs (1) except the entitlement reduces to 90% of notional weekly earnings]
(3) ... [same as in subs (1) except the entitlement reduces to 80% of notional weekly earnings]
(4) For the purposes of this section, but subject to subsection (5), the designated weekly earnings of a worker will be taken to be -
(a) the current weekly earnings of the worker in employment or self-employment; or
(b) the weekly earnings that the Corporation determines that the worker could earn from time to time (including, but not limited to, the amount of any current weekly earnings) in employment, whether in the worker's employment previous to the relevant disability or in suitable employment, that the Corporation determines the worker is capable of performing despite the disability,
whichever is the greater, but not to include a prescribed benefit under subsection (6).
(5) Subsection (4)(b) will not apply to a worker who has a current work capacity during any period or periods during which the worker is incapacitated for work and in which either of the following circumstances apply:
(a) the employer has failed to provide the worker with suitable employment and the worker is making every reasonable effort to return to work in suitable employment;
(b) the worker is participating in a rehabilitation and return to work plan which reasonably prevents the worker from returning to employment."
"there can ... be no 'failure' on the part of an employer to provide suitable employment if the employee refuses, and continues to refuse, to enter his employment or, if the facts show that the employee's conduct was inconsistent with the necessary degree of cooperation on his part."
"Once it is accepted that provision of suitable employment involves the concept of mutuality in the sense explained, it seems to follow that an applicant for award under s 11(2) must establish that he for his part was in the relevant period of time ready, willing and able to enter into the employment which he claims the employer failed to provide. It is for the applicant to show a failure on the part of the employer to fulfil his statutory obligation; this he does not begin to do until he demonstrates that there as a necessary degree of cooperation on his side."[163]
"... Nevertheless the same element of mutuality in the contract of employment underlies all three provisions. Conduct on a worker's part, independent of any injury, there is[167] inconsistent with the degree of cooperation that is essential to an effective working relationship may take his case outside the ambit of s 35. Perhaps it is more difficult to fasten on particular words in s 35(2) in which the notion of mutuality is implied, but that does not matter. Besides, the expression 'reasonably available' is probably adequate for that purpose. It is hardly to be supposed that an employer, in order to avoid having a partial incapacity treated as a total incapacity, is obliged to restore an injured worker to the payroll when it is plain that worker will behave in a fashion that is fundamentally destructive of the required mutuality - by persistently disobeying instructions, say, or by assaulting his fellow workers or by repeatedly flouting the safety rules. ..."
"The mutuality implied by s 35(2) precludes from its beneficial operations any worker who engages in conduct, or who lapses into a position, which substantially detracts from his or her capacity to obtain employment. Where it is reasonably possible to return a worker to work, it would be repugnant to the Act's objectives and to commonly accepted ethical standards to reward the worker who engages in conduct which obstructs his or her return to work with the benefit of the deeming provision."[170]
"The purpose of the Act would be manifestly frustrated if s 35(2)(b) operated to provide partially incapacitated workers their full pre-injury notional weekly earnings when they were no longer willing or in a position to return to their former employment or a position with an equivalent level of remuneration."[171]
"I would allow the appeal and set aside the Tribunal's orders. Any compensation to the worker should have been assessed on the footing of a partial incapacity between 23 October 1987 and 13 November 1987, and without recourse to s 35(2). I would make an order accordingly."[172]
Finding: the worker was totally incapacitated for work by reason of his left shoulder disability to the end of January 2010; thereafter he has been partially incapacitated on that account, but as noted below, he remained totally incapacitated on account of a compensable mental disability consequential to compensable physical disabilities until 31 December 2010.
Finding: the worker is not barred on account of his breach of mutuality from claiming an entitlement to ongoing income maintenance from 1 January 2011. However, he is not entitled to rely upon a failure by the employer to make a determination under s 35A(4)(b) to contend that his entitlement must be calculated by reference to the difference between his notional weekly earnings and designated weekly earnings based upon his current weekly earnings; any entitlement must be assessed on the basis of the difference between the worker's notional weekly earnings and the amount he could have earned in suitable employment which would have been available to him in the LOC from 1 January 2011 but for his breach of mutuality; that may or may not give rise to a residual entitlement and must be subject to further determination.
3.1 to determine a designated weekly earnings figure applicable to the Worker if a designated weekly earnings figure was not determined in the disputed decision;
3.2 to make a finding of suitable employment other than employment identified in the disputed decision;
3.3 to determine designated weekly earnings for a period or periods after:
3.4 to determine more than one designated weekly earnings figure applicable to the Worker.
