austlii:cth/ARTA/2025/1903
General information, not legal advice.
ARTA
2025-09-25
General Member J
Original judgment source is linked above.
(a) the cost of purchase of the Applicant's vehicle, a Kia Carnival SLi, or alternatively, the difference between this cost and the cost of purchase of a Kia Carnival S; and > > (b) ancillary costs to the vehicle purchase including registration and insurance.
(a) whether the Transitional Rules apply retrospectively to appeals commenced prior to 3 October 2024; > > (b) whether the requested supports are 'an NDIS support for the participant' having regard to sections 10 and 34(1)(f) of the NDIS Act and Items 2(c) and 6(b) of Schedule 2 of the Transitional Rules; > > (c) whether the requested supports are "not related to the participant's disability" having regard to paragraph 5.1(b) of the National Disability Insurance Scheme (Supports for Participants) Rules 2013 (Support Rules); and, > > (d) whether the requested supports relate to day-to-day living costs that are not attributable to the support needs having regard to paragraphs 5.1(d) and 5.2 of the Supports Rules.
GETTING THE NDIS BACK ON TRACK AMENDMENTS[3]
Do the Transitional Rules apply retrospectively?
The Applicant's primary position is that the appropriate regime is the regime at the time of the IRU [Internal Review Unit] Decision and application to this Tribunal because: > > (a) of the nature of the rights and liabilities pertaining to support under the NDIS which require considerations of fairness and certainty - particularly when considering it affects the Applicant's rights to NDIS support arising from an original decision dated 22 December 2022; > > (b) the IRU Decision determined the Applicant's entitlement to be covered by a plan from December 2022 to December 2023, a period of time ending almost a year prior to the amendments to the Act coming into effect in October 2024; > > (c) it would be consistent with precedent to use the regime at the time of the decision under review; > > (d) it relates to reimbursements or retrospective entitlements. [notes omitted]
The first reply contention is that no accrued right or liability accrued to the Applicant that is connected to a decision to approve an NDIS plan. The second reply contention is that, irrespective of any rights which or liabilities which accrued to the Applicant (which is denied), the transitional provisions to the National Disability Insurance Scheme Amendment (Getting the NDIS Back on Track No. 1) Act 2024 (Amendment Act) direct the Tribunal to apply the law as in force on and after 3 October 2024 in reviewing a decision made pursuant to s 33(2) of the NDIS Act. [emphasis omitted].
In my view, the Respondent's second contention is correct. On my reading of the authorities provided by the Applicant, to the extent a person may have an accrued right to have a matter determined with reference to the legal framework in force at the time a reviewable decision was made, this right can be affected by legislative transitional provisions. For example, in Farage Esber there was a specific saving provision which 'recognized a pending application for review as an accrued right and made express provision for the preservation of such a right'.[12] Similarly, in Costello the Tribunal found:
... where the nature of the decision under review does not involve a consideration of accrued rights or liabilities but rather involves an investigation whether the applicant has a present entitlement to the grant of a right or privilege, we have concluded that, unless the amending law otherwise provides we should apply the law as amended as at the date of our decision.
Section 129 of the Back on Track Amendment Act provides:
129 Old framework plans - content and approval of statement of participant supports > > (1) Subject to subitem (3), sections 33, 34 and 35 of the National Disability > > Insurance Scheme Act 2013, as in force on and after the commencement > > of this Schedule, apply in relation to a statement of participant supports > > included in an old framework plan for a participant if the statement is > > approved or varied on or after that commencement. > > (2) Subitem (1) applies: > > (a) whether the participant becomes a participant; and > > (b) in the case of a variation - whether the plan comes into effect; > > before, on or after that commencement. > > (3) Subsection 33(2A) of the National Disability Insurance Scheme Act > > 2013, as in force on and after the commencement of this Schedule, > > applies in relation to a statement of participant supports included in an > > old framework plan for a participant if: > > (a) the statement is approved on or after the commencement (the > > determination commencement) of the first determination > > made under subsection 33(2E) of that Act (as inserted by this > > Schedule); and > > (b) the decision to approve the statement is not covered by > > subitem (4). > > (4) This subitem covers the following decisions made on or after the > > determination commencement: > > (a) a decision made by a reviewer under subsection 100(6) of the > > National Disability Insurance Scheme Act 2013 on review of > > a decision made by a decision-maker before the > > determination commencement; > > (b) a decision, made by the Administrative Appeals Tribunal, on > > review of a decision made by a reviewer under that > > subsection: > > (i) before the determination commencement; or > > (ii) on or after the determination commencement, if the > > decision reviewed by the reviewer was made by a > > decision-maker before the determination > > commencement. > > (5) Subitem (3) applies whether the participant becomes a participant > > before, on or after the determination commencement.
