[2011] SAWCT 15
General information, not legal advice.
Workers Compensation Tribunal (SA)
2011-06-10
President Judge P, Mr J
Original judgment source is linked above.
Roberts v G M Holden Ltd [2011**] SAWCT 15**
JURISDICTION: Judicial Determination - Preliminary Point
JUDGMENT OF: His Honour Deputy President Judge P D Hannon
The worker disputed a determination made by the employer in its asserted capacity as a "self-insured employer" to reject a claim for compensation - After referral of the dispute for judicial determination the worker raised a preliminary issue as to the validity of the decision on the basis that the employer was not a self-insured employer at any relevant time and had no delegated powers to determine a claim for compensation under the Workers Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1986 - Held that whether or not the employer was a self-insured employer was not a jurisdictional fact of which the Tribunal had to be satisfied before proceeding to determine the dispute - Further that the Tribunal did not have jurisdiction to determine the status of the employer in this regard or to make the orders sought by the worker - S 3, Part 5, Part 6A, Schedule 1 of the Workers Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1986; Ss 36 - 42, 82 of the Workers Rehabilitation and Compensation (Scheme Review) Amendment Act 2008.
Roberts v GM Holden Ltd [2010] SAWCT 28
Roberts v GM Holden Ltd [2010] SAWCT 47
R v Bleby; ex parte The South Australian Public Service Board (No. 1) (1974) 9 SASR 321
R v Blakeley; ex parte Association of Architects, Engineers, Surveyors and Draughtsmen of Australia ([1950] HCA 40; 1950-51) 82 CLR 54
Gomez-Soto v Unisure Pty Ltd (Flinders University) [2005] SAWCT 45
Timbarra Protection Coalition Inc v Ross Mining NL and Others [1999] NSWCA 8; (1999) 46 NSWLR 55
Rundle v WorkCover/Vero Workers Compensation (SA) Ltd [2006] SAWCT 12
Langley v WorkCover Corporation [1998] SAWCT 4
Dunstan v State of South Australia [1998] SAWCT 48
Mitsubishi Motors Australia Ltd v Warren [1999] SAWCT 88
DJL v The Central Authority [2000] HCA 17
Mitsubishi Motors Australia Ltd v Kowalski [2003] SAWCT 100
WorkCover Corporation v Blocki [2009] SAWCT 9
Jacobs v One Steel Manufacturing Pty Ltd & WorkCover Corporation of South Australia [2006] SASC 32
Legislative amendments to employer registration provisions
"This is to certify that GM Holden Limited has been registered as a self-insured employer under the Workers Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1986 since 30 September 1987 for the period up to 30 September 2011".
"An employer in respect of whom a certificate of exemption was in force under Division 2 of Part 10A of the repealed Act[6] immediately before the appointed day shall be deemed to have been registered, on the appointed day, as an exempt employer under this Act."
23 The worker submitted that, in the course of such a determination, the Tribunal should find that no application for registration as a self-insurer has ever been made by GMH or granted by the Corporation. Further that the general transitional provisions contained in regulations made in conjunction with the proclamation of the Amendment Act did not apply to the present circumstances so as to deem GMH to be a self-insured employer for the purposes of the disputed determination. Alternatively, the worker submitted that if the regulations did apply, the Tribunal should find that the regulations are invalid because they were made on a date before the commencement of the legislation enabling the regulations, and were thus made contrary to restrictions on their operation set out in that legislation.[8]
"Any statutory formulation which contains a factual reference must be construed so as to determine the meaning of the words chosen by Parliament, having regard to the context of that statutory formulation and the purpose or object underlying the legislation. There is nothing special about the task of statutory construction with regard to the determination of the issue whether the factual reference is a jurisdictional fact. All the normal rules of statutory construction apply."
"A court exercising jurisdiction or powers conferred by statute 'has powers expressly or by implication conferred by the legislation which governs it' and '[t] his is a matter of statutory construction'; it also has 'in addition such powers as are incidental and necessary to the exercise of the jurisdiction or the powers so conferred'...it would be inaccurate to use the term 'inherent jurisdiction' here...and the term should be avoided as an identification of the incidental and necessary power of a statutory court."
"The Tribunal, once vested with jurisdiction, has a limited mandate i.e. to hear and determine the specified dispute. This makes it quite different from the situation of a superior court of law and equity..."[18]
Parties are advised that if a party wishes to appeal against any part of this decision which is appealable pursuant to s 86(1) of the Act such appeal must be filed with the Registrar in accordance with the form titled Notice of Appeal within 14 days of the delivery of this decision and must be served on all parties.
It is the practice of this Tribunal to publish its reasons for decision in full on the Internet. If any party or person contends that these reasons for decision should not be published in full the party or person must make an application within seven days of the delivery of these reasons. The application shall be by an Application for Directions with a supporting affidavit and should be addressed to the presiding member(s). If no such application is lodged within the time specified these reasons will be published in accordance with the Tribunal's usual practice.
[1] Roberts v GM Holden Ltd [2010] SAWCT 28 where the worker's application for summary judgment on the ground that the disputed decision was an invalid determination to discontinue income maintenance payments was dismissed by the Tribunal with a subsequent appeal also being dismissed - Roberts v GM Holden Ltd [2010] SAWCT 47.
[2] As set out in the worker's statement of issues dated 24 February 2007 - item 1 in the Book of Documents Exhibit W1.
[3] Para 3 of the worker's statement of issues.
[4] Thus being an exempt employer as defined in s 3 of the Pre-amendment Act.
[5] Under ss 36 - 41 of the Amendment Act, with a corresponding substitution of the phrase "exempt employer" in s 3 Interpretation by the phrase "self-insured employer".
[6] Referring to the Workers Compensation Act 1971.
[8] The worker was here referring in particular to s 82 of the Amendment Act and the limited power under that section to make transitional regulations and to the Workers Rehabilitation and Compensation (General) Variation Regulations 2008 ("the Variation Regulations") which by cl 9 added a general regulation entitled "Transitional Provision - references to exempt employers" which provided:
"A reference in a statutory instrument, any other kind of instrument, or a contract, agreement or other document to an exempt employer will have effect as if it were a reference to a self-insured employer."
[9] [1974] 9 SASR 321 at 325 per Bray CJ with reference to the jurisdiction conferred by statute on the Industrial Court.
[10] [1950] HCA 40; (1950-51) 82 CLR 54 per Latham CJ at 71; Fullagar J at 91.
[11] [2005] SAWCT 45 at [9].
[12] [1999] NSWCA 8; (1999) 46 NSWLR 55 at 64
[15] There are many examples - see Langley v WorkCover Corporation [1998] SAWCT 4; Dunstan v State of South Australia [1998] SAWCT 48; Mitsubishi Motors Australia Ltd v Warren [1999] SAWCT 88.
[16] [2000] HCA 17 at [25] per Gleeson CJ, McHugh, Gummow and Hayne JJ - citations omitted.
[23] Debelle J at [14]; Besanko J at [90].
[26] Worker's outline of submissions [18] and [19].
Roberts
G M Holden Ltd [2011] SAWCT 15
(1974) 9 SASR 321
(1999) 46 NSWLR 55
(1997) 192 CLR 69