Finding: given the worker's breach of mutuality, and his consequent inability to rely upon any failure by the employer to make a determination under s 35A(4)(b), the Tribunal has jurisdiction to make such determinations as are necessary to crystallise the ongoing entitlement (if any) of the worker to income maintenance in order to decide the dispute between the parties.
Finding: the worker suffered a compensable illness or disorder of the mind which arose in January 2008 as a result of the compensable physical disabilities suffered by him from 2007, which disabilities resulted in total incapacity for employment from 8 May 2009 to 31 December 2010. He is entitled to income maintenance for the period from 24 August 2009 to 31 December 2010, and for reasonably incurred costs under s 32 of the Act until the end of September 2011.
Parties are advised that if a party wishes to appeal against any part of this decision which is appealable pursuant to s 86(1) of the Act such appeal must be filed with the Registrar in accordance with the form titled Notice of Appeal within 14 days of the delivery of this decision and must be served on all parties.
It is the practice of this Tribunal to publish its reasons for decision in full on the Internet. If any party or person contends that these reasons for decision should not be published in full the party or person must make an application within seven days of the delivery of these reasons. The application shall be by an Application for Directions with a supporting affidavit and should be addressed to the presiding member(s). If no such application is lodged within the time specified these reasons will be published in accordance with the Tribunal's usual practice.
[1] The reasons for decision were handed down to the parties in unedited form. This version has been substantially edited to remove references to the detail of the conduct comprising the alleged sexual harassment and the findings of the employer's inquiry and of the Tribunal. This is because the Tribunal has granted an application by the worker that the reasons for decision published on the Tribunal website be restricted due to the potential for unrestricted publication of the misconduct allegations and findings to cause undue hardship to the worker given his personal circumstances and in particular those of his son. The deleted portions relate to factual matters only and have no precedential value. Deletions are appropriately noted in the text. Where notes explaining deletions are necessary they appear in the text in italics.
[2] At all material times the employer purported to be either an exempt employer or a selfinsured employer.
[3] Trial Book Part A ("Exhibit A1") p 1 (A1/1).
[4] There was an additional issue as to costs which the parties agreed should be deferred until after findings were made on the substantive issues.
[5] Although the worker's entitlement are to be determined under the "new" entitlement provisions introduced by the Workers Rehabilitation and Compensation (Scheme Review) Amendment Act 2008, for ease of reference, I generally use the former terms "total incapacity" and "partial incapacity" instead of the respective equivalent terms now applicable being "no current work capacity" and "current work capacity".
[6] The name "Ms Gray" is a pseudonym. As the female worker in question was the victim of the alleged.... [serious misconduct] .... and is a witness rather than a party to these proceedings, I consider it is not appropriate that she be identified by her correct name. The name Ms Gray does not refer to any real person with that name.
[7] Deletions of segments only of a paragraph are noted by a series of dots.
[8] Determination 31 August 2009 (A1/7).
[9] By determination dated 19 August 2009 (A1/13).
[10] By variation of the disputed decision and a separate determination, both dated 30 November 2009 (A1/18-27).
[11] Dated 21 February 2011 - Trial Book B, Exhibit A2 (A2/328).
[12] Paras 18 and 19 of worker's supplementary statement Exhibit W1.
[15] Consultation notes of Dr Latif - Exhibit W20.
[17] PMC Dr Monkhouse 15 January 2008 - 6 March 2008 (A1/271-272).
[18] Report Dr Griffin 3 October 2008 (A1/53).
[21] He saw a practitioner other than Dr Latif on this occasion.
[23] By two separate PMCs dated 26 July 2009 and 7 August 2009 respectively - A1/292, 294.
[24] Notes of Dr Latif 10 January 2008 - the initial dosage of Effexor was 75mg daily (W20).
[26] Diversity Policy attachment "BP2" to statement of Mr Palmer (A2/394).
[28] Notices of Work-Related Injury dated 3 March 2009 (W15) and 5 March 2009 (W16).
[29] As asserted under the heading "What Happened?" in the Notice of 5 March 2009.
[30] Formal Complaint Form "BP1" to Palmer Statement (A2/392).
[31] Interview of Ms Gray by Mr Hayes (W14).
[32] Sent to the worker on the same day by taxigram - Annexure BP4 to statement of Mr Palmer (A2/407).
[33] Record of Interview Palmer/Gray 15 May 2009 - W18.
[34] The worker's initial evidence in this regard is set out in his Statement of 21 February 2011 A2/328 paras 7-10 and his supplementary statement Exhibit W1 paras 56-64.
[42] It is not clear but it is likely this should have read "January 2008".
[45] The first attendance in this regard being on 14 November 2007.