In my view, subsections 129(1) and (2) demonstrate a clear legislative intent that the amended provisions apply to a decision to approve a statement of participant supports after commencement of the amendments. The Applicant is asking the Tribunal to approve a statement of participant supports, and subject to some circumstances in which rights are preserved, the amended provisions apply to this decision. The circumstances in which some rights are preserved are set out in rule 6 of the Transitional Rules which states that:
6 Transitional rule for certain pre-commencement plans > > (1) This section applies in relation to a participant if the plan that is in effect for the participant includes a statement of participant supports approved by the CEO before the commencement of Schedule 1 to the amending Act. > > (2) A support specified in the statement as a reasonable and necessary support for the participant for the purposes of paragraph 33(2)(b) of the NDIS Act is taken to be an NDIS support for the participant if: > > (a) the support is expressed in the statement to be a stated support; or > > (b) the Administrative Appeals Tribunal, in making any of the following decisions before the commencement of Schedule 1 to the amending Act: > > (i) a decision to vary the statement; > > (ii) a decision to approve the statement, having set aside the approval of a different statement of participant supports for the participant; > > (iii) a decision to remit the approval of a statement of participant supports for the participant for reconsideration by the CEO; > > made a decision to the effect that that particular support should be specified in, or funded under, the plan as a reasonable and necessary support. > > (3) For the purposes of subparagraph (2)(b)(iii), it does not matter: > > (a) whether the Tribunal remitted the approval of the statement in accordance with any directions or recommendations of the Tribunal; or > > (b) whether the Tribunal also set aside the approval of the statement
The Federal Court in Deayton also referred to the following paragraphs of the Explanatory Statement to the Transitional Rules:
[Section 6] will ensure a participant who has a support stated in their plan can continue to access that support after commencement if it is not an NDIS support. It will also ensure participants who have received a decision from the Tribunal that identifies a particular support as reasonable and necessary for them can continue to access that support if it is not an NDIS support. This will apply for as long as the relevant plan is in effect. > > ... > > This provision is important to ensure that participants can continue to access supports that are not NDIS supports if they have been specifically identified as reasonable and necessary for the participant prior to the Amending Act commencing. This will provide continuity of supports for a period of time while the participant becomes familiar with the list of supports that are NDIS supports and is able to select alternatives, if applicable. > > Paragraph 6(2)(b) is included as a safeguard for participants who have received a Tribunal decision, because their plan will not always state each individual support as reasonable and necessary. This provision will ensure any support assessed as reasonable and necessary by the Tribunal will continue to be available until the participant receives their next plan. It will also capture supports that are included in a participant's plan as a result of a remittal under section 42D of the Administrative Appeals Tribunal Act 1975, whether those supports are specifically stated in the participant's plan or not.[13][emphasis as added by the Court]
These provisions which preserve or 'save' some entitlements do not apply to QGGX. QGGX did not have the purchase of a vehicle as a stated support in her SPS and the Tribunal has not determined that a vehicle is to be specified in QGGX's SPS. In my view, QGGX does not have an accrued right to have her supports determined with regard to the rules that applied at the time the reviewable decision was made. There is a clear legislative intent that the amended provisions and rules will apply to decisions to approve a new SPS in respect of an old framework plan. QGGX would only have an accrued right if this right was preserved by one of the saving provisions. The Tribunal is required to consider whether QGGX is presently entitled to the requested support and the Tribunal must consider the current provisions and rules which apply to assessing this entitlement. 9. I also note that there are specific saving provisions for access applications made before 3 October 2024 which are set out in Section 126 of the Back on Track Amendment Act. This confirms to me that the legislature specifically considered which of the amendment provisions apply from 3 October 2024 and the types of applications that ought to be determination based on preserved rights. 10. I also consider that the issue of retrospective application is distinct from matters in which the Tribunal has found that a participant is able to be reimbursed for past expenditure on a support. In such matters, the Tribunal is still applying the law as it stands at the point of finalising its decision and is applying this law to the facts as presented to the Tribunal. This can sometimes result in a finding that a support is reasonable and necessary and was so from an earlier point in time. In turn, this can lead to backdated payments to the point in time when the participant became eligible for this support. This is not a situation where the Tribunal is applying an earlier version of the law which has subsequently been changed. 11. With regard to the issue of whether the Transitional Rules apply retrospectively to appeals commenced prior to 3 October 2024, my answer is broadly yes. I say 'broadly' because there are some rights that are preserved by the transitional provisions, which do not apply to QGGX. The Tribunal is required to make a decision as to whether QGGX has a present entitlement to the requested support. This is to be determined based on current legislative provisions and rules. Subject to some preserved rights, this determination is not affected by whether an appeal was made prior to 3 October 2024. The Back on Track Amendment Act and Transitional Rules expressly apply to approving an SPS in an old framework plan and must be applied in QGGX's circumstances.
Are the requested supports 'an NDIS support for the participant'?
(c) travel insurance, life insurance, income protection insurance, home and contents insurance, car insurance and excess insurance for novated vehicles;
(b) vehicles, including motor vehicles, motorbikes, watercraft, all-terrain vehicles, standard bikes and scooters, and other recreational vehicles;
(d) certification costs for registration and additional vehicle insurance premium > > costs as a direct result of a modification; > > ... > > (f) maintenance, spare parts and consumable items specific to an assistive product or modification.
Is the purchase of a vehicle most appropriately funded under the NDIS?
[1] This summary is modified to remove information that might identify the Applicant.
[2] On 14 October 2024, the AAT became the Administrative Review Tribunal (the Tribunal). Under the transitional provisions in the Administrative Review Tribunal (Consequential and Transitional Provisions No. 1) Act 2024 (the Transitional Act), proceedings in the AAT that were not finalised before 14 October 2024 are to be continued and finalised by the Tribunal. Anything done in relation to the proceeding before 14 October 2024 is taken to have been done by the Tribunal.
[3] I have used similar paragraphs to the following in other recent decisions.
[4] Johnstone and National Disability Insurance Agency (NDIS) [2025] ARTA 106, [23]-[31].
[5] [1990] HCA 19; (1990) 169 CLR 515 at 521.
[6] [1979] AATA 184; (1979) 2 ALD 934 at [939]-[945].
[7] [1991] FCA 223; (1991) 101 ALR 35 at [50]-[51].
[9] [2022] AATA 3738 at [44].
[11] [2025] FCA 562 at [111] to [136].
[12] [1991] FCA 223; (1991) 101 ALR 35, [44].
[13] [2025] FCA 562, [127].
Costello and Department of Transport [1979] AATA 184; (1979) 2 ALD 934
Johnstone and National Disability Insurance Agency (NDIS) [2025] ARTA 106
National Disability Insurance Agency v Deayton [2025] FCA 562
Re Commonwealth of Australia and the Commission of the Safety Rehabilitation and Compensation of Commonwealth Employees v Farage Esber [1991] FCA 223; (1991) 101 ALR 35
Rodway v R [1990] HCA 19; (1990) 169 CLR 515
Stoddart v Repatriation Commission [2003] FCA 334; (2003) 74 ALD 366
Syddall and National Disability Insurance Agency [2022] AATA 3738
(1990) 169 CLR 515
(1991) 101 ALR 35