[50] Notes of consultation 10 January 2008 (Exhibit W20).
[57] Notes of attendance 27 January 2009 Exhibit W20.
[58] As clarified by Dr Latif tr 638.19.
[62] Ignoring the numerous typographical errors in the recording of the computerised medical notes.
[64] Notice of work-related injury A1/11-12.
[76] In accordance with its determination of 19 August 2009 whereby the claim for an adjustment disorder as a sequelae to the left shoulder strain was accepted although for medical expenses only.
[78] There appears to have been no CPD Sessional Suite note in evidence as to the first attendance on 13 July 2009, but in oral evidence Dr Nagesh appeared to read from some contemporaneous note of his attendance.
[80] Report 6 October 2009 p 7 Exhibit W8.
[90] Letter to Mr Wright 25 May 2009 - R9.
[92] Apparently by telephone - tr 799-800.
[99] P 5 of report 20 May 2010 at A1/194.
[103] Notes of consultation 10 November 2010 (W20).
[106] Report 28 March 2011 Page 3 A1/109.
[110] Exhibit "BP13" to statement of Mr Palmer A2/473-475.
[112] Para 7.1 Mr Clifford's statement (A2/492).
[115] Para 7.3 Mr Clifford's statement (A2/492).
[116] Para 7.4 Mr Clifford's statement (A2/492).
[124] Supplementary statement W1 para 67.
[128] That is, when he saw the worker on 15 April 2008 only eight days after the right elbow operation, when his range of motion was restored to normal, that the worker was "pushing the boundaries too much" - Report 3 October 2008 A1/54.
[130] 10 February 2009: "aches and pains in his right knee and getting worse"; 6 March 2009: "now clicking and painful left knee" - W20.
[131] Tr 1007, 1008, 1011 - amendment made after submissions on 19 June 2012 post delivery of reasons for decision. I consider I have power to make an amendment of this nature when final orders have yet to be made and where the amendment is incidental only and does not relate to a matter of substance which goes to the basis for the ultimate findings - r 4 of the Workers Compensation Tribunal Rules 2009, r 242 of the Supreme Court Rules 2006, Todorovic v Moussa [2001] NSWCA 419..
[133] In particular, the evidence of Dr Blakemore at tr 245, Dr Nagesh at tr 306.20-27, and Mr Wright at tr 780.
[135] I mention here, that the employer contended that certain statements made by the worker on his employment application were false in that they glossed over or misrepresented his part "professionalism". I do not consider that any misrepresentation or distortion in this limited context has any bearing on the worker's credibility generally.
[138] At [22] per Gilchrist DPJ and McCouaig DP.
[140] (My emphasis) Per Lander J at 46 and Bleby J at 56.
[141] On the facts as found, the mental disability consequent upon the worker's physical disability was not serious and permanent (my emphasis).
[146] Report Dr Nimon 1 January 2010 - A1/61.
[147] Chronic Pain Assessment Conference 11 December 2009 and report to worker's solicitors 14 December 2009 - A1/117-123.
[151] As noted by Dr Latif in his medical certificate of 8 May 2009 - A1/286.
[156] With respect to the bench decant at A2/488.
[157] For example, the pallet to pallet decant described at A2/481.
[158] Or, alternatively, subsecs (2)(b) or (3)(b), depending on the applicable entitlement period.
[160] Roberts v GM Holden Ltd [2010] SAWCT 47.
[161] [1968] HCA 73; (1968) 117 CLR 665 at 669.
[165] (1988) 49 SASR 592 at 598.
[166] [2010] SASCFC 44 at [177]- [181].
[167] This is probably a misprint - the word "where" is likely to have been intended rather than "there is".
[176] Published in the South Australian Government Gazette 26 March 2009.
[184] Reports 23 August 2010, amended report 23 August 2010 and report 3 September 2010 - A1/251267.
[185] For example, during his second consultation with Dr Byok, and his last assessment with Dr Guirguis.
[188] Initially erroneously stated to be 11% through incorrect application of the methodology for combining values but later corrected by Dr Jones.
[189] Table 16-15 p 492 and table 16-10a p 482.
[194] Given the fact that I accept there to be no motor deficit, the debate as to whether the table for nerve deficit above the forearm or below the forearm should be used becomes irrelevant.
[199] AMA5 Table 17-8 p 532 grade 4 knee extension
[203] Report 19 August 2010 - Para 1 at A1/248.
Roberts
GM Holden Ltd [2012] SAWCT 20
(1998) 71 SASR 42
(1988) 49 SASR 592
(1968) 117 CLR 665
(1975) 132 CLR 417
(1982) 29 SASR 365